Plaza Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Plaza reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Plaza  

Ignacio Agramonte No. 267, Habana Vieja, La Habana, Cuba.
(Old Havana Maps)

"Plaza"
Posted by: greg  on Mar 20, 2013
see all reviews

Plaza Reviews
Plaza Pictures and Information
Plaza Old Havana Cuba

#2
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.1

Based on 70 reviews

Plaza Information


One of Havana’s oldest hotels, the Hotel Plaza combines a rich history with beautifully restored and charming interiors and a superb location near the colonial heart of the city.

Plaza official website
http://www.hotelplazacuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Plaza Reviews

Plaza Review: 3.1 of 5 70 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  21
Average
  11
Poor
  12
Terrible
  14
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (52)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (10)
With friend (11)
With Group (9)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
1 - 10 of 70

"Shocking service, TV doesnt work, air conditioner makes banging noise all night, when turned off!"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alison Ryan  on May 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
201 people found this review helpful

Best part about my stay was breakfast. It was fabulous.
Apart from this I would nevert recomend this place. Firstly the staff are appalling. All of the reception staff are hopless.

When my tv didnt work (the only reason I booked this place was to relax at the end of a tour, in front of the TV for a night) was ásked to run from room to room across several floors to find a TV that worked from the rooms that were available. I had to ask 3 times to get the TV issue sorted. It took about 8 hours for them to finally address the problem and asked me to run around to find a suitable room to move to!!

I couldnt think of a worse place to stay.

Arrival:
10th April 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay away"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Allan  on Feb 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) DENMARK
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
202 people found this review helpful

Really bad Hotel. Dirty rooms, nothing works at this Hotel.

Room Number:
250

Arrival:
8. feb. 2011, for one night.
And again 15. feb. for also one night.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not again"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Eva Mertesdorf  on Dec 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
170 people found this review helpful

I stayed in the Plaza for two nights and didn't like it very much.
A small dark room where it was really loud.
The Internet in the Lobby didn't work as the telephine from the room.
Big brakfast but disgusting coffee and had to wait foe ages to get a glass...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Challenging"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Francisco Sanchez Garza  on Jan 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Mexico
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
216 people found this review helpful

Lack of cleanliness.
ROOM: no batteries in TV control, no lights in lamps, telephone out of service
I left the Hotel and the telephone never worked. They didn't care (front desk staff)
Internet not available
But above all, complete lack of service culture. Since I'm sure I wouldn't care that much just if I had seen a little of commitment from their side

Room Number:
424

Arrival:
Jan.09, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Disappointed"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Imad Nammour  on Jul 4, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
205 people found this review helpful

This hotel has the potential to be awesome, but unfortunately it seems to have been neglected by management. In the room we stayed in, the bathroom light was not working, the TV was not working, the AC iced up in 2 hours and stopped blowing cold air. There were termites running all over by the balcony door. Maintenance came over, took a look, and said it would take them 1 day to replace the TV. The staff at front desk seemed more interested in gossiping with each other than paying attention to us trying to check out. This is more like a 2 star hotel at best!

Room Number:
324

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"So bad would not recommend it to anyone"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marie  on Jan 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SWEDEN
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
177 people found this review helpful

I can not understand how this hotel can have 4 stars, they should not even have one.

The only good thing is the location otherwise all the rest was really bad. The breakfast they served is not eatable,the rooms was so bad and the smell in the room was terrible.The bathroom i dont even have words for it!!!
The 5th floor should have sun bathing chairs that sounded nice so we went upstairs to relax, what can i say they dont even bother to take care of the place, they dont clean they dont make anything to make it better.

We booked this hotel on arrival since they had 4 stars and good location but if you have time please check for another place, dont go here its not worth it!! We have been at a lot of places and seen many different categories of hotel this was for sure the worst ever!!

Room Number:
211

Arrival:
Bad!

Rooms:
Very Bad! In the room we had small insects all over the floors and even in the beds. if you have astma dont stay here because of all the mould, the air is terrible.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bad!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Bad!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Bad!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There are better alternatives!"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Nico  on Dec 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
190 people found this review helpful

Have been on the countryside and also Varadero before ending up in Havanna, and so we have seen a lot of hotels.
We had room 231 and 232 and......these rooms do not meet the 4**** hotelqualification. Upon arrival the condom packages were in the room and dust was everywhere. The door between the bedroom and the closet had no doorknob, so when you close it by accident you are locked up ....till someone hears you screaming..or till the next day when the maid comes!!
After 3 days this was still not cleaned/fixed properly. For 80 Cuc's a night you can better stay in the Panorama Hotel (we had this one when we arrived in Cuba)a few km's north in Havanna and take a taxi for a few CUC's to the center.
Also the lobby is not that cosy...better go to Inglaterra across the street for your drinks. Life music, better prices etc.
so...there are better places to get for your 80 CUC's a night...

Room Number:
231

Arrival:
december 7 2011 till december 10- 2011

Rooms:
The two we had were of 2** classification.
What is the use of airco when the windows do not close...
Sorry......the airco did not function......so problem solved!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is a terrible hotel."

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Robert Crowle  on Jan 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
174 people found this review helpful

The hotel is terrible. The toilet didn't flush and when the man fixed it, it still didn't flush. The room we moved to had a broken board under the bed which we didn't notice until we came in late that night. By morning the bed had completely broken. The maid has to know of these problems, but service is not in their vocabulary.
Sharon Crowle

Room Number:
about 230, 239

Arrival:
6 p.m.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wouldn't stay there again"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  rowan  on May 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
185 people found this review helpful

In a mix up where the hotel's booking agency made a mistake and booked me in for one night instead of two, the hotel kicked me out on the second day for other (presumably higher-paying) guests, saying the mistake was made by 'my' booking agency. The booking was made through their website - I don't have one ! Do yourself a favour and get a good casa particular instead.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sonja Niedermann  on Jan 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SOUTH AFRICA
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
177 people found this review helpful

This hotel was shockingly bad. We stayed here on two occasions, 8 days apart. the last stay was on 1 January 2012.

Breakfast was terrible. The food was way below average. There was no coffee in either of the two coffee machines. there were no bowls to eat your cereal from, we had to use a coffee cup. There was no toilet paper in either the men's or ladies restrooms in the dining area. The staff were not interested in helping. They didn't seem to care.

The rooms were terrible. On the first night we stayed in room 226. The room door would only open halfway. the toilet would not stop flushing - we had to manually stop the water supply every time we used the toilet. The mattresses were very old and soft.

On the last evening, we had to change rooms three times before ending up in room 400, which was acceptable. Room 208 which was first allocated to us was so damp and full of mould growth on the walls, we could not breath / sleep.

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and would not recommend it to anyone. It's a shame though, because this hotel is a grand old lady with lots of potential, but she has been seriously neglected.

Room Number:
226/208/400

Arrival:
Travelling with Gap Adventures

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube