Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Tryp Cayo Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Cayo Coco

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 11, 2014

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.7 based on 55 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2015

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 41 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 21, 2015

Tryp Cayo Coco  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey
(Jardines del Rey)

"such an amazing summer vacation"
Posted by: tucker on Jul 31, 2014
see all reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews
Tryp Cayo Coco Pictures and Information
Tryp Cayo Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#2
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.7

Based on 72 reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Information



The Tryp Cayo Coco is located in one of the most important ecological areas in the country.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Tryp Cayo Coco Reviews

Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 3.7 of 5 72 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  26
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (57)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (30)
Solo
21 - 30 of 72

"West Jet get us out of HERE!!!"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  gerald  on Feb 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
256 people found this review helpful

if you really want to see Cuba just once go to Hogine province Paridisus rio de oro.Resort... any where else ...GOOD LUCK TO YOU!!!

Your Arrival:
check in was ok. traveled with party of eight adults.had 4 rooms booked,3 rooms ready on check in 4th.room 2 1/2 hr wait.The flight there was on West Jet Very smooth trip both ways.

Rooms:
on ground floor. Mould...in each room to varying degree.hard bed flat pillows ...aired room out best as could. At sleep time used perfume on Stained towl to mask smell of mouldy room.we were central location of resort"änts very tiny in bathroom .do not drink water!Given 2 ltr. bottle of water to drink...had to take it daly to refill at lobby bar...also spiders ant tiny biting bugs that only feasted on some guests

Restaurants and Bars:
Japanese only good thing for trip. Two others Italian and sea food.not worth going . Every one had bad stomach cramps, from food.One British couple there... his wife had food poison taken to Hospital.They lost most of their travel money for hospital bill.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach full of kelp...not much room at high tide. The pools ok to sit around too cool to go into.this is third trip to Cuba for us Hogin province resorts much nicer.They were 5 star and 4 star ratings.The Oasis playa COCO rated 4 star...I would give it 2 maybe 2 1/2 star.tops.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Young teens ballet type dancing at night. BINGO...Day trip into town of Moron where all the staff are from.Pick any place to go to bathroom ...in town...No toilet paper no seat cover ...no running water!!!BBBRRRRR.... bring your own sanitary wipes !

Other Comments:
went on boat ride on lake .Then were given free drink and fish lunch...enjoyed drink didn't eat there ... same sanitary washroom toilet don't flush no running water in sink...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing Value For Money"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Jan 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
194 people found this review helpful

.

Your Arrival:
We arrived to the hotel around nine o'clock just as the evening entertainment was getting started. We were checked in right away and shown to our room.

Rooms:
Fairly basic but very clean. If you request one bed just know they will push together two doubles. Large bathroom with ameneties (bring your own adaptor)Bathroom has two areas- one for getting ready and a separate room for shower (excellent water pressure- no problems with hot water)

Nice balcony- our room was oceanview which I highly recommend as the view is breathtaking.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are seven restatuants in total- including one that stays open 24 hours a day. The buffet selection is varied but gets a bit repetitive. The a la carte restaurants -particularly the Italian were fantastic!! One of the best dining experiences I have had in Cuba. There is a pizza restaurant on the beach that makes the best homemade pizza!! You will not go hungry at this resort.

There are four different bars including one swim-up. One is kept open 24 hours and they have a great coffee/late menu in the main lobby bar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach- Straight from a postcard, beautiful blue water, white sand, long stretch of beach great for walking.

There are two pool however most guests tend to gravitate to the main pool. You do have to get up pretty early to reserve a seat especialy if the hotel is at full capacity. The main pool also can get quite loud during the day as they have a multitude of dance classes, fashion shows and guest participation activities. If you want quiet the second pool is located in a remote area of the resort but does not have a swimup/poolside bar.

The grounds at the TRYP are impeccable- very well maintained and clean. Palm trees line the peremiter of the resort and they have many well-lit walkways

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Cayo Coco is not a place to go for those who want many off-resort activites. It is too isolated- in fact the closest town is 50 minutes away.

With that said the entertainment staff at the TRYP Cayo Coco is among the best I have seen in Cuba!! Children are kept busy at the kids club and there is an early nighttime show specifically for children.

All day there is non-stop activites, sports and games available for those wanting to participate. The energy of the entertainment staff was infectious!

At night there is two nightly shows for adults and plenty of salsa music playing at the outdoor bars until the late hours of the night.

Other Comments:
I would visit this hotel again anyday! You will definitely get more for your money at the TRYP Cayo Coco!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They are proud, (Generally) hard-working people"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Andre II  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
274 people found this review helpful

From the top: two key things to remember when visiting Cuba. 1. It is a Communist country. 2. It has been under embargo for 50 years. Thus, if you roughly understand those two concepts, you can put into perspective what is good / not so good about this resort.

The arrival went well. Apart from passengers not collecting all their bags and having to be reminded by the staff (can you imagine?!), we got underway. TIP REQUEST WARNING: From this point on you will be asked for money / tips until dropped off at the end of the trip. So... we were reminded several times of how the bus driver was getting us to the hotel safely yadda yadda yadda and could you please show him how much you appreciated it... (Recommend 1 peso for that job...)

Rooms::
Our room was musty and had mould on the bathroom ceiling. Poor engineering is to blame as there is no fan / exhaust in the b.room!! Thus, keep the A/C / balcony door open when / as possible to alleviate this. Also, water, coffee maker etc, are best acquired by tipping the maid at arrival to ensure a week of happiness. (5 pesos for the week and any left over items you don't want to pack / donate to her).

Restaurants and Bars::
The a la carte restaurants were virtually all exquisite. First: tip and treat the booking manager (Miguel?), who makes the reservations for you. Three are allotted, but often 'cancellations' etc, occur and you score more if you *(ahem) tip him. *5 pesos recommended especially for the International restaurant... Waiters generally spoke two - three languages (Sp, En, Fr), and were generally excellent (earned their money!). Notables were at Int'l and BBQ Grill. Note: the "Oriental" Resto is a name, so don't expect actual curry or chinese food... Wine is free and plentiful and food was always very well prepared and presented as though in a high end restaurant. Recommend 5 pesos depending on how attentive...

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach was stunning and long. Plenty of space; recommend being on the flanks as more room avail / less crowds. Water veh's were in good supply and lots of fun. Pools were grandiose and in great shape; very appealing though some try to 'reserve' their loungers for the day (throw the towel down at 8am and walk away). The resort tells you and encourages, you to cast aside such practice, so if you see an unused towel where you want to sit, take it off and sit! The grounds were immaculately maintained and often groundskeepers will try to sell you things (coconut drinks, necklaces, hats of palm leaves etc). Caveat emptor... if you want it, fine otherwise give 'em the Heisman.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Did not go on any tours; you are really isolated from 'Cuba' so if that is what you want (ie: beach and sun and not to be bothered) you will get it. IF however, you want to do more, you can but it will cost you***.

Other Comments::
The "lagoon" has GOT to go!!! Add a fountain, jet stream or fill it in but it stinks and was our single biggest complaint. All in all, noting two points above (Cuba, communist), you get generally great service and tipping at the bars (1 peso each time or here and there) builds a great rapport with the staff. We saw people try to pawn off clothes etc in exchange for goods and it was refused. They are proud, (Generally) hard-working ppl. Lastly, we saw more instances of visitors being rude than vice versa, and it really isn't that hard to say "por favor" or "please" when asking for something; politness is universal.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The coffee was fantastic at the bars"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jasper  on Jan 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
280 people found this review helpful

December 09. Flight was Air Canada so the food was terrible so fill up at Tim Horton's in the Departure area flying out and at the hotel buffet coming back.

Rooms::
Thanks to a previous reviewer I e-mailed the Tryp and asked for a room in building 5 or 8 on the second floor. we got a beautifull room in 8 overlooking both the pool and the ocean. Room was large with king bed and good sized balcony. The bathroom was a good size with seperate counter area. Plumbing was old but worked. Other rooms in the building were being renovated.

Restaurants and Bars::
Bars were stocked with Cuban liquor only. Cuban whiskey, cuban Kalua, cuban Bailey's, yuck. The coffee was fantastic at the bars. Plug you nose walking to the Buffet because there is an open sewer running under it and the smell will put you off your food. The Buffet was a large noisy hall with large buffet rows and cooking stations. The daily food was repetative but edible. The cooking stations are great for eggs and omeletes in the morning and pasta, oriental and meats at dinner. Cuban beef is still tough and stringy but chicken is good. Beef stew fried with rice and vegetables by the food station chef was great. Be sure to tip these chefs because they do more that the buffet waiters. Especially at breakfast. The coffee from the machines in the Buffet is terrible. Bring it with you from the bar or enjoy your coffee afterwards at one of the bars outside the Buffet. We went to 3 of the seven a-la-carte restaurants. Chinese was bland food, Italian was good and the Cuban was excellent; however, the Cuban is an open air farmhouse replica so douse youself in bug repelent. Lunch was at the Beach Resturant and it is great. Food is a-la-carte and burgers and hot dogs. good food and excellent staff. say hello to Lady and Rene. The Pizza bar was too busy, too small and too disorganized.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Huge main pool with a kids area. This was where the loud, drunk Canadian students yelled at the loud, drunk British soccer louts. There is a quieter pool behind the Dive Shop that was great. The beach was clean and wide at low tide but narrow at high tide. Get there early, talk to a beach cleaner and for a couple of pesos he will reserve your lounge chairs in the spot you want for you whole stay. The grounds are clean and well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We have been at Cayo Coco before(Melia in 07)so we did not tour. Off the resort try the speedboats at Guillermo. They are fun and the snorkelling is good. At the Tryp we went on the Glass-bottom boat for snorkeling and it was worth the 20 pesos. Just go on the less crowded afternoon trip. Para-gliding was too expensive at 40 pesos but the powered ultralight Zodiac was only 30 pesos and well worth the thrill and view. The Coco Dive Shop is excellent. Did 6 dives with great Dive Masters, equipment and dive buddies. We saw Groupers, Lionfish, Rays and Nurse sharks. Pay with your credit card not with pesos converted at the hotel. Visa converted $Can to CUC at $0.92 versus $0.80 at the hotel. Rediculous hotel exchange rate!

Other Comments::
The Tryp is renovating guest suites so email and ask for one of these. Rooms fronting the main pool can be noisy because the open air theatre faces the pool and the shows are always loud and rocking.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Realised we'd made the right choice"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  EithneIreland  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: Jul, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
192 people found this review helpful

I am writing this review as I have found this site to be so helpful to me in choosing my holiday to Cayo Coco.
My boyfriend and I went to Cuba for 2 weeks (we are 27 and 29) and arranged a week in Tryp Cayo Coco as part of the trip. We organised all aspects of the trip ourselves, it was not a package (flew from Dublin to Paris then to Havana). We flew to Cayo Coco from Havana with Aero Caribbean and booked the Tryp on www.solmelia.com.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Tryp (1 week: June 28th to July 5th), we arrived late on the Thursday and were checked in fast as we were the only people checking in. As the complex is so big it would have been nice to be shown our room but we weren't - oh well! We stayed in the Ground Floor of Block 5 (Room 515) and it was perfect - 2 double beds, kept clean, nothing special but perfect for our needs. From the back door you were practically on the beach.
On our first full day - Friday we were lying on the beach, enjoying the peace and quiet when around 100 young Canadian students came screaming onto the beach. We soon learnt that there were 200 more to come and that it was their Grad trip from finishing High School. Needless to say they were very messy at times and had we been older or had kids with us we would not have been happy. Individually they were all very nice but in groups they could be quiet obnoxious and rude so bear this in mind travelling at this time of year.
We took the bus to Sol Cayo Guillermo for one day and realised we'd made the right choice, although the Grad Trip were loud and caused a bit of trouble we were bored with the Sol in Cayo Guillermo within minutes - it was so sedate and there was nothing going on at all. Plus the beach in Cayo Coco is so much better.
We didn't do any excursions but went snorkelling every day and we tried scuba diving once. Snorkelling was amazing; we saw more fish and a greater variety snorkelling than scuba diving.
The staff in the resort are brilliant most of the time. We tipped a lot and got great service. I left gifts for the maids everyday but they didn't seem bothered so I gave bags of gifts into the bar instead and they were delighted to get them. I think the maids get loads so it's better to give them to the other staff.
One word of warning there was a beach party for the Grad Trip almost every night so unless you got a few drinks in at night it was hard to sleep!!
I can't think of anything else to add to my review but if you have any questions feel free to email me eithnedoyle@yahoo.com.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We upgrade at check in to VIP service"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  JimHamiltonOntarioCanada  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
216 people found this review helpful

What's to say about it. It's exactly what one should expect, an itty bitty little airstrip with nothing in the way of amenities and LARGE numbers of especially efficient mosquitos. BRING BUG SPRAY and apply it before you exit the building. Our arrival went off without a hitch. The cuban customs officers were very quick and pleasant. Baggage retrieval was unbelievably quick. From exiting the plane to boarding the bus took less than 20 minutes! Our bus ride was a mere 15 minutes on well maintained roads and lacked the usual fear for our lives we experience in most Carribean locales. According to our driver Cuba is on a big road safety kick and it's working! At the hotel things took a while, but there were a lot of us (~50) and we were last in line. The staff were courteous and spoke english very well. Check-in took about 45 minutes but, again, we were last. We upgrade at check in to VIP service and booked all of our A La Cartes for the week. Once checked in and directed to our room our luggage arrived at our door within 5 minutes.

Rooms:
Remember, this isn't a 5 star resort for a reason and the rooms are it. They are pleasant and very clean. If your booked into a ground floor room it will be quite musty smelling for a few hours until the AC has dried it out. We've been to beautiful, full on 5 star resorts and it's the same there. All of the rooms at the resort are exactly the same. If you booked standard you get only bottled water in the room. If you booked VIP you get beer, pop, water, coffee maker, and beach towels plus A La Cartes every day! Booking VIP in advance is prohibitive, but, at check in it'll cost you only 12CUC per person per night and if your in a ground floor room they will move you to a Superior ocean view suite within a day or two.

Restaurants and Bars:
The A La Cartes were uniformly excellent with the blue ribbon going to the Loma Azul international cuisine(at which if you' purchased the VIP package you can have the lobster or shrimp dishes with no extra charge--25CUC-- if you haven't). The cuban restaurant and the Grill are not for the faint of heart in mosquito season. The Grill is outdoor and the little Cuban Casita might as well be. The food was very good, but in retrospect not worth the dozens of mosquito bites. If the bugs are out next time we're there we will not be making any bookings at them. The Italian and Chinese restaurants were very nice and the food was excellent. All of the ALa Cartes have Spanish house wines we found surprisingly pleasant especially the reds.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Awesome!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the full day snorkelling adventure and had a great time. Bring lots of high SPF sunsreen with you. We had a couple of teeny boppers return with second degree burns on their backs and shoulders. We were out for 9 hours and in the water for 5. Lunch was very good, Lobster tails, shrimp, pork chops, rice and roasted veggies. Beer, pop, water and mixed drinks were included and very cold. For 75CUC it was well worth it. There are a lot of fish out there and none you need to worry about either. We also went on the 'Spectacular Cuba' tour for the same price. while it was an enjoyable day there was just too much 'bus time' for me. My wife didn't think so, maybe I'm a whiner but I wouldn't do it again. The stops were good but rushed. The lunch at the sugar cane ranch was very good.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"15 minutes to get to the resort. AWESOME!"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rob07  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jul, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
185 people found this review helpful

We just got back from Tryp Cayo Coco June 22.
We were 2 of a group of 6.
We booked though Nolitours and unfortunately they resold seats on a Signature Vacation Trip. If you've never flown Signature, they use Skyservice. The staff are great... The plane OLD. As in old Canada 3000 equipment. Seats are small, headset jacks are the old 2 prong and not all working, tv's are fading or discolouring, toilet takes a long time to flush... Hmm what else can I say.
Customs in Cuba... fast... Exchanged money very quick. Everyone at the airport spoke well enough English.
The bus... 15 minutes to get to the resort. AWESOME!
The check in... Well, this was disappointing... We paid extra for VIP. The regular check in was faster than the VIP check in. The non-VIP could go right to their room, ours were not ready. We had to wait over 4 hours for our room. It was raining, and the buffet didn't open for 2 hours. When the room was ready, it wasn't. Things were not ready. Coffee packets were there on the first day, Coffee maker took a call the next day, creamer to 2 more days. We weren't too worried, the coffee was made in Canada and the coffee at the restaurants was awesome.
Our towels disappeared one day and we had to call twice to explain we wanted to go swimming and waiting until "turn down service" at 8pm wasn't soon enough.
All in all, the VIP service is not worth the money.
So without the VIP service here is the review...
Resort... Beautiful, 10 years old in the need of some repairs, but they were working on it. Some rooms were being repaired as we were there.
Food... Great. A lot of selections. Buffet was really good. International, Italian and Grill were really good.
Staff... Great. Very friendly and helpful.
Pool... Some tiles were coming off, but it was clean and perfect temperature for me.
Beach... Awesome. Clean.
Water... Amazing...Clear... If you go out to the rocky area, take a bun with you, feed the fish. Take an underwater camera.
Room... Good size... Beds comfortable.. AC worked but not controllable (on or off and not very strong on some days). Shower never got hot but good pressure. We had bugs one day in the room not a big deal. Excursion... Spectacular Tour was great. A perfect mixture of activities. CONS... The "swamp" that people mentioned is actually the water that runs through the lobby building which houses the Buffet, 24 hour bar and international a la carte. It was ripe the whole time. I was shocked they haven't done something about it. SUMMATION I would return to this resort. Although it's rated 4 star, it truly is a 3 star resort as others have stated. We had a great time at the Tryp and the staff made sure we were happy with the resort and amenities. If you can get a good deal for the Tryp, definitely give it a try.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be prepared to be awaken by birds and chickens early in the morning"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  DoloresAlbertaCanada  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
195 people found this review helpful

Mosquitoes, mosquitoes, mosquitoes, even at the airport. We were greeted by airport workers wearing masks. Custom officers were efficient and baggage claim was quick. They took some of our packed sandwiches before they let us out of the airport. Arrived at the hotel after 15 minutes bus ride. The check in was good, they all spoke good English.

Rooms:
There were 16 people in our group and we got rooms side by side each other which was nice. We were in building 14 which is far from the main lobby and pool. Although there was a smaller pool close by which was a better and quieter pool. A bar is close by.

Restaurants and Bars:
Not too impressed with their buffet food. Same food everyday. We liked the fresh meat/seafood grill, the stir fry and pasta counters. Ice cream is always melted. People in the restaurants are very nice and accomodating. Our favorite was the CHURO guy!!! Almost every evening, there was a Churo and Cotton Candy stand outside the main building. We tipped almost everyone because we wanted to. They never asked. They are hardworking and friendly people. We have given things that we used there and did not want to bring back like shoes, purses, perfume, t-shirts, toys, whateverer! Good way to clear up luggage space.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful water!!! Pool was clean. Beach needs to be cleared off weeds better. Need to save your favorite spot early in the morning.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Pedal boat, kayak and other non-motorized sports- all for free, you just need to give a 3 cuc refundable deposit. Snorkeling for 20 cuc on a glass bottom boat - recommended but try to go on a calm day. Banana boat for 5 cuc/person- really fun!! Town of Moron trip for 30 cuc includes a horse carriage ride around the town, a speed boat ride on a lake (very interesting) they take you on an inlet which looks like a rainforest and a small snack. There are no shopping opportunities in Moron, it is a very small town. We found more things to buy at the airport.

Other Comments:
Bring a lot of bug spray. We did not see any shows because of this. Their stage is outdoors and even though they spray every night, you will still get eaten alive. Possible sighting of a snake, some in our group saw it crossing the pathway by the stage. For sure sighting of crabs (all sizes), peacock, goats, chickens, roosters, cats, flamingoes. lots of birds. These are all just in the hotel grounds. Be prepared to be awaken by birds and chickens early in the morning. The exchange was 73 cuc to $100 Cad.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Respect the sun, use sun-screen"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  PatCambridgeOntarioCanada  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
207 people found this review helpful

This Review may be of interest to physically challenged people. We were a group of 8. 6 retired (three of whom were physically challenged), one young adult, one child. Flight out of Toronto: Was good, as wheel chair service was requested at time of booking and provided once we got to the airports (both ends.going and coming). All P.C. passengers were met at the check-in counter, and assisted all the way to the aircraft.

Arrival:
In Cuba the planes do not pull up to a ramp, so exiting the aircraft was a bit of a challenge as our P.C. relatives had to make their way down the stairs (with the rest of the passengers)to the tarmac where wheel chairs were waiting for them. Once on the tarmac, we were greeted by service reps assigned to us, the entire party was ushered Express (ahead of the able-bodied passengers) through Immigration, and out to the baggage area and our buses. This service continued until we were on the bus. PLEASE IF YOU USE THIS SERVICE (that you do not pay extra for), TIP THE CUBAN PEOPLE GENEROUSLY..THEY DO AN EXCELLENT JOB.

Rooms:
Check in: Went well, it was the usual wait as three bus loads of people were trying to check in at one time, we simply waited our turn, it went incident free.
Rooms: Once it was our turn, we were happy to learn that we got the only two rooms in the hotel that were designed for the Physically Challenged (open shower stalls instead of bathtubs) but this only happened because I requested these rooms ahead of time. A few weeks before we left, I sent them an e-mail with my request, they promised they would do the best the could, and that as long as the rooms were available we could have them. We were lucky, the week we were there, they were not occupied. These rooms which are equipped with double beds adjoin regular rooms should you require others in the party close by. Our rooms were all in a state of good repair considering the age of the hotel. The air conditioning in all of the rooms and we never ran out of hot water. We had clean linens daily.

Restaurants and Bars:
All of the restaurants are ramped. There wasn't a meal there we didn't enjoy be it at one of the ah la carts or in the main dining room, there was always something good to eat. I am a breakfast person and appreciated not just the buffet, but that you could have something made fresh for you if your choose. Others who were dinner people enjoyed the ah la cart menus or the fact that in addition to the prepared food in the buffet, there is a chef there to make you some fresh pasta dishes if you so desire. One person in our party would grab additional raw vegetables from the salad bar, then give it to the chef to stir fry it with some fresh pasta and other vegetables he had with what ever sauce she chose. She made her own meal right there in the buffet this is Cuba people, the raw material is there, they just may not know what to do with it. Help them she also promised on our next trip down to give the chef in the Oriental Restaurant a cooking lesson. (to spice up his menu).
BARS: Stocked with anything you'd need to cool you of. They never ran out while we were there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They take care of this place; all exterior is in a state of good repair, nice and clean (I watched them clean the pools every morning). The beach is always tidy, shade is at a premium book a spot early (by putting your towel on a beach chair). The grounds were impeccable with Gardeners always in attendance and always wanting to cut you a fresh coconut (so that you can drink it's contents) or make you a palm hat to help shade your head. AGAIN, PLEASE TIP THESE PEOPLE GENEROUSLY they do not have to do these things, they just do it to help you create a wonderful memory of Cuba, and for the price of a coffee back in Canada, you can so improve the quality of life for these people one CU (visitors peso) goes a long way for the locals be generous.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
For first time visitors I recommend the day visit to the little town of Moron.....that is real Cuba. There are many other days trips, however please remember to bring bug spray, at this time of the year the mosquitoes are out in force day and night..... the resort does do a daily spray every night.......but if your are going off resort....carry bug spray.

Other Comments:
CAUTION: AT THIS TIME OF THE YEAR IT IS VERY VERY HOT IN CUBA. Respect the sun, use sun-screen, seek shade or cover-up when you can. The reason why I stress this is that one in our party didn't, as a result she ended up suffering SECOND DEGREE BURNS, she had to be taken to hospital in Cuba (which was a nightmare in itself), then transferred to Canada for treatment, she is now in the Sunnybrook Hospital Burn Unit.yes, it is that serious. Please respect the sun, and if your are on any medication, check to see if it compromises your ability to be in direct sunlight.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The bars were great the bartenders very friendly"

Tryp Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Tryp Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  JennNovaScotiaCanada  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
199 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 18-25
Arrival was good, bus ride nice and short only 10 mins from airport. They do not have a luggage to your room service, so we had to hump it. I didn't mind, but only discovered the ramps down from the lobby the next day and ended up dragging the luggage down all the stairs. (lol). When we checked in it was pooring rain so it was quite fun. The staff made the check in easy and they were very friendly. I had research the building I wanted close to the pool before leaving and made the request to change when we arrived, they made the change no problem.

Rooms:
The rooms were clean, they were slightly run down, and in need of a bit of touch up. But keep in mind this is the oldest resort in Cayo Coco, and the volume of people through each year. It was certainly not bad, and you aren't there to be in your room, so as long as its clean (which it was) who cares.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were great the bartenders very friendly, and the 24 hour bar was always fun in the evenings, sometimes had live entertainment, singing canadian songs. The restaurants were good, buffet had good variety and something a bit different everyday. The a la cartes are hard to get into, or at least when I was there, my 1st morning I went to book and most were booked all week. But did get into the International and Cuban, I like them both. I loved the Cuban, however, the food and atmosphere were amazing. Best meal I had, the restaurant it actually a cabin outside the resort lobby to try and recapture a Cuban house. This would not appeal to everyone, but I found it Rustic and quaint.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach, well all the beach in Cayo Coco is amazing, white sand, blue/green water, and you can walk for hours either direction. Pools were nice, the main pool was fun, great pool bar and always lots of daily activities and fun. There is also a quiet pool which is nice, but I didn't spend time there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Daily games and entertainment were excellent. I did the Bat Cave evening excursion again while there, and had a great time. Great club, local and canadian music, as well as a local Cuban band. It is 20 pesos to go right from your resort lobby to the Cave, and all your drinks at the cave are included. This is great for anyone who wants a bit of night life.

Other Comments:
I really like the Tryp and want to go back again. I found the staff very friendly and helpful and if you interacted with them your staff was great. Their english from gardener to manager was incredible and this certainly assisted in the stay. The entertainment staff were friendly and fun, and made the time there make you feel like family. I would defineately recommend this resort. Although I traveled with my mother, there was a good variety of ages there including a great program for kids, which made it very family friendly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube