Breezes Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Breezes Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Breezes Varadero  

Carretera Las Américas, Km 3, Varadero, Matanzas,Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Nice resort... for the most part."
Posted by: Nova Scotia  on Apr 12, 2014
see all reviews

Breezes Varadero Reviews
Breezes Varadero Pictures and Information
Breezes Varadero Varadero Cuba

#36
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.8

Based on 14 reviews

Breezes Varadero Information


Operated by the famous SuperClubs group, this is their foremost property in Varadero. All inclusive luxury with great entertainment.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes Varadero Reviews

Breezes Varadero Review: 3.8 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  4
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 14

"Nice resort... for the most part."

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nova Scotia  on Apr 12, 2014  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
20 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Check-in was a little slow, but there was a busload of people arriving at the same time, so can't blame staff and you have to expect these things. Bar nearby, and friendly folks to talk to, made the time pass quickly. Pick up plastic room keys and metal safe keys. Resort map is on your paperwork. Can have resort staff transport your luggage to room, but if it's busy you'll wait a while. We elected to take our own luggage to our room.

Rooms:
Block B, second floor room. One of the better rooms we have had in 10 trips south, 7 of those to Cuba. Nice separate sitting room with it's own closing door, contains fridge stocked once during our stay with two cans of soda, two small bottles of water. Air conditioner in both rooms worked fine. Water pressure in shower was a little low, but did the trick. Lots of towels supplied, even a couple of facecloths. Kudos to the maid for keeping it clean, and for her fantastic towel art! Nice balcony area with two comfortable chairs for unwinding before dinner.

Restaurants and Bars:
Um... don't go here for the food. Sure it's Cuba, and we knew exactly what to expect (or thought we did! ), but food at Jimmy's Buffet was almost a spoiler for us. Hard to find something to eat. I lived off eggs at breakfast, bread and vegetables for lunch and dinner, and of course the famous hamburgers (near the beach). You can only eat so many hamburgers. One night I had to make a banana split to tide me over to breakfast. Service in the buffet was hit and miss. A couple of wait staff in the buffet are outstanding, the rest are well... not so much. Most days we would have eaten our food and had not even been offered water, coffee or anything. Saved us a few bucks in tips I guess.

Both A-la-Cartes, Italian and Cuban, did provide some escape from the buffet mess. Food was actually pretty good, and service was much better. There is a third restaurant available, but it could only be booked for a Friday, we guess, and we missed it.

We tried out most bars. Bar staff at all locations are outstanding. The friendliest and most efficient bar staff we have encountered in any resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is outstanding. Some days there are not enough chairs though. We generally hit the beach between 8 and 9am and stay there til mid afternoon. Most days it was a struggle to find a place to park. Towel game going on here for sure. Loved to see two people using 4 chairs and a palapa... two chairs in the shade, two in the sun. Those same people likely had two saved at the pool too. Staff had quickly and impressively popped up a bunch of new palapas while we were there, and when new chairs arrive, that may help the issue.

The Pool is a pool. A little on the small size, but a nice area to sit around later in the afternoon. Music and entertainment around the pool was not imposing at all and made for a really nice atmosphere.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We only took in one evening show, the variety show. It is what it is. Kills some time in the evening and provides a little distraction. Gotta give the kids dancing there some credit for their energy. Did find it a bit off-putting when the dancers stand outside afterwards at the exit holding tip cups. Never saw that before. It doesn't seem right to pick a favorite, nor to tip them all, so it leaves you feeling a bit awkward.

Other Comments:
General:
Staff, with the exception of a few buffet wait staff (and for all I know they might have been training some at the time), are among the best we have encountered.

The resort itself is very pretty and kept quite tidy.

The beach is beautiful.

Lobby bar seems to be the place to go in the evenings. Met a ton of really nice folks during our brief stay, and shared a lot of laughs.

A bar and/or washroom on or closer to the beach would be nice. A public washroom closer to the pool would also be a nice addition.

We won't return due to the buffet food and sketchy service (but only in the buffet). Cannot accept staying at a resort that requires you to fill your own water bottle at a public distribution station. It's simply unhygienic! Also, for a small resort, there is a lot of walking around, especially to get to washrooms from the beach or pool... we don't pee in the pool!! We've stayed in much larger resorts with less walking required to find facilities.

Hmmm... just don't know how to rate this resort. The resort has many return guests, and every return guest we met agreed with our opinions... but we wouldn't return. We had a wonderful time, loved our room and the resort as a whole, but we just can't get past our buffet experiences and that darned fill your own water bottle practice.





Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Vacation"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Betty  on Apr 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
171 people found this review helpful

This was my first trip to Cuba but it won't be my last. I went with 5 other women that included family & long time friends. We had a blast & we are already planning another trip for next April. I had a wonderful time & I met many people including other tourists & staff. We very much enjoyed meeting Allison, Jamie, Mark & the Price Family. I will never forget any of you. The staff were very pleasant & they truely went above & beyond to serve us especially the buffet staff & bar staff. Kudos to Barbaro & Jose, you guys were great. The night-time & day-time entertainment was great & the food was over & above what I expected. Since it was Italian month, they had people in from Toronto to cook for us. Normally, I don't do well with food down South but this time, I swear I gained at least 5 pounds. Overall, the resort was over & above what I expected. The grounds were beautiful & there was lots to offer any athlete. They had a basketball court, tennis court, a full gym plus more. The pool was huge plus there were 2 hot-tubs, a sauna & a jacuzzi. We ate at all 3 alacartes & enjoyed all of them. I was amazed to get a 1 hour massage for only $25. We had the opportunity to visit the Market in Veradera twice & we got some great buys. We went there on the double decker bus & came back by horse & cart. The second time we went, we came back in a convertible taxi. The only thing I found strange was how they assigned the rooms. There were 3 of us & we only had 1 bathroom yet the Junior Suites had 1 1/2 bathrooms for 2 people. Plus, they had a table & chairs & more lawn furniture than we had. Overall, it apperaed to be much larger than our room. The bed I had was pretty hard & another pillow would have been great but these are only trivial matters. They rooms were clean & that's what was important to me. The air conditioning was great plus we were close to everything. I'm already looking forward to next April & reuniting with some great people.

Room Number:
103

Room Block:
A

Arrival:
We arrived at the Breezes around 3:00pm on April 19, 2012. Both check-in & check-out were quick & painless.

Rooms:
Clean & great. An extra pillow would help.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent. Great service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great vacation!"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  susan  on Oct 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
216 people found this review helpful

We stayed at Breezes varadero from Oct 1-Oct 8/11. We had stayed at the Breezes jibacoa 2 times in the past and thought we'd give this sister hotel a try. We were glad we made the choice. We loved it. i think I prefer it to the Jibacoa one. It is more spacious. The staff were all friendly and great to deal with. Our room was really nice. We had a suite and it was large and freshly renovated-we really appreciated the space and also the large balcony. The grounds were really gorgeous and the hotel is well laid out. We enjoyed hot weather, a little rain and made lots of friends. We had a great time in the disco because the DJ has lots of CD's and you can request your favorite music. We did kareoke one night att the piano bar and that was a hoot. The beach is lovely -we got in the water every day but it was a tad wild with the waves and current. Do go to see the Dupont house -that is close by and really neat to see. The food was pretty good and I liked the Italian and the beach grill ones the best. The cuban al la carte was interesting but the food was not so good.

Room Number:
526

Room Block:
5

Other Comments:
Unless you are crazy you will enjoy this resort!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Return to Breezes"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Derek  on Oct 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
233 people found this review helpful

I have been to this resort many times over the years and for many reasons it has had it's ups and downs.
My most recent visit was a very pleasant surprise. Although some of the staff have been let go for a variety of reasons, the main core group are still there and remain the main reason why I visit this hotel.
There has been a change in management and some money has obviously been spent to make some improvements.
The food is better than it has been in the past, especially in the alacarte restaurants.
The grounds have been improved and are maintaned impeccably.
The new manager seems to spend more time with the clients and staff and seems to have a pretty good idea where additional changes should be made.
We all know that things move slowly in Cuba but my impression is that Breezes Varadero is heading in the right direction to get itself back to it's former glory

Room Number:
736

Room Block:
Main Building

Arrival:
Staff were great. Treated me like royalty and made my stay very enjoyable

Rooms:
Room was beautiful. Obviously recently painted as are many of the rooms. Many renovations going on to make things better.

Restaurants and Bars:
Staff were great, as always but the food is getting better.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Awesome. Just beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Golf course needs a lot of work and they need to realize that it is the quality of the course and the staff that make people come to play golf in Cuba. There are many other better golfing destinations and if the familiar faces continue to disappear, I will start to frequent those other destinations.
When I can play two rounds of golf and not see a beer cart, there is a problem..
People used to be there to clean my clubs at the end of the round, that doesn't seem to happen anymore..
Wherever I play golf, I like to play with local players who know the course and offer a little friendship and competition. That seems to be discouraged here and it really should be encouraged.

Other Comments:
Breezes Varadero, years ago, was a great hotel. It as been in a slump for a while but I think it is coming back and i am very happy to see that happen.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice resort, bad service"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jasna  on Jun 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
259 people found this review helpful

After visiting Breezes Jibacoa the year earlier, this resort was a big disapointment.
Room smelled bad, was closed for a long time.
Biggest problem are waiters and waitresses at the buffet. Most of them not professional, just waiting for tip, and happy that guests do all the work.
Will not go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Breezes Varadera - A disappointing resort experience"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paula  on Mar 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
328 people found this review helpful


Room Number:
615, then 501

Arrival:
Just returned from Breezes Veradero and found the experince to be a disappontment.
Our Sunwing Flight was delayed by 3 1/2 hours in Toronto as they searched for a crew to take over the plane. We received conflicting info. as to why the delay occured - Sunwing agent in Toronto said it was due to a fuel shortage in Sudbury?? the pilot said it was due to a fuel shortage down south?? So, after arriving at 5 a.m. instead of the schedlued 1:30 a.m. we were exhaused and the lady at the desk was not exactly welcoming. I've travelled extensively and would rate this hotel as one of the worse for customer service. The staff at the front desk throughout the week were very unfriendly and only when an issue was pressed would they make an effort to resolve a problem and then with a degree of rudeness.

Rooms:
We stayed in the building which housed the disco. I didn't hear the music at night but the noise after with the drunken argumemts was a problem. Providing security in this area after midnight would be beneficial in discouraging the drunken and obnoxious behaviour of guests who are yelling and swearing with no regard for others. I requested and received a room change after the third night of disrputed sleep, to which the woman at the front desk proclaimed that "this would be the last room change" and confirmed that mine was not the first request of the day due to the commotion of the night before.

Rooms were clean but tired looking. Maids did a great job and were friendly and helpful.

Restaurants and Bars:
In the buffet it was frequently difficult to receive service, and I'm not referring to slow service, I mean any service at all. There were times when noone came to offer even as little as a glass of water. The majority of staff there seemed to have difficulty even making eye contact or smiling as they serve you. Food was fine.

Nery at the bar across from the gymn was very nice and the best drinks were available in that location.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
One pool, very simple. Easy property to navigate.

Don't pay too mcuh attention to posted times and events as they don't always correpond to what is actually happening. Ex. tennis lessons are posted in the lobby as being from 9 -3. Arrived at 11 a.m to book a lesson and was told that lessons ended at 11 a.m. and the instructor and another guy just sat and watched as my daughter and I hit a few tennis balls around.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good selection - did the Havana Special trip which was great, I highly recommned this. Nelson our guide was fantastic!

Other Comments:
In all, I would not recommend this hotel and would definitely not return. It was such a let down after the great experience I had in Cuba previously.

There are a lot of great things to do and see in the area, my problem lay exclusively with the hotel and it's overall lack of friendly service.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great bang for your buck.. really"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Al  on Jan 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
315 people found this review helpful

Especially if you like adults-only and no screaming, crying children running around... I recommend it, it's mostly Canadians there and the beach is what every dream of a beach actually is. Its gorgeous to say the least.. The staff is great. Food in my opinion is not so great, not many familiar items to choose from, mostly Cuban dishes of "what is that?". Going back again in April of this year and cannot wait...

Room Number:
near Martino's Grill and the dicoteca

Room Block:
near the discoteca

Arrival:
seemless, everything went smoothly...

Rooms:
nice room, air condition did NOT work, had it on full-blast the entire time with NO results.. Luckily I was too drunk to care.. This year will be opting for a room with good A/C..

Restaurants and Bars:
Only ate at the buffet and it's a 50/50 draw.. Bars are great.. Only one stays open 24hrs... The piano bar.. Jose is the main guy there and awesome..

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All the above the beach/pools/grounds are exactly what you'd imagine in a dream, stunning to say the least.. The beach is the main attraction. wow.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
most activities are extra, the included activities are minimal at best.

Other Comments:
recommend to anyone..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"first time in cuba"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Jan 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
315 people found this review helpful

we stayed at breezes varadero,upon check in one clerk at front desk, english was not well spoken,buffet was no hell,location was good, got sick of tipping at the bars, buffet (when we did eat there) staff not that friendly, catamaran excursion was great but had to tip at 4 different times during the day from the captain of the boat and staff to the dolphin trainer etc..make sure to take lots of one dollar pesos when in cuba, havana was awesome, would like to go for a 2 day excursion there, all in all we had a good trip great restaurants in Varadero especially Lai Lai's for chinese food....the Best

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great place and friendy staff"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leslie  on Jan 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
322 people found this review helpful

I highly recomend to go to the breezes!!!! its A great place and we loved the beach.We enjoyed it so much that we are going back again in feb/2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"a m a z i n g"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Jul 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
376 people found this review helpful

im not going to bore you with a long review. It was great, I mean you cant expect much from Cuba, its not like im staying at a 5 star in toronto or anything but i have done my fair share of travelling (been to varadero 4 times, mexico 3, aruba 2, dominican 2,jamaica 2, turks and caicos, grand caymen, costa rica, bahamas 2) and this is one of the best times I have gone to cuba!! I usually stay a the RIU chains but they have gotten rid of the one they use to have in varadero and so my husband and i thought we would try out a breezes. it was great.

just try it. like i said, you cant expect a beautiful resort like say in jamaica, dont forget Cuba is for the traveller on a discount! and NO AMERICANS!! you cant ask for more.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube