Be Live Cancun Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Cancun > Cancun Hotel Index > Be Live Cancun reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cancun Hotels with Similar Ranking

Beach Palace Wyndham Grand Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 16, 2014

Le Blanc Spa Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 15, 2010

Club Med Cancun

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2008

Riu Palace Las Americas

4.8 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Dreams Resort and Spa

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 18, 2012

Royal Solaris Caribe

4.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2010

Be Live Cancun  

Boulevard Kukulkan, Km 16.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

"Got to be honest and wonder how the Oasis Cancun can rate as high star value as they do."
Posted by: Jeff_Whitby on Dec 1, 2009
see all reviews

Be Live Cancun Reviews
Be Live Cancun Pictures and Information
Be Live Cancun Cancun Mexico

#14
of 53 Hotels in Cancun

User rating 3.6

Based on 7 reviews

Be Live Cancun Information


Located just opposite a white sandy beach, Oasis Cancún is an exclusive 4 star resort in the Cancún hotel area, offering the maximum comfort and exclusive services. It is an ideal lodging option for leisure travellers who wish to spend a holiday in Mexico, enjoying the beaches and the warm temperatures by the Caribbean Sea.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Cancun Reviews

Be Live Cancun Review: 3.6 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  2
Average
  2
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (7)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
1 - 7 of 7

"Got to be honest and wonder how the Oasis Cancun can rate as high star value as they do."

Be Live Cancun
User Rating:  Be Live Cancun Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jeff_Whitby  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
214 people found this review helpful

What can i say about our trip to the 4star Oasis Cancun.... apart from the 3.5+hrs in line to check in (due to lack of staff and organization), the hotel washrooms were not even close to being fit for a third world country, the nightly yelling and screaming of drunken youths (police were there more then once and extra security was put on 2 days after arriving), the beach regularly being littered with garbage (empty cups, cigarette packages, plates from food, etc...), lack of accommodating staff (some we're good), hit and miss on getting clean towels daily, overwhelming smell of sewage some days (and not from the lagoon, from hotel bathrooms), the Mexicans painting the outside of the hotel which had them climbing the outside of the buildings all day (one day hanging around on our baloney when we were trying to get changed and leaving a wonderful mess of paint and concrete) and out of all buffets and a la carte restaurants, only really one good a la carte resaurant which was the steak house (and trust me, i am far from a picky eater). Got to be honest and wonder how the Oasis Cancun can rate as high star value as they do. I've been travelling for many years to may places, including Cancun many times, and as far as I'm concerned this place deserves a 2.5 star maybe 3 star max high at most.

Apart from that, the flight going down was good, sunwing is a good flight. The flight home was delayed for an hour and needless to say the alot of the drunken youths were on our flight so you can imagine how that went.

In the end, if you are looking for a place to just sleep for a couple hours daily, eat food to just say you did, drink very watered down drinks all day, not really care where you lay your head or go to the washroom, and just want to say you went to Cancun and got drunk, this is the place for you too go. If your looking for a vacation that you can enjoy you time relaxing, walking the beach, eating good food, and not wondering what your going to walk into when you use a bathroom....trust me go somewhere else. The Oasis Cancun will never see my myself and wife again. This experience has actually turned me off of returning to Cancun again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort was amazing!"

Be Live Cancun
User Rating:  Be Live Cancun Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christina_Toronto  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
210 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We arrived at the resort and all I can say was HEAVEN! If your not going to party, then this is not the spot for you. Myself and some other single ladies went to party and thats exactly what we got. We arrived at 8pm and there was about 500 people partying and drinking in the lobby. Everyone was so nice and was yelling at us to get ready and go downtown. The lobby was very nice and the people working were fast and very friendly. The Hotel lobby was also very clean and classy looking which is something I did not expect.

Rooms:
Our room was very nice. Because we were there on Canadian spring break there was nothing valuable that could potenially get broken in the rooms. There were beds, tv, table, couches, and thats about it. The washroom was very nice and did the job for three ladies. The sheets and towels always got changed and the room was always very clean after a long day at the beach. We would always leave some type of tip for the maids, whether it be money, soap, or toothpaste. ( they really like stuff like that)

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were GREAT!! ive been to dominican twice and both times got sick from the food. None of us got sick and the meals were always very enjoyable. The italian restaurant was the best one! We always found ourselves at the buffets ( you can also walk over to the one at the Grand) and they had really good food. Pizza, pasta, chicken, salads.. ANYTHING you wanted! The bars were also great! lots of variety and the bartenders showed you respect as long as you showed it to them. At night we would always tip the bartender in the main lobby and by the buffet. We would leave maybe 5 dollars for the whole night and he made sure he kept the drinks coming :)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEST BEACH EVER!! If you want white sand and blue water.. THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO. I have never seen a beach so nice. There were waves most days but nothing that stopped me from going into the water. The pool was also very nice. IT was a great spot to hang out because of the multiple swim up bars and comfortable tanning chairs. Be sure to get our before 10 am if you want chairs though!. Most people have been out partying all night so everyone wants nice comfortable chairs to sleep on. The grounds were also very beautiful!There was also someone out cleaning and gardening, birds, fish, and exotic animals. The grass was so green adn all the flowers were amazing. VERY NICE

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I did not do any tours. There was RV tours, and water sports that I knew of. We were there to have a party weekend so that is something that I did not really look into. It was very easy to get downtown Cancun and it was very safe. There was a shuttle bus that ran all the time and was very cheap, I think a dollar. And it ran till very late. If your looking to go Downtown at night to party which is very FUN and packed, you can take the shuttle bus down. There is usually a full bus that leaves taking people downtown to the clubs. We bought wrist bands for 200$ before we went from a promoter that got us into all the bars and free drinks each night. There is such a great night life in Cancun!!

Other Comments:
This resort was amazing! We are actually heading back there this April 2009. And its very affordable for students. Some people get the impression that the Resort may be run down, but its TOTALLY NOT!.. SO nice, nice decore, nice people, great food. etc.. I could go on and on. BUT this is NOT a family resort. We did see some families and its just got the place for them. Its loud, lots of partying and drinking, and you dont get much sleep. So if your looking for a relaxing vacation... not the place. I needed a vacation when I got back from Cancun :) BEST PLACE EVER!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Oasis Cancun is certainly to be avoided by families."

Be Live Cancun
User Rating:  Be Live Cancun Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle_Woodstock  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
216 people found this review helpful

We booked this trip last minute and through a travel agent and thought we were going to a resort that would have something for families. My husband, myself and our daughters age 7 and 9 arrived around 8pm and the check in went smoothly but it was obvious right away that it was going to be quite a young crowd there. I won't go into a lengthy complaint, but DO NOT bother going to this hotel if you have children and are looking for relaxation. The grounds are beautiful and large, but the young people were very ignorant and disrespectful mainly due to their inability to balance their alcohol consumption with food. One bar was open until 6am on the property so the noise - yelling, screaming, swearing - was unbelievable. We had to change rooms after our first night as it was above the bar. Once we were moved, our nights were quieter and the one time we had to complain (4am) everything was dealt with quickly and it was quiet within 5min. Neither my husband or I have problems with partying etc, but what was happening was in excess for sure. These youth also left their garbage around for the staff to clean up. Due to the constant babysitting needed for these young people, it was difficult to get to know any staff and their level of patience was reallly low which was understandable. The shows we did see at night were very good and my girls loved them but they did not start until 930pm which again catered to the older crowd. We went off property quite often, rented and car and drovve to the mayan riviera area for two days and had a great time there. The city bus is easy to use and cheap and we made use of the Oasis Viva Beach property for two days so that we could relax with a more age appropriate crowd as well as swim in calmer water. That property was small, beautiful and they really catered to their patrons as they had events going on by the pool for everyone to get involved in. The staff was very relaxed and friendly as they did not have the aggravation to deal with that the Oasis staff did.

Bottom line, lots to see and do in Cancun but the Oasis Cancun is certainly to be avoided by families looking for fun

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This place was not fun or pretty."

Be Live Cancun
User Rating:  Be Live Cancun Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Karl_Canada  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
225 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 6 2009
The arrival was terrible, hours up line to check in.

Rooms:
The rooms had not been cleaned , the toilet did not flush,just overall disgusting

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars served no Tequila (who would've guessed in Mexico)..I think it was because this is a resort full of under age people drinking, so there were no shots allowed.

Other Comments:
We left after one night, the lagoon view was dried up trees in pots and rocks, not one bit of green. The whole place smelt like urine. Walking down the hallway was a challenge to not get bothered by drunken teenagers, some tried to pour tequila from a bottle down my 10 year olds throat. We are by no means prudes and are always out for fun , but this place was not fun or pretty.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had an amazing time"

Be Live Cancun
User Rating:  Be Live Cancun Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brook_OasisCancun  on Apr 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2008 | Leisure | Family and Kids
214 people found this review helpful

My sister and I returned from a one week vacation at the Oasis Cancun April 22 2008. I am 22 and my sister is 27 and pregnant. Like others, we were worried when we read some reviews that had been posted on the internet regarding this resort. However, we were pleasently surprised with the Oasis Cancun with the exception of a few minor areas.

Reception / Checking-in:
You are not able to check into your room until 3pm. We arrived early to the hotel (11am) so we left our luggage with the bell boy at the front of the hotel and explored. We had full access to the facilities at this time; thus, you could swim, eat etc. We found the reception desk to be not helpful MOST of the time. It seemed like they liked to "pass the buck" onto others and no one would give you a straight answer about anything. However, with persistance, you will get what you need/want. We both got internet cards for $5 american for 30 minutes. The safe is $12 for the week, payable when you checkout. We did not get given a towel card when we arrived; however, we brought our own towels as we felt that it would be easier to identify our own on our chairs rather than the blue or yellow ones that everyone has.

Grounds:
The resort and grounds are amazing. This is a very clean resort that has everything you could ever need or want.

Pool:
The pool is very nice and clean. There is a man in the pool contantly cleaning. It is nice a big so you are not crowded and it is nice and warm.

Rooms:
The rooms are a bit small. We didnt stay in our room much (only to sleep at night) so it was perfect for us. The bathroom is a very good size. The room was very clean. Unlike other complaints i have read, the air conditioning in our room works, the tv worked, and we had hot water ALWAYS.

Food:
Both my sister and I are very picky eaters. The food was very good. Since my sister is pregnant we had to insure she was eating safe, healthy food and there were no issues whats so ever at this resort. There were 8 restaurants (i think??) that you could choose from at each meal. Our favorite was Dos Lunas where you could get eggs, bacon, hashbrowns, waffels, pancakes, and fruit in the morning. For lunch they had pizza and soup etc and for dinner they had lasangas and fish. We also enjoyed the Thai/ Sushi restaurant. The atmosphere in the restaurants is really nice and the waitors are all very kind. The buffets were.....OK. I will leave it at that. The waits to get into the restaurants were not bad at all. The max time we waited was 30 minutes.

Tipping:
You feel no pressure what so ever to tip at this resort. Obviously it is appreciated; yet there was not any solicitating for tips. We did tend to tip various waitors $1 - $2 at meals.

Noise:
This resort is definitly geared towards a younger crowd. We were expecting this. Some nights it could get quite loud in the hotel. We were very glad that we were on floor 5 and i definitly recommend that you avoid rooms on the lower level. At night time the lower level is very loud. We were not bothered as much when we were woken up by screaming drunk people, but some may.

Entertainment:
The entertainment, when running, was pretty good. They only have entertainment a few nights of the week ( i believe its mon, tues, wed). Thursday is the foam party which they charge $30 to get in to. I guess if you are a Grand Oasis person you get in for free?? This is what i heard prior to going on the vacation yet i never heard them announcing that.

Oasis Cancun vs Grand Oasis Cancun:
One of our first observations about the hotel was how we felt that Grand Oasis Cancun people got ripped off. The prices of the Grand Oasis is considerably alot more money. The only difference my sister and I noticed was the building (some grand oasis people will stay in the pyramid, others will stay in the same buildings and oasis cancun people). So if your not one of the lucky ones staying in the pyramid, you are in one of the two long rectangular buildings faceing the ocean. Another differance was the availabliliy of two more restaurants that the Oasis Cancun people can not go too. Other than that, i did not notice much difference between the two.

Other than what i listed above, i recommend you plan to communicate with people back home through internet as much as possible. Apparently to call Canada from our room was $4 a minute. You can buy calling cards across the street at a local store and use the payphones to call home (payphones are off resort property by the road).

Also, taking the bus into town is safe and fun. It was $1 for a bus ride. The buses drive past the hotel every 5 minutes and go downtown where all the clubs are located and a flea market. The flae market has typical tourtist items for purchase but it is interesting to see how buisness takes place in the Mexican culture.

Overall, we had an amazing time. I would definitly go back to this resort again. It is for younger people and would suggest it for those who are 35 and under. There were older people and families there. It didnt seem like the resort offered much for children. If you are older and dont mind roudy, drunk, young people, then you too could go to this resort. It definitly lives up to the 4 stars and is the best resort i have gone to thus far in my travels. Dont be worried by what you read in other reviews!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a great time,this place is amazing"

Be Live Cancun
User Rating:  Be Live Cancun Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy_Brampton  on Mar 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008 | Leisure | Family and Kids
212 people found this review helpful

we just got back from a one week vacation in cancun. we were there with our two kids ages 6 and 10. we stayed at the oasis cancun, we had a great week the weather was hot every day. the resort area is very large but it was beautiful. nice well landscaped grounds,very large pool area,the rooms were very clean,the bathrooms very clean, the food was great many choices to choose from. the steakhouse very good, the italian very good as well,and breakfast was always good,there were pancakes every morning,bacon,sausage,hashbrowns,variety of fruit,omelet station,fresh squeezed juices, to many things to mention.we flew in from toronto with sunwing we had a great flight it was on time,for we had one bad experiance with sunwing a couple of years ago.we arrived on time customs and baggage claim was quick,our check in was also quick at the hotel. we were there the week of the march break,and let me tell you it was very busy with all the high schools and colleges on break, it was very pretty loud but they never bothered the hotel guests. i will definatly go back to this resort,but certainly not at march break next time.beach is very nice but the waves are very huge for it was very windy the last few days.entertainment(nightly) that is what they lack no nightly shows except for at the grand oasis,but you have to pay to see the show which i think is wrong.check out was quick,our flight did not leave until 7:30pm but they could not offer us a room to shower for they were over booked. other than that we had a great time,place is amazing, and i would rate it as a 4-4.5 star.....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very noisy jackhammers"

Be Live Cancun
User Rating:  Be Live Cancun Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bill_Chicago  on Dec 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
207 people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I went to the Oasis Cancun during the last week of November. I read the reviews that they were doing construction but didn't think it'd be that bad. Well if you're staying in the Oasis Cancun and not the Grand Oasis the construction is terrible. They are adding on another level to the top and there is constant noise from 9 A.M till about 7 P.M. When we first checked in they gave us a room on the third floor towards the lagoon with a partial ocean view. I was happy until I heard the hammers start pounding and then the jackhammers would start. I'm not one of those whiners when it comes to noise, I live in a condo in downtown Chicago so I'm used noise but this was unbearable. A jackhammer two floors above you can make you crazy. We had arrived later in the night so it finally stopped but were welcomed to those beautiful sounds about 9 in the morning. We wanted to chill and take a nap during the afternoon but it was impossible. I went to the front desk to switch rooms but there was a couple of people in front of me complaining about the noise. They said there were no rooms available which I think was a lie and told me to come back tomorrow morning to switch rooms. Well after partying until 5 am that night we were again woken at 9 am by the jackhammers so I went to the desk to switch rooms and they again they told me that there were no rooms. I started getting angry and finally she had me talk to the manager. His response to the noise. "Well they don't do the construction at night". I told him I paid to go on vacation to relax and not to have to leave my room 10 hours a day just to escape the noise. Finally he gave us a room on the ground floor. This is the only time in my life that I will sacrifice an ocean view room for a room on the ground floor where people were walking right in front of our patio and a view of the the other hotel. But a least we could sleep in and take a nap if we wanted to. I don't know how anyone who was on that 3rd floor could take that noise. I think they give you those rooms when you first arrive and hope you stay in them for a couple of days before complaining and switching. Even on the ground floor you can hear pounding but it was a lot fainter and my girlfriend and I are deep sleepers so it wasn't a big deal for us. But for anyone who isn't a deep sleeper it may still disrupt your sleep. It's too bad because we loved the restaurants and the rest of the hotel but even when you're on the beach you hear construction and the workers whistle and stare at the girls when they're on their lunch breaks. If you're looking for the best deat financially then stay here but understand it comes with a price. If you do stay here make sure you stay on the ground floor otherwise enjoy the jackhammers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube