Royal Decameron Salinitas Reviews

Home page > El Salvador > El Salvador Hotel Index > Royal Decameron Salinitas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Royal Decameron Salinitas  

Paseo general Escalon No. 4711 | Col. Escalón, Sonsonate, El Salvador

"We went to renew our wedding vows after 25 years"
Posted by: Corinne on Apr 16, 2012
see all reviews

Royal Decameron Salinitas Reviews
Royal Decameron Salinitas Pictures and Information
Royal Decameron Salinitas Pacific Coast El Salvador

#1
of 1 Hotels in Pacific Coast

User rating 3.7

Based on 15 reviews

Royal Decameron Salinitas Information


The Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel offers a fantastic Mayan flavored all-inclusive vacation experience. Located on El Salvador’s Pacific coast, just 50 minutes outside of San Salvador, Decameron Salinitas borrows heavily from Salvadorian culture with both its colorful architecture and it’s many Mayan statues distributed throughout the property.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Royal Decameron Salinitas Reviews

Royal Decameron Salinitas Review: 3.7 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  6
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (10)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 15

"We went to renew our wedding vows after 25 years"

Royal Decameron Salinitas
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Salinitas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Corinne  on Apr 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
184 people found this review helpful

An absolute paradise!The concierge set us up with a wedding coordinator and everything was looked after beautifuly.The staff was excellent from servers to chambermaids. The food was vast and fabulous and the resort and grounds were immaculatly kept.We definately will be returning and we highly recomend!!!If you like a dry heat of 32 deg.plus every day,no clouds or rain for the two weeks we were there this is your paradise!

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
we arrived just before noon, just in time to enjoy pool activities and greatest weather you could ever want

Rooms:
the rooms are very large and clean and the beds are very comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffets were fabulous although in two weeks we only had dinner once at buffet, we took advantage of all 6 a-la-carte. Because of easy reservation practices we thoroughly enjoyed getting all dolled-up after a full day in the sun.The food presentations were works of art and delicious. Although they don't serve any blender drinks, their signature drinks are very nice and they have the best cold beer and wine.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool runs along the whole resort with nice little bridges to cross over. You never have to save a chair there are plenty along with sunfilled and shaded areas. The bar is never far away! The ocean is beautiful and clean beach. The natural salt-water pool is the best surrounded by hardened lava rocks from the last volcanic erruption. The resort offers access to another beach you bus to which is beautiful as far as the eye can see. Upon your arrival to that beach the local children greet you with pictures and flowers so please make sure to bring them a little something. We had commodities and essentials and they were so appreciative it was like we were giving them gold.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Because of the high Pacific waves water sports are not permited other than sea-dood inside a blocked area. They still offer fishing on other water ways, a variety of tours, the best zip-lining in the world. On the resort they have a tennis court, sauna and jaccuzi, a exercise gym and wonderful massages in intimate hutts by the ocean side;they're the greatest.They have a nightly show, then disco every night. Yoga classes, spanish classes and pool volley ball and pool aerobics evey morning. There is always something going on.

Other Comments:
The fact that the resort is almost an hour from the airport, a few miles from any village, you are so secluded that iy really feels like you are in another world. This paradise is unlike Mexico,Dominican or Jamaica which are what I like to call Americanised. This country is purely authentic. It was the best trip ever.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous!"

Royal Decameron Salinitas
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Salinitas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  janet  on Apr 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
180 people found this review helpful

Ist time taking a vacation with my daughter, and 1st time visiting El Salvador. Two firsts turned into one fabulous vacation. The food was very good, always lots of choices at the buffet and food courts and the Ala Carte resturants were superb, especially the baby beef at the steak house. The bar staff were SO friendly and always had drinks ready with a welcome smile and friendly Hola! The cleaning staff and bar staff were coutious and friendly and, although we don't speak Spanish, they all made the effort to have friendly conversations with us
If I had a complaint, I'd say the service in the buffet was a little slack, when trying to get a cup of coffee. Other than that, I'd say it was an 1st class vacation in a 1st class resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"To many 1 day turnover of guests at the hotel"

Royal Decameron Salinitas
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Salinitas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  hugh & brigitte  on Feb 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
192 people found this review helpful

After staying 7 times with friends (3 couples) at the hotel,I noticed that they
have a lot of 1 night only stays for families (minimum 4 people in the room)We
stayed there for 2 weeks and had every night a different family on either side.They don't care how noisy they are when they come back from the enter-tainment 11:00pm or disco at 1:30am and continue the party in the room.There is no point to call the front desk because they stay only 1 night and don't care.Nolitours or the hotel should make sure that if you stay for 1 or 2 weeks that you don't have that 1 day turnover.I also think that it is not very safe. The rooms are very clean and the food has improved,also the grounds are imaculate and the staff is very friendly.

Room Number:
4603

Room Block:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible"

Royal Decameron Salinitas
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Salinitas Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  jay  on Aug 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
378 people found this review helpful

Well let me begin by saying the place is beautiful; however, the service is beyond unprofessional and unorganized. Housekeepers and cleaning crews are helpful, but lobby workers and bartenders are imprudent and rude. First, they made us wait in the street not the lobby until our rooms were ready by the time we were able to get in all food courts where closed. Secondly, forget about bartenders that are able to work a bar because at DelCameron you have to make a line and they are not short so hopefully you are not to thirsty. The food is awful, YUCK! I am Salvadorian and that not our type of food. I am disappointed in how Delcameron resort represents my country.

Room Number:
4601

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
awful

Rooms:
Nice rooms all are oceanview.

Restaurants and Bars:
YUCK!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice for families, but not so good for couples (too many children).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Alright

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"2nd visit ... will go back for a 3rd"

Royal Decameron Salinitas
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Salinitas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  diane  on Feb 16, 2011  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
336 people found this review helpful

We decided to return since last we year we enjoyed ourselves at Royal Decameron. Often you hear that 2nd time can be disappointing and we're happy to report that no disappointment whatsoever. Vacation didn't get off to a great start with our flight with Canjet. Yes, it was a flight from hell. Apparently the front bathroom wasn't in service to passengers - funny thing tho that staff were able to use it. I have never encountered such rude, nasty flight attendants in my life! Guess as long as you stayed in your seat and didn't bother them it would be alright...wow...talk about being treated like grade schoolers. It was great to touchdown and get out of that sardine can. We found the little store that sold beer and with ice cold ones, we were ready for the long drive, which this time didn't seem too long!! We found no fault with the food even though we heard several people were sick - it's always hard to pinpoint where the sickness originates. Weather was absolutely gorgeous and very hot. The tide only came in around 5:00 which left little time to play in the ocean - the many pools made up for that. Staff were always busy....and extremely friendly. We received excellent service at all the restaurants except for the Pastafari which we could see, were very understaffed. The steak house served their excellent steak which we were more than happy with. Didn't get the room we requested but where we ended up worked out just fine...nice & close to the pool area that we enjoyed. All in all, nothing has really changed but we did notice that they've stepped up to the plate with regards to hygeine.....just wish the tourists would. They offered hand washing sanitizers by the buffet area and couldn't believe that some people refused to use....go figure. Staff wore masks and noticed that the food temperatures were constantly being checked. They did work hard to keep the place sanitized and clean. Go back a third time??? You bet we would! Met amazing folks from all over & hope to meet again. Pat & Diane, North Bay Ontario

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Ridiculous cancellation policy"

Royal Decameron Salinitas
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Salinitas Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  jjmaza  on Feb 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
318 people found this review helpful

I was very disappointed with this Resort's cancellation policy after finding out that my father who has been a resort club member for almost 4 years, could not cancel a reservation due to his mother's sudden devastating death in San Francisco, California. He tried canceling it 6 days in advance but the Resort was not at all helpful nor did they even want to credit him for a future stay. On the policy it states cancellations can ONLY occur if there are major motives in which I believe a mother's death is beyond a major motive. My father has traveled to many different resorts throughout over the years & has never faced such a uncordial response under such circumstances.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The whole resort is colorful and photogenic"

Royal Decameron Salinitas
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Salinitas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Egon  on Mar 29, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
478 people found this review helpful

After two weeks at the Decameron Salinitas resort, we are happy to report back.
-The grounds were beautiful and immaculately clean. The whole resort is colorful and photogenic.
-The beach is somewhat gray, but lots of chairs and much shade.
-Swimming in the ocean is a no-go. Too shallow; also very warm. Too warm for us. The incoming and outgoing tides are interesting to watch, beautiful, in a rugged way.
-There are fresh water pools everywhere. OK for swimming but too warm and not refreshing enough.
-The room, top floor, block one, was large and well kept. The balcony is only about one foot deep, so basically we had a very large window with a sliding door giving us a great view. A/C worked quietly and well.
-The staff is very polite and friendly.
-The restaurants are all open with no A/C.
- The food is typical for a three star hotel. We usually found something we liked. I preferred the buffet over the a' la carte. My wife didn't. Montezuma's revenge kept us low for a couple of days. Nothing serious.
-The Costa Azul Beach Club was worth one outing. The waves are awesome.
-The best part of our vacation were the excursions with Cuscatlan Tours, an independent outside company. We did three full day outings, including zip-lining, dune-buggy to the craters, history and pyramids and shopping in small indigenous villages. We toured with Julio and twice we were the only ones, one trip was with another couple.
The costs are comparable with the prices of the hotel touring company (monopoly), but we did not sit in a bus with 25 others.
Julio would also stop whenever we wanted to take pictures or do a little shopping. At the zip-line he took great pictures with our camera. We are highly recommending this tour company.
Make your reservations via e-mail from home. They don't ask for money up front. To use a telephone from the resort is difficult and very expensive.
-We have travelled in over forty countries and everywhere we found something unique and fascinating to explore. El Salvador was no exception.

Egon

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Relax!!"

Royal Decameron Salinitas
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Salinitas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marj  on Feb 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
497 people found this review helpful

This was a real vacation! .

Your Arrival:
Good flight. Guided out to the bus to the hotel to be greeted with a cooler of cold beer (and other beverages)and a snack on each seat. The guide was informative and showed a good video explaining some of the options. He took a poll on the bus to see who had been there before and half the bus had.
The air conditioned bus ride from the hotel did take you past some of the impoverished conditions of the area. Lots of garbage on the street, armed guards and very poor housing

Rooms:
Once at the resort, for better or worse, you left those images behind to have a week to relax and enjoy.
The rooms were not luxiourus but very spatious and clean. Very large comfortable bed. We were on the 2nd floor of the first block which did mean a bit of a walk back to the lobby. The ocean was right out front and lots of pools. I preferred the ocean and the large salt water pool.
Lots of lounge chairs under the shade.

Restaurants and Bars:
I liked the food. Interesting and healthy. I really like the fried plantains for breakfast. My husband has food allergies to wheat and corn and did fine. He had a Spanish translation of his allergies and handed it to the server at dinner.
After the 3 day I bought in the on site gift shop 14 oz insulated tumblers - I got tired of the 3 ounce cups.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
At the resort there were impecable grounds but I really wish some of the plants were labelled. And there are some interesting birds. And some birds, like the grackle, who have migrated there from my back yard.
We played tennis at 7:30 four mornings. It would have been too hot later in the day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went to the beach club twice - there are four 4 hour excursion there daily. The bus ride through the poor areas again was a bit disturbing. And there was an armed guard right in site. And young children looking for hand outs at the gate of this beach club. But I loved the waves! Very hot sand. There were drinks and good food here and a pool if you really didn't like the ocean (but I don't know why you would have gone there if you didn't like the ocean)
Not every excursion was available every day so planning was needed.
We took the bus ride to the top of the crater with a stop for an amazing lunch at St. Fernades - an orange grove. Great meal, great service and we were seranaded by a sax player. It was almost surreal.
Some amazing flowers including poinsettia. This excursion also included a stop to see a famous lake. It was hazy so not great pictures.
The other excursion I took by myself was the crafts and culture. We stopped at 3 towns each with a different flavour. This was on a Sunday so a stop at the church and the markets was appropriate to see. Lots of opportunity to purchase some local things.
At the first town there was a dance performance in the street - it was a native dance. There seems to be a real effort to revive an almost extinct indigineous culture. I think this is seen as good for tourism.
Most of the people at the resort spoke only Spanish, except those in the lobby but there weren't issues. I heard lots of Italian and French.
A tour guide informed us that the Minister of Tourism is implementing that all students learn English.
Tourism is becoming a real source of revenue for the country (so says Wikipedia too). Coffee is the main thing they export. So yes, the coffee is good. And you can bring back packs of coffee at very good prices.
The tour guides were local people (both university students) and they genuinely were very glad there were tourists coming to their country and encouraged us to come back again with friends.

Other Comments:
The gift shop didn't have too much except T-shirts. The ones there were much better quality than the ones in town.
Also there were local people wandering the beach selling trinquets - for $2 you can get some nice bracelets or necklaces. And you really felt that you were supporting someone who needed the money.

The sunsets are amazing. They started at about 5:30. We found ourselves a seat at the ocean's edge and got beverage and enjoyed the time before the 6:30 dinner time.

Much of the day for most of the days was spent relaxing on the beach. I read 5 books on this holiday.

We needed to get something to eat at the airport when we left and that was a challenge. Not much to do and see at the airport except the people arriving to spend the next week there.

We're planning on being back again next year!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous !"

Royal Decameron Salinitas
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Salinitas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  diane  on Feb 19, 2010  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
468 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Arrival: We had pleasant flight with Canjet. Typical boxed sandwich for breakfast. I was amazed at how quick and efficient going through customs/immigration at the airport was. On the bus was a cooler of cold beer, pop and water - the bus filled quickly and we were off. They also provided a little box of snacks for the long ride to the resort. It was a very nice touch to have our room assignment package ready on the bus and didn't need to stand at the desk waiting to check in, as happens at most resorts. It was long drive but a great opportunity to see the countryside. At the resort there were dancers directing us to the proper check-in building, which again, was quick as we received our bracelets and then shuttled off to our room. Luggage arrived no more than 10 minutes later !!! Amazing how fast and organized this all was.

Rooms:
Rooms: We had the good fortune to have a room in building three on the fourth floor. The view of the ocean was spectacular! The room had a huge balcony and it was wonderful to sit and enjoy the sunset. Although this room was terrific for us, if someone wanted shade on the balcony there is none here...it's open to the skies and no relief. The view, morning or night - amazing. Our room was cleaned thoroughly everyday, always fresh towels and 2 bottles of water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Resturants: We only went to the steak house and didn't try all the a la cartes. The steak house was delicious and boy, do they know how to cook their beef. Was so great that we booked it twice and enjoyed it immensely. A little heavy on the salt, but I requested no salt and was even better than the first time. The buffets were plentiful and many, many varieties of meat, vegetables and pasta. So many dishes to choose from and each one we tried was great. A huge selection of fresh fruit at every meal. Service was top notch at every restaurant. Our glasses were constantly being filled and empty plates didn't linger for too long on the tables. 5 star service, without a doubt

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach/pools: The beach was interesting. Certainly not the white, powdery sand but it was great just the same. Playing in the water during high tide or even low tide was fun and the water was very warm - took no coaxing to get in and get wet. What they say about the sand being hot...watch out as it's no exaggeration. The beaches all along the resort had many palapalas and plenty of chairs for all. There were no chair reserving games and even around the pool(s) there were always plenty of chairs available, no matter what time of day. The grounds around the resort are always being manicured and it shows. The whole place is full of shrubbery with flowers in bloom, lush grass and many, many trees all throughout the resort. They've also added many decorative statues all over which add to the mayan ambiance of the resort.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities: We walked along the beach one day and came across a large statue of Jesus out in the water. We returned during low tide and were able to walk along the lava rock out to the statue. Made for some great pictures as some of the rocks have unique formations. Was extremely hot walking, so if you plan on walking this far, make sure to bring plenty of water with you. You can always jump in the water along the way to cool off as there didn't appear to be alot of rocks in the water and quite a nice stretch of beach.
We only did one tour the Cultural Tour on Sunday. Although I was hesitant to go, I must admit it was great. So informative and fun to shop in the little villages and there are plenty of bargains to be had. This was the shorter tour and great to mingle with the locals and check out their food stands and we even ate at the fair grounds. The smells and sounds were terrific. They provided a little box of snacks on the bus as well as water and pop – nice touch. Well guarded by the police and we could leave our purchases on the bus without worrying about theft
Hubby did go out on the crater dive tour for a full day. He was rather disappointed by the experience in that it was dark in the water and he felt, quite unsafe if anyone lost track of their dive buddy. He wouldn't recommend this tour as there wasn't much to see - but, it was informative and he learned alot. It was an opportunity to crater dive but not worth the long 2 hrs to get there and back again. Just to mention, the first dive was cancelled due to not enough people - so there's always a chance of missing out completely. His suggestion is to book your dive early enough in the week to allow for rebooking on another date should this happen. I did the hot stone massage and oh my !! for $45 for one hour it was well worth it and a wonderful experience.

Other Comments:
On the day of leaving, again everything was well organized. We left our luggage outside the door to be picked up and the bus left promptly at 9:00. Airport was quick and no problems at all. Do watch your luggage weight, as people next to us got nailed $70 for being overweight. Our lighters got confiscated at the security entrance, so don't be surprised if they find yours.
Everything at this resort was exceptional here. It exceeded our expectations and we would definitely return next year if the price remained the same. We would like to try Panama next, but who knows. This Royal Decameron truly was outstanding and I hope they realize that the staff are hard working people that do their job with pride and it shows, whether it be quick service from the bartenders or the cleanliness of the rooms - outstanding in all areas. In my mind it's a 5 star resort however I think the beach would drop it down to a 4 star - in that it's not white sand and turquoise water - I'm not really sure why this isn't rated a 5 star except for that reason....Pat & Diane, North Bay Ontario (selectivedi@yahoo.ca)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome Nolitours representative Linda."

Royal Decameron Salinitas
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Salinitas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Audrey  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
452 people found this review helpful

We loved our holiday at the resort. The food wa great and the ala carte restaurants were terific. The presentation was a class act.The resort was immaulate, the pools were beautiful and the salt water pool was amazing.We had a great time and would recomend it to anyone. We went to the Cascades and Apeneca zip lining. It was a blast.Nightly entertanment was great and the botique shopping was very reasonable. Normally I do not shop on the premises but everything was good value.

Your Arrival:
This was the most efficient check in I have ever experienced and the check out was just as easy.

Rooms:
Our room was large and very clean. If I was going again though I would request a ground floor accomodation because of my bad knees. The stairs were a little hard on them. My fault for not asking for a relocate.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only tried 3 ala carte restaurants. Pastafari was excellent, as was (the white tent)el something. The steak house was o.k. but the steak was a little tough. Other that that, all the food was greaat.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very clean beach and pool areas. The grounds were constantly being cared for.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The tours were well organized and well worth the money.

Other Comments:
Linda was the best rep. I have ever run across, and I have been all over the world.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube