Jellyfish Restaurant Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Jellyfish Restaurant

Between IFA Resorts & Melia Tropical, Bavaro-Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Dinner after Tropical Storm Excursion"
Posted by: WILF on Dec 11, 2010
see all reviews

Jellyfish Restaurant Reviews
Jellyfish Restaurant Pictures and Information
Jellyfish Restaurant Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#1
of 7 Restaurants in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.6

Based on 12 reviews

Jellyfish Restaurant Information


Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Jellyfish Restaurant Reviews

Jellyfish Restaurant Review: 4.6 of 5 12 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (2)
Wedding (10)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 12

"Dinner after Tropical Storm Excursion"

Jellyfish Restaurant
User Rating:  Jellyfish Restaurant Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  WILF  on Dec 11, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
490 people found this review helpful

We ate at the jellyfish as part of our package deal after taking the Tropical Storm Sunset Tour.

The Tropical Storm tour was fantastic, with our meal at this restaurant definitely the low part of the day.

Lobster was served, very overcooked and ice cold by the time it got to the tables. Potatoes were also quite cold.

The mixed drinks we had seemed to be a little on the watery side as well.

Overall, we expected a MUCH BETTER dinner than we got, for all the 'rave reviews' this place has suppose to have gotten. Very dissapointing indeed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Jellyfish local flavor"

Jellyfish Restaurant
User Rating:  Jellyfish Restaurant Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  jim  on Aug 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
187 people found this review helpful

Food and service was good. The road leading to the restaurant from the Main Road was unpaved and had potholes that could eat a taxi. The restaurant was clean and a great view of the beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The CAKE GOOOOOOD!"

Jellyfish Restaurant
User Rating:  Jellyfish Restaurant Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  pierrebride09  on Aug 6, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jul, 2009 | Wedding | With Group
597 people found this review helpful

Background info: We got married on Friday, July 10, 2009 at 4pm. We arrived at the Melia on Monday, July 6 and left on Monday, July 13. Including us, family and friends we had 60 guests all staying on-site. The reception was held at the Jelly Fish Restaurant

JELLY FISH RESTAURANT


Meeting with Mayte:
Tuesday 07/07/09 the day after I arrived I met with Mayte. She is so down to earth, she offered my parents and I drinks and reviewed all the details. This meeting was quick and easy. Mayte knows her stuff and I must say made my day feel very special. The color scheme was turquoise, gold with olive green accents.

Cocktail hour:
When the guest arrived they were greeted with our specialty drink the blue margarita. From what I heard it was great, I was unable to drink any alcohol due to the fact that I am still nursing my little girl. They also took the guest to the beach where there were lounge chairs to pass out hor d’oeuvres. They also put our guest book on a separate table for our guests to sign. At this time the guest was also able to see their place cards in a sand and starfish box. My hubby and I went to the beach to take pictures during this hour.

Reception:
All of our guests went in first, then one of my bridesmaid who was the master of ceremonies introduced the wedding party and finally the new Mr. and Mrs. and we walked in. We immediately did our first dance, then I danced with my dad and he danced with his mother. We sat down and heard speeches from the best man and matron of honor. The food orders were taken. We went with the least expensive package $35.00 per head. The food was good but the fish dish was really sweet, some people like it but I had to scrape the sauce off to eat it. After we had finished our meal, We dances a couple of songs, did the flower toss, garter toss and cut the cake. I must say the CAKE GOOOOOOD!It was a vanilla 4 tiered cake. It was so delicious!)" We continued to dance till 1am .. The bus took all the guest back to Melia.

DJ:
The Dj spoke english and was very kind.. he was always willing to accommodate to the guest request. He played House, Compas, Hip Hop, Reggae, Salsa, Merengue, as well as I bought a few CDs for him to play.

Overall:
The staff at the Jelly Fish are cool people. The were attentive, on point and very kind. Close to the end of the reception.. they danced with some of my guests and mingled in like family. I really thank Mayte for making my dreams com true.

To see my wedding pics: www.pictage.com/689971

Photos: http://www.pictage.com/689971

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The FOOD OMG!!! DELICIOUS, DELICIOUS"

Jellyfish Restaurant
User Rating:  Jellyfish Restaurant Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  moepeedy  on Jul 9, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jul, 2009 | Wedding | With Group
568 people found this review helpful

I've been back since July 23rd and I cannot stop thinking about my entire wedding. It was super amazing, planning was flawless. I had the ceremony at the Melia Caribe Resort at the Gazebo and WOW what a beautiful gazebo. Emy was my original coordinator but then switched to Laura. I have to say Laura was superb with me. She accomodated all my request. Just do as I did I outlined everything I wanted and when we sat down to discuss it was a breeze. I customized my ceremony since I was having my reception party at the Jellyfish Restaurant. I did not choose one of the packages. I paid the 95.00 entry fee for Pastor York. I have to tell you all he was soooooooo great!!! great personality. He officiated our ceremony exactly how I wanted. His fee is 300.00. I paid for the set up at the gazebo for 42 guest, Musical Trio, Horse & Carriage, Location Fee, Sparkling Wine for the Toast. Next, The reception Party MY GOD it was OFF THE HOOK-AMAZING-FUN-FUN-FUN. Mayte the coordinator for the Jellyfish is the sweetest, down to earth person to work wiht. Her customer service is beyond wonderful. The restaurant is sooooooooo beautiful, and cozy for the no. of guest I had. SHE decorated the place so beautifully. The FOOD OMG!!! DELICIOUS, DELICIOUS. My guest said it was the best meal they had. I highly recommend the Jellyfish. Mayte arranged bus transportation for my guest. I thought it would be a tacky bus and to my surprise it was a huge coach bus. The laughter and jokes that when on the bus had the bus driver laughing all the way to the restaurant. Girls, I had a Salsa/Merengue band it was a must have since we are Puerto Rican. They played so fantastic. Mayte had cocktail drinks ready for the guest as they walked in. The band immediately started playing as the guest walked in with their cocktail drinks and they didn't wait to sit down and started dancing as soon as they were walking in. The band was that good. The menu I customized. I wanted authentic Dominican Food. We had the 3 hour open bar. I also had a DJ. We included a Cigar Roller. What a hit! the guys loved it and the girls also started smoking cigars. The cake was beautiful and Delicioussssssssssssss!!!! wow I would love to have a slice right about now. I would love to do it all again - yeah like next week and next week again and again. All my guest have not stopped talking about the wedding. LOVE LOVE That. I am posting some non-and some pro-pics. As soon as I get them all I will post.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I wish we'd gotten married there too"

Jellyfish Restaurant
User Rating:  Jellyfish Restaurant Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  carlymclaughlin  on Jun 18, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jun, 2009 | Wedding | With Group
600 people found this review helpful

Well, it was absolutely amazing and Mayte is my new best friend. We only had our reception there, we were married at the Melia. I walked down to the restaurant with ncake to check it out prior to both of our reception dates and we met Mayte. I went back the next day with my bridesmaids to bring Mayte some of the stuff I brought for her to decorate with and that's when I went over how I wanted the seating to be set up, etc. I had pre-ordered flowers through Mayte (ask her permission first, then if she has time she'll need at least 3 days prior to your wedding to order them as they are shipped from outside the Bavaro area for much much cheaper). Mayte picked up my cake from the Melia the day of from the Agora grill, which was approved by the Melia and set up with them so nobody would give Mayte any hassle. She then decorated my cake with flowers once she had it back at the restaurant.

Dinner was amazing, we went with the least expensive dinner option and everyone LOVED the food. The starters (salads and inferno chorizo) were amazing as well, passed around as share plates among table members.

Our guests partied harder than I ever imagined, the staff loved them! hahaha. I'm pretty sure our guests got the bartenders loaded which made things even more wild.

I already posted above about the DJ experience, so I'll leave it at that

All in all, everything was amazing. We wish it wasn't windy, having the canopy up while it was light out would've provided an amazing ocean backdrop, but it was glorious no matter what. Once it was dark and the bazillion candles were lit, the canopy created a beautiful glow and our guests were smitten by the ambience it created. We had our dance floor set up in the area of the restaurant closest to where the canopy ties down, and our head table was against the wall facing the canopy side right by where you walk in the main entrance (where there's 2 round windows in the rock wall). I thought that spot would work best because if the canopy was UP and it was a little windy, the wind wouldn't be blowing from behind us, blowing our hair into our faces... haha.

I left all the decor I brought along there with Mayte to use for future occasions, they're mostly just small tinted tealight holders (which I had to her alternate around the tables, filling some of them with sand, some with coffee beans, some with the clear brown glass beads I brought, some with rocks -- and all with a candle on top). I chose the colours of the linens, chair bows, napkins, and where I wanted to see things set up and Mayte did the rest. She's amazing at what she does, I completely put my trust in her and I'd never even seen her work. I had a good gut feeling about her, and my intuition proved me right.

My picture files from my photographer are HUGE and I have to email them one by one, but if anyone wants to see any of them, please email me: carlymclaughlin@shaw.ca

We didn't pay to reserve the whole restaurant privately, Mayte just reserved the whole bottom floor for us. A few couples snuck upstairs to have a bite to eat, but no one even noticed they were there. Perhaps ask Mayte to rope-off the stairs that bring you right into the middle of the restaurant from the beach instructing guests to go around and use the front door (so they're not trapesing right into your reception...). If they use the front door, the stairs leading upstairs are actually on the outside of the building! It's perfect.

We arrived by buses that we rented out through Mayte and her wonderful connections. They were $5 per person round trip and well worth it for us to pay for so that our guests knew they were being transported safely from point a to b, and vice versa. They picked us up from the front lobby of the Melia and drove us right to the front door of the Jellyfish. Your driver will ask you what time they should return at... we said 11:30-midnight, they arrived at 11 and were anxious to get us going so that kinda killed my buzz at the end of the night. Mayte kept saying "Stay longer, they will wait, I'll tell them to relax!" but I felt bad for the drivers so we just had a final cocktail and off we went. We continued the party at the Melia, so it was all good! So yeah, whatever time you want your reception to end, be sure the buses know not to arrive earlier and expect you to leave when THEY are ready

Am I forgetting anything?? I could go on forever and ever about how amazing it was, I wish we'd gotten married there too and just told the Melia to shove it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The restaurant itself is perfect"

Jellyfish Restaurant
User Rating:  Jellyfish Restaurant Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  amandaco  on Jun 3, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jun, 2009 | Wedding | With Group
572 people found this review helpful

I just wanted to let everyone that is thinking about a wedding/reception at the Jellyfish that you cannot go wrong! Mayte is amazing, accomodating and willing to help in any way possible. The restaurant itself is perfect....my guests described it as a giant, tropical tree house and loved it. I had a small group of 22 people so we rented out the upstairs. It was private and (with no direction at all, other than a color) Mayte decorated it beautifully. It did rain (more like monsoon), and we all got soaked running from the bus to the restaurant and from the rest to the restrooms---but it was all worth it. My guests loved the charm and the tropical feel. Let's face it, being wet in Punta Cana is a whole lot different than being wet in Pennsylvania! The food was great and you can't beat the price. Please please please, message me if you have any questions at all. I wouldn't want any bride (or visitor to PC) to miss out on this fantastic place!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nobody wanted to leave!"

Jellyfish Restaurant
User Rating:  Jellyfish Restaurant Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ncake  on May 10, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009 | Wedding | With Group
579 people found this review helpful

Our ceremony was on the beach at the JellyFish and was so much more personal/intimate, we saw several weddings on the beach at the Melia and we were so great-full that we had ours at the JF. Mayte is amazing! We had nothing less than the best service from her and the staff working at the JF. We had our ceremony in Spanish and in English as my side of the family is from Chile. The set up for outside was breathtaking as well as the set up for the reception inside. The meal was superb! All of our guests said it was by far the best meal they had during the two weeks we stayed at the Melia. We met with Mayte before hand to go over all the little details and she was very organized. We had the DJ for the reception and gave him our i-pod and he mixed it up with some of our songs and what he had and we were all dancing the entire evening. Nobody wanted to leave! When we have our pictures I will be sure to post them. Any questions please feel free to ask me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Everyone was in awwww."

Jellyfish Restaurant
User Rating:  Jellyfish Restaurant Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  chopandmick  on Apr 18, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009 | Wedding | With Group
572 people found this review helpful

Once we arrived at the Jellyfish Restaurant everything was wonderful. The place looked beautiful. The tables were decorated exactly like I imaged. We had the cocktail hour out on the beach. Mayte had put out extra lounge chairs and big pillows for everyone to just chill. It was such a nice ambience. Mayte had servers come out with the appetizers. Everything was delicious. We had a full moon that night which was so nice to have everyone relax and enjoy the moon. After the cocktail hour everyone moved inside and had their salads. At this time it was so windy we had them bring down the tarp/curtain. We did the toast, first dances and dinner. Most of my guests thought the food was delicious. I did have some guests say that the baked potato was cold. But they only told me after the fact. I¡¦m sure if they told me before Mayte would have sent them new ones. Hey, you can¡¦t please everyone. ƒº After dinner Jellyfish brought up the tarp/curtain and the fire dancers¡¦ show began. AMAZING. They were another nice touch to our wedding. The show lasted about 15 minutes. We danced at the Jellyfish until mid-night. We were suppose to leave at 11 p.m. but decided to stay another hour ¡Vsince we were late getting there. But Mayte mentioned we could even stay later if we wanted. We decided to go back to Melia.
I¡¦m glad we decided to go with our reception at the Jellyfish restaurant. The restaurant itself is such a cool looking place. Everyone was in awwww.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All of our guests had a great time"

Jellyfish Restaurant
User Rating:  Jellyfish Restaurant Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  kristinemarie7  on Mar 7, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Wedding | With Group
595 people found this review helpful

Hi all, we’re back! I wanted to let all of you know how our reception went. You definitely won’t regret choosing the Jellyfish, we had an amazing time! We arrived two days before the wedding (late afternoon) and I called Mayte the day before the wedding and we met her at the restaurant. We brought our Rubbermaid tote of stuff (I brought from home starfish place cards, table numbers, holders, candles and pictures for a memory table, menus, cake topper and serving set, and a few other things). After we went through everything I brought, she showed us the decorations she put together. I had sent her a picture of submerged orchids and she did an incredible job. I had asked for white linens, but she thought the turquoise linen would look better and she was right. I am so glad we went with her suggestion, the restaurant looked amazing the next day. We took the bus from the lobby of the resort to the Jellyfish. She had set up our star fish place cards right at the entrance and as we arrived, each guest got one of our signature drinks. I wasn’t expecting that, we just had it so people could order it, but it was a really nice touch. All of the decorations looked great and we had a cocktail hour while everyone got settled in. We ended up having a seated dinner and between salad and main course, I played a slideshow I had created that Jim didn’t know about it. I had set it up with Mayte beforehand to have a projector set up and it turned out well. After dinner (which was delicious), we started the dance music (I used their sound system, but had my own playlist.) All of our guests had a great time and we are so glad we decided to go with the Jellyfish! I’ve put together a few pictures, the link is below. If anyone has additional questions, let me know. I know how hard it is planning, but like past brides have written, Mayte does a great job and it turns out so nice.

Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/kristinemarie7/ReceptionAtTheJellyfish?feat=directlink#

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All Im going to say is 'OH MY GOD'!!"

Jellyfish Restaurant
User Rating:  Jellyfish Restaurant Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  littlel  on Jan 25, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009 | Wedding | With Group
592 people found this review helpful

Hi there.... I'm back!!!! Returned from DR yesterday and my wedding was last Tuesday 20th Jan. I was married at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro and then reception at Jellyfish with 57 guests.

All Im going to say is 'OH MY GOD'!! My whole day was soooo perfect - beyond my wildest dreams.

The Jellyfish Restaurant is the most beautiful place I have ever seen. Trust me you will not be dissapointed and if you are reading this and in two minds as to whether or not to book it - then BOOK IT!!!! We had the whole restaurant, sit down meal (which was definately the best meal of the whole holiday), fire dancers on the beach then the DJ who was excellent - we had the DJ set up on the balcony and we danced under the stars all night. It really was something special!!

We kept it a secret from our guests - they were told at the wedding ceremony that we were leaving the resort and to be ready for 4.30pm. They were amazed when they arrived at the Jellyfish, all the restaurant/tables were set up, the backdrop of the blue sea behind - honestly it was breathtaking. Like something you see in a magazine!!

Every one of our guests said it was the best wedding they have ever been to )

Mayte is soooo good at her job - I was exactly like you girls getting stressed with no reply from her etc but she is soooo busy out there. She has 5 weddings this week alone!! I know its easy for me to say but just trust her - she had every email I had sent her over the last few months and knew exactly what i wanted.

We met with her the day after we arrived - paid her the deposit (cos we had problems wiring it across) and went through everything that we wanted - table set up, order of the night, I took lots of things for the tables, gold chiffon bows for the chairs, we talked about cake, flower centrepieces etc etc. She said leave it to me - Ill make it look beautiful. And she did!! We then went back the night before the wedding to take all the bits and bobs and pay the balance of the bill. She didnt ask for it - she said we could pay on the day or even the day after!! But we wanted to get it paid and not have to deal with it on the wedding night. We paid everything with travellers cheques - the best and safest way if you ask me.

I could go on for hours about this place but all im gonna say is you will have the best wedding ever. I saw so many wedding receptions at my hotel.... and yeah they all looked quite nice..... but to have the Jellyfish will make it soooo much more beautiful and memorable!!

I havnt had chance to up load my photos yet - I hope to do it in the next couple of days - but if you would like to see them then please let me have your email address and Ill forward them on.

Also - if you have any questions whatsoever about anything then please feel free to ask. This site helped me sooo much when planning my wedding and id be only to happy help others )

Speak soon

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube