Iberostar Tainos Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Iberostar Tainos reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Barcelo Arenas Blancas

4.1 based on 65 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 17, 2014

Iberostar Tainos  

Carretera Las Morlas Km 12 1/2, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"I and my wife had a nice time"
Posted by: shermeck on Aug 11, 2014
see all reviews

Iberostar Tainos Reviews
Iberostar Tainos Pictures and Information
Iberostar Tainos Varadero Cuba

#25
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.6

Based on 18 reviews

Iberostar Tainos Information


Surrounded by tropical gardens, with one- or two-storey bungalows, for that home-away-from-home feeling. Singles, couples and families appreciate the excellent four-star value of this recently built hotel, and the wide variety of entertainment and activities.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Tainos Reviews

Iberostar Tainos Review: 4.6 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  3
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (9)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 18

"I and my wife had a nice time"

Iberostar Tainos
User Rating:  Iberostar Tainos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  shermeck  on Aug 11, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
5 people found this review helpful

I and my wife visited Iberostar Tainos for our two weeks’ vacation in July and we had a great time here. On arrival, the staff was friendly and check in was quick, we came for a wedding party and it turned to be one of the best we have ever been to. Our room was ready immediately after check in and the maid cleaned the place well. The room was clean; you could see that it was properly cleaned out in preparation for a new guest. The rooms were cleaned every day, that made it almost spotless and sheets were changed, towels were changed as well. There was a mini fridge in the room that was restocked daily so enough of the room reviews. The atmosphere was appealing, it looked very clean and they pool was amazing and looked clean too. The pool is sweeter to swim in before noon because of the sun it is usually cool in the morning. The bar staff made us feel welcomed, they were really nice to us and they are fantastic. There is internet service at the hotel lobby, not so fast but can make do. The hotel restaurant is great so are the staff members that serve there, they are so friendly. Food and drinks are cheap at this hotel and for the service they render it is a pretty good choice of hotel. There were few excursions you can partake in, we took part in the catamaran ride and saw fishes and dolphins.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Better than expected!"

Iberostar Tainos
User Rating:  Iberostar Tainos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Claire  on Apr 3, 2014  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
34 people found this review helpful

Thanks go to:
Manager Ana, for her presence, her love of animals, our conversations, her genuine interest
Reception jefa Annelys for all of her help, with a smile
Head chef Juan Carlos, for his rounds each day, for taking the time to talk with the clients, for our trilingual conversations and his constant interest in our feedback
Room lady Yanara, gracias
Our beach bartenders Jorge (George) and Luis
Esperanza y Sheila for the morning cortados!
Dayli at the lobby bar for her smile, her service... and her history lessons!
Lauda at the morning Buffet. Her smile was infectious!
Yaima for the excellent stretching class on the beach.
Animators Maykel, Marvis and Julio for their energy.
The tall smiling lady who diligently washes the tiles in front of the Buffet each morning.
All of the talented musicians who made our stay so memorable.

Room Number:
2312

Room Block:
23

Arrival:
Flight out of QC City with Sunwing delayed 1 hour (weather, what else?). Fast run through Cuban aduanas, short busride to hotel, speedy checkin (I was the only one getting off lol), 11 p.m., the reception clerk informed me right away that my friend from New BUNSwick (lol) had just arrived a few minutes before.
Heads up: Safe is optional, 2 CUC a day.

Rooms:
We had rm 2312, twin beds, 2nd floor, quiet bldg equal distance from lobby and beach and close to pool. We were in the "back row" of bldgs, so our balcony view was of vacant lot between our hotel and the one next door. We DID have a wonderful breeze, spacious balcony with 2 sides AND a beautifully blooming tree to our left. We went to the lobby to enquire about an upgrade (never hurts to ask; the hotel was not full) and the reception lady graciously showed us a larger rm in the main building and a 2 rm suite same bldg but no view, so we decided to keep our quiet room (not there much anyhoo :D)
This room was in a renovated bungalow of the hotel, so new paint, brand new bathroom with Italian shower WOW, lots of hot water and great water pressure. Room was always clean, well stocked every day, fridge too. A bunch of itsy-bitsies found there way to some fruit... and into one of my books (they crave the glue, I've read), but problem was quickly resolved with no more incidents occurring during the week.

Restaurants and Bars:
Gotta say, I've been to a lot of AIs and the food here was GREAT! Would you believe no french fries or bacon all week! Very healthy selection for all three meals. Head chef Juan Carlos is Chilean and spent several years abroad, so this definitely shows in what is offered, despite a smaller budget (4 star). The frijoles and eggplant were delicious, as well as the paellas and merou grilled to perfection. I'm impressed!
Restaurants: Buffet, Ranchon restaurant for lunch (near pool and beach; this one becomes the Cuban restaurant at night, open concept, no a/c), and Japanese.
Cuban restaurant, limited options but everything looked good. The grilled fish filet with slight panko and garlic was delicious, as was the chilled rosé.
Japanese restaurant, champagne at the door, food was great (not too salty), sushis as appetizer, the cook was awesome, great smile too, the rest of the service was very rushed, the Maitre D pushed for us to buy the wine displayed.
Service everywhere with a smile, a couple of employees even spoke French.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach: a solid 10. Lots of chairs, older ones that did not fold all the way down and brand new ones that did, blue tarp. Chairs on other side of large elevated beach bar with sitting area. Lots of palapas, towel war in full swing, despite the hotel not being full. Not sure they had the personnel to "pick up" after everyone daily, lots of cig butts (puleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeez, people, do your part!). Water was gloriously hot, with the exception of 2 days during cold front when water was cooler, waves, red flag. No jellyfish or seaweed, easy access to water.
The usual vendors (hats, mugs and dresses) were present daily on our stretch of the beach and most days under surveillance. We did a 12k walk around the end of the peninsula to the Playa Alameda one day and noticed not one single vendor on that stretch of beach. Go figure.
Pool: no comment, only sat there for a short period on one windy day. Looked pristeen and was quite large, with a wading pool nearby and kiddies club.
Grounds: Beautiful mature vegetation, several trees I had never seen before, many flowering shrubs, gardeners hard at work each day. NOT BITTEN ONCE, yehhhh!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Dolphinarium next to hotel. We went for a walk out there and could easily see the dolphins from the bridge. The usual other excursions (which we did not partake in): day in Havana, day on a catamaran, deep fishing, jeep safari, etc. And of course downtown Varadero minutes away.
The animators were omnipresent without being pushy, a jovial bunch. There was yoga/stretching each morning at beach and pool, followed by salsa lessons and various games (petanque, rifle lessons (?), darts, pool, etc.)
Small crafts section in lobby and small boutique with the usual.
Live music every day during lunch (wonderful!) as well as each night (different each night) in the lobby outdoor area.
Internet was iffy all week.

Other Comments:
The positives: Better than average food, great beach, nice clean room with Italian shower, good drinks, excellent service with a smile (without looking for a tip), excellent service at the Reception

The negs: Japanese restaurant, service (wonderful smiling cook) by other staff was rushed (and frankly wierd). We heard about similar complaints by others during the week. There are 4 stations, only 1 was operational, was that the reason?
Although the lobby area is nice, open and airy, I did notice a slight lack of cleanliness (glass rings, dirty tables and counters, pillows out of place) most of the week, not acceptable for that first impression, imho.

Internet was on the blink most of the week (not a problem para mi)
Many many cigarette butts in the sand, why can't people stop using the beach as a dump????

One last thing: I must mention that I was fortunate to witness the great work by our own Spanky Project in collaboration with the Varadero APAC (animal protection organization) in collaboration with Ana, the delightful Tainos manager and animal lover, who signed up the hotel to participate in a free spaying/neutering activity on the site when we were there. All of the cats were gently captured and the mission was crowned a success (don't know about the 2 dogs). Thanks to Ana, this campaign will no doubt spread to neighbouring hotels. Way to go, Ana!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dont read the negatives,this is agreat place"

Iberostar Tainos
User Rating:  Iberostar Tainos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  edward  on Feb 5, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
121 people found this review helpful

We arrived on the 2nd December 2012 for two weeks stay, our first room the patio doors would not open. we mentioned to the front desk and was transferred to another room. Hedi at the front desk was super as was the others.The staff in the dinning room was excellent, particular Rozzanne, Maybe, and Yanita.The food was excellent.Entertaiment could not be any better, we were there two weeks and did not see the same show twice. The only thing we found disapointing was the Cuban restaurant which lack atmosphere. This was our first visit to Cuba, we will be back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Filthy - Avoid this place!"

Iberostar Tainos
User Rating:  Iberostar Tainos Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynn  on Feb 5, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
119 people found this review helpful

If you are considering going to the Tainos, don't. If you have any option to upgrade to a better resort, do it. We read the reviews and, having been to 2 other Iberostars, booked the Tainos. This resort is a disgrace to the Iberostar name.
We arrived on Jan. 25th at around 11:30. Our bags were stored as our room wouldn't be ready until 1:30. No security here at all on the beach and non visible on the grounds.
Our room was in section 22, second floor. The room was filthy. The curtains were ripped, dirty and hanging off the rods. The patio door didn't close but there was a chain lock. The windows were dirty as were all the mirrors in the room. The bedspread was dirty with plenty of DNA and had blood stains on it as well as the "towel art" on the bed. The inside of the shower was rusted and dirty. Even the bath mat and the towels that were in the bathroom had dirt and blood stains on them. The toilet was dirty and stained inside. The floor still had remnants of what appeared to be someone else's urine on the floor. The bathroom window was secured by one screw and trimmed with black mold. The floors were dull with build up and the walls were streaked with dirt as was the air conditioning control unit. There was a vase of dead flowers on the desk and the drawers had about a 1/4 inch of dust in them. Our Tablet disappeared out of the safe and we were only there for 24 hours. The safe at the Tainos works via a card, similar to the door key, that works for the safe and the door. Not very secure.
We went to the gym to check it out. A danger in itself. Everything was very old, dusty and appeared unsafe. The treadmill was ripped about 6 inches at the seam. All the ponds at the front and back of the main building were empty of water, dirty and chipped. We asked our Sunwing rep if we could be transferred over the the Iberostar Laguna Azul where we stayed 2 years ago. He made some calls and we packed and grabbed a cab to the Iberostar Laguna Azul - FANTASTIC RESORT!.
Very disturbing experience overall to say the least.

Room Block:
22

Arrival:
Jan. 25 2013

Rooms:
Absolutely disgusting and dirty.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant was dirty with limited buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools had tiles missing. Shrubbery manicured.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
None that I saw. Never saw any entertainment staff at all except for the one laying on the couch when we went to check out the gym.

Other Comments:
Spend a few extra dollars and go to a better resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A delightful gem that improves each year."

Iberostar Tainos
User Rating:  Iberostar Tainos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brigid  on May 21, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
255 people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd visit to the Iberostar Tainos (February 24 - March 9). It is a small resort with beautiful grounds and beach. While the rooms are dated, they are clean. The food continues to improve with each visit – this year there were several special evenings with sangria and champagne, fresh shrimp and mussels and the best bread ever.

We were originally placed in bungalow 28 but encountered problems with the bathroom. The staff first tried to fix the problem, but after ascertaining it wasn't going to be done quickly moved us to another room. While we lost the King bed in the move, I found that bungalow 22 was closer to the main building and a bit sunnier without the all the trees that overhung bungalow 28.

The manager asked guests to please convey the information that they are awaiting permission to re-build the boardwalk to the beach. While this looks like the type of job you could do on a weekend, remember folks, this is Cuba.

Thanks to the staff for making our vacation so memorable. We will be returning to this little gem of a resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent Hotel"

Iberostar Tainos
User Rating:  Iberostar Tainos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  KRYSTAL POTTER  on May 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
384 people found this review helpful

This was my 5th trip to Cuba but first time staying at Iberostar Tainos, I was very impressed with the excellent service and quality of food at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, there was always plenty of fresh food available at anytime day or night, with barbeques daily round the pool and also some days on the beach which was lovely! There is also a good selection of drinks available, my favourites being the pina coladas and champers!
The only downside for me was the location of the hotel but I knew before booking where it was, we normally choose a hotel in the centre of Varadero, to get to the centre from this hotel it was 10 - 15 pesos each way (depending what time of day) in a taxi.
Me and my partner got married whilst we was staying here, we had arranged our own wedding outside the hotel in cetral Varadero but the hotel still left us champegne and desserts in our room the day before our wedding and my husband had arranged for us to have breakfast brought to our room the morning after the wedding as a surprise but then forgot about it until we went down to the buffet for breakfast and the staff reminded him! I thought this was a really nice extra touch from the hotel.
On the whole a brilliant hotel, great for families and couples, would stay here again without hesitation!

Room Number:
1216

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Second Visit But Not Our Last"

Iberostar Tainos
User Rating:  Iberostar Tainos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brigid  on Apr 8, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
434 people found this review helpful

This was our second visit to the Iberostar Tainos. We like the resort because it is small and intimate. The staff and other guests recognize you after a few days and there is a very cozy feeling to the resort.

Room Number:
2303

Arrival:
We booked with Sell-off Vacations a Signature vacation and flew from Ottawa direct to Varadero on Sunwing. The trip down was uneventful. It’s a bit chaotic once you leave the airport but look for the Sunwing Rep and they’ll point you to the correct bus. The only confusion we had was that the bus had a Sunwing Vacation sign so we weren’t certain if it was also the Signature Vacation bus (it was).
We arrived at the hotel around 11:30 a.m. We were told that the room would not be ready until after 3:00 but we could eat lunch beginning at 1:00. The bellman suggested we check back just before lunch and sure enough our room was ready.

Rooms:
We had emailed in advance to request a bungalow. For our first visit, we stayed on the top floor of the main building – the only way to get an ocean view (room 1201). We were keen to try the bungalows and were glad we did. We had room 2303 in one of the garden bungalows. It was incredibly quiet and secluded. The room was clean and our housekeeper Tamara did a wonderful job. As others have noted, some of the décor needs updating – the curtains were missing some hooks. There is a bathroom with toilet, bidet, and tub/shower and a separate room with the sink, vanity, and closet, which made it easy for the two of us to get ready.

Restaurants and Bars:
Given that there were people from at least 11 different countries at the resort, the staff does a great job of meeting the various food expectations. You’d have to be a very picky eater not to find something to eat. We ate twice at each of the Cuban and Japanese restaurants (there are no limits on how many visits you can make). The Cuban cuisine is basic – meat/fish and rice. My husband quite enjoyed it. The Japanese provides a great show for the kids and the shrimps were the freshest I think I’ve ever had.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is beautiful. The water is quintessential Caribbean. We walked the length of the beach and found the Tainos beach to be one of the cleanest. The pool area is very popular but you could usually find a spot. The resort has been busy refurbishing the exterior of the buildings and the grounds themselves are lovely despite the dryness of the land outside of the resort. There was a major rainstorm one evening and by noon the next day all of the broken tree limbs, leaves, and debris were gone from the entire site.

Other Comments:
The nightly shows have improved since our last visit in 2005. They are of a high calibre with very talented performers. Several evenings the performances were accompanied by a live band. We looked forward to the show each night. Between dinner and the show there was often activities on the plaza – a band, dancing, magic show, crafts fair. The entertainment staff are hardworking and always friendly.
We had the pleasure of attending the manager’s reception for returning guests – there was a large turnout – a testament to the staying power of this resort. The manager and his staff were regularly checking with guests for their comments and concerns.
We can’t wait to return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very good hotel!!!"

Iberostar Tainos
User Rating:  Iberostar Tainos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nelson & Mary  on Jun 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
479 people found this review helpful

Your Arrival:
Arrival at the hotel the day May 20, 2010. The check in was quick. We
are happy to receive a welcome cocktail, a nice gesture that was
greatly appreciated.

Rooms:
The large room with balcony included, very pretty, painted, very
clean, odorless and traces of moisture, and with a different decor
every day.
We carry a child and as we requested, the room had a small bed very
comfortable. The double bed rather broad. Refrigerator with
refreshments included in the price already paid, to change every two
days. Hot water service never lacked. Plenty of shower gel and
shampoo.
The room very well located right next to the pool.

Restaurants and Bars:
The hotel has two restaurants, a japanese food and other local food.
The two really excellent and outstanding.

Criollo Restaurant: The exquisite meal with several dishes to ask for a
menu that includes fish, beef, pork, etc.. You have a mini buffet
table. The service of this restaurant is wonderful, always aware of
how to serve, how to make them feel better. This restaurant is just
perfect!

Japanese Restaurant: Eating at this restaurant is only enjoy our food,
is witnessing a cooking show is a spectacle. The decor of this
restaurant is very elegant and tasteful. Those clients are located
around an chef, he is going to cook every dish for those clients that
surround it. If you go to Iberostar Tainos do not miss eating at this
restaurant.

The Tainos Iberostar has three bars, a beach bar, a pool bar and a
lobby bar. The best of the three is the lobby bar. This bar is always
full of customers sitting at tables around him, smoking, talking,
playing cards, sharing, the bar allows the creation of a friendly
atmosphere around him. The bartender and waitresses in the bar are very
friendly, very competent, the service is wonderful. It is a very good
atmosphere and very lively.

The buffet table is very well, I think very well stocked for a 4 star
hotel, I went to several four-star hotels and this was the best buffet
table.

The cafeteria of the pool is amazing that more than a coffee shop is
almost a miniature buffet table. It has Italian food
(pizzas, pastas), Creole (rice, chicken, beef and pork), sausages,
cheese, ice cream, fruit, sweets, bread, beverages and spirits. In the
morning breakfast and serves as the basis of 11 as a restaurant -
cafeteria. They offer very good service, variety and quality. We
hadn't seen a cafeteria like this before ...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool very clean and with plenty of sun loungers. The beach, crystal clear waters, fine sand, so beautiful!!!. The
well-kept grounds, divinely decorated, gave pleasure to walk through the
hotel and enjoy the pleasant company of nature in all its splendor.
The hotel has a gym.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Every day it makes games of participation in the beach area, during the
afternoon in the pool, eg: petanque, volleyball, bingo, etc. The
animation in the pool I think it could be more widely throughout the
day, more music, aquatic handball games and things of this kind would
give more life to a space that is kept full of clients throughout the day.
Every night in the showroom of the hotel feature a different show. The
shows are very good, the hotel has a wonderful animation team which
participates in all shows. The nightly shows give much life to the
night of hotel, is a space where you can laugh, enjoy good Cuban and
international music, and even dance if you want, etc..

Other Comments:
Our stay at the Iberostar Tainos was simply exceptional. They were
four days of dreams at the end of these day we didn't want to return home.
The service of this hotel I think it is his more important treasure, its
workers are wonderful. In this hotel we made friends, rest, enjoy a
friendly atmosphere. We have become there!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic"

Iberostar Tainos
User Rating:  Iberostar Tainos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Ramon  on May 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: May, 2010
1009 people found this review helpful

Het is een super hotel, met veel variatie in het eten. Ook de animatie is uitstekend. Het is niet alleen leuk voor kinderen maar er zijn ook volwasse spellen zoals schieten en handboogschieten. er zitten wel veel muggen.' Maar dat geeft niet, en het is alleen 's avonds.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome!"

Iberostar Tainos
User Rating:  Iberostar Tainos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judi  on Apr 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
478 people found this review helpful

When you book a trip to get away from it all, you may not be too sure about what you will actually get when you get there.

Let me tell you – Iberostar Tainos exceeded all of my expectations.

The staff is awesome – I am not going to mention any names because with my memory I will forget someone and that is the last thing I would want to do. Who would ever expect that someone would make a point of remembering you the day after you arrive, know what you like to drink, know your name and greet you with a smile, accommodate your every need – well let me tell you, everyone on the staff of Tainos.

The size, the location, the beach, the food, etc. it was all so inviting and so much fun to enjoy for two weeks.

I took four trips off the resort and thoroughly enjoyed the learning experience and everyone I met – lots of memories and lots of pictures.

I met people from all over the place and hope to continue those relationships for years to come.

Food – so much to choose from – lots of fruits and vegetables, lots of fish, lots of meat, and lots of wonderful bread.

Entertainment – I cannot say enough about having wonderful entertainment day and night, on the beach and in the theatre, great talent and wonderful smiles and greetings for everyone.

Staff – I said it before and I say it again – they are awesome!

Thank you, thank you, thank you – pina coladas (one with rum, one without), cappuccinos (one with rum, one without) and espresso with rum.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube