Islazul Costa Morena Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Islazul Costa Morena reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Santiago de Cuba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Las Americas

4.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 5, 2014

Cubanacan Versalles

4.3 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 4, 2014

Encanto San Basilio

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales

3.8 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 11, 2014

Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Club Bucanero

3.4 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 5, 2012

Islazul Costa Morena  

Carretera de Baconao, km. 32, Sigua, Baconao, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba

"good for the price"
Posted by: damon on Jun 24, 2014
see all reviews

Islazul Costa Morena Reviews
Islazul Costa Morena Pictures and Information
Islazul Costa Morena Santiago de Cuba Cuba

#12
of 13 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba

User rating 2.5

Based on 2 reviews

Islazul Costa Morena Information


Just 30 minutes from the city of Santiago de Cuba, in the Biosphere Reserve of Baconao Natural Park, the Costa Morena captivates with its exceptional location and conditions. It is an ideal place to relax by the Caribbean Sea which is calm and placid here.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Islazul Costa Morena Reviews

Islazul Costa Morena Review: 2.5 of 5 2 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (2)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (2)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 2 of 2

"good for the price"

Islazul Costa Morena
User Rating:  Islazul Costa Morena Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  damon  on Jun 24, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
16 people found this review helpful

It is not all that but it is good for the price you are paying. It is far from the airport with close to one hour drive to the hotel from the airport. Just like any Cuban hotel, check in was not a bore and it was smooth. I had problem with changing money because there wasnít enough as the front desk always ran out of money to change for you so you should do that at the airport. The rooms are not that great at least mine didnít have a wardrobe or closet and I have been to smaller hotels than this in Cuba and there had closets. The room was clean and the bathroom functioned well except I had problem with flushing the toilet but they sent a repair man who fixed it almost immediately. There was hot water supply for me in the first few days and after that, it usually comes and goes and I stayed here for five days. The sheets are clean and other amenities worked fine. The food is great, good variety and the staff too was nice to me, I can honestly say the food is good by Cuban standard. The staff was nice, always smiling and very friendly; they made sure that any complain you had was taken care of. The price for staying here is not expensive at all which is why I said the price is good for the value so basically, you get what you paid for. I will come back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Nice Time in Costa Morena"

Islazul Costa Morena
User Rating:  Islazul Costa Morena Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tim  on Mar 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
267 people found this review helpful

This was the second time that I visited this resort; the last time was two years ago. I wrote a review at that time but a lot of reviews seem to have disappeared.
The short review is that the weather is 5-star, the price is cheap and the hotel is 2-star.
Nevertheless, it is clean and comfortable if you don't mind minor areas of low quality. The food is basic but adequate. I liked breakfast the best. The restaurant now has an open air feeling as they removed the south and north windows.
The "beach" front has been fixed after the hurricane. The beach is actually a long cement area with a bar at the west end. It is not used much so it is easy to get a place to rest. The bar is fun with my buddy Dato and gang. The waves crash onto the reef which is only 40 yards out but it is very mesmerising to watch. The fellow who ran the water craft is no longer there so only swimming is useful although the water is only a couple of feet deep in the "natural pool".
It reminds me that the contract for the bikes is not well kept either and some guests would horde whatever bikes worked.
To me, there are two attractions here. The weather cannot be beat as it was sunny 13 of 14 days and over 30C. It can be windy but normally has fairly low humidity. The other attraction is the walking one can do into and around the mountains. For 13 days I would hike 13 km per day which is not everyone's cup of tea. You can take a bus to Baconao for 1 peso and walk back, for example; there are nice views along the way if you poke your nose towards the coast.
The staff were very nice and remembered me. They work pretty hard and appreciate you. They don't demand tips but, of course, appreciate them. Given that the cost of the trip is a bargain then it is easy to tip.
The quality of the evening entertainment seems to have gone down. There used to be very good shows there from the Santiago talent pool but now there are small troups doing the shows.
The unfortunate thing is that dirty old and even young men tend to come for the vacarious pleasures. I find it to be disgusting in this day and age.
Many of the guests leave garbage and cigarette butts everywhere. A gang from Barrie were disruptive to many guests. Of course, they would be the ones to complain.
However, you will meet nice people there. I appreciated Bob giving me a couple of books to read. Josephina and Lucy were fun to meet. Josephina sure liked the Cuban people and tried to help the extremely poor people as much as she could. Perpetual Daniel had his 80th birthday. One needs some perspective in Cuba. I felt bad that there seemed to be more begging outside of the resort.

Room Number:
520

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube