Plaza Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Plaza reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Plaza  

Ignacio Agramonte No. 267, Habana Vieja, La Habana, Cuba.
(Old Havana Maps)

"Plaza"
Posted by: greg  on Mar 20, 2013
see all reviews

Plaza Reviews
Plaza Pictures and Information
Plaza Old Havana Cuba

#2
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.1

Based on 70 reviews

Plaza Information


One of Havana’s oldest hotels, the Hotel Plaza combines a rich history with beautifully restored and charming interiors and a superb location near the colonial heart of the city.

Plaza official website
http://www.hotelplazacuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Plaza Reviews

Plaza Review: 3.1 of 5 70 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  21
Average
  11
Poor
  12
Terrible
  14
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (52)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (10)
With friend (11)
With Group (9)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
11 - 20 of 70

"Excellent except the food"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kueng Lola  on Feb 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) AUSTRIA
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
173 people found this review helpful

I really loved this hotel. It is located in the center of the old city with all main attractions around at walking distance. The hotel itself is very beautiful with spacious ravishing lobby. The rooms are big with extremely high ceilings (about 4 meters), very clean and beatuful. The bed is comfortable and the aura of the room is very pleasant and quiet. The only negative impression was the food. We had all inclusive deal and the food was extremely bad: the exhausted platters were not cared to be refilled on time or at all, the machines for coffee, juices, water, tea, etc. were out of service most of the time. The quality of food at dinner was terrible. Well, this is not very surprising because discovering the good food in Cuba is a major challenge. However, the sandwishes made in the bar are quite nice but they are not included in the deal and you have to pay for that. To sum up, I highly advice this hotel if you want to enjoy the experience of being in Havana!

Room Number:
324

Arrival:
January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Challenging"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Francisco Sanchez Garza  on Jan 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Mexico
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
216 people found this review helpful

Lack of cleanliness.
ROOM: no batteries in TV control, no lights in lamps, telephone out of service
I left the Hotel and the telephone never worked. They didn't care (front desk staff)
Internet not available
But above all, complete lack of service culture. Since I'm sure I wouldn't care that much just if I had seen a little of commitment from their side

Room Number:
424

Arrival:
Jan.09, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is a terrible hotel."

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Robert Crowle  on Jan 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
174 people found this review helpful

The hotel is terrible. The toilet didn't flush and when the man fixed it, it still didn't flush. The room we moved to had a broken board under the bed which we didn't notice until we came in late that night. By morning the bed had completely broken. The maid has to know of these problems, but service is not in their vocabulary.
Sharon Crowle

Room Number:
about 230, 239

Arrival:
6 p.m.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"So bad would not recommend it to anyone"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marie  on Jan 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SWEDEN
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
176 people found this review helpful

I can not understand how this hotel can have 4 stars, they should not even have one.

The only good thing is the location otherwise all the rest was really bad. The breakfast they served is not eatable,the rooms was so bad and the smell in the room was terrible.The bathroom i dont even have words for it!!!
The 5th floor should have sun bathing chairs that sounded nice so we went upstairs to relax, what can i say they dont even bother to take care of the place, they dont clean they dont make anything to make it better.

We booked this hotel on arrival since they had 4 stars and good location but if you have time please check for another place, dont go here its not worth it!! We have been at a lot of places and seen many different categories of hotel this was for sure the worst ever!!

Room Number:
211

Arrival:
Bad!

Rooms:
Very Bad! In the room we had small insects all over the floors and even in the beds. if you have astma dont stay here because of all the mould, the air is terrible.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bad!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Bad!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Bad!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Friendly staff"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Yasuyo Yamashita  on Jan 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) JAPAN
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
166 people found this review helpful

The location is very nice! It's close to the art museum and revolution museum and also main streets.
As I already read the other reviews, the room is old because the hotel has been more tha 100 years, but it was fine to use the facilities.
The staff members were nice and friendly! I highly recommend the dessert of the cafe/bar on the 1st floor! The dessert looks like a pudding and it is sooo delicious!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sonja Niedermann  on Jan 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SOUTH AFRICA
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
177 people found this review helpful

This hotel was shockingly bad. We stayed here on two occasions, 8 days apart. the last stay was on 1 January 2012.

Breakfast was terrible. The food was way below average. There was no coffee in either of the two coffee machines. there were no bowls to eat your cereal from, we had to use a coffee cup. There was no toilet paper in either the men's or ladies restrooms in the dining area. The staff were not interested in helping. They didn't seem to care.

The rooms were terrible. On the first night we stayed in room 226. The room door would only open halfway. the toilet would not stop flushing - we had to manually stop the water supply every time we used the toilet. The mattresses were very old and soft.

On the last evening, we had to change rooms three times before ending up in room 400, which was acceptable. Room 208 which was first allocated to us was so damp and full of mould growth on the walls, we could not breath / sleep.

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and would not recommend it to anyone. It's a shame though, because this hotel is a grand old lady with lots of potential, but she has been seriously neglected.

Room Number:
226/208/400

Arrival:
Travelling with Gap Adventures

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad service"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karin  on Jan 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
168 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the hotel 5 nights in total. Generally spoken it is o.k., but the service (especially at the reception desk) is awful. Doesn´t matter what time and matter, the employees weren´t any helpful or even refused to talk to us (e.g. there should be 24h-Internet service but we couldn´t manage to purchase an internet card, reason: from 8 pm on no internet available). The bathrooms were a bit wracked, even though the room service did a great job every day and was therefore tipped daily by us.

Room Number:
462

Arrival:
7/DEC/2011

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast buffet was various but a bit weird (not too delicious, but we had to eat something and we´ve paid for it

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not again"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Eva Mertesdorf  on Dec 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
169 people found this review helpful

I stayed in the Plaza for two nights and didn't like it very much.
A small dark room where it was really loud.
The Internet in the Lobby didn't work as the telephine from the room.
Big brakfast but disgusting coffee and had to wait foe ages to get a glass...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There are better alternatives!"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Nico  on Dec 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
190 people found this review helpful

Have been on the countryside and also Varadero before ending up in Havanna, and so we have seen a lot of hotels.
We had room 231 and 232 and......these rooms do not meet the 4**** hotelqualification. Upon arrival the condom packages were in the room and dust was everywhere. The door between the bedroom and the closet had no doorknob, so when you close it by accident you are locked up ....till someone hears you screaming..or till the next day when the maid comes!!
After 3 days this was still not cleaned/fixed properly. For 80 Cuc's a night you can better stay in the Panorama Hotel (we had this one when we arrived in Cuba)a few km's north in Havanna and take a taxi for a few CUC's to the center.
Also the lobby is not that cosy...better go to Inglaterra across the street for your drinks. Life music, better prices etc.
so...there are better places to get for your 80 CUC's a night...

Room Number:
231

Arrival:
december 7 2011 till december 10- 2011

Rooms:
The two we had were of 2** classification.
What is the use of airco when the windows do not close...
Sorry......the airco did not function......so problem solved!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome????? ........... Not!!!!!"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Dec 13, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
278 people found this review helpful

Well, I am not sure where to start. One of the things that enticed me into coming here was all the positive ratings. I'll have to be more selective the next time. So, to start. The good things. Webster, our waiter in MB was exceptional!! YAAAAAY Webster!. If you like shopping, La Isla is right across the street and has many fine shops. The beach is relatively clean except for the slobs who litter with their cigar and cigarette butts. The yellow flags were up most of the time but that is to be expected in that area. If you are careful, swimming is lovely. From my perspective, a seasoned traveller who is used to staying at better quality hotels, this hotel did not make the mark. While the grounds were well kept, and the rooms and hallways clean, there are not many more positive things to say. Compare to The Moon Palace with a similar or 1/2 star rating less, where the rooms have two person jacuzzis, large showers and ample closet and dressing areas, and bottles of premium liquor in each room, whereas Live Aqua has no booze and only cheap beer and sodas and bottled water. After we checked in, the room we were assigned was supposed to be a deluxe garden view. What we really got was a deluxe construction site view. Not a tree in sight! Well, maybe a bush! LOL. We immediately went to the front desk and were assigned a full ocean view at the front of the hotel on the 7th floor. Pretty neat huh? Oooops, wait, we entered the room to find a woman partially clad along with her husband. Embarrassing for both parties to say the least. Down to the front desk again, several apologies and a new room on the 9th floor. I guess this could be a good point. With regard to the food. Only three restaurants for this whole complex. MB, which was upper scale but the food was only medicore compared again with Moon Palace both in choices of restaurants and quality of food. Azur, which is out by the pools which are satisfactory, but which weren't heated and were a touch cool, is somewhat OK. The buffet restaurant Siete was adequate for brekkie and lunch but dinner was unspecatular. The staff by and large was very friendly and there were favourites but one thing I will say about brekkie.... they had all the fresh OJ you could drink and more, and mimosas were abundant. Omelettes were good too and on balance the brekkies were average to good. Again, choice was lacking and for those people who were not fans of eating a lot of Mexican fare, meals could be a bit disappointing. The pool waiters were attentive and all staff were tipped well. I just believe that it is hard work for these folks and dealing with many impolite people one of the ways I think I can brighten their days is to give a good tip and be very polite for the great service. The bus is a few steps away from the front of the hotel and I highly recommend using it to go to "The Forum" area a few miles down the road.

Room Number:
9th Floor which is Top Floor

Room Block:
Ocean Front

Arrival:
Satisfactory but nothing special. We were told welcome drink upon arrival and we get TEA???? Give me a break! Lots of time share people around. Beware!!!

Rooms:
Room Tip: Ruth's Chris Steak House just out the front of the hotel and to the left a reasonably short walk. Make sure to see Tulum and other tours. Take the bus! It is very inexpensive and there are tons of stops for shopping and eating out! Enjoy the beach! Make sure you are not facing either the Westin on the left side of hotel as you are facing the water or the construction site on the right. Except nothing less. They bargain hard so press them.

Restaurants and Bars:
Three restaurants. MB for the so called better quality food which is only average. Siete for buffet breakfasts and lunch and a la carte dinners. Azur which is buffet, a la carte and right near pool for quick snacks. Only good thing I can say about any of them is that the fresh squeezed OJ in morning was spectacular.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach very nice, pools.... 8 of them that were supposed to be heated but were not. Grounds were nicely kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
If the hotel bothered to tell us it might have been nice. Most of the area is Americanized with Hard Rock Cafe, Hooters, Senior Frogs and other popularly named stops for the tourists but fun to go to in any event.

There are always lots of tours and I highly recommend both Xcaret (pronounced Ish car ette) and Xel Ha (pronounced Shell Ha). There are many more so don't miss out, just expect to pay around $100 or more per person for each. I am not sure what more to say here except I will continue to come back to Mexico, particularly Cancun and the Mayan Riviera but I plan to give this property a pass for now and forever!

Other Comments:
BTW, under country Canada should be spelled with a capital. So for instance would you like it to be usa or USA. If I were an American I would like the latter. Should be easy for you to change.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube