Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Tryp Cayo Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.7 based on 55 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2015

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 41 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 21, 2015

Tryp Cayo Coco  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey
(Jardines del Rey)

"such an amazing summer vacation"
Posted by: tucker on Jul 31, 2014
see all reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews
Tryp Cayo Coco Pictures and Information
Tryp Cayo Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#2
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 72 reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Information



The Tryp Cayo Coco is located in one of the most important ecological areas in the country.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 3.7 of 5 72 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  26
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (57)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (30)
Solo
11 - 20 of 72

"Not Welcoming"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  sharon  on Apr 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
441 people found this review helpful

This is not a resort for singles. I did not find this the best hotel based on comparison. While some staff may smile at times, it appears to be about the tip and you may get a better service. Further to that, service was very slow with a long line up and waiting. The room was old, moldy,bath rusty, shower mostly cold-luke warm and no pressure.The beach was excellent! However, you could not get a chair even at 6:30 a.m. because workers on the beach reserve for their specal guests and even tells you that you can not sit in a specific chair. When this situation was brought to attention of the hotel, they alleged that this is news to them and that the workers on the beach do not work for the hotel..so be aware of this.

Based on previously visits to Cuba, this is my personal feedback that this hotel is not very welcoming.
Sharon

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
I am recommending to have a welcoming team upon arrival at the hotel. The transfer from and back to airport was excellent.

Rooms:
The beach view was excellent.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet, international and seafood resturants was ok.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was wonderful...this is my primary reason for a vacation that I am able to have R/R on the beach. As stated above, the hotel needs to pay attention to the reservation of lounge chairs on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The spectacular trip was excellent.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Quiet week"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alec  on Feb 24, 2011  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
385 people found this review helpful



Room Number:
842

Room Block:
8

Arrival:
Flew with Air Canada @0630 AM, flight departed and arrived on time. We like the baggage wieghts with Air Canada. Only 1 coffee en route nothing else.

Check through at Cayo Coco airport a breese, AC rep and buses outside and only a 15 min drive to the resort.

Arrived at the resort at approx 11:00 AM, check in went very smooth and most if not all rooms were ready at that time. Noticed no welcome drink provided.

Rooms:
Nice ocean view room, two queen bed's I don't think there are any king bed's ar this resort.

Room was done at approx 1300 hrs daily, departing rooms were completed first as they should be to insure new arrival's have their rooms at check in.

Minor repairs required, however, maintenance was being completed all week.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good, could have been hotter at the steam tables. Two grill tables with line ups at the buffet, food there was nice and hot and you could see it prepared.

A LA Carte food was all very good. Italian A LA Carte had the best salmon I've had in a long time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice beach, cleaned daily. It was hard to keep up a wind was high all week.

Great pool, redone several years ago and in nice shape. Nice and long for swimming and games.

Grounds were spotless with nice paths and board walks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities around the resort all day, something for everyone.

Other Comments:
Great staff, everyone spoke very good english. I read somewhere there was a lack of english. This is not so, even the grounds keepers spoke english.

Staff really go out of their way to make one feel welcome.

The people were 50 / 50 French & English. I am married into a French family and my spouse do not have any family members or extended family as rude as these people.

We paid for the VIP for our departure. I would not do it again. Airport lounge is nice and all the shops are there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had an amazing time and you will to !"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rob  on Feb 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
417 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1117

Room Block:
11

Arrival:
Checkin at airport is very fast, 30 min you are on the bus to the resort. It took 15 min to get there which was nice after a 3 hour flight. Checkin at hotel was also quick considering how many people are checking in at the same time. We had a hard time finding our room because the resort is so huge but had to ask a security guard who kindly took us to our room. I only have one complaint about this resort , that swamp water by the buffet and bar has to go it smells terrible. Honestly other than that you will have an amazing experience at tryp !!

Rooms:
We had a ground floor room away from the main pool which was nice , it can get loud down there for people looking to relax. The room was nice and cold and a little dated but who cares when you are on the beach all day ! I did see a few ants on the floor but nothing to be worried about thats for sure. The tv had several good channels to watch when we were ready to relax and excellent water pressure in the shower.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were very good especially the international and bbq/grill. Be sure to book your reserevations early because you will have to wait in line for quite awhile to do so . The buffet was good same things every night but so many things to choose from . The bars were always busy no shock there free booze !! Be sure to tip your bartenders THEY WILL remember you and tend to you quickly :)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools and grounds are well maintained and very beautiful. The swim up bar is a nice touch to an already perfect oasis. We spent most of our time on the beach tanning and swimming , i can swim in a pool at home lol. The colour of the water is so amazing and it is crystal clear as far as your eyes can see. We brought our own snorkels and masks for the beach and im glad we did because there were so many fish in the water to see. There were alot of gellyfish and they are easy to see and avoid when you have a mask on.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went horseback riding one day for 2 hours thru the jungle and then down to the beach riding in the water having a blast !. We stopped at a small bar on the beach for a beer before heading back for the day. All this for 20 pesos each ! such a good deal . We also went on the glass bottom boat ride and did some snorekeling on a corral reef . It was an amazing experience to see all the fish eating out of your hands and not just small fish there were big ones as well. Again this was 2 hours long and it was 20 pesos each ! u cant beat that . There were so many other things to do but we had a budget to work with. Even if you dont have extra money to do things there are enough activities to keep you busy at the resort and are included with your stay

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enjoyed my stay"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Samantha  on Dec 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
302 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
845

Arrival:
Arrival at the airport was quick and easy. Right thru customs and onto the bus within 10 min.

Arrived at resort at 10:00 am and were told room wouldn't be ready until around 3:00 pm. Went to front dest and we were given our room by 11:00 am.

Rooms:
Room was nice but bathroom was aging and the tub was rusted. Always hot water and sometimes hot even came out of the cold tap!

Restaurants and Bars:
Lobby bar was busy and service was very slow. Other bars were good.
Restaurants were good but buffet was kinda boring...same food all the time.
24 hr snack bar was really good and the staff were very friendly there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was beautiful.
Pools were nice and clean but freezing cold.
Grounds were nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were so much fun. they always had something going on. the activity staff were very fun and friendly. best staff worker is Steve. Off hotel activities was the ecological tour which was only $10 and well worth it. you got to see the bat cave, sand dooms, go to a beach,a and visit the spa. we also did the jeep safari which was $69 and was well worth it as well you got to drive your own jeep to Moron and shop. then you got to go to a fresh water lake for a little boat ride. after we went up the biggest mountain in cayo coco. after we went to a ranch and went horse back riding where we got a lunch that was decent. then we went to a crocadile farm where you can hold a baby crocadile. We would definatly recommend this excursion.

Other Comments:
Over all this trip was very well worth it. the staff were so friendly. We had an amazing time and would defenitly go back to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"4th time around!..."

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marilou  on Dec 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
296 people found this review helpful

Great, Great, Great,
For the 4th Christmas week in a row.
Had a great time as always-this year we tried horseback riding & glass-bottom boat (OMG-loved it!), and of course-went to the Spa Acuavida (don't forget to bring cash to tip/pay for your drinks/cappuccino at the bar!) Highly recommend the massage and the jet pools-especially the hot salt water pool inside-divine.
The Tryp was lovely and we were treated like queens-restaurants were great - our favorite is the Chinese-or the BBQ-although that one's a bit of a hit or miss based on which cook is there that night. The Italian -the only time we went was very frustrating for the kids especially-very nouvelle cuisine(not sure if they've changed their menu since?..) but when you have ravenous teenagers who've been playing in the sand all day..tiny cold vegetables and consomme is not the way to go. Yes some waiters are old and weathered and rude (mostly at the Beach Grill and Pizza place)..but we now know who they are and avoid sitting in their area altogether-so its all good!Everyone else is delightful.
We don't really care so much about the smell in the room..it is what it is. We are rarely in the room-other than to sleep so don't care...and the maids are so thorough and lovely-can't complain! (a maid for a week to clean up after your teenagers?! Are you kidding me?!! H-e-a-v-a-n)
For those who complain about the food quality, getting sick (tourista?)...are usually the ones drinking like fishes, lugging barrel-size cups for MORE beer, or going for 5th at the buffet...so yes-one could see how that might happen.
One of the gardeners we found quite pushy with his palm wares/sculpture things..so unless you said no right away-he would keep a lookout for you every day and chase you down to try and sell you more stuff! It got annoying-we would change our route just to try and avoid him.
We met a lovely gentleman on this visit, who has been going back for many, many years, knows the staff very well and he told us many of the staff will try and sell you their sob stories-which he says 90% will be lies..so its taking everything they say with a grain of salt-which is hard, knowing in what conditions they live in-but many times it will be a scam. Funnily enough-he noted that the queens of the resorts are the maids-who walk out EVERY night with large laundry bags stuffed with all the stuff guests left for them on their pillows-including cash! Although we still bring a few Christmas treats..chocolates, candy canes,etc..I just tip now.
That's it-going back in 2010-by request of the kids no less-who have made this their home away from home!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great times, Great Friends"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sylvie  on Dec 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
299 people found this review helpful

We have been visiting this resort for at least 10 years now, going 2 weeks at a time, sometimes twice a year!

Arrival:
No problem we are always welcome! and the staff remembers us and treat us very well!

Rooms:
Who cares if the rooms are somewhat run down, who stays in their rooms during a vacation? We always stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor, no smell and no bugs ever noted, and the walk upstairs is good for your health after doing mostly nothing all day!

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints here, my husband eats anything! The service is good a la carte restaurants and we do like the buffet too.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We are not pool people, Just look at the color of the ocean! just relax with the sounds of the waves!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Multiple activities and the staff is great!

Other Comments:
We already booked our next trip for April 2011, take the time to get to know the culture, the Cubans are so pleasant and educated, they mostly all have a University degree!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paraiso"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. Graciela y José Beronda  on Nov 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Nov, 2010
546 people found this review helpful

uando llegamos quedamos Embelesados,el Hotel era mejor de lo q vimos en internet,el loby es precioso,la limpieza y decoración impecable, la piscina grandiosa, nunca la use obvio, teniendo el mar mas bello q hayamos visto, la playa INCREIBLE, di gracias a DIOS y a mi marido, ese lugar es el PARAISO, en el TRYP todo es excelente, viajamos en junio, los días espectaculares,el agua del mar tibia,es el lugar ideal para ir con niños, volvemos en diciembre a pasar Navidad,se lo recomendamos, no se van arrepentir de elegir tan EXCELENTE HOTEL. Gracias a todo el staff, nos vemos el 20 si DIOS quiere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will Return"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ann  on Sep 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
287 people found this review helpful

We visited Tryp Cayo Coco for the first time last year and we were very pleased with this resort.
The long streach of beach was the key to our enjoyment. The silver sands, the glistening water and the blue skys made our days enjoyable.
We found the staff friendly and helpful. There was plenty of good food and the speciality restaurants added variety. Our clean room was large, the beds comfortable and we were overlooking the ocean.
The evening entertainment certainly brought out the guests. We are early risers so would have liked an earier start time for main program.
I would rate the resort 4.5

We hope to return next winter

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't expect too much."

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on May 25, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
312 people found this review helpful

4 stars to all staff. Always smiling doing their best to keep clients happy.

It's obvious the Melia chain is neglectful during the low season.
For instance the quiet bar is closed leaving adults no area to spend a quiet evening and no drinks nor coffee offered at the Italian and Oriental restaurants. No music. We sit, eat and leave. And we don't eat that well.
The water below the main lobby bar should be cleaned and covered. It's ugly and it stinks. I don't understand, as it cannot be a main attraction but repulsive.
The waiters, with embarassement, had a shortage of juice, straws, drinking glasses, coffee, milk, amaretto, etc..
What could they do? It's not their fault, but some folks don't understand that the Hotel management is to blame.

No fumigation, lots of mosquitoes. Cutting down some more..

The food, everywhere was awful and we know that no matter how much we complain it will never change.

Generally the bars and tables were always dirty.

Would not recommend this hotel.

Your Arrival:
Quick check-in.

Rooms:
Clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Dirty.
Food, Cuban standard: Bad

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Okay.
Beach not clean. Water amazing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great service, pool and beach, food not so good."

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  will  on Apr 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
275 people found this review helpful

We would certainly go back to Tryp, the grounds are lovely, it was hot with a nice breeze, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Though the food was disappointing we had a terrific time.

Your Arrival:
The check-in was very fast. Though the front desk staff aren't very friendly.

Rooms:
The room was aging but fine. Few rooms have a view of the ocean but most are a short walk to the pool and lobby and buffet. Our maid was terrific. We had problems with our TV, though we didn't watch it much, but they fixed it right away.

Restaurants and Bars:
The service at all of the bars was fast, though they do not have several of the drinks and mixes we are used to in Canada, such as club soda, scotch, pineapple and cranberry juice. The beer is okay. The bartenders did not seem to care whether you tipped or not, theey were just as fast and friendly.
The food at the buffet was poor, you really have to be picky, though the breakfast omelets are good. Their orange juice is great. We had turkey one night which was great, sometimes the meat is not cooked enough, such as the hamburgers at the restaurant on the beach. Even when we went to an a la carte the food was disappointing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The main pool with the swim-up bar was terrific, with somewhat loud music but games and entertainment and a party atmosphere all afternoon. The other, smaller pool was very quiet.
The beach was amazing, with warm water and a cooling breeze.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The pizza place on the beach is excellent, with really friendly waiters. There is a very nice little lobster shack just down the beach with tasty lobster tales for $12, ask for Franklin. The entertainment was good, though much of it is provided by volunteers from the audience. There is very little to see around the hotel, though they have lots of avtivities for kids, plus tennis, etcetera.

Other Comments:
Be aware that you need to take cash to exchange for CUC (Convertible Cuban dollars). You can use VISA at the stores but to get a cash advance on your VISA you have to walk to the resort next door. You can not use you bank cards at all!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube