Plaza Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Plaza reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Plaza  

Ignacio Agramonte No. 267, Habana Vieja, La Habana, Cuba.
(Old Havana Maps)

"Plaza"
Posted by: greg  on Mar 20, 2013
see all reviews

Plaza Reviews
Plaza Pictures and Information
Plaza Old Havana Cuba

#2
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.1

Based on 70 reviews

Plaza Information


One of Havana’s oldest hotels, the Hotel Plaza combines a rich history with beautifully restored and charming interiors and a superb location near the colonial heart of the city.

Plaza official website
http://www.hotelplazacuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Plaza Reviews

Plaza Review: 3.1 of 5 70 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  21
Average
  11
Poor
  12
Terrible
  14
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (52)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (10)
With friend (11)
With Group (9)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
1 - 10 of 70

"Plaza"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  greg  on Mar 20, 2013  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
114 people found this review helpful

Great location in the heart of old habanna. Check in was fast but card key to the room didn't work, know it was the batteries but it told them over 1 hr to fix. They should of gave us another room.
Breakfast was ok...

Room Number:
214

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dirty and loud Hotel in a good position"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Achim  on Dec 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
146 people found this review helpful

I stayed 6 Nights in the Hotel Caribe Plaza. The floor of both rooms, I stayed in, were covered with dust and hairs. And this not always under the beds. The water in one shower was only dripping. I had one room to a inner side and the vents outside were going silence at midnight. But the closing doors of other customers were heared all time. My other room was at the outside to a street. Because that the windows don't close right it was loud at day and night time. The roof of the bathroom was moldy.
The position of the Hotel Caribe Plaza is great. Only a few stepps to the Placa Central and a few more to the Capitolio and the streets to la Habana vieja.

Room Number:
346 + 206

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great hotel and location in its price range, but food at restaurant needs improvement."

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alejandro  on Jun 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
157 people found this review helpful

The Plaza is a classy, cozy and comfortable old hotel with a great location. All amenities in our room worked, except for the radio on night stand. We liked the big size of both room and bath, and the balcony was a plus.

Room Number:
218

Arrival:
Arrived Apr. 26, left Apr. 29, 2012.

Restaurants and Bars:
Drinks at bar were superb, sandwiches were just ok, which later on we found out to be just the same throughout Cuba. This wasn't a real problem, since there are many other delectable foods available.

We had breakfast included so we took it at restaurant upstairs: here it's where big improvement is needed. Coffee and some fruit drinks were not good, never saw bananas and some dishes were not appropriate for breakfast. Staff was slow at replenishing buffet line and frequently there was the same employee blocking one of the doors leading to the terrace. There were no bowls for cereal, so I had to use a coffee mug instead.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
In general and considering its age, the property looks well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do any activities through the hotel, but found lots to do nearby in Habana Vieja.

Other Comments:
I would stay again at the Plaza but would eat elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Un horror"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  María  on May 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: May, 2012 | Party | With Group
184 people found this review helpful

No sabría por dónde empezar a describir este “hotel”, simplemente es entrar en la habitación y ponerte a buscar las cuatro estrellas.
Te impresiona su gran entrada, pero todo se desvanece al llegar a la habitación: colchones deteriorados que hacen que te clavas los muelles y te levantes peor de lo que te has acostado. Suciedad por todos los rincones. Enchufes arrancados, cables pelados. Pareces sin pintar y con humedad. Baño repugnante, WC sucio, imposible regular el agua (elige entre fría o ardiendo), realmente da asco ducharse allí (yo no me atreví a ducharme descalza). No ofrecen ni gel ni champú.
Personal indecente: hay trabajadores que te esperan a la puerta del hotel, con la escusa y su palabrería “yo trabajado en su hotel, la vi esta mañana…” vas cogiendo confianza y enlazando “amistad” hasta que te llevan a su territorio, tomas algo con ellos (hay que invitar, por supuesto) y finalmente te medio obligan a que compres tabaco o ron (supuestamente todo falso). En nuestra aventura, Jacqueline y Mariela (personal de limpieza) fueron las encargadas de tal odisea.
Conclusión: HOTEL PÉSIMO. Lo único bueno es su ubicación pero en la zona hay muchos más hoteles y estoy segura que cualquiera es mucho mejor. Las fotos que ellos ofrecen no ofrecen la visión de lo que el hotel realmente es, mirad las fotos colgadas por los viajeros.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nicely situated hotel with an awful staff."

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Victor  on May 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) UKRAINE
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
164 people found this review helpful

Good: placing in Havana, terrace view (breakfast)

Bad: tired & non-loyal staff, pfhe-coffee on breakfast, bathroom-plumber problems.
The worst: wardrobe-in forgotten jacket was stolen fastly (thieves inside).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel impresionante de arquitectura en estado lamentable"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  escribano ignacio  on May 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
181 people found this review helpful

No funcionaba la luz del cuarto de baño. Las ventanas ajustaban tan mal que el ruido era infernal. El desayuno es malo aunque la terraza de arriba tien unas vistas preciosas. Personal muy poco amable. Que pena de hotel!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Substandard"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Katarzyna Lesiuk  on Apr 21, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) POLAND
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
169 people found this review helpful

There are two positive things to write about this hotel - location (just 5 minutes away from Floridita, Capitolio, 15 minutes from Plaza Catedral) and breakfast served at the rooftop with a nice view over Habana.

Unfortunately everything else was awful - rooms smelly (mould), dirty (had serious doubts on whether my sheets were fresh ...) and very noisy, breakfast rather poor, staff at reception desk rude (after waiting 5 minutes until the nice lady finished her conversation on the phone we were told to go elswhere because she was not there to give us information).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Plaza was a good experience for my family."

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aud Torsøy TVEITE  on Mar 14, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
176 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
357

Arrival:
We planned to spend our last night in Cuba at one of the old grand calefornian hotel after spending the other nights in several nice casas. We asked the taxidriver to stop at a corner of Park Central where we overlooked the street and picked Plaza because we liked the look of it. Everything was perfect, everything had went well the hole trip. With the reseptiondesk we discovered we had forgot a bag with our pasports in the backseat of the taxi. Everybody tried to help us, the taxidrives outside, the bellman, the reception, the securitiman, the man who had a trolly with drinks- everybody was upset. They managed to get the word out and when our taxidriver after an hour came walking in the maindoor, smiling and holding the bag up in front of him I had to give him a hug.

Rooms:
Nice trippelroom, clean and quiet. Nice beds, we slept well.

Restaurants and Bars:
We didnt use the restaurant, but the breakfast was very nice. Buffets with a lot of cold and warm food and drinks to choose. We sat outside on 5.floor overlooking the city.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very central, by Park Central.

Other Comments:
Good value, 171 CUC a night with very good breakfast. Nice to have stayed both in casas and this grand old hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Felicitaciones al personal"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pascual  on Mar 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SWEDEN
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Business | With Group
170 people found this review helpful

Ya siendo un asidui cliente con Grupos de Suecos al Hotel deseo hacer llegar mis felicitaciones al Personal por su dedicada atencion a los clientes . Quiero hacer resaltar la posicion del Hotel en la Havana Vieja cerca de todo lo que hace a la havna interesante.

Room Number:
404

Room Block:
4to piso

Arrival:
El 11 de febrero al 14 de Febrero
El 22 de febrero salida el 29 de Febrero

Restaurants and Bars:
Hciendo llegar mis Felicitaciones dejada por los clientes a Natalia y sus colaboradores en el restaurante

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Todo bien"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
180 people found this review helpful

Stayed for a week at this hotel and enjoyed it greatly. The building itself is beautiful and the location superb. The first room offered was a little lacking but after a friendly chat with the front deskman we were given a much better one. The staff were all courteous and friendly. Breakfast on the roof with a view was typical with the usual egg staton and assorted fruits and pastries and a friendly staff but alas the coffee was from a vending type machine. When I am in Cuba I expect to be drinking good coffee.The bar on the main floor is pleasant and has a charming piano player with an impressive repitoire. the restaurant, despite its rather stuffy ambiance has good food,service and reasonable prices.I find generally that the smaller the hotel the friendlier the staff and even the guests are. I also feel that staying calm and polite certainly helps to smooth out little problems that inevitably arise when travelling Step out the door and you are in the heart of Habana, fantastic!

Room Number:
418

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube