Breezes Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Breezes Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Breezes Varadero  

Carretera Las Américas, Km 3, Varadero, Matanzas,Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Noisy"
Posted by: Elaine on Feb 9, 2015
see all reviews

Breezes Varadero Reviews
Breezes Varadero Pictures and Information
Breezes Varadero Varadero Cuba

#35
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.7

Based on 16 reviews

Breezes Varadero Information


Operated by the famous SuperClubs group, this is their foremost property in Varadero. All inclusive luxury with great entertainment.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes Varadero Reviews

Breezes Varadero Review: 3.7 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  5
Average
  5
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 16

"I am sold on Cuba!"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gary from Kenora, ON  on Jan 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
337 people found this review helpful

My wife and I booked our honeymoon in Cuba after some good reviews from family and friends. We searched this site for comments and took some reviews with a grain of salt (can't please everyone!). We settled on the Breezes Varadero due to the generally very good reviews. WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RESORT! This was Jen's first vacation aside from U.S. and while I have been to Mexico, I am sold on Cuba! We will be going back soon!

Rooms::
Our room was a suite. It was on the third floor facing the interior of the resort, with a spectacular view of the water over the palm trees. Double wide balcony was nice to sit out and have a drink to end the night. Our chambermaid Nancy was terrific. She left a different towel display on our bed every day (swans, elephants...you name it). We left her gifts and she left us a couple of cigars. Bed was King size, we hardly used the other half of our suite, just never there enough, which had a table and a couch with TV. Air conditioning was nice and worked well. Jen wasn't a fan of shower (pull up head on a jacuzzi tub, but it did the trick). Wall safe was handy to store our currency and valuables. Very nice rooms

Restaurants and Bars::
Now here is the funny thing. We decided when we were going on vacation that we were not going for the food as we had heard and read that the food in Cuba was not great. This was not true in our case. We both found the food to be terrific! We both had great meals at the a la carte restaurants, which could rival any good restaurant in Canada. The buffet was awesome as well. Sure there may be some things that may note be to your taste, but there is so much to choose from, you can be guaranteed to find something you will like for any meal. At worst I picked some green cabbagy thing, that for me had a bitter taste. Not a big deal, I am in a foreign country and was more than willing to try it. Also recoomend the burger bar on the beach. The raves about the burgers and pizzas are well founded!

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Incredible! Even at the busiest of times we always found a chair. We walked up to the beach bar, and had left our digital camera, watches and stuff on our chairs, and ended up being gone for about an hour. Nothing was disturbed, would never have done that anywhere else.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Highly recommend the Catamaran to Cayo Coco. Incredible boat ride with a fun boat crew, lots of drinks, snorkeling with tons of colourful fish, swim with the dolphins, and a lobster lunch on the island. Want to have fun on a boat, then go!
Also recommend the Havana Tour with the rum museum and cigar factory. Wow, talk about going back in time! I am not a rum drinker, but the sipping rum they give you is so smooth, I could convert! The cigar factory was interesting too!

Other Comments::
Tip the people who serve you, carry your bags, or provide you with a service such as a tour guide. They do not expect it, but they certainly do appreciate it. It doesn't have to be a much, as this is not an affluent country. Tip as you would here at home and they will treat you very well.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing in some way "

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Jan 11, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
327 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this resort from 7 to 21 Dec 09. I’m sorry to say this is the first time our review is quite negative. I must begin by saying that we have done a fair bit of traveling over the years, and so we have something to compare with. Flew with Sunwing yet again, was great yet again, just 30 mins delay (not the norm with Sunwing!) on our trip back home. Flight down was 3 hrs and 15 mins long. Upon arrival, all first line airport staff were wearing masks. Our rep said this is normal, and not just H1N1 fears. Washroom facilities by baggage collection. Drive from airport to resort was 35 mins, with super quick stops at 2 other resorts. No crazy drivers here, and no garbage whatsoever visible! Small older hotel, very nicely laid out, pleasing to the eye, landscaping very nice. Wheel chair accessible. Most rooms would be very quiet, even those at front of resort and closest to street as traffic is very light. Don’t know about noise in tropical suites as that is where disco is. Staff are wonderful! No ID bracelets, guests are 14+ in age, and no USA guests! E-mail: guestrelations@breezesvaradero.cyt.cu (don’t expect a reply).

Room:
Room Suite was very big. From what we saw, every room was big. Tropical suites bldg had 3 levels. Regular/older bldgs were 2 levels. To enter rooms on lower level (first floor), you have to walk down 4 stairs. Separate room with couch and fridge (never stocked). Thermos in room, take to any bar for refill of drinking water. Lots of hangers in both rooms, not enough dresser space. King size bed, very hard, but we got used to it. Bedding was clean. Everything worked just fine including water pressure, got used to noisy AC. Very dim lighting by bed, barely good enough for reading on one side, and there is no light on other side of bed. Outlets are 110V like at home. Walls are cement and very sound proof. Bldg is old and so washroom is dated. Nothing wrong with dated, as long as it is kept clean. This was one of the problems. Maid was a very nice woman, however did a horrible job of cleaning the bathroom. Never mind the fact that the faucets and drains need some major CLR and scrubbing. It was the surface dirt that was not cleaned, and yes it was only surface dirt, and something she should have taken care of regularly, even if not daily. The tub wasn’t cleaned well either, neither was the counter wiped down every day. We found that sometimes the towels were not clean, and I don’t mean permanent stains, I’m talking about stuck on dirt. I don’t know what it is with this resort and mirrors, all of them were filthy, other guests complained about the same thing. They replaced our bathroom mirror, don’t know why as it was fine; but even it’s replacement was dirty. One plastic bag wrapped ‘sterilized’ drinking glass was absolutely filthy, had chalky white streaks all over it. And they call this ‘sterilized’? Bugs, oh yes, the 3 live roaches we found in our room! One in dresser, another on washroom counter and the third crawling on floor. You may wonder why we didn’t change rooms. Resort was going to be overbooked in 2 days, so where would they move us? Possibly into one of the rooms where the AC wasn’t working. Neither did we want them coming in and spraying deet in and around our clothing etc. So when we found the first roach, we decided to laugh and tell ourselves this is the caribbean, and decided to make the best of our holiday. We did not feel the same by the end of the 2 wks. We kept our munchies in fridge as of day 1, so this was not the reason for roaches. They were already living in room when we arrived. Speaking with other guests, we found out that 2 other rooms had the same problem. We have to ask ourselves how many other rooms were affected with the crawlers. The only other bugs we found were a few ants on bathroom floor and a few mosquitos. In all the travelling we have done, we have never had a single roach in our room, never mind 3!

Food:
Neither one of us was sick, but food was another overall disappointment. We did not starve by any means, but it’s true that you don’t go to cuba for the food! Not much for salad fixings; and not much fresh fruit, often not ripe enough. Most days bananas were not available, or they were badly bruised. Egg station was of course the most popular breakfast item. Whoever cut up the chicken, massacred it, lots of tiny bone fragments. They did have boneless skinless chicken breasts, but you had to wait for them to grill it, side by side with the fish and seafood. Hot food was definitely kept hot as serving pans were sitting right on burners and you could see food simmering. Food appeared to be fresh, and yes they do sometimes recycle an item into something else, there is nothing wrong with this practice. Plates were often dirty with greasy spots and stuck on dirt, would see folks sorting through them looking for a clean one. Sometimes the cutlery was also dirty, and a few glasses too. In our opinion, the chef at the beach grill was the most professional because he took care in how he handled raw hamburger meat, washing his hands, etc.

Beach:
Beach and ocean are most definitely awesome! For the first 3 days the ocean was so calm there was barely a ripple. Then we had some waves to jump and play in. The last 4 days the weather changed drastically, like someone had flicked a switch from summer to winter. These were major red flag days, life guards vigilant in not allowing anyone to venture in. We have never seen it this bad. The waves came in all the way to almost where the palapas are, no kidding! It was definitely very cool, very windy, overcast and some rain. Folks dressed in jeans and long sleeves. This is cuba’s winter now too, and so unfortunately weather like this is sometimes the norm. With the storm, came the portuguese man of war jelly fish washed up on shore. Lots of shade on the beach, approx 95 small palapas; no trees. Property is long, you can spread out, not elbow to elbow. No need to reserve chairs (none broken), could still find a palapa at 10:00. No security issues on beach or anywhere else at resort. Sand is nice and smooth, no roots or branches to trip over, just some small broken shells and such. No ants or wasps whatsoever. Ocean floor was very smooth, no seaweed, and very clear most days, absolutely beautiful. Very few fish to see and so no real snorkeling; sargeant majors, ray, flounder, and a star fish. No beach bar service, sorry. You have to get up yourself and stretch, walk to bar by the grill and towel hut. Most folks brought insulated mugs, resort plastic glasses are very small. Three paths to the beach; 1 on each of the far ends of property, and then middle section which is the most popular as is closest to the bar. This path is where you will find tree roots and branches. Could use widening as is not wide enough for 2 people to walk side by side. There are no washrooms on the beach. Are on beach level, but located under the buffet, close to beach bar and grill. Would strongly suggest that you return to your room to use facilities as both mens and womens are disgusting. The mens has only 1 urinal now, and it was always plugged and overflowing. The womens wasn’t much better. Of the 4 cubicles, 1 had no lock, and 3 or all 4 often did not flush, and sometimes no toilet paper in some. Stretch of beach goes on forever, beautiful.

Location:
Immediate neighbors are Sol Sirenas on one side; other side are Tuxpan, then Superclubs Breezes Bella Costa. Visible on hill is shopping center and golf course. Shopping Gift shop in hotel is useless. Go into town, or buy from one of the bicycle beach vendors which travel up and down the beach. They don’t hassle you, they wait for you to approach them. Prices are very reasonable, we did not haggle. Currency can be exchanged at reception. Basically almost nothing in the way of name brand alcohol at varadero airport.

Conclusion:
We cannot say that we had a fantastic holiday, but we made the best of it. We travel to the caribbean for the ocean and warm weather, and really only sleep and shower in the room. The resort is a perfect small size with everything within easy distance, and very safe. During our stay, 2 bldgs were closed for renovations, no noise disruption. The staff are VERY pleasant, no complaints except for gift shop staff. Most speak english very well. Our favorites were our buffet waitress, a young lady by the name of Niuvis; and the grill chef. We will definitely return to Varadero, but unfortunately not to this hotel, unless they seriously clean up. Portion of resort was recently closed for 3 mths for renovations. Our bldg was one of the ones that was spruced up. Room was painted, and it may have been the only thing done. As mentioned, bathroom needs serious scrubbing. One light switch was so filthy we hated touching it. You would think these kinds of housekeeping chores would be part of regular cleaning; and if not, well then at least seriously addressed during renovations. We are easy going and can put up with a lot, and always try to make the best of it. This time unfortunately all the negatives, trivial and not so trivial, plus others which I did not mention and which normally never bother us, well.....it all added up on this trip. The whole experience did not leave us with a warm and fuzzy feeling. We found a guest comment form in the desk and definitely took the time to fill it out. Thanks again to Debbie for creating this wonderful site!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"know your spanish"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  gerry  on Jan 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
331 people found this review helpful

hotel great been there many times we just got one free week for going there 5 times but we will not be going back. last day there my wife had a brain hemmerage you do not want to stay in the hospital in matanzas it is descusting very old & dirty i had a spider in my bed next morning no towels no shower like i said know your spanish or you are screwed.love you canada by the way she is in london universaty hospital still recovering. dont let the cubans operate unless you have no other way out just remember once you are off the resort in an ambulance your on your own no more english

Your Arrival:
great

Rooms:
great

Restaurants and Bars:
great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
great

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok but the weather was crap very cold

Other Comments:
hope i did not put any body off. this resort is great & what happend to my wife has nothing to do whith this resort or cuba. good luck everybody

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My experience at Breezes"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Zelia  on Jun 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
448 people found this review helpful

Hi
I recently visited Super Breezes in Varadero (May 25-June 1)I cannot say that I was terribly impressed or that I would return.
The room was good but there wasn't even a bottle of water in the fridge, apparently we were responsible for it but yet nobody told us.
If we wanted our linens changed we had to leave a specific note that was on the dresser.

Food was good if you liked buffet everyday or if you booked to get into the specialty restaurants where in some cases a dress code applied but really it didn't.
We had an hour of free internet that didn't happen, the internet was always down for the whole week we were there, we had to resort to calling our daughters at 2.85cuc

The best thing was the Beach grill, Noel is a very nice man

Entertainment sucked, the presenter felt it necessary to speak spanish, english and french, I don't understand the french.
That resort caters too much to french speaking people which is annoying to those of us non french speaking
Here at home we get french shoved down our throats we don't need when we go on vacation
I made my complaint known, the way I see it Cuba is spanish speaking, they should speak spanish and then in English which is a universal language

I've been to Cayo Coco, stayed at Blau Colonial and found the service much better all around

Needless to say I will not return to Breezes

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"a m a z i n g"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Jul 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
489 people found this review helpful

im not going to bore you with a long review. It was great, I mean you cant expect much from Cuba, its not like im staying at a 5 star in toronto or anything but i have done my fair share of travelling (been to varadero 4 times, mexico 3, aruba 2, dominican 2,jamaica 2, turks and caicos, grand caymen, costa rica, bahamas 2) and this is one of the best times I have gone to cuba!! I usually stay a the RIU chains but they have gotten rid of the one they use to have in varadero and so my husband and i thought we would try out a breezes. it was great.

just try it. like i said, you cant expect a beautiful resort like say in jamaica, dont forget Cuba is for the traveller on a discount! and NO AMERICANS!! you cant ask for more.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great place and friendy staff"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Leslie  on Jan 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
456 people found this review helpful

I highly recomend to go to the breezes!!!! its A great place and we loved the beach.We enjoyed it so much that we are going back again in feb/2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"first time in cuba"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Jan 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
565 people found this review helpful

we stayed at breezes varadero,upon check in one clerk at front desk, english was not well spoken,buffet was no hell,location was good, got sick of tipping at the bars, buffet (when we did eat there) staff not that friendly, catamaran excursion was great but had to tip at 4 different times during the day from the captain of the boat and staff to the dolphin trainer etc..make sure to take lots of one dollar pesos when in cuba, havana was awesome, would like to go for a 2 day excursion there, all in all we had a good trip great restaurants in Varadero especially Lai Lai's for chinese food....the Best

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great bang for your buck.. really"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Al  on Jan 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
573 people found this review helpful

Especially if you like adults-only and no screaming, crying children running around... I recommend it, it's mostly Canadians there and the beach is what every dream of a beach actually is. Its gorgeous to say the least.. The staff is great. Food in my opinion is not so great, not many familiar items to choose from, mostly Cuban dishes of "what is that?". Going back again in April of this year and cannot wait...

Room Number:
near Martino's Grill and the dicoteca

Room Block:
near the discoteca

Arrival:
seemless, everything went smoothly...

Rooms:
nice room, air condition did NOT work, had it on full-blast the entire time with NO results.. Luckily I was too drunk to care.. This year will be opting for a room with good A/C..

Restaurants and Bars:
Only ate at the buffet and it's a 50/50 draw.. Bars are great.. Only one stays open 24hrs... The piano bar.. Jose is the main guy there and awesome..

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All the above the beach/pools/grounds are exactly what you'd imagine in a dream, stunning to say the least.. The beach is the main attraction. wow.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
most activities are extra, the included activities are minimal at best.

Other Comments:
recommend to anyone..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Breezes Varadera - A disappointing resort experience"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paula  on Mar 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
573 people found this review helpful


Room Number:
615, then 501

Arrival:
Just returned from Breezes Veradero and found the experince to be a disappontment.
Our Sunwing Flight was delayed by 3 1/2 hours in Toronto as they searched for a crew to take over the plane. We received conflicting info. as to why the delay occured - Sunwing agent in Toronto said it was due to a fuel shortage in Sudbury?? the pilot said it was due to a fuel shortage down south?? So, after arriving at 5 a.m. instead of the schedlued 1:30 a.m. we were exhaused and the lady at the desk was not exactly welcoming. I've travelled extensively and would rate this hotel as one of the worse for customer service. The staff at the front desk throughout the week were very unfriendly and only when an issue was pressed would they make an effort to resolve a problem and then with a degree of rudeness.

Rooms:
We stayed in the building which housed the disco. I didn't hear the music at night but the noise after with the drunken argumemts was a problem. Providing security in this area after midnight would be beneficial in discouraging the drunken and obnoxious behaviour of guests who are yelling and swearing with no regard for others. I requested and received a room change after the third night of disrputed sleep, to which the woman at the front desk proclaimed that "this would be the last room change" and confirmed that mine was not the first request of the day due to the commotion of the night before.

Rooms were clean but tired looking. Maids did a great job and were friendly and helpful.

Restaurants and Bars:
In the buffet it was frequently difficult to receive service, and I'm not referring to slow service, I mean any service at all. There were times when noone came to offer even as little as a glass of water. The majority of staff there seemed to have difficulty even making eye contact or smiling as they serve you. Food was fine.

Nery at the bar across from the gymn was very nice and the best drinks were available in that location.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
One pool, very simple. Easy property to navigate.

Don't pay too mcuh attention to posted times and events as they don't always correpond to what is actually happening. Ex. tennis lessons are posted in the lobby as being from 9 -3. Arrived at 11 a.m to book a lesson and was told that lessons ended at 11 a.m. and the instructor and another guy just sat and watched as my daughter and I hit a few tennis balls around.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good selection - did the Havana Special trip which was great, I highly recommned this. Nelson our guide was fantastic!

Other Comments:
In all, I would not recommend this hotel and would definitely not return. It was such a let down after the great experience I had in Cuba previously.

There are a lot of great things to do and see in the area, my problem lay exclusively with the hotel and it's overall lack of friendly service.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice resort, bad service"

Breezes Varadero
User Rating:  Breezes Varadero Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jasna  on Jun 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
507 people found this review helpful

After visiting Breezes Jibacoa the year earlier, this resort was a big disapointment.
Room smelled bad, was closed for a long time.
Biggest problem are waiters and waitresses at the buffet. Most of them not professional, just waiting for tip, and happy that guests do all the work.
Will not go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube