Villa Cojimar Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Villa Cojimar reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Villa Cojimar  

Cayo Guillermo, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba.
(Jardines del Rey)

"my stay at a wonderful resort."
Posted by: Lori  on Jan 21, 2014
see all reviews

Villa Cojimar Reviews
Villa Cojimar Pictures and Information
Villa Cojimar Cayo Guillermo Cuba

#1
of 4 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo

User rating 4.5

Based on 82 reviews

Villa Cojimar Information




Budget hotel on all inclusive basis. Most rooms have seaviews. Watersports activities available.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villa Cojimar Reviews

Villa Cojimar Review: 4.5 of 5 82 reviews
Excellent
  57
Very good
  17
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (18)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (4)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 82

"Muy mediano"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Catherine Janot  on May 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
348 people found this review helpful

El hotel es agradable, con habitaciones discretas en un paraje magnifico. Pero el restaurante es muy malo, tirando a cutre y el personal tiene en general poca orientacion a clientes. Les costo poner una luz en la habitacion .No repetire

Room Number:
75

Arrival:
Desagradable : mi marido se encontraba mal y fue complicado conseguir algo de comer

Rooms:
Regular. No habia luz en las mesillas

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurante muy malo

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No habia nada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing. Resort gone down hill from last year"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Colleen  on Mar 28, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
433 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
139

Arrival:
Check in was fine. We were supposed to have a free upgrade to bungalow but staff didn't seem interested in listening to our request. They said the hotel was full. Everyone must have hid in their rooms all week

Rooms:
Our shower was broken. They did fix it same day we complained. Beds were lop sided & one broken. Sheets were not changed all week. We saw hair in one of them & stains before we slept in them. Who knows when they were cleaned last. I took my sheets right off the bed hoping they would change them. I watched from my balcony. They didn't. We had clean towels maybe twice all week. They kept saying, sorry no clean towels. We had the same beach towel all week. They said sorry no clean towels. They had a sign at the towel hit. NO CLEAN TOWELS. Even with a hut full of clean towels. I asked one day. They said no sorry no clean towels. I was very annoyed. I guess the clean ones were for new guests or VIPs maybe. Very annoying. They cleaned our room & obviously used dirty water to mop cause it stunk so bad I sprayed perfume everywhere & it still stunk. Gross!! There was hair in our shower that wasn't ours. The cleaning services were way below par

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was not very good. I've been to Cuba 3 times & this resort twice. It wasn't this bad before. There was no butter on the resort we were told. We payed extra for lobster trying to get some decent food. They put gravy on our lobster. The food is already flavorless. They really need butter. They had it last year. We were told there's new management. Seems like they're having money issues. The guy making sandwiches at the bar was so slow he was going backwards I think. He picked the toppings up one at a time. One piece of onion, one piece of pepper. Give me a break. He put like two little pieces of onion on a sandwich. Wow. Rediculous. It was painful to watch. Last year the sandwiches were great.
The pool bar closed at 10:30 & they stopped doing the disco. Very disappointing. We really enjoyed the disco last time. If I'd know. Of these changes I wouldn't have gone back this time

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is nice. Extreme amount of sand fleas especially at night. Stay off the beach at night. Bug spray doesn't even help. There were not even close to enough lounge chairs. We had to search everyday for two. Rediculous. Lots of broken ones that couldn't be used & were just left on the beach. There weren't even that many people it seemed & still not close to enough longe chairs. We walked to the Iberostar resort next door ' they had probably 3 lounge chairs for every person. Much nicer resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The disco being closed really sucked. It seemed like they didn't want people to dance. We tried at the lobby bar but they made it difficult with long pauses between songs. People who wanted to dance just gave up & sat down. Sad.
The ping pong equipment & pool table balls were put away early & no one seemed to know how to get them out for us to use. Very boring resort. Staff seemed clueless

Other Comments:
Last year when I went to this same resort I had no complaints except maybe there could have been more lounge chairs. This year I was very disappointed. Too many changes for the worse. I will never return to this resort. I am very easy going & a very happy traveller. They made it difficult to enjoy this resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Villa cojimar"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Maria  on Nov 16, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Nov, 2007
701 people found this review helpful

I spent a few days at Villacojimar, the location is good, the staff is helpful, right, the animation during the night is positive; the only problem is that they didn't accept any responsability with some objects that were stealed at the beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"On a downhill slide..."

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Miles  on Feb 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
293 people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd annual 2 week stay at Villa Cojimar. You can see my 2 previous reviews for a lot of details and in the past I have really promoted this resort, not because the hotel itself is all that great, but it offered great value for a family vacation. It is only a 3 star so you must expect some issues, but this year was too troublesome.

Your Arrival:
Front desk people don't really care about you, they just want people in / out. If you need something, demand it immediately, if they write your request down, it won't get done. They have no clue what is going on in their own resort. The 'Masseuse' was not at his usual place at the beach for the first 12 days we were there (massages at the beach being a highlight for my wife). We asked several times at the front desk and they said he was there at the beach! They appeared not to believe us (that he wasn't there) and made no effort to find out what was going on. He finally showed up and told us he was at another hotel for the last 2 weeks!

Rooms:
For the 3rd straight year our assigned room was substandard and we had to demand a new room, which we got (#55). In the new room the TV did not work properly and the matresses were horribly uncomfortable. They need new beds for this resort but are not spending their money on the basics. Towels have holes in them and are stained etc.

Restaurants and Bars:
The biggest problem for us this year was the buffet. Selection was much poorer that previous years. The 2nd week was very difficult eating the same food everday. Line ups for freshly cooked eggs, pasta, etc. were too long. Service seems to drop every year in the buffet. Find a good waiter/waitress and tip, then stick with them is you want your glass re-filled! Clean plates are sometimes hard to find, and food items were constantly running out with long waits for them to be refilled. As an example, french fries were brought out little by little so if you wanted any, you had to hover around the empty tray to grab them or they'd be gone in seconds. My wife and kids all got very sick this time, was it the food? We can't say for sure.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The main pool was the dirtiest we've seen in our trips. We were told it was to be overhauled in the off season and it needs it. The pathways are still terribly dangerous (uneven and poorly lit at night). Don't leave anything outside your room as many guests had towels, swimsuits, etc. stolen. We had 1 of 4 personal towels stolen along with 1 of 4 sets of beach shoes. Both stolen items were American movie themed items, the rest of our stuff left behind was 'plain'. The theory amongst guests was that a groundskeeper is grabbing items he can sell in town and putting them in a garbage bag to avoid suspicion in the early morning rounds. Of course 'security' was of no help. Don't count on the 'lifeguards' to save you if you are drowning in the pool. They only come by to have a quick dip when they get too hot from preying on young women. My wife had to rescue a small boy who's parents left him alone with his brother. He got in over his head and couldn't swim. We were very badly bitten by insects this year after escaping the last 2 years. Tiny black flying insects seemed to appear at dusk and you don't really notice them when they land on you and bite.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Some key entertainment staff have left and we missed them dearly. It's just not as much fun anymore.

Other Comments:
On the positive side, they rebuilt the pier, and they added a play area at the Mini Club (swings and slide etc.). They are spending money on replacing the A/C units for the rooms. They are building new Villas by the beach that look great, but if they can't service the rooms they already have, how will they handle even more guests? The charm of Villa Cojimar has faded for us, I don't think we'll be back after this trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's not so bad"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ivan  on May 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Solo
281 people found this review helpful

I travelled to Club Cojimar at the end of March as a solo traveler for the 1st time. I flew Sunwing, have done so for 5 trips and will continue to do so in the future.
I arrived at the resort around 1 in the afternoon. Of course our room wasn't ready (are they ever?). I have never understood why the resorts do this at this at the time the Cojimar was no more than 60% full - there had to be pepared rooms. And it was just myself and another traveler at the desk so it shouldn't have been too hard to come up with a couple of rooms. When I finally had my room I got changed and headed for the pool. Went to get my pool towel and was told no clean pool towels until tomorrow morning - not a great start to the trip!!!
I finally got my towel around 11 the next morning but through the week the towel shortage occurred again maybe 3 times. It was fairly amusing watching the cart drive up with the new towels and how fast the guests got in line to get fresh towels.
When I got back to my room around 4 pm I discovered it had not been made up. I called to the front desk and they said someone would be over to do the room. When I left for dinner no one had come. I went to the front desk after dinner and asked if I could just get fresh towels. I wasn't concerned about whether the bed was made or not - I've climbed into an unmade bed at home many times - but I did want fresh towels. Back in my room I waited 30 minutes and called to the front desk. Now I was told they had no clean room towels. I pointed out that since they had so many unused rooms there had to be clean towels in one of those rooms - 20 minutes later I had my towels.
After that day of excitement with towels my vacation calmed down. The Cojimar is defintely an older 3 star resort but once I got settled in and understood what to expect I had a very good vacation.

Your Arrival:
As always the arrival at the Cayo Coco airport went very quickly. As always before you get through customs the bags from the plane are going around the carousel waiting to be picked up. With only 6 buses it is easy to be directed onto the proper bus. By the time we made 3 stops at other resorts it ended up taking about 45 minutes to get to the Cojimar.

Rooms:
The room have 2 very old 3/4 beds. I could not imagine sharing the bed with another adult. I had a partial view of the water, unfortunately they are in the process of building cabins between the room I had and the water. Never had an issue with the water and for the 1st time at a resort in Cuba the TV had TSN - which was great for a Canadian hockey fan.
I was expecting soap & shampoo to be part of the service - soap was but not shampoo. There was a fridge in the room but no complimentary beverages.

Restaurants and Bars:
I never bothered with the specialty restaurants just went to the buffet. I always found something to eat. Breakfast - they only had ham & cheese to add to your omelettes - no onions,tomatoes.greem peppers etc. They had them for dishes at dinner but not for breakfast. 1 morning they had no orange juice.
Dinner - on the grill a couple of nights they had roasts, but a couple of nights they were grilling up some sort of noodle dish - that was different!!! What I stuck with the most was the pasta where you choose what you want to include in your sauce - they had my onions,tomatoes and green peppers for that!!
For lunch I went to the grill by the pool - good hamburgers and fresh french fries.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I spent my days in a hut back from the pools where I was able to for the most part stay out of the sun and was able to read and relax in peace. As someone wrote before the pool could use a paint job - but the water was fine!!! When the tide was out it seemed like you could walk for miles from the beach. The beach area was not crowded - there seemed to be lots of lounger chairs for everyone.

Other Comments:
For me a very attractive feature of the Cojimar was the landscaping -there were many,many full sized trees for shade and lots of flowers and shrubs growing. I believe that plus how close you are to the beach helped keep the temperature much more comfortable.
After my 1st day & a half I didn't know if I would return to the Cojimar but by the end of the week I had changed my mind. Once I got used to what they did and didn't have i was quite pleased with my vacation. I would not, however, ever recommend it to my high maintenance friends. If I went back again I would make sure to pack my own beach towel, and a complete bag of washroom supplies and I would be set.
1 final note - the Cojimar does not provide any complimentary bottles of water. There was none for your room fridge and if you wanted water from the bar you got it in your travel mug or a plastic cup. If you wanted a bottle of water you had to go to one of the stores and buy one. Certainly not a big issue just a little surprising.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Okay but won't be back..."

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Feb 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
552 people found this review helpful

My family of 4 visited Feb. 11-18 2012. There were some lovely parts but we will pay the bit of extra money and go to a 4 star next time.
Good Parts:
-Rooms 139 and 140 on the second floor. Spacious. Lots of hot water. Comfy beds and view of the ocean.
-double decker shuttle bus and Playa Pilar beach
-clean pools and lots of chairs on the beach and at the pool
-horse and buggy ride for the lobster on the beach dinner.
Bad Parts:
-the food. Been to Cuba before so know the usual bland standard. This buffet was awful. Very few choices in the regular buffet; there were cooking stations but staff were slow and lineups were large. shortage of plates at every meal time and often the plates that came out were not fully cleaned. Most wait staff were inattentive- -would have to flag down someone to get a coffee or juice. A-la-cartes were so-so. Other than restaurant/buffet meals, there was limited food. There was a grill but it only did panini's and was not open all the time. At other times, they ran out of ingredients so you could get a grilled bun. There was a hot-dog grill but, again, was only open at limited times and often ran out. This became a real problem for our family as the buffet hours were only 7-9:30, 12-3, and 7-9 the kids got hungry at other times but there was nothing to find. Luckily we had brought some granola bars from home.
-hygiene: 3 of us got travellers diarrhea by the 2nd day. Food that should have been kept cold in the buffet wasn't (other than the ice cream).
- outsiders: this is a Cuban run resort so....there were often other locals who came to the resort in the evenings .We felt less safe walking at night with non-guests hanging around.
So, even for a 3 star, we won't be back. There need to be some changes with the amount of food offered and with the hygiene.

Room Number:
139-140

Arrival:
A bit hectic. Arrived late at night and then had to fill out registration forms before getting room assignment.

Rooms:
Nice and big. Door adjoining rooms was great for our family.Shower was awesome

Restaurants and Bars:
Ukk. Not enough food and not clean.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach with lots of private areas. Pools were clean and well kept. Grounds are under renovation but well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Double decker bus and Playa Pilar beach were awesome. People said they had fun on the catamaran.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great value for what we paid!"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Simonne  on Mar 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
292 people found this review helpful

Stayed 1 week from feb. 11 - 18, 2010. We went knowing it was a 3 star! Room was dated and a/c didnt work. We went to the front desk and it was fixed within an hour. Food at the buffet was good. A la cartes were excellent - steak at the cuban and pasta at the italian. We ate there 4 times. Lobster at the beach was awesome ( for 10 pesos). Fish, hamburgers and fries at the grill for lunch was great. Not much fresh fruit, though. Beach was very shallow. Pool needs a good scrubbing. Bugs were never a problem. Bartenders very friendly, except for the lady at the pool bar - not sure if she knows how to smile!! Dont go expecting gourmet food and 5 star rooms. We paid $600.00 all in each and got exactly what we paid for! We would definetly go again for that price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Staff that work long hours...."

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Stella  on Apr 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
346 people found this review helpful

This is the picture that i will paint for you...imagine pink Flamingos while you take a visit to the Town of Moran. Villa Cojimar was just that a resort that had much more to offer. Everyday activities by the Pool, either water sports or all day martini at the 2 bars.

Myself and another patron of the resort travelled to the Town of Moran. What a lovely and simple place, where people had a wonderfull smile on there faces.
The Tour guide was also nice with his Ocean Blue eyes....i recommend and dont be shy to go alone. Nightly entertainment and fabulous dancing. This is a rich culture that will stay with me untill my next trip.....Cuba.

In conclusion,be ready to dance and meet great people of Cuba.


Room Number:
165

Room Block:
first

Arrival:
April 14, 2011 from Hamilton,Ontario,canad

Rooms:
very clean....could have bed bugs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet Meals....

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
enviting and clean

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful time"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  lisa  on Feb 10, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
521 people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd time to Cuba, but our 1st time to this resort. Stayed the week of Jan 19th-Jan 26th. Its a nice size, smaller and really easy to get around. Very convienient when travelling with child. Hotel Grounds and pool area are lovely and well maintained. There was still some reno's and landscaping going on but this did not interfere with the resort one bit. Beach is nice. Palm tree's, soft sand and crystal clear water. Narrow in the morning when its high tide, but once the tide goes out lots of beach space and you can walk out forever! Lots of Kitesurfers, most stayed to the far left of the pier but a few were on the right side and really had no regard for people in the water. A couple times we had to yank our son out of the way because it looked like they were coming right at us, but most were pretty good. Rooms were great. Big, bright and clean, nice size balcony. We had some issues with our toilet leaking, but by the second day it was fixed, no problem. Food, well it was quite typical of other resorts we have been to in Cuba. It was ok and there was always fresh fish, beef, chicken, Pork at the grill. They also had Roasted Ham and Roasted Turkey one nite. The set up of the buffet was a bit wierd but hopefully they get that straightened out. Staff were great. Friendly and outgoing, there were a few that were hard to get a smile out of but that goes for anywhere you go....there are some staff that really stand out and some that are just there. Most were wonderful though. We enjoyed our vacation there, weather was great. If you are looking for a realaxing laid back holiday in a decent resort, then this would be ok, if you are a partier and like to get out and roam the town then my suggestion would be to go to Varadero, as Cayo Guillermo is its own island and the nearest town is 2 hours alway. Would i go back? yes, if it was the same price we paid this time.

Room Number:
166 and 169

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"my stay at a wonderful resort."

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lori  on Jan 21, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
371 people found this review helpful

i stayed at this wonderful resort from jan 13th till jan 20th it was awesome people were fantastic and very very pleasent thanks to all who made my stay very welcoming hope to come back soon:)

Room Number:
77

Arrival:
jan 13th

Rooms:
my room was very clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
very nice

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very well taken care of.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
activities on resort were awesome.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube