Villa Cojimar Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Villa Cojimar reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Villa Cojimar  

Cayo Guillermo, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba.
(Jardines del Rey)

"my stay at a wonderful resort."
Posted by: Lori  on Jan 21, 2014
see all reviews

Villa Cojimar Reviews
Villa Cojimar Pictures and Information
Villa Cojimar Cayo Guillermo Cuba

#1
of 4 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo

User rating 4.5

Based on 82 reviews

Villa Cojimar Information




Budget hotel on all inclusive basis. Most rooms have seaviews. Watersports activities available.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villa Cojimar Reviews

Villa Cojimar Review: 4.5 of 5 82 reviews
Excellent
  57
Very good
  17
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (18)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (4)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 82

"my stay at a wonderful resort."

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori  on Jan 21, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
67 people found this review helpful

i stayed at this wonderful resort from jan 13th till jan 20th it was awesome people were fantastic and very very pleasent thanks to all who made my stay very welcoming hope to come back soon:)

Room Number:
77

Arrival:
jan 13th

Rooms:
my room was very clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
very nice

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very well taken care of.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
activities on resort were awesome.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"El Paraiso !!"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elyse  on May 2, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | Solo
100 people found this review helpful

What a marvellous week I spent at Villas Cojimar. Nothing else to describe this experience like founding a small corner of paradise. Ernest Hemingway did also found Jardines del Rey and Cayo Guillermo as his own paradise. If you are not picky about hotel rankings, the luxury and the amount of food you can eat, but if you want to embrase the cuban hospitality and the kindness of its people, you will find at Villas Cojimar this big family atmosphere and you will fall in love with it. Location is amazing. Just a walk away from the beach, water is clear and changes colors along the day. Site is very quiet especially at nite for a good night sleep. Eat and drink want you want especially those delicious cuban cappuccinos. Take a salsa class with the youngters of the animacion team...walk along the beaches at sunrise and sunset...have a lovely cuban dinner viewing the carribean sea...and let go of everything....I strongly recommend this resort and will go back nyself soon in August....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing. Resort gone down hill from last year"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Colleen  on Mar 28, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
118 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
139

Arrival:
Check in was fine. We were supposed to have a free upgrade to bungalow but staff didn't seem interested in listening to our request. They said the hotel was full. Everyone must have hid in their rooms all week

Rooms:
Our shower was broken. They did fix it same day we complained. Beds were lop sided & one broken. Sheets were not changed all week. We saw hair in one of them & stains before we slept in them. Who knows when they were cleaned last. I took my sheets right off the bed hoping they would change them. I watched from my balcony. They didn't. We had clean towels maybe twice all week. They kept saying, sorry no clean towels. We had the same beach towel all week. They said sorry no clean towels. They had a sign at the towel hit. NO CLEAN TOWELS. Even with a hut full of clean towels. I asked one day. They said no sorry no clean towels. I was very annoyed. I guess the clean ones were for new guests or VIPs maybe. Very annoying. They cleaned our room & obviously used dirty water to mop cause it stunk so bad I sprayed perfume everywhere & it still stunk. Gross!! There was hair in our shower that wasn't ours. The cleaning services were way below par

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was not very good. I've been to Cuba 3 times & this resort twice. It wasn't this bad before. There was no butter on the resort we were told. We payed extra for lobster trying to get some decent food. They put gravy on our lobster. The food is already flavorless. They really need butter. They had it last year. We were told there's new management. Seems like they're having money issues. The guy making sandwiches at the bar was so slow he was going backwards I think. He picked the toppings up one at a time. One piece of onion, one piece of pepper. Give me a break. He put like two little pieces of onion on a sandwich. Wow. Rediculous. It was painful to watch. Last year the sandwiches were great.
The pool bar closed at 10:30 & they stopped doing the disco. Very disappointing. We really enjoyed the disco last time. If I'd know. Of these changes I wouldn't have gone back this time

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is nice. Extreme amount of sand fleas especially at night. Stay off the beach at night. Bug spray doesn't even help. There were not even close to enough lounge chairs. We had to search everyday for two. Rediculous. Lots of broken ones that couldn't be used & were just left on the beach. There weren't even that many people it seemed & still not close to enough longe chairs. We walked to the Iberostar resort next door ' they had probably 3 lounge chairs for every person. Much nicer resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The disco being closed really sucked. It seemed like they didn't want people to dance. We tried at the lobby bar but they made it difficult with long pauses between songs. People who wanted to dance just gave up & sat down. Sad.
The ping pong equipment & pool table balls were put away early & no one seemed to know how to get them out for us to use. Very boring resort. Staff seemed clueless

Other Comments:
Last year when I went to this same resort I had no complaints except maybe there could have been more lounge chairs. This year I was very disappointed. Too many changes for the worse. I will never return to this resort. I am very easy going & a very happy traveller. They made it difficult to enjoy this resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A 5-star vacation at a 3-star resort"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ana  on Mar 18, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With friend
105 people found this review helpful

Had an amazing time at Villa Cojimar. Loved the quieter, smaller resort feel. All the staff were incredibly friendly which in turn became contagious with the resort's guests. I had never experienced this before, everyone we interacted with was so pleasant and friendly. Met lots of people, many returning guests.

My most memorable experience was going out on the catamaran and snorkeling for the very first time. Raul, at the nautical area made it possible, without his guidance and care I wouldn't have done it. Having fish eat banana out of your hand and seeing all the colourful marine life was incredible.

The resort's grounds were kept v clean and tidy. Accomodations were very comfortable. Yudexy, our chambermaid welcomed us with a handwritten note. She always left a fresh flower and an impeccable place. A big "Thank You" to Anaisy at the main reception area, she answered every request and question with a smile. Staff at the lobby bar were always happy to see you, best coffee and pina coladas. Angel and the rest of the staff in the dining area served us with a lot of attention and care. Food was very good and a lot of selection. Loved the breakfast breads and the crepes with caramelized bananas.
Nightly entertainment was a lot of fun, even had a rock band playing oldies...Beatles, Rolling Stones.......lots, lots of satisfaction.
Don't forget to tip well, these people work long hours.

Room Number:
36

Arrival:
February 21st, 2013

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"EXCELLENT"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gabriela  on Sep 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
146 people found this review helpful

I wasn't expecting anything when I left for Cayo Coco. What I loved the most: the people. Instantaneous connection. I've been in their shoes, so I could relate to whatever they do and think. If you are looking for something fancy, probably this is not the place for you. I like simple, natural things. I love the nature and the normal people. I've met here incredible people - the kind that we rarely find nowadays. I LOVED IT!!!

Room Number:
181

Room Block:
181

Arrival:
Sep 1, 2012 - one day late because of CanJet problems

Rooms:
Spacious. Clean. AC. Nothing fancy, just as much as one that respects the environment needs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Incredible people! Good drinks. Concert at night.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
GREAT. Quiet, clean, beautiful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Okay but won't be back..."

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Feb 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
222 people found this review helpful

My family of 4 visited Feb. 11-18 2012. There were some lovely parts but we will pay the bit of extra money and go to a 4 star next time.
Good Parts:
-Rooms 139 and 140 on the second floor. Spacious. Lots of hot water. Comfy beds and view of the ocean.
-double decker shuttle bus and Playa Pilar beach
-clean pools and lots of chairs on the beach and at the pool
-horse and buggy ride for the lobster on the beach dinner.
Bad Parts:
-the food. Been to Cuba before so know the usual bland standard. This buffet was awful. Very few choices in the regular buffet; there were cooking stations but staff were slow and lineups were large. shortage of plates at every meal time and often the plates that came out were not fully cleaned. Most wait staff were inattentive- -would have to flag down someone to get a coffee or juice. A-la-cartes were so-so. Other than restaurant/buffet meals, there was limited food. There was a grill but it only did panini's and was not open all the time. At other times, they ran out of ingredients so you could get a grilled bun. There was a hot-dog grill but, again, was only open at limited times and often ran out. This became a real problem for our family as the buffet hours were only 7-9:30, 12-3, and 7-9 the kids got hungry at other times but there was nothing to find. Luckily we had brought some granola bars from home.
-hygiene: 3 of us got travellers diarrhea by the 2nd day. Food that should have been kept cold in the buffet wasn't (other than the ice cream).
- outsiders: this is a Cuban run resort so....there were often other locals who came to the resort in the evenings .We felt less safe walking at night with non-guests hanging around.
So, even for a 3 star, we won't be back. There need to be some changes with the amount of food offered and with the hygiene.

Room Number:
139-140

Arrival:
A bit hectic. Arrived late at night and then had to fill out registration forms before getting room assignment.

Rooms:
Nice and big. Door adjoining rooms was great for our family.Shower was awesome

Restaurants and Bars:
Ukk. Not enough food and not clean.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach with lots of private areas. Pools were clean and well kept. Grounds are under renovation but well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Double decker bus and Playa Pilar beach were awesome. People said they had fun on the catamaran.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excelente todo!!!!"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vicky  on Feb 20, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
178 people found this review helpful

Me encantó el hotel, por ser un 3 estrellas es fabuloso, la comida del buffet simpre variada, rica y abundante, lo mismo que en los dos restaurantes del complejo, muy buenos platos y calidad. En el bar tenias lo que quisieras a toda hora, la atención impecable de todo el personal del hotel, los camareros de los restaurantes, las chicas que te arreglaban la habitación, y la gente del hotel siempre ayudandote y orientandote que podias hacer y a donde ir.
Sin dudarlo volveria a hospedarme ahi, un placer por donde se lo mire... recien volvi de mis vacaciones y ya los extraño!!!!

Vicky

pd: tambien estuve en el Villa Tortuga en Varadero y en el Vedado de la Habana y nada que ver, por más que sea el mismo grupo hotelero dejan mucho que desear, a esos hoteles no volveria

Room Number:
50

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"El paraiso en la tierra"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pablo  on Feb 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
236 people found this review helpful

Un hotel donde todo es grato, desde la excelente atencion de toda la gente hasta la belleza natural de sus playas. un viaje para recordar con mucho cariño

Room Number:
167

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A wonderful place to visit"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Margaret  on Feb 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
217 people found this review helpful

From the time we arrived until the time we left, the employees were most helpful and polite. They went out of their way to help you. The dinning room staff were wonderful and we made a few friends there. The staff in reception were very efficiant, helpful and always smiling.

The food was not always at its best but for a part of the week they had an International visit from a sports team, this went to our advantage as the food was eagerly prepared, pleant of it, and very well displayed. Just wish it was that way all the time!

We couldnt have had better rooms, right on the beach,Looking at the sun rise each morning over the pier was truly wonderful.A busy beach but very relaxed and quiet. Just what I ordered up for my 50th birthday in a wonderful hotel, with amazing people.

Yes there are more up market hotels but I believe this hotel shows you the true character of the Cuban People, We will return this year if I can find the option of a travel agent offering this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful time"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  lisa  on Feb 10, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
223 people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd time to Cuba, but our 1st time to this resort. Stayed the week of Jan 19th-Jan 26th. Its a nice size, smaller and really easy to get around. Very convienient when travelling with child. Hotel Grounds and pool area are lovely and well maintained. There was still some reno's and landscaping going on but this did not interfere with the resort one bit. Beach is nice. Palm tree's, soft sand and crystal clear water. Narrow in the morning when its high tide, but once the tide goes out lots of beach space and you can walk out forever! Lots of Kitesurfers, most stayed to the far left of the pier but a few were on the right side and really had no regard for people in the water. A couple times we had to yank our son out of the way because it looked like they were coming right at us, but most were pretty good. Rooms were great. Big, bright and clean, nice size balcony. We had some issues with our toilet leaking, but by the second day it was fixed, no problem. Food, well it was quite typical of other resorts we have been to in Cuba. It was ok and there was always fresh fish, beef, chicken, Pork at the grill. They also had Roasted Ham and Roasted Turkey one nite. The set up of the buffet was a bit wierd but hopefully they get that straightened out. Staff were great. Friendly and outgoing, there were a few that were hard to get a smile out of but that goes for anywhere you go....there are some staff that really stand out and some that are just there. Most were wonderful though. We enjoyed our vacation there, weather was great. If you are looking for a realaxing laid back holiday in a decent resort, then this would be ok, if you are a partier and like to get out and roam the town then my suggestion would be to go to Varadero, as Cayo Guillermo is its own island and the nearest town is 2 hours alway. Would i go back? yes, if it was the same price we paid this time.

Room Number:
166 and 169

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube