Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Tryp Cayo Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.7 based on 55 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2015

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 41 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 21, 2015

Tryp Cayo Coco  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey
(Jardines del Rey)

"such an amazing summer vacation"
Posted by: tucker on Jul 31, 2014
see all reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews
Tryp Cayo Coco Pictures and Information
Tryp Cayo Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#2
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 72 reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Information



The Tryp Cayo Coco is located in one of the most important ecological areas in the country.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 3.7 of 5 72 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  26
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (57)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (30)
Solo
1 - 10 of 72

"Ever recommend it to any one"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  AbeMaria  on Oct 31, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
620 people found this review helpful

Hi all we are home. I'll try to make this short, Flew out of Toronto with air Canada, flight there and back very good, as soon as I heard air bus 320 I thought it would be bad and cramped but Air Canada has their seating set up with lots of leg room and the service was very good. Keep in mind we go on vac. with an open mind and usually to Dom. Republic, this was our first trip to Cuba. I'll start with the good, we had 3 rooms in building 10 and 2 rooms in building 12, our rooms in 10 were very nice a bit dated and in need of a face lift, but the rooms in 12 very musty, damp and smelly. Always lots of hot water for showers. The cleaning staff was great always did a good job and all the rooms were kept very clean. The grounds staff work very hard and keep everything looking great we gave both candy for their kids, toothpaste, tooth brushes and some jeans for the grounds staff and it always brought a smile to their faces. Most of the main pool is closed but we had the Ecological pool right behind us and it was very nice and spent many hours in this pool. Weather was great had some rain but at night for the most part so no problems there. Now lets touch on some of the bad, Buffet food was about as bad as it gets none of us are picky but all felt the same about the food, the serving staff was a hit and miss (mostly not good) same with the bar staff. Not good service at all at the buffet and the bars, we did have some favorites that were great and those ones we tipped, every bar in the place would run out of beer at least once a day. The smell from the pond under the lobby is a big turn off and we cannot believe they have not done some thing about it. We found the food for lunch at the beach resturant really good but never started eating there until Wed. but once we found it ate lunch there every day. The sandwhiches at the the snack bar were really good and most of us lived on sandwhiches and the beach resturant. All in all I am going to say this may be a 2 star at best but no way a 4, I would never return to this resort nor would I ever recommend it to any one. Looks like Puerto Plata next year again !!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cayo Coco"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  dermis  on May 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
622 people found this review helpful

Estube en este hotel hase muy poco tiempo y no se los recomiendo empesando por los empleados tienen muy mala forma al dirigirse hacia los clientes y tambien se termina todo son las peores vacasiones que he tenido en cuba porque en este hotel el servicio es pesimo estabamos en la parrillada y se acabo la comida tambien estabamos en la disco y se termino la cerveza y el hielo imajinense de beras no tengo nada bueno que desir no regreso mas lo califico super malo

Room Number:
4105

Room Block:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"West Jet get us out of HERE!!!"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  gerald  on Feb 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
256 people found this review helpful

if you really want to see Cuba just once go to Hogine province Paridisus rio de oro.Resort... any where else ...GOOD LUCK TO YOU!!!

Your Arrival:
check in was ok. traveled with party of eight adults.had 4 rooms booked,3 rooms ready on check in 4th.room 2 1/2 hr wait.The flight there was on West Jet Very smooth trip both ways.

Rooms:
on ground floor. Mould...in each room to varying degree.hard bed flat pillows ...aired room out best as could. At sleep time used perfume on Stained towl to mask smell of mouldy room.we were central location of resort"änts very tiny in bathroom .do not drink water!Given 2 ltr. bottle of water to drink...had to take it daly to refill at lobby bar...also spiders ant tiny biting bugs that only feasted on some guests

Restaurants and Bars:
Japanese only good thing for trip. Two others Italian and sea food.not worth going . Every one had bad stomach cramps, from food.One British couple there... his wife had food poison taken to Hospital.They lost most of their travel money for hospital bill.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach full of kelp...not much room at high tide. The pools ok to sit around too cool to go into.this is third trip to Cuba for us Hogin province resorts much nicer.They were 5 star and 4 star ratings.The Oasis playa COCO rated 4 star...I would give it 2 maybe 2 1/2 star.tops.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Young teens ballet type dancing at night. BINGO...Day trip into town of Moron where all the staff are from.Pick any place to go to bathroom ...in town...No toilet paper no seat cover ...no running water!!!BBBRRRRR.... bring your own sanitary wipes !

Other Comments:
went on boat ride on lake .Then were given free drink and fish lunch...enjoyed drink didn't eat there ... same sanitary washroom toilet don't flush no running water in sink...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All 7 of us couldn't wait to get back home!!!"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  KellyBrantford  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2008 | Leisure | Family and Kids
188 people found this review helpful

late as the flight was delayed in toronto, the check in was quick but again it was 10:30 pm the bellboys were very friendly not like the some of the wait staff around the resort.

Rooms:
very old, outdated musty, the bedsheets were old and stained hated the thought we had to have our 2 year old daughter sleep in them. the bathrooms were just as bad the toilet ran all night long so we had decided not to flush it after a certain time so we could try to have some peace during the night..didn't work. the bath tub was old and actually had spots where the enamel was worn off and rust was showing the water just tricked out of the shower.
Restaurants and Bars:
the buffet was the same everyday lunch and dinner were pretty much the same expect for maybe one or two different types of pasta. the a la cartes were not to bad better then the buffet that is for sure. I have been to cuba for the past 9 years all different places and this place really lacked in the food and service departments.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach was a let down compared to varadeo & holquin and actually the melia in cayo coco, it was kept up and was very crowded no shade to protect children who may want to have some beach time. The pools were run down and dirty my child actually picked up some virus probably from the lack of cleaning, they actually have tiles in the children's pools that were broken my daughter had to wear water shoes in the pool to avoid accidents. Note as my friend did cut her finger in the buffet and could not even get a bandaid from the staff or at the medical center in the hotel even though it was clear as her hand was pouring blood that she needed something..she actually had to walk walk to her room and get her own bandaid ( part of the stuff she brought down to give to the cuban people)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very disappointing nothing for children, except a little chance to go on the stage at 8:45 Pm at night before the entertainment show. the playground pretty sad one swing in a sandbox and a old little tikes cottage with a slide don't think they clean the sand box as there was straws and cigarette butts in it.

Other Comments:
overall as you can probably tell by my comments this was one of the worse place's I have been in cuba and I love cuba that it why for the last 9 years in a row I have travelled there and never have I complained on line I just want people to know do not waste your money as there far better places in cuba to spend your hard earned dollars on. this was suppose to be a wonderful family vacation and by the second day all 7 of us couldn't wait to get back home!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No thanks to the resort staff, facilitites, or activities"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  NashyJohnny  on Nov 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
170 people found this review helpful

Arrival - we found the reception staff to be ignorant and rude. Quick to get you out of the way, no helpers to carry your luggage nor anyone to show you where your room was. Denied safe key until the next day until we went back to re-request a key and it was finally given to us
Rooms - The rooms I found to be very musty, damp and smelly. Some rooms had mold right there on the walls. Not even a small effort was made to cover it up.
Restaurants - we had dinner at the International and the Chinese one. The chinese one was excellent in service and in quality of food. Taste was impeccible. The International (the one right in the lobby) was horrible. Service, Food and selection was horrible.
The buffet - well, lets just say the more you coudl avoid being in there the better. The staff was lazy, rude, and unhelpful. The food was worse.
Beach and Pools - Beach was fine for the first day or so.
The Pools - only two pools were in commision. The swim up bar was not working the whole time we were there. I agree with the others where you could not get a chair around the pool and people hogged the pool area. But what can you do bc that has nothing to do with the resort itself... My main complaint was that the swim up bar was under construction when we were not notified - had we known - we never would have gone.
Activities - what activities?
Grounds - The grounds were ok, not as beautiful as I have seen in the Dominican. The workers here seemed to have little pride for their resort.
The People - Ignorant and Rude, and thats just the workers. The patrons being mostly canadian seemed fine.
Tours - Too expensive
The trip - We had a blast no thanks to the resort staff, facilitites, or activities.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The rooms were smelly"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rosanna08  on Dec 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
171 people found this review helpful

My husband and I went to the Tryp Cayo Coco on Dec. 20, 2007 for the week, absoluately horrible. First of all we get there at lunch waiting for the rooms until 4:00 poor service.
The food was disgusting. Thank Goodness for good weather and the beach was nice. The rooms were smelly, mildew, and lizard crawling on my celing with a huge cock-roache.
I wouldn"t recommend it at all. They say its a four star more like a 2 star. Not even for free. If you want to go see Tattoos and Pepper land go to the Tryp Cayo coco.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not Welcoming"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  sharon  on Apr 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
440 people found this review helpful

This is not a resort for singles. I did not find this the best hotel based on comparison. While some staff may smile at times, it appears to be about the tip and you may get a better service. Further to that, service was very slow with a long line up and waiting. The room was old, moldy,bath rusty, shower mostly cold-luke warm and no pressure.The beach was excellent! However, you could not get a chair even at 6:30 a.m. because workers on the beach reserve for their specal guests and even tells you that you can not sit in a specific chair. When this situation was brought to attention of the hotel, they alleged that this is news to them and that the workers on the beach do not work for the hotel..so be aware of this.

Based on previously visits to Cuba, this is my personal feedback that this hotel is not very welcoming.
Sharon

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
I am recommending to have a welcoming team upon arrival at the hotel. The transfer from and back to airport was excellent.

Rooms:
The beach view was excellent.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet, international and seafood resturants was ok.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was wonderful...this is my primary reason for a vacation that I am able to have R/R on the beach. As stated above, the hotel needs to pay attention to the reservation of lounge chairs on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The spectacular trip was excellent.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will NEVER go back"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Suzanne07  on Nov 30, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
763 people found this review helpful

This was my second trip to Cuba, first to Cayo Coco. Went alot of places, some were good, some were average, but the Tryp was by far my worst vacation! First of all, we booked in July through Canadian Travel. We saw upon on our arrival that the pool was partly cloed (about 75%) due to renovations. Other tourists told us that their travel agency called them to let them know of the situation and offered to change the hotel. Ours never called us.

THE BEACH: when the tide is low, great beach, but watch out for the jelly fish, many of them. Whent he tide is high.... THERE IS NO BEACH WHATSOEVER! I have pictures to prove is. So 25 % of the pool, no beach whent he tide was high. fortunately, there was the Ecological pool tot he rescue, although not big, it diid the job.

THE FOOD: Cuba is Cuba, but this time, it was awful. Except for the Italian restaurant, the food was horrible. If you are hungry between 3hPM and 6h30PM, the only thing you can get are sandwiches and if you go around 5h45PM, forget it, nothing left!

THE STAFF: most of them are very nice. the Guest service people are great, they tried to accomodate us as much as they could. The waiter Victor is the best, so was Ronny. Some of the waiters though (Erineido and main lobby bar) were rude.

THE ROOM: we had 3 rooms in building 12. Very smelly at first but once the air conditioning is on, smells less (or you get used to the smell). The rooms are very humid.

Will NEVER go back to Tryp nor will I recommend it!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The accommodations need a complete face lift."

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rose09  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
182 people found this review helpful

The resort grounds were perfect, the staff service were exceptional. The food was nothing to write home about. Thankfully we brought our own snacks to get through the day. Breakfast was doable, lunch was the best meal (pizza and fries) and dinner was just not acceptable. The variety of food was available for each meal it was just tasteless or not cooked properly. Sauce for pasta was acid tasting and had no spices.
The rooms/accommodations need a major face lift. We had to move 4 times to find an 'acceptable' room. The problem was the mold and musty scent in each of the rooms. The accommodations need a complete face lift.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't expect too much."

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on May 25, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
312 people found this review helpful

4 stars to all staff. Always smiling doing their best to keep clients happy.

It's obvious the Melia chain is neglectful during the low season.
For instance the quiet bar is closed leaving adults no area to spend a quiet evening and no drinks nor coffee offered at the Italian and Oriental restaurants. No music. We sit, eat and leave. And we don't eat that well.
The water below the main lobby bar should be cleaned and covered. It's ugly and it stinks. I don't understand, as it cannot be a main attraction but repulsive.
The waiters, with embarassement, had a shortage of juice, straws, drinking glasses, coffee, milk, amaretto, etc..
What could they do? It's not their fault, but some folks don't understand that the Hotel management is to blame.

No fumigation, lots of mosquitoes. Cutting down some more..

The food, everywhere was awful and we know that no matter how much we complain it will never change.

Generally the bars and tables were always dirty.

Would not recommend this hotel.

Your Arrival:
Quick check-in.

Rooms:
Clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Dirty.
Food, Cuban standard: Bad

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Okay.
Beach not clean. Water amazing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube