Decameron Marazul Reviews

Home page > Colombia > San Andres > San Andres Hotel Index > Decameron Marazul reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

San Andres Hotels with Similar Ranking

Bahia Sardina

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2004

Decameron Aquarium

4.4 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2008

Decameron Maryland

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2009

Blue Cove

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 12, 2012

Decameron Marazul  

Road to San Luis Km 4, San Andres Island, Colombia

"Christmas and New Year at San Andres Island"
Posted by: Dot  on Jan 3, 2013
see all reviews

Decameron Marazul Reviews
Decameron Marazul Pictures and Information
Decameron Marazul San Andres Colombia

#1
of 9 Hotels in San Andres

User rating 3.4

Based on 17 reviews

Decameron Marazul Information


This beautiful first-class resort, far from the hustle and bustle of the town center, but only 10 minutes away from the airport, is hidden between the ocean and the jungle in the area of Orange Hill

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Decameron Marazul Reviews

Decameron Marazul Review: 3.4 of 5 17 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  8
Average
  6
Poor
  3
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (1)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo
With friend
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 10 of 17

"Christmas and New Year at San Andres Island"

Decameron Marazul
User Rating:  Decameron Marazul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dot  on Jan 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
113 people found this review helpful

We went to San Andres for Christmas and New Year 2011,would do it again.
Lovely buffet and beach party with live music and dancing plus champagne at midnight on NY Eve.
Great weather,can get windy ....easy to burn...so make sure to take lotion or buy at the well stocked store.
Need water shoes if going out of the hotel sim area,also available at the store.
I know it is Colombia but the coffee was awful!
Bottled water provided in rooms for teeth cleaning etc
Most staff speak English
Flights now only go from Montreal,we were in the minority as we came from Ontario.
Great staff at all Decameron Hotels on the island
Recommend going to all hotels for lunch or dinner......check menu and book day ahead,we never had a problem getting our requests.Good orientation on arrival
Recommend changing $ at the hotel.Colombian currency not available in banks or airports in Canada.
Great emeralds at good prices,hotel prices were better than in town.
We travelled by cab.....ask cost before entering.......and local bus.
We also went on a Chiva tour ,lots of fun and informative.
Aquarius island .....off Hotel Mazarul is beautiful,very busy on holiday w/e.
Snorkeling is great,we were able to feed and touch the fish and a Manteray!
Water is soooooo blue.
Would not recommend the cigarette boat tour.
Gym at the Mazarul is not good,stick to the daily planned outdoor activities or nightly dancing

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We wanted a clean quiet oceanfront hotel and we got that and more at the Marazul."

Decameron Marazul
User Rating:  Decameron Marazul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  J and R  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2007
220 people found this review helpful

We wanted a clean quiet oceanfront hotel and we got that and more at the Marazul. Visited the San Luis, Aquarium, Delphines but did not get to the Maryland. Isleno is closed and renovations seemed to have come to halt. We lucked out because the week before we arrived there was some rainy days.One of the advantages of staying at the Decameron chain of resorts is the ease of using all of their properties on this beautiful little island..

Rooms:
Clean and spacious and quiet. Our third floor room had a balcony facing the courtyard and as stated in earlier reviews there are no canopies over your balcony on these rooms. No problem for us as the rain we did get was shortlived or latenite.Beds are very hard so if cannot sleep on a firm bed you may be disappointed. Every service on this compact resort only a short walk away. Our shower was large, warm not hot and had good pressure most days. But friends of ours two rooms over had little water pressure most days. Friends at the Aquarium had a gorgeous ocean view from their balcony but our room was two to three times larger and well maintained in comparison.

Food:
Very good selection service and freshness at every meal in the buffet. We tried a la cartes at the Aquarium's seafood, Marazul's steakhouse and the international gourmet and they were all good to excellent. Tried to get into the Thai at the aquarium but they were closed some nights. I think they rotate opening the a la cartes until the high season really gets going.

Beach:
We knew before we got there this was a manmade beach not a long stretch of powdery coral sand and we were not disappointed. If you want a long stretch of beach you should stay downtown. You could swim there but not all that appealing and the water sports equipment had seen better days. One sunfish sailboat was being used most of the time. Kayaks and windsurfers readily available. Rocky Cay Beach Club (operated by Decameron) also offered good swimming and white sandy beach area just a few kilometers to the south of the Marazul. Rocky Cay Beach Club is open to all Decameron patrons but to eat there you need to reserve at your hotel drinks and loungers are provided without reserving ahead. The shuttle goes to and from each resort about three times each day and the schedules are posted in your hotel lobby.

Bars:
Good service with some international brands not watered down like some other destinations. Pier bar is lively and open 24 hours. Liked the fact that tipping on this resort is not expected but appreciated.

Activities:
Mario's shuttle service and snorkel tour is something no one should miss. We also rented a stretch six person golf cart and had a blast cruising around the beautiful coastline. Four hours about $65 US delivered to the Marazul from downtown. Ask big Mike in the lobby to arrange for scooters or golfcart delivery to the Marazul. Natural swimming pool on the west coast was cheap and interesting.

Overall the attraction of this island is its great people and an its stunning ocean that really has seven shades of blue. This island is totally different on the east and west coasts. Shopping downtown is duty free and relatively inexpensive but crossing the streets filled with motorbikes and scooters is noisy and challenging at times. Emeralds, booze and perfume seem to be a popular purchase downtown. If you have respiratory problems you may want to stay away from the downtown fumes because of the exhaust from all the motorbikes. ATMs (4 digit pins) easy to use and offers your best exchange rate. The islanders and the local columbians have their own differences that speak about openly, poverty is not hidden away behind the walls of some mega resort but they are honest friendly and helpful people. Over one hundred thousand residents on this little green island so you will not find a golf course as space is limited. Divers seem to flock here and one told me five two tank dives will run you about $250. Never felt unsafe wandering downtown even in the evenings. Internet service is not available in any of the Decameron resorts but easy to find a I-cafe downtown.

All baggage is checked on the way out of the country at the airport. My wife bought a conch shell from a local girl on the beach and it was confiscated during the baggage check at the airport.

Hope this helps you in your travels to this great little island. I would love to return someday for more than seven days. All baggage is checked on the way out of the country at the airport. My wife bought a conch shell from a local girl on the beach and it was confiscated during the baggage check at the airport.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We sure will return again"

Decameron Marazul
User Rating:  Decameron Marazul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dale & Stella  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2005
209 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Decameron Marazul and this was our first time to a warm place for vacation. Check in was great and the staff was very friendly. Our room faced the pool and was not far from the beach. As far as the food goes the buffet was great for breakfast, but we had a hard time with the rest of the meals. We managed and went to other side of the island to eat at a seafood restaurant. The food was just different and the texture was not what we wre use to. Hey we didn't starve. The pier bar was exellent and Marlyn was always on the ball as far as keeping you in drinks all night. The regae band was nice to listen to also. didn't care to swim in the water at the beach. Too much seaweed for us,but you can go by boat with Mario to aquario cay and snorkle and walk across to hays cay. The water out there is something I have never seen before. Just beautifull. The day where nice and hot all the time. Did not go to the disco and only to the casino once, did not win any thing. The animation group were wonderful. They sure have lot of energy. Never a dull moment with them around. We went down town a couple of times and it was sure different to see how these people live and to go into the shops. There is a great store to buy duty free booze at good prices. We went to the Aquarium resort to eat and look around and it look real nice there. We thought this was a very nice and relaxing vacation and at a good price.

We have spent the last 20 years going to LasVegas once a year and no were else, so this was an eye opener as to what the sunny south has to offer. We sure will return again. The same day we got to SanAndres and called home to our daughter to say things were fine, her and her husband booked the four of us a trip in april 05 to Riu Palace , Cabo San Lucas Mexico This is a 5 star plus and just opened in December 04. Looking forward to that trip. Once again San Andres was just great and we will return. Any one wanting to ask any questions please email at janssdale@sympatico.ca

PS. Dave And Moreen from Calgary who we met there , if you read this email me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will not be returning, not because it was that bad, but because it was only average"

Decameron Marazul
User Rating:  Decameron Marazul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marcus  on Apr 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
216 people found this review helpful

Arrival and Flight:
The flight was fine, but having to go to Montreal to pick up passengers almost doubled the length of our trip and was a real turn-off, we could have flown to Cuba in that extra time. Check in was quick and easy, but do yourself a favour and pay the extra few bucks and pre-book your seats, especially if you're tall like me and want an aisle seat because Air Transat really packs you in, and demanding you to check in 3 hours early is bullshit !!! They feed you on the plane(unlike AC), but it would be nice if it were at least edible, as my egg thingy was revolting...

Rooms:
Our room was clean enough but it was 25+ year old and in need of updating. Our toilet didn't work very well, we never had hot water and the water pressure was a joke if others showered at the same time. You cannot drink the tap water, and that can be a real pain when you're brushing your teeth. Our bed was old, creaky and rock hard and the pillows a waste of time, but at least the sheets were usually clean. The electricity failed a lot while we were there, but it wasn't that big a deal, but if you have a problem with ants, bugs and lizards in your room, be prepared to get creeped out. There are also no elevators anywhere so if you have mobility issues, ask for a ground floor room. Despite all that, it was still okay I guess.

Restaurants:
Overall the food quality was very disappointing, average at best, so stick to things they don't can't screw with, things like fruits, eggs, pancakes, salads etc. The seafood was the most disappointing, they are on island, you'd think they could cook it well, but during our time, that wasn't the case. I tried seafood at every meal and it was overcooked and over salted. You need to book your meals for every meal that's not at the buffet, so remember to do that, pain in the ass that that is. Regulars to the island say the drop in food quality this year is because they have no supplies as the supply boat is on a reef, but that sounds like bullshit. They are cutting costs by lowering the quality of their food and cutting trained staff and that will come back to bite them.

Bars:
The bars are fine, but don't expect too much. The house wines must be very cheap because they are disgusting and almost undrinkable, this despite their close proximity to Chile and Argentina and that is unforgivable. The spirits are the cheapest possible brands, and while it doesn't make much difference in a pina coloda, don't ask for a scotch and soda, stick to the local beer (Aguila) and Bloody Mary's.

Beach and Pools:
No complaints here, very clean, very nice, free kayaks to use, free windsurfing stuff, but be sure to use water shoes

Grounds:
Same as the pool, very clean, very nice, well maintained

Activities and Entertainment:
It's the same usual lame stuff we're all done before, so you take it for what it is. The disco is dud, but the who goes there anyway?. Internet is now in the hotel itself, but there is no wireless networks for my IPhone to access.

Tours:
You have to do the Zip line, it's great fun and only about $20.00 plus taxis, and you should swim with the rays, we loved that, most of the other tours and things didn't interest us much.

Departure and Check Out:
Very quick and easy, you can tell they do this a lot, but we cautious of the cabbies, they think nothing of screwing you.

Conclusion:
Overall, we would say it was 6 out of 10, average, and anyone who gives them even 3 stars is crazy. The food was average, the room was average, the wines average and the drinks average. We will not be returning, not because it was that bad, but because it was only average, and there are lots of other places to see rather then go back there again.

We might go back if we knew a few things had changed:

1. Bring back the resort shuttle. We ended up spending another $100.00US in cabs and buses and raises the total cost of this trip to the same as Mexico would have been. It's a small thing you might think, but it was a big thing when there trying to get around a strange place at night and cutting it is a stupid idea.

2. Raise the quality of your food and spirits. I know it costs more, but we paid $2500 to visit and we will not be back because of the quality, we can go to back to Cuba for the same money and get FAR better food and drinks. We know they have cost issues, but they need to do better to compete for our money and get us back.

3. Update the resorts, especially the Marazul. The place is 25+ yrs old and it has barely been touched, and that's not good enough anymore when Mexico and Cuba have new places that are aggressively chasing my money with newer hotels and facilities.

4. Get some infrastructure!!. I know this a national thing, but getting CO2 poisoning from my cabs and buses is hardly an incentive to come back.

One final note is that we were happy to be ourselves and be openly "out" in public, and that's not always the case, but even with that, they will have to do better with everything else if they want us, and our money back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Decent service"

Decameron Marazul
User Rating:  Decameron Marazul Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Feb 1, 2009  >  9 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
214 people found this review helpful

Like everyone says, food is great, decent service, decent and clean rooms, nothing extraordinarily fancy. Beautiful island and people. You should note, however, that the free shuttle service between the resorts has been cancelled. Our party of six found it a bit of a pain to have to rent two taxis, although we found ways to get van service and used the local bus into town. Probably spent about $100 USD extra on taxis as a result.

Very windy, not quite prepared for that. Should have taken one more pair of summer pants for cooler evenings.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We wouldn't go back"

Decameron Marazul
User Rating:  Decameron Marazul Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Liz & Mitch  on Nov 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
230 people found this review helpful

We had wanted to go to San Andreas for many years but always delayed because it was Thursday to Thursday. When we arrived we were suprised to see the tour operators piling people into taxi cabs. 4 prople to every cab plus all your luggage. Good thing the island is small and the ride was not very long.

We picked Marazul as it was suppose to be the best resort. The beach was the worst of all the 5 Decamerons it looks good in pictures but is really like a swamp. You could take the shuttle boat out to the little island every morning for free but had to get in line by 7:30 to get on it (sign up office opened at 8:00) To book an a la carte you also had to get up and wait in line for 1/2 hour or more. The best beach was at the resort that was closed Islano. The second best beach was San Luis, but there are lots of rocks and a drop off so be careful if your not a strong swimmer. Highly recommend water shoes but if you forget they sell them for reasonably cheap. The best place to swim in San Andreas was at the natural pool $1.00 to get in and you could stay all day. They rent life jackets if you can't swim. It is 5 meters deep but crystal clear. Take an under water camera you will get the most amazing pictures, they give you bread to feed the fish and there are lots of them.

We rented a scooter for the day $25.00 plus gas (4.00) and we went around the entire island and saw all the resorts, it was a fun day and a great experience. It's very safe and you have nothing to worry about. It's hard to get lost as one road goes around the whole island. The city is a busier and you have to be more careful. Shopping is ok, you can get some things for a great price and other things not so much. I got nike shocks for $15.00 each, I lucked out as they only had small sizes 5 1/2 & 6.

The food at our resort was good you could always find something to eat. You would have to be really picky to not eat. San Luis had much better selection and food at their resort. We spent more time there because their beach and food was so much better.

The shuttle that use to run between all the resorts is no longer working. Don't take a taxi they cost an average of $5.00 to $10.00 per ride. Take the local bus, $.50 and its safe. We took the bus everyday to get to a better beach.

Overall the island was nice the people were friendly, food was good but we wouldn't go back. We didn't think it was worth the extra 2 days off you need.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food quality was as excellent"

Decameron Marazul
User Rating:  Decameron Marazul Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Marlene  on Nov 1, 2008  >  9 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2008
223 people found this review helpful

Myself and 4 friends were on the first flight into San Andres. After a 30 minute delay on Air Transat to fix a minor problem, we were flying the friendly skys by 9:50 a.m. We were served a snack and not breakfast. It was a cardboard-tasting pizza but not having only coffee for breakfast, it helped stop the stomach grumbles. Note for next time to self - eat breakfast at the airport before boarding.

Air Transat didn't have enough visitor visas to pass out to all the passengers so they were told they would be OK without one. Standing in line at Customs, some people behind me got through without it. I heard from someone else that Canadians weren't required to fill out a visa - new legislation, apparently. Time will tell if that is truth or myth.

We quickly got through customs and our taxis whisked us to the Marazul where dancers and complimentary drinks welcomed the first Nolitours/Air Transat guests for the 2008/09 season. This was our first time at the Marazul (stayed at San Luis in 2007). I was assigned Room 311, which is the building to the left of reception and behind the buffet.....no good views of anything but it was quiet. The resort is small so it takes just a few minutes to get anywhere.

We arrived after lunch but the snack bar was open serving chicken, chips, burgers, hot dogs and salad. It didn't take long to get our bearings around the grounds. The next morning, I was able to book our first a la carte meal between 7 and 10 a.m. It was busy with weekenders flying in from Colombia and other parts of Central and South America so there wasn't much to choose from if you arrived to book just a few minutes after 7 a.m., as one Colombian would reserve for a dozen people. That issue was solved by Monday when the weekenders left. To go on Mario's shuttle to Acquario and Haynes Cay, the sign up sheet was at the Activities/Towel hut between 8 - 9 a.m. each morning. Again, it was difficult to get a spot on Saturday/Sunday but when the mainlanders left, it was no problem getting the shuttle Monday to Friday at 9:15, 10:45, 11:00 or 12:00. Mario's last run back to the Marazul was at 1:30. For those who know Mario, he had an exhausting week from working and dealing with an electrical fire in his house. All is fixed but it was a worrisome few days for him and his family. No one was injured, thank goodness. The fire broke out when they weren't home but neighbours spotted it early on.

Continued:
With no Decameron complimentary shuttles provided between the resorts now, we found it very easy to catch the public buses that run every 7 minutes by any given spot. The price is 1100 pesos; the drivers no longer can accept American dollars. I got quite used to taking the bus into the city central or out to the San Luis. They stop running at 8 pm and then the taxi prices go higher than in the daytime. A taxi from the Marazul to San Luis was $10 for up to 6 people in a van after an a la carte supper. During the day, we taxi'd into the city from the Marazul for $5.00 for 5 people. At night after an a la carte supper at the Aquarium, we couldn't get a taxi back to the Marazul for less than $15 at 10 p.m.. I suppose we could have walked down the street and tried to negotiate a better price from a taxi driver not sitting in front of the Aquarium but we didn't bother to do that.

The food quality was as excellent at all the Decameron hotels as the first time I visited and the red wine from Argentina that was served at all the Decameron restaurants was very good. The white wine was a bit too dry for my liking. I was disappointed in the instant potatoes they used at the Seafood a la carte (Aquarium) and Italian a la carte (San Luis) but everything else was wonderful.

There is a Canadian named Lorraine that teaches English as a Second Language on the island. English to Spanish dictionaries are in great demand and I will be on the look out for them as I save for my next visit. Meanwhile, one of the guards at the entrance to the Marazul was very appreciative of some magazines I had brought down; he was taking lessons and any english book, magazine or teaching tool is welcomed. It seems all the islanders know or have heard of Lorraine, the English teacher on the island.

A few of us were interviewed by the local TV crew one day as we came out of the sea from snorkeling on the San Luis beach. They asked us to tell their viewers what we liked about San Andres. Of course, everyone said how beautiful it was. The TV crew were at the airport as we were leaving and the second flight came in, so the Canadians were made to feel very welcome on the island.

There was one incident near the end of the week when a guest from the Marazul lost a gold necklace in a scooter drive-by snatch and grab as she walked across the street a block back from the boardwalk near the large duty free stores. It was at noon, just as the stores were closing for lunch siesta. The police were very quick to respond and the lady spent the rest of the afternoon riding in a police van as they stopped all the red scooters they came across. Then she spend a lot of time at the police station trying to identify the thief in pictures, drawing pictures of her unique piece of jewelry. Petty crime does exist so please exercise caution when you are walking on the streets of San Andres and wearing jewelry that would be attractive to these hooligans.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were sorry to leave and hope to return some day to this small piece of paradise"

Decameron Marazul
User Rating:  Decameron Marazul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dale  on Mar 1, 2008  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
209 people found this review helpful

We are 3 couples in our mid 40's to early 50's.....we have travelled togethe to Mexico, Cuba and Dominican in the past and were looking for something different. SAI delivered!.

The Marazul is a very pretty resort about 128 rooms. We emailed the resort a few days ahead and requested 3rd floor in the newer building with king size beds close to each other.....we got exactly what we asked for! Our room had an amazing view of the ocean and pier bar.

We arrived in SAI and were very quickly ushered thru customs and out to awaiting cabs. (they do rush you into the cabs but don't panic they know what they are doing)....4 to a cab so two couples in one and one couple in another. They put another couple going to the Marazul in their cab. Luggage is put in the trunk with bungie cords and you would swear at the speed and scary way they drive your luggage would end up all over the road before you got there, but all was well.

We arrived at the resort at about noon and were given our bracelets and were allowed to keep our luggage in a secure room where the Nolitours rep is. We were told to come back around 2:00 to check to see if rooms were ready. Off for a little tour of the resort and the pier bar......This is such a fun place to hang out either day or night. You meet the best people and the bar tenders are a blast, especially Marly who is fantastic.

We spent alot of time around the pier bar. You meet alot of interesting people, mostly Canadians and Columbian mainlanders.

We did get our rooms at 2:00 and we were very please with the size of the rooms and how clean they were.....we had a king size bed a table and two chairs and a couch....nice balcony. Spent the rest of the day just checking out the place, ate at the buffets that were surprisingly good all week, checked out the pool, beach and the pier bar again! We did eat at 3 different a-la-cartes and they were all very good, steak's were cooked as asked, seafood was very delicious and past was so yummy (steak house at Marazul, seafood at Aquarium and Caravelle at Marazul)

Shopping etc.:
We went to town one day and wondered the shops, none of us are much for dutie free shops with stuff we can buy in Canada so were happier with some of the smaller local shops both in town and outside of town that had local crafts etc.

If you are into Emeralds they have beautiful rings, bracelets, etc. but be careful where you buy. Check out the "big Juice" website on SAI and you will find all the information you need about where to buy Emeralds.

We spent one afternoon and an evening at the San Luis....great party atmosphere at night, nice beach and there are a couple of venders on the beach. I bought a beautiful hand carved mask, very large for $40.....

We hired a cabby (Raymond who parks at the San Luis who was full of information and alot of fun) for an afternoon and he took us on a tour of pretty well the whole island....lots of refreshment stops, blow hole, baptist church, and we stopped at the Isleno for drinks....(closed for renos but serves lunch and drinks to Decameron clients.)....I would love to try out this resort next time as it is right on the most beautiful beach....just needs a beach bar. We walked to Rocky Cay for a day and met the most interesting person who lives out on the little island with his dog and a hammock....great snorkelling again and a really good lunch(drinks and food included for Decameron guests) One of our best days was the snorkel tour with Mario and his wife.....what a day. They park right at the Marazul pier and you go out for over 2 hours....snorkel for over an hour and see more fish, coral, sea creatures than I have ever seen snorkelling! and then they take you to see and feed and touch the sting rays. You get out of the boat and you can actually hold them. They are very calm and will swim between your legs if you stand still.....Just amazing!! Make sure you get his CD with pictures of you and your group snorkelling....fantastic....

We spent another afternoon on Aquaro Cay with the Big Juice crew and again snorkelled, drank more and met some great people. Bibi's place is a small restaurant on the Cay that serves fish about as fresh as you can get it......we watched the guy fishing, then clean the fish then bring to the kitchen.....

We went kayaking in the mangroves beside the Marazul (used free kayaks at the resort) One week was just not enought to enjoy this island. The people that live there are the friendliest people you will meet anywhere.

The island is only about 15 miles by 5 miles so it is very small but it just seems so large with culture and life that you are sure that you missed something you would want to see next time.

If you are used to 5* accomodations and are expecting that, SAI is not for you....The Marazul is the nicest in presentation but you won't find the miles of marblel or meandering pools or pool/beach boys that bring you drinks but what you will find is hot weather, great people, amazing snorkelling, very clean accomodations and fabulous food......

We were sorry to leave and hope to return some day to this small piece of paradise.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will we go back to Marazul"

Decameron Marazul
User Rating:  Decameron Marazul Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brad  on Dec 1, 2007  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2007
220 people found this review helpful

We recently enjoyed the first 2 weeks of December in San Andres. The first week we were at the Marazul. We had incredible meals, and were treated so well. The rooms were great and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I can't see anyone not enjoying them selves. We ate dinner at all the resorts and couldn't believe the great meals and fantastic presentation of each meal. Marley at the Pier bar is one of those people that goes out of her way to make you feel great and to have a great time.

Unfortunately we booked last minute and the Marazul was booked up for our 2nd week. We were moved down to the San Luis. The food at the San Luis was very good. Even at times better than the Marazul. Unfortunately the rooms at the San Luis reminded me of a old cabin. What dumpy rooms. Air Conditioner didn't work. They sent some one up twice to fix the air conditioner, but it was old and still worked like crap. We tried to get moved to any one of the other resorts but they said they were full.

Will we go back to San Andres? definitely! but we will be booking early so we can stay at the Marazul.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very nice and relaxing vacation and at a good price."

Decameron Marazul
User Rating:  Decameron Marazul Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Dale & Stella from Wallaceburg, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2007
244 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Decameron Marazul and this was our first time to a warm place for vacation. Check in was great and the staff was very friendly. Our room faced the pool and was not far from the beach. As far as the food goes the buffet was great for breakfast, but we had a hard time with the rest of the meals. We managed and went to other side of the island to eat at a seafood restaurant. The food was just different and the texture was not what we wre use to. Hey we didn't starve. The pier bar was exellent and Marlyn was always on the ball as far as keeping you in drinks all night. The regae band was nice to listen to also. didn't care to swim in the water at the beach. Too much seaweed for us,but you can go by boat with Mario to aquario cay and snorkle and walk across to hays cay. The water out there is something I have never seen before. Just beautifull. The day where nice and hot all the time. Did not go to the disco and only to the casino once, did not win any thing. The animation group were wonderful. They sure have lot of energy. Never a dull moment with them around. We went down town a couple of times and it was sure different to see how these people live and to go into the shops. There is a great store to buy duty free booze at good prices. We went to the Aquarium resort to eat and look around and it look real nice there. We thought this was a very nice and relaxing vacation and at a good price.

We have spent the last 20 years going to LasVegas once a year and no were else, so this was an eye opener as to what the sunny south has to offer. We sure will return again. The same day we got to SanAndres and called home to our daughter to say things were fine, her and her husband booked the four of us a trip in april 05 to Riu Palace , Cabo San Lucas Mexico This is a 5 star plus and just opened in December 04. Looking forward to that trip. Once again San Andres was just great and we will return. Any one wanting to ask any questions please email at janssdale@sympatico.ca

PS. Dave And Moreen from Calgary who we met there , if you read this email me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube