Club Puntarena Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Club Puntarena reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Club Puntarena  

Ave. Kawama y Final, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"little bit old but still good"
Posted by: Joshua on Nov 10, 2014
see all reviews

Club Puntarena Reviews
Club Puntarena Pictures and Information
Club Puntarena Varadero Cuba

#11
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.9

Based on 40 reviews

Club Puntarena Information


The nine-storey Puntarena Hotel offers guests an excellent panoramic view of Varadero, its beautiful beach and fabulous sunsets.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Puntarena Reviews

Club Puntarena Review: 3.9 of 5 40 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (11)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
31 - 39 of 40

"Puntarena was amazing!!!!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alessio Taciti  on Feb 12, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Feb, 2007
4822 people found this review helpful

We just returned from Cuba (Feb 1 - 8th, 2007) and loved every minute of it! The hotel staff was like one huge family, and they made us feel so welcome. Our rooms were very clean thanks to Arelys! The food was great. For breakfast we enjoyed omlettes, french toast, pancakes, fried eggs, fresh bread made daily, delicious cheese, sausages, ham.....you name it! We usually ate so much for breakfast that we ate a lighter lunch on the beach or at the grill. You could always get a great hamburger, hotdog, or sandwich with fries anytime. The pizza was great at the Italian a la carte, the Asian was a little bland.

By far, the best bartender was Alex at the beach!!! He made the BEST Pina Coladas and Mojitos....and he was so sweet on top of that! We absolutely loved the Cuban people, they are very intelligent and interesting to talk to. I cannot wait to go back, and we will definetly go back to the Puntarena!

Take ball caps, t shirts, good razors & shave cream for the men, any makeup or body washes for the women, pantyhose, feminine products, etc., as tips for the staff. They really appreciate it!

The only suggestion would be to get the elevators fixed....they made for some interesting rides!

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Best Time Ever!!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  alicia  on Oct 5, 2008  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2008
957 people found this review helpful

Gran Caribe Club Puntarena was the best time ever. I went with just me and my mom for one week in the month of April 2008. It had been our second time going to Puntarena and it was....THE BOMB!We made amazing friends with the staff and the food was not that bad. I mean your in Cuba your not gonna have the best food, but ur not gonna have the same food as you have in Canada. There was a point that when you just came from the pool and you're dying to go upstairs and change, the elavators may not work sometimes, which didn't matter to us beause you're in the carrabean and obviously somethings gonna go wrong...Over all it was the best bonding time with my mom and trust me....(this is coming from an 11 yr old who is home alone:)!! )

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"gran caribe club puntaren!!('.'):)"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  alicia  on Aug 29, 2008  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2008
961 people found this review helpful

i went to club puntarena twice and had an amazing time...the people there are amazin and the rooms are clean....only one elavator worked wich was okay with my family because your not going there to stare at the elavators!....the food was great and we weren't too picky about it!....lastly, the people were soo great that we came back with some cuban friends!....hats why i would totally recomend to you, Gran Caribe Club Puntarena!:)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great days"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Andreas Hoenig  on Feb 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
872 people found this review helpful

A nice hotel, with very friendly personal and perfect service.

Room Number:
1727/1723

Arrival:
quick and friendly reception

Rooms:
clean and nice with great oceanview

Restaurants and Bars:
friendly service

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean and nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"home away from home"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  casey and jenny  on Sep 10, 2008  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2008
916 people found this review helpful

beach is awesome the people are very friendly hotel awesome been there 4 times going again in december

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"home away from home"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  casey and jenny  on Sep 10, 2008  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2008
1692 people found this review helpful

beach is awesome the people are very friendly hotel awesome been there 4 times going again in december

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"PUNTARENA"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Hannes Blaser  on Jul 13, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Jul, 2007
5476 people found this review helpful

Puntarena was the best hotel in all of Cuba, the staff are friendly,nice n caring of all your needs, the drinks are not watered down at all the rooms are clean and the maids are always sweet!

The elavator was der major downfall because it takes very long to get up and get back down but besides that I recommend Puntarena to anyone who wants to have a GOOD TIME at a wonderful Beach, to someone who wants a clean and safe environment for a very good Price!

Puntarena ROCKS

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a great time!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Matthew Graham  on Feb 12, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2008
4138 people found this review helpful

I stayed at this hotel in dec of 2006 and was allocated the Puntarena upon arrival as it was a last minute booking from London.

Anyway, I was more than pleased with what I saw when I got there, although it was at night. The reception staff were extremely friendly and told us whilst handing over the key that we had a great room. She was not wrong. In the morning I woke to the most spectacular view of the sea! It seemed so close. The hotel is clean, friendly and very airy and open which I liked. The food is nice although not brilliant but the utmost effort is put into the food including the presentation etc.

The staff are the best thing about the hotel and their really is a family atmosphere. Please please please leave a tip when you leave to the chamber maids as they are amazing! Everyday they made swans and other animals out of our towels and left them on the bed. I would love to go back some day. Cubans are the nicest people on earth. A must-have vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the best holidays we've had."

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Terry Collins  on Mar 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2008
801 people found this review helpful

Please don't be put off by the first few sentences, read the whole review. We visited in June 2007. A long flight but worth it. We arrived at night so didn't see the hotel until the next morning. Our room on the 7th floor overlooked the beach and what a view, just what you expect from the Caribean. the room was clean but like the rest of the hotel showing its age. the first couple of days were surreal, We decided the plane hadn't made it and this was our penance, isolated in limbo in Hotel Paradiso. Not many luxuries to speak of. Plastic glasses, not many people and deserted beaches, not much Entertainment and the food was mediocre. It was about the 4th day before someone told us about the Beach bar and restaurant, we'd been living on cheese toasties up till then!!! But then we got into the swing of things, The Staff are so friendly, helpful and grateful, they can't do enough for you. They all give 100% to entertain you with very little resources at their disposal their efforts are exceptional. We watched the new arrivals as they slowly adjusted to the surroundings the same way we had, and by the second week the hotel was packed. But you could always get a sun lounger by the pool. Still a shortage of glasses but once you make friends with the staff you tend to find you get a glass everytime instead of plastic. The faulty lifts, lack of ping pong balls the strange Ala Carte restaurant and the 70's style decor all add to the infectious charm of the place. If you want 5* luxury go elsewhere, but if like us you want to meet the real Cubans and see the real Cuba you can't beat this place. They have very little in the way of material things but everywhere we went they were all very happy laid back and enjoying themselves. When we did eat out we could not believe the value for money, sometimes we left more tip than the cost of the meal. A beautiful place with beautiful people a fantastic place to go. Soak in the culture or just sunbath on the white sand, go on as many excursions as you can, and definately go to Havana and Club Tropicana. This has to be one of our favourite holidays. We didn't want to leave.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Family Atmosphere"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Yamil Alba  on Sep 25, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2008
1763 people found this review helpful

Wonderful experience for the whole family. The kindness of the staff matches the beauty of the beach and pool and the excellent service provided.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube