Plaza Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Plaza reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Plaza  

Ignacio Agramonte No. 267, Habana Vieja, La Habana, Cuba.
(Old Havana Maps)

"Plaza"
Posted by: greg  on Mar 20, 2013
see all reviews

Plaza Reviews
Plaza Pictures and Information
Plaza Old Havana Cuba

#2
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.1

Based on 70 reviews

Plaza Information


One of Havana’s oldest hotels, the Hotel Plaza combines a rich history with beautifully restored and charming interiors and a superb location near the colonial heart of the city.

Plaza official website
http://www.hotelplazacuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Plaza Reviews

Plaza Review: 3.1 of 5 70 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  21
Average
  11
Poor
  12
Terrible
  14
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (52)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (12)
Solo Traveller (10)
With friend (11)
With Group (9)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
21 - 30 of 70

"Great roofterrace"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  sander van ginkel  on Nov 21, 2011  >  5 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
165 people found this review helpful

Good affordable hotel with great breakfast on the roof terrace. Really centrally positioned close to the capitol and the cigar factory.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Oozing with charm"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  patrick walsh  on Oct 30, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
175 people found this review helpful

The plaza is a very pleasant and easygoing hotel in the middle of old havana.
the reception is big and all the staff are very nice and helpful.
some of them speak english .
it is in a busy part of havana with lots of old buildings and bars.
the restaurant is on the top floor with a wonderful view of the city.
the rooms are nice and clean.
i think there could be an improvement in the breakfast menu

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing service, best coctails ever, big thank u for a bar tender in lobby."

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Monika Dukat  on Oct 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
163 people found this review helpful

I can recomend Plaza Hotel to everyone, great service, friendly, helpfull staff. When I go there again for sure I'll stay in the same hotel. Thank u for making my solo trip so good.

Room Number:
456

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My stay at Hotel Plaza was not pleasant"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Saifullah Talukdar  on Oct 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
159 people found this review helpful

Positive sides: centrally located in the old city close to the central park. Spacious hotel.

Negative sides: very old hotel, needs considerable renovation. Extreme noise from the AC unit and from the nearby road 24 hours. Key to the room didn't work. Found a cleaning lady close by and she contacted the reception. Reception sent a technician who took more than 15 min. to fix the lock. The safety box in the room was too small. Could not put my laptop in the box. Asked a lady at the reception for help, didn't get any help and the attitude of the lady was rude.

The breakfast was reasonable but could be improved by replacing some of the sweet items with good breads and fruits.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel very dirty."

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Wai Chuen Wong  on Oct 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) HONG KONG
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
185 people found this review helpful

Over all hotel room is very dirty and staff not very helpful.
I will not recommend all of my friends choice this hotel.

Room Number:
208

Arrival:
9 Oct to 11 Oct 11.

Rooms:
very dirty. the toliet still have lot of stuff.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is very poor.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Comfortable old hotel in city center"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jaana Keitaanranta  on Sep 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Panama
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
179 people found this review helpful

Hotel Plaza is well situated old hotel in La Habana. Major places to see are are at the walking distance. The rooms are high and open spaces look beautiful with lots of details. Some of the room furniture is little old but the rooms have everything one needs. If I return to La Habana I would reserve again in La Plaza.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Efficient service"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Renato Ezban  on Aug 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) DENMARK
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
195 people found this review helpful

Our reservation had been registered by the hotel, so that a the room was available when we arrived. The service corresponded to our expectations. The hotel is nice. However, it was annoying, that the windows were covered with shutters that could not be opened, so the room was dark even during the day. A problem often encoutered in hotels in Cuba is the noisy air-con.

Room Number:
342

Arrival:
Efficient and polite service

Rooms:
Worn down, dark and noisy due to air-con

Restaurants and Bars:
Medium

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
NA - hotel is in town center

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Na

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The hotel is good but not clean"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  gianluca marradi  on Aug 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
200 people found this review helpful

The hotel is good but the rooms are not clean.

Room Number:
406, 412, 306

Arrival:
from 3 to 5 august 2011 and from 14 to 17 august

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just ok, no water at the hotel!!"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jessica Roja  on Aug 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
203 people found this review helpful

I'm Cuban so i know a little bit about hotels in Havana, also my mom when she used to live there she was a tourist guide for more than 25 years and I used to go and travel with her all over the country and enjoy of hotels and excursions. Unfortunately Cuba has changed a lot! things are getting tougher, specially in Havana. Right now the country is having big problems with the water because it hasn't been raining, i stayed 11 days in Cuba this summer and it didn't rain one day that we were in Havana(we went to Varadero too). So this affected some hotels in center of Havana and old Havana, even the 5 stars hotel next to ours was without water.

Room Number:
319

Arrival:
When we got there check in was very fast, our room was on the second floor, elevator worked but always took forever. The lobby was ok but they turn the ac off at night, so don't go downstairs and try to eat a sandwich at the cafeteria like we did, go to the restaurant or somewhere else. The hotel doesn't look very nice or very clean in the outside and there's quite people outside that area that are always offering taxis, tobacco, or just asking you for money, if you already book for this hotel or Parque Central that is next door you will have this problem. Ignore everybody!! if you want a taxi ask the receptionist to request one for you, if you want I also know an excellent driver with all his licenses and requirements available 24 hours with very affordable rates,I payed him per day and he took me everywhere.

Rooms:
The room was pretty bad, the worse part of it was that smelled like dust and it was because the construction, they are repairing the hotel. Avoid rooms on the second floor they are not very clean. I went to the reception and told them that i was allergic to dust and i wasn't going to be able to sleep in that room not really expecting any changes because is Cuba, it doesn't matter how much you complain. They didn't give me any answer,a little bit after my husband went downstairs to ask why the phone didn't work and came back asking me since when i was allergic, I'm not really, lol i just couldn't stand the smell and they did give us a better room on the third floor with no additional charges , a suit, it was ok but better than the other room and the smell was gone.
The ac at the room was good, you can keep it on all day if you want, the noise in the mornings will wake you up, the busiest street in Old Havana is right in front this hotel.

Restaurants and Bars:
If you have breakfast included you have to take the elevator to the the fifth floor, there's kind of a "buffet table" that after 9:30am is pretty empty, so wake up early if you want to have breakfast. I never ate at any of the restaurants there, but i know they have like two. Bars are all good in Cuba! I always say if you want a real Mojito you have to drink a Cuban one! :)

Other Comments:
There's no Wi-Fi at the hotel so don't bother taking your own computer with you, if you want internet you have to pay 6 CUC per hour and used their computers with really slow internet. No phone service in the room and if you want to make a call at the reception is 40 cents per minute, very expensive!

In general i wouldn't recommend this hotel until they finish repairing it at least , there's so many good houses "casas particulares" that you can stay with a small budget and the service is great.
If you have any questions you can email me, I can give you a lot more info and details, jes21ca@yahoo.es
The water problem was never solved, they brought a water source for two hours in the afternoon, we shower that day the next day we left dirty and shower at the other hotel we went. They didn't charge us for any of the cans and bottles of soda and water we have at the mini fridge, because i went downstairs and complain with the manager ;)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Plaza Hotel"

Plaza
User Rating:  Plaza Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Graham Knight  on Jul 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
209 people found this review helpful

This hotel is very centrally located and quite historic. Nice foyer with Internet room and money change , however spoiled by some staff standing around smoking. Rooms large with A/C but in need of some maintenance. Breakfast on the roof top cafe was truely excellent with view to match .Would stay here again in the price was as good as this stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube