Grand Sunset Princess Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Grand Sunset Princess reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tucan

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 28, 2010

Hidden Beach Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2010

Playacar Palace Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 16, 2011

Secrets Maroma Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 17, 2010

Grand Palladium Colonial

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Akumal

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 13, 2012

Grand Sunset Princess  

Playa del Carmen 77710 | Puerto Juárez, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

"had a blast here"
Posted by: hosea on Oct 18, 2014
see all reviews

Grand Sunset Princess Reviews
Grand Sunset Princess Pictures and Information
Grand Sunset Princess Mayan Riviera Mexico

#8
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 4.3

Based on 12 reviews

Grand Sunset Princess Information


With 672 rooms, the hotel offers a professional, efficient and prestigious range of services from where to choose, including the new Junior Suite, Junior Suite Deluxe and Junior Suite Deluxe Pool with direct access to the pool. We also offer other delightful possibilities including the inviting and spacious Villas or the elegant Platinum Suite.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Sunset Princess Reviews

Grand Sunset Princess Review: 4.3 of 5 12 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (10)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 12

"had a blast here"

Grand Sunset Princess
User Rating:  Grand Sunset Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  hosea  on Oct 18, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
2 people found this review helpful

After spending a week at the grand sunset princess hotel, I realized that dreams can actually come true, this is a wonderful resort that I am glad I came to. The resort is beautiful, everything about the resort was top notch right from the receptionist to the food and services here, it was an amazing experience for me. The resort grounds are clean and the staff work round the clock to make the place is spotless at all times of the day, it is very impressive. The rooms in this resort are all clean, the room i stayed in was clean and cleaned out daily, there is a refrigerator in the room that was always stocked full and restocked as it is used. The beds in the rooms are comfortable at least I am thinking that the same bed I have in mine is what others have in theirs; it is very soft with very clean bed sheets. The a la carte restaurants here are great, I enjoyed them so much, the food here is delicious and the service at the restaurants impeccable, I couldn’t have asked for a better hotel to spend my holiday in. Moving on to the staff at the resort, they are very attentive to the needs of the customers, always running around just to make sure that every customer is attended to, it was very impressive and I appreciate the effort. The beach is beautiful but also very rocky so I stayed off it during my stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Spoiled Vacation and Wedding Experience"

Grand Sunset Princess
User Rating:  Grand Sunset Princess Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eugene  on Oct 9, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2014 | Wedding | With Group
5 people found this review helpful

Hi everybody, my review below applies both to those looking for a destination wedding at Grand Sunset (or Riviera) Princess, and to those who want just to come there for a vacation. Here I will try to provide you with as objective review as it is possible in my circumstances.
For those looking to have a destination wedding with guests, friends, family – PLEASE look somewhere else. Though the ceremony was very nice and positive, the whole experience was equally negative. We came to Mexico with 30 guests!!! Relatively large group for Caribbean vacations. At the end of our stay with Princess all our guests shared the same feeling – Princess doesn’t really give a damn about our group and would do nothing for us as a group.

They didn’t put us even once at one table for a dinner – even though we have asked; they didn’t provide us with a shuttle – even though our bus to the airport left at 6:30am; our check-in as well as check-out were done separately to each guest/family; all my requests for someone who will coordinate our time at the hotel as a group were left vain.

What is more – when I came to the supervising manager at the reception with these requests/complaints I’ve received a wonderful response – “If you want us to treat you as a group, you have to pay more money!” (how much more in addition to already paid $20,000 I wasn’t told…).

For those looking for a vacation at Princess Hotel (both Sunset and Riviera) – I have some good and some bad news. The hotel is nice, amenities are good and the beach was very clean and nice (I did not use the pool, so no reference here). Entertainment was the only missing thing at the beach – except for occasional volleyball there was absolutely nothing at the beach – this didn’t bother me personally, but may be relevant to others.

Now the bad things: the staff wasn’t particularly nice and friendly, sometimes it seemed to me as if they were tired of all these tourists. The staff at bars, especially at the beach was just rude – if you come without a dollar in your hand they will show you exactly what they think about you. And the biggest annoyance is the hotels shuttle – the Hotel is very-very big, and though it has a shuttle from the lobby to the beach area (15 minutes of walk in +38C - +42C wasn’t exactly the most pleasant experience), the shuttle follows a schedule – so in three separate occasions I witnessed 20-25 people waiting for a shuttle, then one arrives, takes 10 people and leaves – the remaining guests will have to wait for the next scheduled bus in 15-20 minutes… During all this time – other shuttles (2-3 at least) were just parked across the road waiting for the scheduled time.




Room Number:
4219

Room Block:
Platinum

Arrival:
See above

Rooms:
Nothing special - clean, though not outstanding in anything

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was good, the staff at A-la-Carte was disgusting!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice beach, clean, enough beds for all.
Absolutely no entertainment at the beach.
Barmen are really rude, unless you show them a dollar before you ask for anything

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
NA

Other Comments:
If you plan to come with a group for a wedding, party or any other special occasion - please do yourself a favor, look somewhere else..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort"

Grand Sunset Princess
User Rating:  Grand Sunset Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Mar 4, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Wedding | Family and Kids
114 people found this review helpful

Our son was getting married and they chose the Grand Sunset Princess. Everything was awesome, the resort was beautiful, but is very large. some of our party had upgrades, the wedding couple, a family went to Platnum and the to grandmas were upgraded, leaving a very long distance in between the rooms. It was a good 5- 7 min walk from the lobby to the beach and between rooms. I would suggest if you really like the beach ( which is beautiful) to upgrade to Platinum. You are right on the beach, have a buffet, private pools, also located to the other pools, and except for the extra restaurants, you have no reason to go to the lobby. It is a beautiful resort and for a wedding they pulled it off so wonderfully without a hitch. The food was very good, but it is very hard to get into the ala carte restaurants. Ithink because it is so large, there is a lot of people. All of the staff were wonderful, and actually very helpful. Grandma who is 93 needed a wheelchair as it was so large, and it was there promptly. Overall I would love to go back.

Room Number:
1253

Arrival:
Feb. 19 - 26.2013

Rooms:
very clean, large and comfortable. Bottle of Teguilla in every room. Stocked the fridge every day. Only problem we had was our keys never seemed to work. We had to get them reprogrammed 6 times during the week.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots of bars, pool bars, swim up bars, beach bar, enough so it wasn't tooo crowded at the bar. At the beach, there was a bar and a grill with hamburgs and hotdogs, and tacos, usually aline up because lots of people on the beach.
Restaurants were awesome, but very hard to get into. We went Itallian one night and couldn't get in untill 9pm. We booked 2 days in advance, thats all you can do. The steak restaurant was amazing, melt in your mouth, only got in because it was arranged ahead of time, welcome dinner for the wedding.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was beautiful, can walk a long way in each direction.
The pools were beautiful, lots of them, and the grounds were amazing!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is a board with all the activities, lots of them, but doesn't tell you where everything is. We found out that most of the things were at the main pool, but that was just luck.
We also had a catamaran rented for a day, and took the bus there about 1 hr. It was very safe and at the marina, people were friendly and just had a great day!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome"

Grand Sunset Princess
User Rating:  Grand Sunset Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Mar 29, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
154 people found this review helpful

This is our second time to this resort and again it was great. We have been to Mexico half donzen other times and this has been our favorite resort. Good food, good entertainment. Will be back.

Room Number:
1168

Arrival:
Flew in with Sunwing. Got to the resort no problems. Fast check in and we made it to our room in about 30 mins.

Rooms:
Very nice and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was great. We didn't have a bad drink the whole week.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice beach but we prefered sitting around the party pool for the entertainment.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing!!!"

Grand Sunset Princess
User Rating:  Grand Sunset Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ashleigh  on Mar 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
179 people found this review helpful

My finace and I stayed here from February 11 to February 18, 2012.
This resort exceeded every expectation we had, especially after all the gossip and news about Mexico in the media right now. We felt so safe, I even walked around by myself without any issues at all.

As for security, this is a great example: We had returned to our room to get ready for dinner thinking we had shut the door; however, we did not. Had a knock at the door about 15 minutes after returning. It was security making sure we kept our door closed. How great is that?! I`ve never had security doing a check that thoroughly.

The safe in the room is a great addition, no additional fee for the safe and if you happen to forget your chosen code, like we did, just call the lobby and they will send someone out to your room in 15 minutes. So quick and effecient. AND it did not cost us any additional funds for unlocking the safe by the staff. Usually at resorts you have to pay to have it unlocked. Just great service.

As for the beverages and food, everything was great. Beverage service at the pool bars were a little slow; however, it was extremely busy, so understandable. And who cares if it is a little slow....you are on vacation, sit back and relax!

The Mexician restaurant was our favourite. Service was amazing and margaritas were the perfect match. Sombreros made for great photo opportunities.

The nightly entertainment was not the best I have seen, but they sure did try which was great. We did however enjoy the entertainment (especially the fire dancing) that took place at the inner court.

We have stayed at Sandals Resorts which are five star plus and this resort really did stand up to those resorts. For the price, it was absolutely amazing.

We are currently planning our wedding at this resort for February 2013. And can`t wait to get there!!

Room Number:
3016

Room Block:
016

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible hotel,service,stolen money,no internet,cheap frozen food"

Grand Sunset Princess
User Rating:  Grand Sunset Princess Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  irene  on Jan 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
192 people found this review helpful

The most horrible experience in my life.Huge territory,a lot of people,they asking 20 doll /day for internet.Drinks are mix water with sugar,after I finish a drink,my tongue change color.Rocky beach,I injured myself ,bleeding,no help from doctor of this huge hotel.My son got poison food,we called for emergency .It took them 4 hours to come to the room.Very rude hotel stuff. All the time they repairing pool sides. Noise of Construction .I found huge roaches in my JUNIOR ROOM. My friends,it just one room with extra coach.Not worth it my money!!!! If you want to bring visitor to your room.Resort asking 70 doll per visitor. Restoration are book.You can't have menu a la cart. BS. Do not go there..Taxi are so expensive. To go to CARMEN (fun town) 45 doll per ride.3 min to town.My friends could not visit me with private car ,only taxis. STAY AWAY from this "good deal"I saw how hotel's security beat hotels guests,because they ignore to pay 75 doll for bed sheets and extra towels. NEVER AGAIN .

Room Number:
3108

Rooms:
You have to ask ,that they clean your room.Lazy mex...

Restaurants and Bars:
frozen food everywhere.Many people got sick from water and food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
repair on the pool,kid,s playground is locked,beach is suck and crowed like sardines

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Mexicans does not no what is massage. A lot of money for not professionalism people

Other Comments:
If you will have problems in the hotel like me.They would not call the police for you to report stolen money or jewelry.CORRUPTION EVERYWHERE.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"SO happy with my stay in mexico grand sunset princess"

Grand Sunset Princess
User Rating:  Grand Sunset Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  charlotte  on Jan 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
292 people found this review helpful

totally awesome the rooms , food ,the staff A1 ,sooo friendly and hard working as soon as we got to the hotel there was a cold drink handed to us ,the fresh clean rooms. well what more can I say I would tell everyone that you have to go and see for yourself , it's worth every dollar .you'll keep going back and never tire of this resort looking forward to going there again

Room Number:
322

Room Block:
3300

Arrival:
10:30 am

Rooms:
very classy clean modern ,maid service excellent girls were so friendly and welcoming.

Restaurants and Bars:
colourful, lively, very clean food & drinks were excellent couldn't ask for better

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very very clean & groomed beautifully

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
went to playa del carmen by taxi really enjoyed it

Other Comments:
this resort is wonderful clean a very pleasant place to stay and lots to do

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Value"

Grand Sunset Princess
User Rating:  Grand Sunset Princess Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gordon  on Jul 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
342 people found this review helpful

I won't be long. We traveled around 6 months ago and it's only now that I'm checking out resorts for our next vacation that I thought I'd share a few random thoughts.

- The entertainment is kinda crappy. They try hard to put on a serious dancing show but it's really not very good. Some people may enjoy it. Personally I prefer the campy animation team shows that occur at other resorts.

- The buffet kinda sucks. You can find some good items here or there. But the food was kinda of "meh". If your considering this place you probably read other reviews that mentioned cold buffet food. True.

- Lot of pools. If you want party pool go to the main middle pool. If you want quiet there are a ton of other choices.

- Platinum package had some nice rooms by the beach and a private lounge with free internet. However, it's then a walk in the evenings as everything(restaurants/bars) is near the main lobby.

- Villa Laguna(my room). Rooms are awesome. Private pool is awesome. Always a chair or palapa. Private bar at the pool. Concierge at the pool was only really useful to book your a la cartes. But it was nice to be able to book the whole week of a la cartes the first day. No internet for Villa Laguna. You had to go to the platinum lounges near the beach. Situated a bit away from the beach but nice and close to all restaurants and bars. Don't expect upgraded service around the resort because you are a villa laguna guest. You get the same service as everyone else.

- Beach was very nice. Lots of room and chairs. In the water it was rocky but more then manageable without water shoes. You can see where the rocks are and avoid them.

- A la cartes were terrific. Miso grillside was great. The pay extra beach club restaurant was included as a villa laguna guest. Nothing super special. Would not return to La Fondue. I don't like seafood so can't comment but here it's good. In order Miso, Italian, French/Beach Club/Mexican(tie), Fondue. We did the grillside at Miso but the menu outside looked good enough I wanted to return for the table menu. Wish I could have tried the grill. If I were to return I'd revisit all the restaurants save the fondue.

- Room service. Tried 3 times. Luke warm or cold when it arrived. Twice it was late night room service after a few(many) drinks so I couldn't care less. But be forewarned.

Other Comments:
Summary: Now I don't want to come off as negative. I'm pointing out the bad and not the good. All in all it's a beautiful resort with lots for everyone. Buffet left something to be desired but we ate at the a la cartes each night so didn't matter much to me.

I'm currently planning another vacation and the GSP is on the list. Yes I would return again. I know that I would have a good time. I'm looking at other resorts to see if there is something better. However, I suspect with the 1300 rooms and inability to fill the place there is great value to be had at the GSP. You can get their top notch room for 500-600 less per week then comparable resorts basic room. If going I wouldn't go less then Platinum or Villa Laguna.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"OMG!!!!!! SIMPLY THE BEST!!!!!!"

Grand Sunset Princess
User Rating:  Grand Sunset Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda  on Apr 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
345 people found this review helpful

Just returned from this amazing place yesterday, and had to write a review. Don't listen to all of the negative comments, go, go, go!!!! I have travelled to Cuba and the DR, and this has been by far the best. We were a group of 11, and everyone had a great time. This resort is simply beautiful. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We can't wait to go back next year, only next time it will be for 2 weeks.

Your Arrival:
We arrived from Halifax at 11am local time. Check in was a breeze. Our rooms were not ready until 3pm, but no problem. We got our braclets on and were free to use everything on the resort. Had some relaxing drinks in the lobby bar, then went and had lunch at the buffet. Explored around some, more drinks, then our room was ready.

Rooms:
We stayed in a junior suite, (room 1163) and it was amazing. Marble everything!!!! So clean, so beautiful!!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was amazing. Lots of different choices. If you couldn't find anything to eat, then you are a very picky eater. We found the food was the best by far. So much to choose from. The bartenders are great, and will do their best to make you anything you want.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is alittle rocky. I had water shoes with me, so it really wasn't a problem. The water is awesome, lots of waves. The waitresses will come around the beach and take your drink order, so you don't have to go stand in the line for one.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't really do any of the activities, just laid around an relaxed. We did hire a private driver to take us around. We went to the Coba. Our driver was so knowledgable and friendly. He took us shopping and sightseeing. Some of our group did the 4x4 excursion. They had a blast.

Other Comments:
Please don't listen to all the negative reviews. This resort is simply the best!!!!!! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Resort in Riviera Maya!!"

Grand Sunset Princess
User Rating:  Grand Sunset Princess Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vincent  on Mar 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
340 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
My family and I got to the resort at around 2 am on Monday due to the fact that we had a night flight from Montreal using Sunwing Airlines. Overall, the flight was very good as usual and it was my first time flying with Sunwing and my family was very pleased!! The hotel lobby was just spectacular. It was very large, high wood ceilings and the hotel had modern finishes. The check in went very well, and the receptionist was very kind upon our arrival.

Rooms:
My family and I stayed at the Jr. Suite room which was amazing and very spacious. We reserved two double beds. Although, we still found that it was tight for four people, so we decided to ask for covers for the sofa. But, very kindly the employee brought us an extra single bed for me. This was a very kind act even though we hadn`t asked for it. The bathroom was very clean, and had excellent modern finishes with granite counter tops and round sinks.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food at this resort was very good and extremely fresh. The buffet for breakfast and lunch was very good and they had a lot of varieties and selection. At night, for supper, my family and I decided to choose the a la carte restaurants. We enjoyed them very much and found that the food was splendid. The fish was amazingly fresh and tender and the italian restaurant was to die for! The resort had 9 a la cartes and they all had an amazing selection. This is the first resort that I went to that had 9 a la carte restaurants. Just Amazing!!!!!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was the best beach I have ever been to in Riviera Maya. If you would walk along the beach to other resorts the beach wasn`t as clear and beautiful (there was a lot more corals and rocks) as the one Sunset Resort had. The water is a beautiful turquoise, light blue colour that becomes darker blue the further you go. It is just spectacular. The beach also had no rocks which was the first time ever in Riviera Maya beaches. This beach is surely the best in riviera maya. The pools were pretty cold, and they weren`t that clean as I thought they would be. But it was good enough. The grounds of this resort was to die for! It was so huge and large and they were still able to keep it clean and new. Although, there is a lot of walking from your room to the beach or to the lobby. The outside of this resort is very nice with the colours that they have chosen for the resort.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Although, we were a family we didn`t get to do many activities. All we know is that there was beach volleyball, picture taking with animals such as iguanas, tucans, and parrots. Also, there was parasailing and boat tours, catamaran from cancun/tulum to isla mujeres and/or cozumel.( lots of infos when you get there about tours). There is also a ferry from playa del carmen port to cozumel.

Other Comments:
The overall of this resort was excellent. The style of this resort was amazing with a lot of work and detail put into it. I would surely recommend this hotel to families with children and couples. I also enjoyed the fact the upon your departure, since you don`t have your room because you checked out, the hotel provided a public room (next to the reception, inside lobby) that people could shower or change before leaving the hotel. It was extremely clean and modern even though it was a public washroom. I found this was an excellent idea because no other resort I went to had this feature.

Service:
The service was fine, although i thought it would be much better. All the other resort I've been to in riviera maya had an excellent service and i thought the same for this one. The people were very friendly but they weren`t very fast and on the go. Sometimes depending on the person they might not have been that nice.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube