Villa Cojimar Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Villa Cojimar reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Villa Cojimar  

Cayo Guillermo, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba.
(Jardines del Rey)

"my stay at a wonderful resort."
Posted by: Lori  on Jan 21, 2014
see all reviews

Villa Cojimar Reviews
Villa Cojimar Pictures and Information
Villa Cojimar Cayo Guillermo Cuba

#1
of 4 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo

User rating 4.5

Based on 82 reviews

Villa Cojimar Information




Budget hotel on all inclusive basis. Most rooms have seaviews. Watersports activities available.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villa Cojimar Reviews

Villa Cojimar Review: 4.5 of 5 82 reviews
Excellent
  57
Very good
  17
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (18)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (4)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With Group
11 - 20 of 82

"Great time at Villa Cojimar and great staff."

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Feb 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Party | Family and Kids
245 people found this review helpful

This is the best villa. The people are so great and very polite. From top to bottom, they are wonderful. I recommend other people to stay there at Ville Cojimar.

Room Number:
76

Arrival:
27 January 2012

Rooms:
Great

Restaurants and Bars:
Wonderful

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Wonderful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great

Other Comments:
Big applause to the staff, Lolita, Mikell, Roberto, Yari, and Michel( the cook).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Viaje al paraíso"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Diego Alejandro Torres Roa  on Jul 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
326 people found this review helpful

En general mi experiencia en el villa cojimar fue buena, la comida excelente, los licores, la piscina y el servicio muy buenos: pienso que lo mejor del hotel es la playa, ya que es muy transparente y casi no tiene algas, lo que hace que el agua tome un color muy hermoso, además está muy bien ubicado; tiene bastantes servicios y el aseo es muy bueno. Lo malo, decidimos quedarnos una noche adicional y el precio por noche es mucho más alto que en las reservas por internet; y no se pueden dejar cosas en el pequeño patio de las cabañas por que pueden desaparecer,

Room Number:
54

Arrival:
Muy buena la llegada, un poco lejos nuestra cabaña y no nos acompañaron hasta ella, entonces fue algo difícil encontrarla.

Rooms:
Las habitaciones tienen buen estado y son amplias.

Restaurants and Bars:
Muy buenos productos y variedad de productos en estos sitios

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Muy mediano"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Catherine Janot  on May 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
348 people found this review helpful

El hotel es agradable, con habitaciones discretas en un paraje magnifico. Pero el restaurante es muy malo, tirando a cutre y el personal tiene en general poca orientacion a clientes. Les costo poner una luz en la habitacion .No repetire

Room Number:
75

Arrival:
Desagradable : mi marido se encontraba mal y fue complicado conseguir algo de comer

Rooms:
Regular. No habia luz en las mesillas

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurante muy malo

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No habia nada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Staff that work long hours...."

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Stella  on Apr 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
347 people found this review helpful

This is the picture that i will paint for you...imagine pink Flamingos while you take a visit to the Town of Moran. Villa Cojimar was just that a resort that had much more to offer. Everyday activities by the Pool, either water sports or all day martini at the 2 bars.

Myself and another patron of the resort travelled to the Town of Moran. What a lovely and simple place, where people had a wonderfull smile on there faces.
The Tour guide was also nice with his Ocean Blue eyes....i recommend and dont be shy to go alone. Nightly entertainment and fabulous dancing. This is a rich culture that will stay with me untill my next trip.....Cuba.

In conclusion,be ready to dance and meet great people of Cuba.


Room Number:
165

Room Block:
first

Arrival:
April 14, 2011 from Hamilton,Ontario,canad

Rooms:
very clean....could have bed bugs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet Meals....

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
enviting and clean

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Breath Taking Experience........First timer to Cayo Coco"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ismay (Stella)  on Apr 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
290 people found this review helpful

Let me Start a by sayng.....it has been ling a humbling experience to meet the people and staff at this Resort. I hope to return to Cojimar, where i met the most exciting cuban people and culture.

The property scenery and white sand beach speaks for itself. Keep yourself focus on the staff as you arrive with your luggage. Attendants will bring your luggage to your condos. That to me was an Ausome surprise for one travelling by yourself.

In summary daily excursions to the nearby town of Moran, showed the Cuban culture at its best. Shoe cobblers, local eateries, smiling faces made my trip to Cuba very special. As a person of color, I felt that my ancestors were here in the Cuba. The people were smiling and teaching me the language of the people.......Ohla.....Espanol....

What a rich culture and great weather...

Room Number:
165

Arrival:
April 6, 2011. flying from Hamilton, Ontario, canada.

Rooms:
Maid service was excellent. Towels were decorative and added an ambiance to the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lounged at all the Bars....opened 24 hours.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Poolside and local beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"FABOLOUS!"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. LISA Novakovics  on Sep 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010
623 people found this review helpful

We had the best time of our lives at the Club Cojimar! We will definitely be back soon! A + service and staff! Beautiful beaches!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's not so bad"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ivan  on May 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Solo
281 people found this review helpful

I travelled to Club Cojimar at the end of March as a solo traveler for the 1st time. I flew Sunwing, have done so for 5 trips and will continue to do so in the future.
I arrived at the resort around 1 in the afternoon. Of course our room wasn't ready (are they ever?). I have never understood why the resorts do this at this at the time the Cojimar was no more than 60% full - there had to be pepared rooms. And it was just myself and another traveler at the desk so it shouldn't have been too hard to come up with a couple of rooms. When I finally had my room I got changed and headed for the pool. Went to get my pool towel and was told no clean pool towels until tomorrow morning - not a great start to the trip!!!
I finally got my towel around 11 the next morning but through the week the towel shortage occurred again maybe 3 times. It was fairly amusing watching the cart drive up with the new towels and how fast the guests got in line to get fresh towels.
When I got back to my room around 4 pm I discovered it had not been made up. I called to the front desk and they said someone would be over to do the room. When I left for dinner no one had come. I went to the front desk after dinner and asked if I could just get fresh towels. I wasn't concerned about whether the bed was made or not - I've climbed into an unmade bed at home many times - but I did want fresh towels. Back in my room I waited 30 minutes and called to the front desk. Now I was told they had no clean room towels. I pointed out that since they had so many unused rooms there had to be clean towels in one of those rooms - 20 minutes later I had my towels.
After that day of excitement with towels my vacation calmed down. The Cojimar is defintely an older 3 star resort but once I got settled in and understood what to expect I had a very good vacation.

Your Arrival:
As always the arrival at the Cayo Coco airport went very quickly. As always before you get through customs the bags from the plane are going around the carousel waiting to be picked up. With only 6 buses it is easy to be directed onto the proper bus. By the time we made 3 stops at other resorts it ended up taking about 45 minutes to get to the Cojimar.

Rooms:
The room have 2 very old 3/4 beds. I could not imagine sharing the bed with another adult. I had a partial view of the water, unfortunately they are in the process of building cabins between the room I had and the water. Never had an issue with the water and for the 1st time at a resort in Cuba the TV had TSN - which was great for a Canadian hockey fan.
I was expecting soap & shampoo to be part of the service - soap was but not shampoo. There was a fridge in the room but no complimentary beverages.

Restaurants and Bars:
I never bothered with the specialty restaurants just went to the buffet. I always found something to eat. Breakfast - they only had ham & cheese to add to your omelettes - no onions,tomatoes.greem peppers etc. They had them for dishes at dinner but not for breakfast. 1 morning they had no orange juice.
Dinner - on the grill a couple of nights they had roasts, but a couple of nights they were grilling up some sort of noodle dish - that was different!!! What I stuck with the most was the pasta where you choose what you want to include in your sauce - they had my onions,tomatoes and green peppers for that!!
For lunch I went to the grill by the pool - good hamburgers and fresh french fries.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I spent my days in a hut back from the pools where I was able to for the most part stay out of the sun and was able to read and relax in peace. As someone wrote before the pool could use a paint job - but the water was fine!!! When the tide was out it seemed like you could walk for miles from the beach. The beach area was not crowded - there seemed to be lots of lounger chairs for everyone.

Other Comments:
For me a very attractive feature of the Cojimar was the landscaping -there were many,many full sized trees for shade and lots of flowers and shrubs growing. I believe that plus how close you are to the beach helped keep the temperature much more comfortable.
After my 1st day & a half I didn't know if I would return to the Cojimar but by the end of the week I had changed my mind. Once I got used to what they did and didn't have i was quite pleased with my vacation. I would not, however, ever recommend it to my high maintenance friends. If I went back again I would make sure to pack my own beach towel, and a complete bag of washroom supplies and I would be set.
1 final note - the Cojimar does not provide any complimentary bottles of water. There was none for your room fridge and if you wanted water from the bar you got it in your travel mug or a plastic cup. If you wanted a bottle of water you had to go to one of the stores and buy one. Certainly not a big issue just a little surprising.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great value for what we paid!"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Simonne  on Mar 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
292 people found this review helpful

Stayed 1 week from feb. 11 - 18, 2010. We went knowing it was a 3 star! Room was dated and a/c didnt work. We went to the front desk and it was fixed within an hour. Food at the buffet was good. A la cartes were excellent - steak at the cuban and pasta at the italian. We ate there 4 times. Lobster at the beach was awesome ( for 10 pesos). Fish, hamburgers and fries at the grill for lunch was great. Not much fresh fruit, though. Beach was very shallow. Pool needs a good scrubbing. Bugs were never a problem. Bartenders very friendly, except for the lady at the pool bar - not sure if she knows how to smile!! Dont go expecting gourmet food and 5 star rooms. We paid $600.00 all in each and got exactly what we paid for! We would definetly go again for that price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"7 great days!"

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. lili  on Feb 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Jan, 1998
1045 people found this review helpful

I never got the chance to write about my vacation to Cuba back in March of 2006. I was incredible, both the hotel and the staff were awesome. Everything was perfect, the white sand beaches, delicious food, great care from the staff and the entertainment group, very clean, comfortable, great shows, dancing, all in all UNBEATABLE. The only complaint I have is that the postcards we sent from the hotel never arrived to our family members back home, I really don\t know whose fault this was. I recommend this hotel for families with kids, it is very safe and relaxed...I hope I will be able to bring my kids here one day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"On a downhill slide..."

Villa Cojimar
User Rating:  Villa Cojimar Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Miles  on Feb 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
293 people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd annual 2 week stay at Villa Cojimar. You can see my 2 previous reviews for a lot of details and in the past I have really promoted this resort, not because the hotel itself is all that great, but it offered great value for a family vacation. It is only a 3 star so you must expect some issues, but this year was too troublesome.

Your Arrival:
Front desk people don't really care about you, they just want people in / out. If you need something, demand it immediately, if they write your request down, it won't get done. They have no clue what is going on in their own resort. The 'Masseuse' was not at his usual place at the beach for the first 12 days we were there (massages at the beach being a highlight for my wife). We asked several times at the front desk and they said he was there at the beach! They appeared not to believe us (that he wasn't there) and made no effort to find out what was going on. He finally showed up and told us he was at another hotel for the last 2 weeks!

Rooms:
For the 3rd straight year our assigned room was substandard and we had to demand a new room, which we got (#55). In the new room the TV did not work properly and the matresses were horribly uncomfortable. They need new beds for this resort but are not spending their money on the basics. Towels have holes in them and are stained etc.

Restaurants and Bars:
The biggest problem for us this year was the buffet. Selection was much poorer that previous years. The 2nd week was very difficult eating the same food everday. Line ups for freshly cooked eggs, pasta, etc. were too long. Service seems to drop every year in the buffet. Find a good waiter/waitress and tip, then stick with them is you want your glass re-filled! Clean plates are sometimes hard to find, and food items were constantly running out with long waits for them to be refilled. As an example, french fries were brought out little by little so if you wanted any, you had to hover around the empty tray to grab them or they'd be gone in seconds. My wife and kids all got very sick this time, was it the food? We can't say for sure.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The main pool was the dirtiest we've seen in our trips. We were told it was to be overhauled in the off season and it needs it. The pathways are still terribly dangerous (uneven and poorly lit at night). Don't leave anything outside your room as many guests had towels, swimsuits, etc. stolen. We had 1 of 4 personal towels stolen along with 1 of 4 sets of beach shoes. Both stolen items were American movie themed items, the rest of our stuff left behind was 'plain'. The theory amongst guests was that a groundskeeper is grabbing items he can sell in town and putting them in a garbage bag to avoid suspicion in the early morning rounds. Of course 'security' was of no help. Don't count on the 'lifeguards' to save you if you are drowning in the pool. They only come by to have a quick dip when they get too hot from preying on young women. My wife had to rescue a small boy who's parents left him alone with his brother. He got in over his head and couldn't swim. We were very badly bitten by insects this year after escaping the last 2 years. Tiny black flying insects seemed to appear at dusk and you don't really notice them when they land on you and bite.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Some key entertainment staff have left and we missed them dearly. It's just not as much fun anymore.

Other Comments:
On the positive side, they rebuilt the pier, and they added a play area at the Mini Club (swings and slide etc.). They are spending money on replacing the A/C units for the rooms. They are building new Villas by the beach that look great, but if they can't service the rooms they already have, how will they handle even more guests? The charm of Villa Cojimar has faded for us, I don't think we'll be back after this trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube