Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Tryp Cayo Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.8 based on 52 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 30, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 39 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2014

Tryp Cayo Coco  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey
(Jardines del Rey)

"such an amazing summer vacation"
Posted by: tucker on Jul 31, 2014
see all reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews
Tryp Cayo Coco Pictures and Information
Tryp Cayo Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#2
of 10 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 72 reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Information



The Tryp Cayo Coco is located in one of the most important ecological areas in the country.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 3.7 of 5 72 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  26
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (57)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (30)
Solo
1 - 10 of 72

"such an amazing summer vacation"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  tucker  on Jul 31, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | With Group
7 people found this review helpful

I visited this resort with my friends and we had such an amazing summer vacation here in Cuba. If you want a good place to stay here is the place for you to come and have a nice time, I call it paradise on earth. When you arrive, the staff at the reception all greets you with a warm welcome and then the check in process is really fast and then you will be taken to your room. The staff at the resort was warm, friendly, nice and very pleasant. This is a place you go to when you are need of a very typical Cuban vacation. The beach is incredible and amazing and I had fun going into it with my friends, we usually just strolled on the soft beach sand then when it gets too hot, we just swim and also go snorkeling. The buffet was great, there was good food selection and the restaurants here, I mean the a la carte restaurants were really nice; I had with my friends the best time of my life. The resort boasts of lots of bars and has the best drink mixers I have come in contact with. The Cappuccino is to die for and the animation team made sure that the entertainment gave the guests a reason to stay or come back for more. I want to say a special thank you to the management and the staff crew for making me and my friends has a wonderful time here. The rooms are great by the way.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall good atmosphere and good experience at the Tryp"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Janis  on Aug 18, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
95 people found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled with 3 other couples and had a different flight due to booking 5 days at the Tryp instead of 7. Upon arrival we asked at the resort if we could change our room to be in the same building as our group, but were surprised to find that our room was ocean view when we didn't request this, so we decided to keep this room. The layout of the resort is nice and very easy to find everything. The food is your typical Cuban food but were pleasantly surprised by the "extras" at the buffet like freshly made sushi. We had stayed in Cayo Santa Maria in April/12 and found the food quite similar there as well, but trust me we didn't starve. It is a third world country, if you are looking for gourmet food, then go to another island and stop complaining about the food in Cuba, it really isn't that bad. I go to Cuba for the beach, you can't beat it for the price you pay to have such a beautiful beach! I find Cubans very friendly and welcoming, they try their hardest to please you. The only downside we found on this trip was the jeep safari, not worth the money. However, we rented scooters and that was a lot of fun and not badly priced.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"So much fun"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Georgina  on Dec 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
115 people found this review helpful

This is my second time that I have been to this resort and great time as always. I travelled with 3 friends and it was amazing. Great staff loved the food and the entertainment was the best. The beach was beautiful can't wait to go again. Cheers

Room Number:
1066

Room Block:
10

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent trip with the family!"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Amir  on Jan 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
208 people found this review helpful

My family an I had a blast at the Tryp! The grounds are amazing, the food is very good and the staff are all kind and friendly! My 2 year old daughter loved the kids area and the kids shows! She also loved playing on the stage with the other kids!! The adult shows are amazing as well!! I was involved in one of them and was declared king!!! You can walk all over the grounds and find it all well groomed! The pools are great and the beach is beautiful!! The sand is so soft and white!! The only thing that need improvements are the rooms. Had a damp smell and it could use a updated renovation job. Brought a 200v-110v adapter. Needed it. Also a swamp smell from the water under the lobby but it wasn't that bad. Reminded me of Orlando Florida and Trinidad. Had a great time and can't wait to go back!

Room Number:
539

Arrival:
We arrive late, took sunwing. Check in was fast and we had someone from security show us to our rooms.

Rooms:
In need of an updated renovation. Had a damp smell to it.

Restaurants and Bars:
Great bars and service. Went to 6 restaurants, and all the staff and food were excellent. The lobby and snack bars had great service. The pool bartender was really cool. He made a really nice drink with the coconut I gave him.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent to say the least. Grounds are well groomed fro top to bottom. Pools are very nice! Not to deep for the kids and they teach scuba diving there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities for kids and adults. Loved the shows in the night for the kids and I got involved in one of the adult shows.

Other Comments:
We will be back next year with friends as well!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hide your stuff!"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mathieu  on Dec 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Party | With Group
222 people found this review helpful

When staying at tryp make sure that anything you do not want to donate is hidden because they will take it anyway! Other than getting a bunch of stuff stolen from my room the rest was good.

Room Number:
1236

Room Block:
12

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's Just Not Cuba"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  S E  on Dec 5, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
235 people found this review helpful

They actually warn you on the bus ... don't tell people you have been to Cuba, if you have only been to Cayo Coco. It is NOT Cuba! It's an island off the coast of Cuba, joined to the mainland by a bridge. No one lives there. It is comprised solely of hotels for tourists - no Cuban flavour.

Having said that, the food is quite good for Cuban standards - buffet has a good variety and there are 6 a la carte (though 1 was closed when I was there (seafood) and 1 was constantly booked and thus unavailable (BBQ). The International one was good; the Italian poor service; the Oriental had both poor service and poor food. The grill was good for lunch.

The room was OK - clean at floor level, but when I placed a dryer sheet in the air conditioner grill to improve the scent in the room, it was evident by the filth that the grill had not been cleaned in ages - and we were breathing that air!

The main pool is disastrous - filled with noise from children, drunks and worst of all the DJ. There is a quiet pool, but even going at 8:00 in the morning the inconsiderate tourists had placed their towels on the chairs, thus reserving them...and then the loungers remained empty until after lunch!

The bars are good, with good service. The grounds are well cared for.

But it is NOT Cuba! The nearest town is Moron, which is 45 minutes away by cab, and you must bring your passport with you ... remember, Cayo Coco is not Cuba, so if you go to Moron, you are then entering Cuba and need a passport.

I have been to other places in Cuba, and would recommend those rather than Cayo Coco. But if you just want to buy sun, you can't go wrong.

Ask for a room on the upper floor of building 10 - quiet and bug-free. Building 6 is by the noisy pool, and you will have no peace at all.

Room Number:
634

Room Block:
6

Arrival:
Quite smooth. Only problem was there were no bell hops, so you are left to your own devices to find your room.

Rooms:
Clean at floor level, but the air conditioning grill is disgusting.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet is good. International a la carte is good. Forget about Italian, Oriental or Pizza. Grill is good for lunch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Main pool is terrible - screaming, whining children; drunken teens; screaming DJ. The quiet pool is good - and the bar there is quite fine. The grounds are good...well cared for. The beach is not available until about 11:00 due to high tide. The waves can be too rough for pedal boats (we could only use them once in an entire week)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Non-existent off the resort without travelling for at least an hour.

On the resort, I was not impressed by the nightly entertainment, but maybe that's just me. I have seen better elsewhere.

Other Comments:
If you just want to buy sunshine, it's reasonably priced and sunny. But you cannot say you have been to Cuba! Try other locations - particular favourites of mine are Santa Lucia or Holguin or Santiago de Cuba

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Keep open mind, its Cuba "not the place your trying to escape from""

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  rob  on Nov 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
260 people found this review helpful

Like any traveller i read some reviews and decided to check tryp out. Worried a little about some of the things i read but kept a open mind. I found that the negative comments were one in a hundred to be true.This place was welcoming, the staff seemed to be more then it needed which made service unbelievable.Food was o.k., no really big complaints other then lack of spice in some foods. (bring your own). One negative which was hard to over come at times was the water under the hotel, but from what im told there is plans to remove the pond and cylce in fresh water. In short, i would go back in a heart beat. Its like being on a island all by yourself, cut off from the main part of Cuba so to speak,very good place just to relax or party 10/10

Room Number:
735

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wedding Review"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leslie  on Oct 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
244 people found this review helpful

I actually got married in May of 08, at the Tryp. I went down with 22 other people a mixture of family and friends. We all had a great time.
I was told that my wedding was the first wedding the tryp had put on and they did an fantastic job. The wedding coordinator was professional and nice and new her stuff. We sat down on the 2nd day and went through the big day from start to finish. They provided the wedding photographer and he was excillent.

Arrival:
We arrive at the airport around noon and it took about 20 mins to get through the airport. We had our own bus to get us to the resort. the guide on the bus was very nice and informative. when we arrived at the resort my group was welcomed with welcome drinks and our lugguge was taken to our rooms (we had the VIP package).

Rooms:
The room was beautiful we had a king size bed and a bottle of rum and fruit waiting for us. Are mini bar was stucked daily with water pop and beer. We had a view of the ocean. It was nice waking up and seeing the ocean.

Restaurants and Bars:
I really enjoyed the resturant and bars. The staff was really nice and fast. My favorite resturant was the BBQ. It was an outdoor resturant. everything was made on the barbeque and was perfect

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The main pool (largest) was the one with the swim up bar. It was alot of fun. Thats where the we hung out most of the time. Their is a DJ there and lots of music. The quiet pool was really nice as well. smaller then the main pool. The Beach was fantastic. white sand always could find a chair (maybe not under a beach cover unbrella) but always a chair. The grounds are very well kept lots of colour andd wild life. in the morning sometimes you might have some wild horses outside your balcony.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the snorkaling and a the spa. Snorkaling was so much fun. saw lots of fish. the spa was nice too but make sure you keep an eye on your stuff (money) some ot the guest has some money stollen. although the tryp has no ties with the spa the tryp reinbursed what was stollen.

Other Comments:
overall we all had a fantastic vacation and wedding. My husband and I are going back in January 2012. for my birthday.
We are looking forward to our trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Value for the Off Season Price"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Oct 4, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
257 people found this review helpful

We are couple in our 60's who travelled with a 82 year old parent and a six year old child....we needed accommodation on the ground floor which we got.

Room Number:
1015 & 1015

Room Block:
10

Arrival:
Check your reservations to see what leg of the flight you are on;
Even though we arrived in Cuba at about 4:30 p.m., we never arrived at our hotel in Cayo Coco until after 9:00 p.m. in the evening....we had a stop over in Holguin first...we didn't realize at the time of booking that this city would be the first stop on their 'return trip'... as a result everyone had to disembark (even the people for Cayo Coco)so that the plane could be cleaned for the 'return trip'.... added to that ... Canjet in Toronto tagged the Holguin luggage incorrectly... as a result... all of the luggage had to be off loaded at that airport... then reloaded once those passengers got their stuff.... it made for a long wait both in the Holguin airport...then on the plane when they realized the baggage problem....

Rooms:
As returning guest (we have been to the Tryp multiple times) we requested and were pre-registered.... we were pre-assigned rooms 1015 and 1016...these rooms were right across from the eco pool which is a very quiet part of the hotel... the rooms were freshly painted, were nice and clean (except for the one 'pet' who dropped out of the air conditioner onto the floor when we turned it on (I subsequently stepped on him..and never saw any more of his friends for the entire visit we were there)...the water pressure was a bit low, and not warm enough for us... both were reported and adjusted very early the next morning.

Restaurants and Bars:
All of the ah la carte restaurants with the exception of the 'Cuban' restaurant were superb....they have improved over the last two years...the Cuban restaurant however only serves 'ambiance'... the food is terrible, we have been going to Cuba for the past 15 years, and after eating at that restaurant.... this time was the only time we ever got a sick stomach in Cuba (all of us had the 'runs' after eating there).

The Buffet is a case of 'hit or miss' and not much variety, at least not in the 'off season' ....we have had better food in the buffet at other times of the year... I am a fish lover, to my dismay the fish in the buffet (unlike the ah la cartes) was positively disgusting..... if you like 'omlets' then eat all you can before you go to the Tryp as the chefs do not know how to make one... I simply stuck to an egg 'once over easy'...they couldn't ruin that.... Oh I might add the bread there is still wonderful... the six year old made a meal of bread most days... but yes, there is cereal for the little ones as well as some sort of crepe...no, it is not a pan cake.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and grounds were as usual impeccable.
.The garden crew take pride in their work and are only too happy to make you a shady coconut palm hat, or some little origami type palm animals for the little kiddies....please be genreous and tip these people.... it is not part of their jobs...they just do it to earn a little extra and to make your stay more memorable...they are particularly drawn to families as they all have children or grandchildren of their own.
The beach crew is very efficient at keeping the area nice and tidy...they will assist you in securing a palapa and helping you to set up your lounges...they will even wipe them off for you once they set them up....again please be generous and tip these people.... like I said, this is not part of their jobs...they just do it to earn a little extra...these people are very conscientious and would rather 'earn' what is given to them.
While we were there, the pools were all in good repair and are cleaned every morning...there is a large pool expance in the middle of the hotel which is divided into seperate areas consisting of everything from a toddler wading pool, to a shallow kiddies area, deeper swimmer area, hot tub, swim up bar, games area et al. All areas were in service the week we were there however I understand the area nearest the swim up bar and games area is now closed for renovation.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is never a lack of activities at this hotel, either on or off the resort... your tour rep can direct you to off resort escursions ... for in resort activities... there is a schedule of all hotel events posted outside of the main buffet restaurant... every hour of the day has some 'activity' planned.... both on the beach, and in the main concourse... We did not take advantage of the kids club babysitting, but on occasion when we 'dropped by' the kids club there were two people in attendance (and lots of supplies) on hand just waiting for the little ones....as long as the child has an adult in with them...they are welcome to use the facilities.

There is nightly entertainment both for the kiddies, then later on for the adults...the quality of the shows are excellent... in addition there is always some type of dinner entertainment at most of the al la cartes...the nightly disco is a popular hang out for the 'later crowd'.

Other Comments:
As a repeat guest of the Tryp I highly recommend this hotel, I have tried other hotels in both Varadero and Cayo Coco but always keep coming back to Tryp...I like it becasue of the 'community' atmosphere there..their staff are all very warm and friendly and go out of their way to ensure your stay is enjoyable...if you have any complaints....the customer service people are on it ...immediately....they run a tight ship to ensure that you do want to come back....
Oh, and as to the quality of the food in the buffet and the Cuban restaurant.... I know it will be better the next time I go down...why? Because I brought it to the attention of the 'Quality Control Director' who says....he will be looking into it...and when he says he will....he generally does.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cayo Coco"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  dermis  on May 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
322 people found this review helpful

Estube en este hotel hase muy poco tiempo y no se los recomiendo empesando por los empleados tienen muy mala forma al dirigirse hacia los clientes y tambien se termina todo son las peores vacasiones que he tenido en cuba porque en este hotel el servicio es pesimo estabamos en la parrillada y se acabo la comida tambien estabamos en la disco y se termino la cerveza y el hielo imajinense de beras no tengo nada bueno que desir no regreso mas lo califico super malo

Room Number:
4105

Room Block:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube