Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Tryp Cayo Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.7 based on 55 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2015

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 41 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 21, 2015

Tryp Cayo Coco  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey
(Jardines del Rey)

"such an amazing summer vacation"
Posted by: tucker on Jul 31, 2014
see all reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews
Tryp Cayo Coco Pictures and Information
Tryp Cayo Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#2
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 72 reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Information



The Tryp Cayo Coco is located in one of the most important ecological areas in the country.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 3.7 of 5 72 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  26
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (57)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (30)
Solo
1 - 10 of 72

"Amazing Resort - I give it 10 stars"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ivana  on Jun 30, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
2000 people found this review helpful

¡Éste es uno de los mejores hoteles que he permanecido dondequiera! ¡La gente es grande! ¡El alimento es bueno, hospitalidad es el mejor! ¡Desea Tryp vivo! Really the best hotel and the most amazing entertainment and people that work there! I highly recommend this hotel..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"tryp cayo coco - october 04"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  teresa  on Aug 20, 2005  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2005
1813 people found this review helpful

Just wanted to tell you about Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel. Most fantastic place we have ever visited!! paradise on earth, so much so that we have booked for 3 weeks next year, oct 06. (can't afford it this year!!) I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews on holidays uncovered website but needn't have been. Lovely and clean, friendly and attentive staff, fabulous food, myself, husband and two young children didn't want to come home! put loads of weight on cos of the fantastic a la carte dining. The only thing we didn't like was down to the airline, not the hotel...we loved Cayo Coco!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cayo Coco is fantasy island"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  kirstie  on Oct 18, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2005
1792 people found this review helpful

i am 15 years old and i think Cayo Coco hotel was absolutly amaison, couldnt of gotten any better if they tryed. the best 2 weeks of my life. my dream would be to go back there again. i met alot of people while i was there, they were all great very nice people, mostly from england, but i met a few from canada and one for denmark she was fantasic at speaking english. i even found a holiday romance while i was there, which made this trip complete.i got all there msn addresses and emails, and i have spoken to most of them alot since i got home. that had got to be the best holiday i have ever been on. absloutly fantasic!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The only downside came from other guests"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  CTC  on Jan 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2006 | Leisure | Family and Kids
181 people found this review helpful

Family of 4 with 2 kids, ages 13 and 8. Stayed at the TRYP Jan 12 to 21, VIP package.
This was our first trip south, ever, so we were a bit nervous, especially traveling with the kids. From the time we left home (Fredericton, NB) to our return, we had no problems whatsoever. As we followed air travel instructions, we had no problems with security at any point.

The resort:
The resort was beautiful, very lush vegetation. We were welcomed immediately by guest services and were driven to our room by the bellhops, with our bags. We stayed in block 500, and for anyone going, be sure to request this block but ask for the top floor if you want a true view of the ocean. Ours was blocked slightly by palm trees but I didn’t mind the added privacy. Our maid service was superior – rooms were very clean and we had lots of hot water. Sure the towels had threads and the sheets had a hole or two, but were bleached white and pressed (more than I can say about our cottage linens!). All the staff were very clean with starched white shirts.

Kids:
The kids enjoyed the beach, pool and entertainment. As far as activities, there were lots around the pool, and on the beach, if you wanted to join in. The kids functions were a bit hit and miss but it wasn’t for the staff’s lack of trying. Nightly shows were fun and my son looked forward to getting on stage every night. The disco was a bit disappointing, but not so if you were young, single and on a tear! I was immediately thrown back to the seventies with the black walls, strobe lights and loud music (salsa, not disco!).

Food:
Food at times wasn’t the greatest, especially at the buffet but we weren’t there for the food. You can get eggs cooked especially for you and hot toast but don’t expect a good cup of coffee (Tim Horton’s take note, there’s lots of Canuks in Cuba!) The a la carte were pretty good, somewhat overcooked but full of ambiance. The Cuban was my favorite, especially our waiter Luis who made us feel welcomed and was proud of his restaurant. Note, if you go to the Cuban and the BBQ, musicians play at your table which is lovely. You are offered cd’s to purchase so be sure to bring some pesos if you want to have a keepsake of your evening. The kids complained about the food and enjoyed a steady diet of ham and cheese sandwiches especially. Also, bring lots of immodium or the like as once “things” start you won’t want to run out!! I was the only one to have problems but it wasn’t enough to stop me from enjoying myself.

Service:
Service was good, no major waits and always pleasant. Some were friendlier than others, but you get that anywhere. The kids befriended a bartender at the snack bar and really enjoyed going there.

Trips:
We had a chance to visit the resort next door and it wasn’t maintained nearly as nicely as the TRYP. We felt very safe, not concerned for the kids safety at all. Regretted not being able to afford to take the day trip to Moron but we had to draw the line somewhere, it was pretty expensive for a family of 4. We did the boat adventure and snorkeling off the reef, which we all enjoyed.

The only downside came from other guests:
The only downside came from other guests, not the resort. A crew of young people from Argentina arrived 3 days before we left and whether it was cultural differences or just no class, I don’t know. Their behaviour around the pool was very sexually vulgar (I’m no prude, I had no problems with bare breasts and g strings) and when you have kids, it was disheartening to have to keep steering them away from an otherwise fun area.

Conclusion:
If you’re planning to go to the TYRP, yes it’s a bit worn, and the food’s not the greatest, but this is Cuba and you can’t help but fall in love with the beaches, the weather and the people. They really try hard to treat you the best they can. We plan to return but next time will try to have more interaction with the locals. As for Air Canada Vacations, good job!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We did leave 3 pesos every day on our pillows"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Montreal07  on Dec 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2006 | Leisure | Family and Kids
192 people found this review helpful

We were 3 (from Montreal)- one adult, one senior and one 10-year old and stayed at the Tryp Cayo Coco from December 23rd to the 30th, 2006.
This is a long one-I religiously tried to read up as many reviews as possible before booking this trip-I want to make sure I include everything.

Travel:
We flew Air Canada with much turbulence…so much so we never saw breakfast-but did catch a glimpse of one nervous male attendant as he ran down the aisle throwing cookie packs at passengers before regaining the safety of his seat. I unfortunately took my Gravols too late and the effects only kicked in as we were landing, so the airport experience is a bit fuzzy-it was hot and I recall a cocker spaniel sniffing luggage.
The return flight was better, great food, good service and nice (newer) plane. Btw: keep you headphones-they work on other equipment-we use ours on our computer. Otherwise-they all get trashed with the rest of the garbage. (tsk,tsk Air Canada-not very environmentally-friendly.)

Tryp Cayo Coco:
Well we never did see the Tryp hotel-on the day of our arrival that is…as we were one of the 3 families met at the airport and told that we were ¨bumped¨, and were told the hotel had overbooked and we were all sent to the next-door hotel-the Blau, for first night. The irony of this is that we were all from the same tour company and never really got a clear answer, why we were chosen from other passengers who had the same reservations There was one theory that if the hotel would need to bump anyone, they would not go after those from the bigger tour companies, so as to keep them as clients.
This left all of us very frustrated and extremely disappointed. Two of us had VIP packages too, and, upon our arrival at the Tryp the next day (only after 12 :pm), we were assigned rooms and told that this was all that was left (?!) Although we all later received monetary compensation, it certainly left us all in transition for the first two days…which is a lot when you only have 6 days of vacation-we left at 8:am on the 7th day.

Rooms:
When we finally got into our rooms at around 2:00pm, we were in Block 1-which was at the far end on the resort, and ironically across from the Blau. Upon my reservations (in September) I had inquired about the choice of rooms and the vicinities, as my aunt has certain physical limitations and would not fare well in stairs or too much walking. I was reassured that my VIP package gave me such priorities...we were the furthest from the main lobby building and on the third floor.
Our room was very lovely and clean. We did not have a ceiling fan like other rooms however, and had to rely on either cold air conditioning or damp hot wind from outside at night. This might be a factor should you have the option to actually chose your own room.

VIP:
We had an ocean view (most buildings did), a coffee machine-which we used daily. The bathrobes and slippers never saw the light of day as we were never in our rooms other than to sleep/shower. I was the only one drinking and only managed to drink 1/4 of the rhum bottle in our room (6 cuc at the store). You can refill your water bottle daily at the water/soda/coffee machines in the buffet restaurant for free. My aunt and daughter did drink the daily replenished soda in the fridge-but again-you can purchase it at the hotel store.
You can leave a deposit of 15 cuc-which they’ll give back at the end of your stay for a clean towel daily (by the pool) btw :nothing..absolutely nothing ever truly dries in your hotel room-we came home with luggage full of damp clothes. We had brought our own towels but by day 3 on the beach, they were completely rank and undrieable and came home wet.

Tipping:
We did leave 3 pesos every day on our pillows for the maid and I had bought a bunch of little things from the pharmacy too (toothbrushes, toothpaste, razors, shower gel, earrings, chocolates, pencils, art things for kids.) We would leave a couple of these items every day as well. Knowing what I know now-I would probably add such things as gum, candy, panty hose, make-up. Some people also opt to leave behind clothing & shoes behind.
Our general rule of thumb from the start was 1 peso per person. So for every meal at the buffet –where you were served beverages at your table-we would leave 3 pesos. At the cooking stations also-some people would leave a tip. If we ate at the à la carte restaurants where you were given full service from drinks to desert-we would leave 5. I also always left 1 peso when I went to the bar for a coffee or drink. I think overall, between the 3 of us, we must have spent 150 cuc for all of the above. It was worth every penny too..it was so humiliating to see so many fellow vacationers walk away from their tables without leaving one cent. Im sorry but if you can afford this trip-you can afford the extra bucks to tip! Where I come from, the tipping norm is 15% of your bill..so 1 cuc/person is nothing.

Weather:
We had 2 days of everything. Two days of full sun-around 38 degrees. Two days of full clouds/very windy and cold-we wore sweaters & shorts, and two days of cloud & sun-around 25 degrees.

The Beach:
Oh-my-goodness! One word : Heaven.
We spent every waking moment there-took long, long walks in the early mornings-especially very cool the two days we had stormy weather. We picked seashells-btw :not allowed to take them home/they’ll stop you at the border and take them away if they catch you (we were told by one of the travel agents.) On the two quiet sunny days we swam out to the corrals with bread and were promptly surrounded by a whole variety of tropical fish! Bring a snorkeling mask & tube and underwater camera-you can borrow a mask from the sports center on the beach, but it’s only for 1/2 hour and if its really nice weather most likely they’ll all be taken already. We always sat near the grill (bathrooms/lunch) and the bar (drinks/music/games). We also did the banana boat ride for 5 pesos/person which was great fun.
We didn’t go to the pool at all as it was much more crowded and rowdy –the pool bar, crushes of beach chairs side by side, and the kiddy corner right next door, along with the entertainment people on the loudspeaker every once in a while announcing activities.

Activities:
We had already decided that we would not book any excursions-this being our first trip to Cayo Coco. We did, however book a spa package. We booked through our agent, and were picked up by bus and were taken to a spa at the north tip of the island. (3 minutes away-we could have walked.) For 35 cuc we received a mud wrap, a steam sauna, a massage and a choice of saltwater (heated) pools to swim in with massage jets. Two hours later we were promptly bused back to our hotel feeling ever so relaxed. They offer all kinds of therapeutic packages and we highly recommend you try this out.
One thing-and Im not sure if this was just our agent but, we were not presented the lesser expensive activities to do (ie.bird watching on the island), but instead, were given as options the more expensive items-so do some research/read the reviews before you go. Also-plan your week’s activities even before you get there (7 days goes by fast!)-and check the weather-we only ended up having two days where boats could go out for snorkeling (highly recommended btw),because the rest of the time the water was too rough.
We had brought cards and little games for my daughter, but she quickly found other things to do on her own, whether it was feeding the kittens underneath the lobby area, playing with the lizards, crabs, flamingos, chasing after the birds that ate the said lizards..she also made friends with other kids and enjoyed all of the evening shows with us after dinner.(we’ll have the gorilla song in our heads forever.) She loved the donuts and cotton candy stands also.
The gardeners -these quiet souls would come out from out of the bushes and offer us sculpted flowers, grasshoppers from palm leaves and would offer us freshly opened coconuts-to my daughter’s delight! (give them a tip.)

Restaurants:
Well all of the lovely pre-booked reservations at the à-la-carte restaurants turned out to be completely useless for our particular party of 3. Most of the restaurants attempted the French Cuisine concept,(see cold dice of veal with one pearl potato at the Italian restaurant (?!) which was completely lost on my 10-year-old and my aunt. We were also mostly always ravenous by dinnertime, having spent our days running around at the beach, and the small servings and waiting times turned into torture for my daughter. All this said-if you yourself are a picky eater, or have small children...all 6 à-la-carte evenings may not be as pleasurable as you may imagine. We gave away two of our reservations to another family and gladly enjoyed the very lovely dinner buffet instead.
For lunches, we always ate at the beachside grill, which had amazing fish, burgers, etc, as well as an ice cream bar for the kids. One thing-apart from the burger place in the middle of the pool, the beachside restaurants did not handle the take-out concept very well, and always seemed at a loss and a little annoyed when we wanted to take our food with us back to the beach. I might recommend to the hotel managers to perhaps invest in take-out counters.

Conclusion:
We will definitely go back! (Loved the beach, the people, the hotel, and my personal favorite..the coffee!) We also met up with other folks we had met on the plane earlier who went to other resorts on the island-turns out ours was the best! (best food, closest to the beach..etc) We went there to escape the Christmas craziness and do absolutely nothing, and we managed to do just that. We came back with a great tan, great pictures, and completely re-energized!
We will definitely not get the VIP package again-which turned out to be completely useless for us (from the bumping, to the restaurants.)
One other thing-the airport VIP package you are offered for extra cost when you are leaving that include a private air-conditioned lounge, etc, is also completely useless, as the rest of us also get air conditioning, stores and restaurants in the waiting area once you go through the passport counters. Save yourself some cuc money for that area btw-many of us changed all our money before crossing the passport counters…they only accept cuc or credit cards for that area if you want to buy a coffee or even do some shopping while you’re waiting for your plane.
I think that’s it, I hope this helped someone-have a great vacation and Viva Cuba!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Watch out at currency exchange at the hotel"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  ArnoldCanada  on Mar 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
175 people found this review helpful

Margaret and I really enjoyed a week at Club Tryp Cayo Coco Feb 25 to March 4. Encouraged and assisted by many who have posted guidance and opinion with Debbie.

Room fine, bathroom excellent with a bidet too.
Food ample and sufficient.

My main contributions here are two: First, Margaret took a nasty fall on our 10 p.m. arrival at an unlighted (i.e. bulbs failed and not replaced) staircase at Building 4. Customer service next day quite disinterested, but on the next day, the arrivals/registry desk took prompt note, and the lights were repaired immediately. We should have insisted on a pass to see the doctor without charge: my mistake, and the wound to a forearm was a negative during our stay in that lovely weather

Second: watch out at currency exchange at the hotel. I happen to be a mathematician for life which occasionally is an advantage (but sometimes in Ottawa is a hazard). However when the listed exchange rate at the hotel desk is One $Cdn. for .76699 CUC peso, then mental arithmetic suggests that .76699 is a little better than .75, and therefore my offered $120 Cdn should bring me a little better than 3/4 of 120 i.e. better than 90 CUC pesos. When the woman offered me 81 CUC pesos, I suggested 92 would be closer and without a blush she agreed and paid. Whether this happens frequently or rarely, it deserves watching for.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Food was not an issue at this resort."

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jeff07  on Mar 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
172 people found this review helpful

We've been reading Debbie's Reviews since our first (and only other) trip to Cuba in March 2004. This website is a great resource: a few added notes for travellers.
For context, we are a couple, late 30's, travelling with brother and his wife. Returned from one week at the Tryp Cayo Coco, March 24th. Sell Off Vacations (very) last minute deal - paid $700Cdn + tax/person. Air Transat/Nolitours vacation package - we have found Transat to be incredibly well organized and user friendly for both of our Cuban vacations. Only other Cuban vacation was to Varadero (Palma Real) so the benchmark for comparison should be considered.

Varadero vs. Cayo Coco:
We had hoped to find a place in Varadero with a last minute special - didn't seem to be the same selection and pricing as in previous years - and Cayo Coco was particularly inexpensive this time. Varadero has the town, the nightlife and the off-resort distractions. We thought we may have preferred an opportunity to 'escape' the resort on occasion. Though Cayo Coco offers little in the way of alternate destinations, we never felt confined at the Tryp and were quite content to stay put and enjoy the resort.

Disappointments:
1. The room. Bear in mind that our only point of reference was the 3.5 star Palma Real, the rooms (915 & 916) were below our expectations. They were functional (mostly) and clean (we think) but the 'dampness' that others refer to is very much a negative. The bed felt damp, the tile floor was damp and the towels, clothes and everything else within got and remained damp. Of course, it is the humidity and the tropics...but nothing like anything we've experienced or expected. The room became very much a haven of last resort instead of a welcome place to retire. TV worked, shower was fine, windows and doors locked - enough said. The '9' block of rooms was located very conveniently to both beach and pool (definitely a 'garden view' however) - maybe a 2nd or 3rd floor room would have been a different experience than our ground floor units?

2. Other guests. We arrived to (thankfully) the tail end of University break revellers. My wife and went to university and quite enjoyed our Spring Break opportunities too, but - some things are over the top. 500 students - barely of legal age - and 24/7 access to an open bar (despite the appealing ring to it) is an ugly sight. Some questioned that they were actually High School students (?) on break - which wouldn't surprise us by their age and attitudes.... We heard a number of horror stories relayed from the staff but our own first hand experiences were mostly those of extremely disrespectful behaviour towards the staff and unsuspecting other guests. Nothing violent or confrontational but behaviour you'd simply prefer to avoid. We dealt with it by watching as bemused bystanders and were comfortable enough to wade into the masses to get a drink at the bar but, others clearly were not. As other reviews have pointed out, be aware of your travel dates and potential vacation partners.

Pleasant Surprises:
1. The Food. My wife and I, in hindsight, don't know what the hell they were serving at the Palma Real three years ago...but it wasn't edible food. We simply dismissed the tastes and varieties as peculiar to Cuba and were prepared for substandard fare at the Tryp. However, from breakfast number one to the very last latenight grilled sandwich - and all the buffets and 'a la cartes' in between, the food was good. Some of it was actually great. The Cuban, The Grill and International restaurants we visited were all very good. The pizza place at lunch was a lot of fun and the beach grill was fine. The unexpected highlights usually came from the grill cooks in the buffet - who might occasionally offer to make you something special if there wasn't a line up (take them up on it if asked). Or alternatively, if you asked for an omelette or a piece of fish or chicken to be grilled, ask for 'their' special preparation of it. It will bring a smile to their face and your taste buds. I had a serving of fresh shrimp, grilled with peppers, onions, some spices and oils that was a 'Libertad Especiale' (the grill cook) that might be the best seafood I've ever eaten. If you're open minded with your food selections, I think you'll be very pleased with the offerings. If you're not open minded, take a careful look around at the expansive offerings prepared before turning to the bread and ice cream stand. Food was not an issue at this resort. Period.

2. The Service. We heard that the resort is one of the bigger ones and that it was mostly full...and that they had some challenges with the recent guests (as above) but never once did we encounter poor service. Not slow service, no attitude, no shortcomings. And all with either a nice smile or a professional 'gracias'. Our group commented repeatedly that we had not met a more courteous staff...mind you we were pretty low maintenance...but nothing short of very positive comments here

A few of our observations:
- beach was as expected....unbelievable
- grounds were as expected...somewhat worn but impressive
- pool was fantastic...warmer than expected too
- all bars (and bartenders) were as described...good fun
- rum drinks and beer were delicious (duh!)
- my wife commented that the 'girlie drinks' were exceptional
- weekly Beach Party....not to be missed (but you might if you don't know when it is - make sure to find out as it changes)
- nightly entertainment was better than expected...good sound, great stage & lights...very good local talent...a variety each night
- we passed on the excursions and spent a day on mopeds exploring...no regrets from the feedback we heard from others
- the 'market' type set-up near the buffet changes daily so if you see something you like, buy it...chances are it won't be there the following day

A quick note on service & tipping:
We probably tipped excessively, from the point of dropping a peso at every run to the bar or being quick to offer a peso to the beach guys dusting sand off your lounger and tipping a handful of pesos at every meal sitting, whether at the restaurant or the buffet. It probably added up to 20-25 pesos a day - not a huge hardship for us but it did add up. More interesting was how little others tipped at all. Whether the wink & smile from the bartenders and wait staff who recognized/remembered your face was worth the added expense is likely a personal thing - we appreciated it. I doubt that others cared at all...and would have received no less efficient service.

And a quick economics lesson that was given to us during our last trip from a local taxi driver/economics professor: you can buy pretty much anything in Cuba, and so too can the native Cubans. But, what they have in selection of items, they lack in funds to purchase them. So instead of dropping $50 at your local dollar store and dragging a bunch of 'gifts' down in your suitcase for tips, save the effort and provide the workers with currency instead of another box of Chiclets. For the record, we brought down gifts regardless this time too..but tried to make them interesting (ball caps, baseballs, guitar strings). Still no replacement however for cold hard cash in their pockets. Perhaps capitalism has a chance here afterall.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We all had lots of fun"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  PatLavalQuebec  on Mar 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2007 | Leisure | Family and Kids
186 people found this review helpful

I recently visited Tryp caco coco with the entire family ( 3 boys, 16,12 and 6 as well me and my wife from march 5 to march 12, 2007). Before our departure I was reading comments regarding the hotel and must say I was getting worried as to its reputation. Well, for all those who is going to the Tryp in the future, I think its worth the trip especially with children! We've been on other trips in the Carribean and the first time to Cuba, and enjoyed it. I have difficultly understanding all those who complained, I guess we are not really "fussy" and prefer to enjoy ourselves without looking for the knitty gritty stuff. For all those who are picky, choose 5 + hotels and pay the $$$.

HOTEL: The complex is quiet beautiful and well maintained. The employees are really friendly ( for thoses who say they are not, its a matter of receiving what you give off). Pool center was great, we felt treated properly.

ROOMS: Quit simple, had all the hot water necessary. Given we were 5 people, two seperate rooms but very near to each other. We were in block 8 second floor (quite nice because were were near the beach and near the activity center). Had oceanview rooms ( however palm trees present). Fresh towels every day. Really no complaints, anyways we were in ours rooms to basically sleep and relax a little.

BEACH: Reason why we were very little in our rooms! WOW! superb beach, beautiful white sand, colorful ocean. Definitely the nicest part of the beach in Caco coco. Weather was great, rained however 1 full day ( spent it in our rooms and alot of fun with the kids!) Quit windy most of the days, but ok.

FOOD: Pretty good, however, the buffet tends to repeat itself and you do get tired of the same thing ( I am speaking for myself and wife) the kids loved it especially the pasta variety. The restaurants à la carte were good, RESERVE THE MOMENT you get to the hotel it books fast!

ACTIVITY: Dont forget, we were there during spring break and there was alot of action ( students from Toronto) our children liked it alot, created action. Not sure however if older couples enjoyed it as well? We did! The night activity is fun however simple, good for the children.

SHOPPING: Limited to the hotel. Feel at ease to buy the the airport, the prices are good. 1 Can $ = 0.75 Cuban CUC. You can get Cuban money at the Hotel.

We visited other hotels in the area and found that the Tryp was the best. It is not a new resort, but one that can accomodate. What's important for us is that we all had lots of fun and that the children returned with great memories!

À la prochaine!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Main pool has seen a better decade"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Canada07  on Apr 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
180 people found this review helpful

Stayed in the 400 block. We had requested ocean view. Not sure if the advance e-mail to the hotel helps but it worked for us.

Overview
Simply, the Tryp is no place for the fussy. We got to experience firsthand just about every complaint we’d read about in previous reviews (no probs with the showers though). This includes:
- that sweet smelling lagoon where sewage goes to die (most days it was fine but a few times enroute to the buffet or savouring a dinner at the Italian/Chinese a la cartes it certainly made its presence known…whoa);
- when the wind dies down, the no-see-um’s come a calling (bring deet);
- rooms that had seen better decades;
- soap and shampoo the first day only;
- sheets that got changed once in two weeks; and
- nightly entertainment that could best be described as an elementary school Christmas concert put on by energetic burlesque dancers.


All that said – Man, we had a great time.

Beach and Pools:
That beach is the nicest we have ever experienced. On the windy days the water could be quite rough but I like to body-surf so I found that great fun. On the calm days it was like swimming in a salt-water pool – crystal clear and wonderful. Very little sea-weed. All sorts of fun activities like parasailing if you are into that – we just laid on the beach reading and communing with the sun-king.

The main pool has both adult and child areas. And yes, that main pool has seen a better decade too but no probs. Lots of activities going on and the animation team is good fun (we enjoyed the cannonball competitions). It’s pretty packed and the usual habit of lawn chairs being claimed by towels by 7:30 am is in effect. We prefer the beach but spent a couple afternoons at the pool-bar. The quiet pool was more our style. Once again, put your towel there early. Great place to alternate roasting, reading and swimming.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet offered a fairly good (but bland) choice. The serving staff was very friendly. The coffee great. You learn pretty quickly to discriminate between the good, the bad and the ugly. The Sunday night turkey was very nice and most days we found something we liked. Great ice cream and deserts. My wife enjoyed the omelets and pasta that they cook for you individually. The fruit flies climbing all over the fresh fruit some days was a bit disconcerting. We always enjoy Cuban cheese. The wine is Spanish and quite good.

A la cartes: We went to the International (twice), BBQ Grill (twice), Italian (twice), Chinese and Cuban. By far our favourite was the Cuban. I know others rave about many of these but we found them pretty bad – maybe we just got bad days. I have a cast iron stomach and still got food poisoning at the Italian (I asked the waited for salmon and got salmonella instead). The won ton soup looked (and tasted) like 10w30. Like I say, maybe we just chose the wrong items or got bad days. But, I won’t miss those a la cartes at all.

Pizza Restaurant: I hate to again whine as we really did have a wonderful time but we were tres disappointed in the pizza. The place itself has a fun atmosphere but we really didn’t find the pizza to our taste at all. I guess it’s an individual thing.

Beach Restaurant: decent for a quick, informal lunch. Can get pretty packed.

Bars:
Like everyone says, the bartenders are great. The lobby bar has the best variety and is a great place to sit and enjoy a smart cocktail and a cigar. The 24 hour bar (no idea whether it is 24 hour but I know it serves great coffee at 6 am) can get pretty packed during the shows and they seem to run out of glasses often (so bring those thermal cups). The pool and beach bars are fine, informal and again, those thermal cups are essential as otherwise you get tiny plastic glasses. The bartenders think nothing of filling the biggest thermal cup with your poison du jour.
We only popped our heads in at the disco. Too old – sigh.
Overall, we didn’t like the food much at all. Found it noticeably worse than in our previous trips. We just kept chanting ‘nobody comes to Cuba for the food’. Maybe just luck of the draw. But, the liquor was certainly top notch and flowing.
I tend to tip often (a peso at a time). Just a personal thing. It does make a small difference in the speed of service but certainly not essential.

Excursions:
We had primarily come to go into shutdown mode so weren’t particularly into exploring. Between doing nothing (we joked that we were thinking about thinking) we did squeeze in:

- The little train that comes by the Tryp about 9am (and 2pm). It cost us 12 pesos each. Takes you to a Cuban farm where you get some history of the area (Cuban’s traditionally didn’t live in Cayo Coco because the soil is too rocky and salty), a drink and then watch a small animal show. Then off to Playa Flaminco (Flamingo Beach) which has a beach bar. Finally to the highlight – the bat cave. It simply must be seen – pretty amazing. It also is open on Wednesday and Friday nights from 11pm till 2am as a disco. We didn’t go but I’ll bet it’s a hoot.

- We had booked the catamaran but, alas, that was on the day I had my food poisoning bout. So instead, the next day we took the trip that leaves right from our beach to the reef for an hour of snorkeling. It was incredible. While my wife was feeding the fish, I was experiencing the beautiful colours of the reef. I was blown away.

- Our fav excursion was taking a taxi (5 pesos each way – they come back and pick you up at a pre-determined time) to Playa Prohibida (Forbidden Beach). You could also rent a scooter or bicycles and go there. The little restaurant serves lobster and shrimp that is mouth-watering while you are entertained by a talented local musician. By far the best food of the trip. We found it very romantic to eat, drink beer and listen to the guitar player while looking at the pelicans dive into the ocean. My wife found some great sea shells on the beach (not for swimming). We went three times and highly recommend it. It’s open from 11am to 9pm I believe.

A note on shopping (who comes to Cuba to shop?). The hotel has the main essentials (booze, mix, souvenirs, cigars). Each day there are local vendors outside the buffet restaurant. Like someone else said – they change daily so if you see something you like – buy it then (you can bargain with the vendors). I still regret not picking up a Cuban shirt I liked. We went next door to the Blau Colonial but found the shops at the Tryp to be superior. I was told that there was a bigger market by the gas station but we didn’t go so no idea on what it’s like. They say the cigars are cheaper at the airport. Certainly the airport has a fairly extensive (by Cuban standards) duty-free selection available.

Tryp Tips:
1.If you are leaving the resort – bring toilet paper – please trust me on this one.

2.Next time you are in McDonalds, lift a bunch of salt and pepper packets. You’ll find these helpful at meal times.

3.The hotel runs on 220 V. I brought an adapter to recharge the digital camera. Worked fine.

4.Personally, I sure can’t recommend the salmon at the Italian restaurant.

5.You can take your water bottle to the 24 hour bar for a refill at any time.

6.We brought the usual homage to the maids (vitamin C and toothpaste seemed to be most popular). It probably makes no difference (you could give out laptop computers and you still wouldn’t get your sheets changed). Certainly was educational to watch them walk out at night with bags full of goodies. But, I’m sure they are distributed to an extended community.

7.The guys are all baseball crazy. So any old baseball hats, gloves (especially needed) or baseball magazines are very appreciated by the locals.

8.The airport is both new and efficient.

9.We took a taxi to the airport (12 pesos) to avoid the mass-bus check-in (hey, we got old). Problem is that they don’t open the check-ins till just before the buses arrive. So much for that bit of genius.

10.Book your a la cartes early. Although, I believe you can pretty much show up at anyone of them with a 5 peso note and they’ll find room for you.

11.Unless you have strong masochistic tendencies avoid the masseuse. Crossed that line between relaxation massage and extreme torture.

12.Ensure you go snorkeling at the reef. Such beauty.

Conclusion:
Overall, sure there were some complaints. But judged against the price we paid, I have to say it was good value for our money. We love Cuba and enjoyed Cayo Coco. That beach, the reef and the restaurant at the Playa Provibida were all incredible. We wouldn’t stay at the Tryp again. Mostly because we like to see different places but also because we just weren’t whelmed by it. But, darn, that’s one mighty nice beach.

Thank you Cuba for another incredible holiday. Cuba Si!!!. If you want any more info, please e-mail me at ralu25@rogers.com .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Travelling with 5 girls"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  DianneBathurstNBCanada  on Apr 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2007 | Leisure | With Group
184 people found this review helpful

Just got back from Tryp in Cayo Coco...travelling with 5 girls from the age of 15 to 53 we had a good time.. the resort itself is defenitely a weak 4.. food was good no one got sick did 3 a la Cartes which were awesome.. the cuban was extraordinary and the waiters told us if we wanted to dine there again anytime that week we needed no reservations after 8:00 pm and they would cook us something special,unfortunately we could not make it again.. There was a musty smell to our rooms when we arrived, however, after airing them out it was not so bad.. the beach was awesome however, very windy the red flag was up all week except for 1 day and that is the only day the the beach bar was actually opened..., Richardo is amazing.... did a day trip Jeep Safari which was well worth the 69. Pesos... saw the real Cuba... took some amazing pictures of local vendors and people... overall I would probably go back to Cayo Coco and try another resort the next time.. I never go back to the same resort....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube