Colony Bay Resort Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Colony Bay Resort  

Uvero Alto - Punta Cana. Dominican Republic

"Beautiful."
Posted by: Kathy and Kevin from St. John's, Newfoundland on Mar 1, 2009
see all reviews

Colony Bay Resort Reviews
Colony Bay Resort Pictures and Information
Colony Bay Resort Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#46
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.0

Based on 3 reviews

Colony Bay Resort Information


The Colony Bay Resort, All Inclusive Resort” in Punta Cana, territory that offers amazing natural beauties, attractions and magnificent scenes, ideal goal for who is in the search of an intact and natural place surrounded from splendid beaches, exuberant tropical coconut palms and clear turquoise water…

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Colony Bay Resort Reviews

Colony Bay Resort Review: 3.0 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business
Leisure
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 3 of 3

"Beautiful."

Colony Bay Resort
User Rating:  Colony Bay Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy and Kevin from St. John's, Newfoundland  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
730 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 27 - March 6
Our arrival at the resort was wonderful - we were greeted with welcome drinks and our room was arranged and check in went smoothly and the bell boy carried our luggage to our room and gave us a quick tour of the resort restaruants and along with a map - the staff were very friendly.

Rooms
Our room was perfect. It had a ceiling fan along with air conditioning, the room had a patio and the view to the garden was fabulous, the room is new and clean as a pin. They even had cove moldings. It was very attractive and it came with a fridge replenished with beer, water and soft drinks daily. There was safe which was included in the all inclusive price, which is a plus because normally they charge a fee to rent a safe for your stay.

Restaurants and Bars
Restaurants are beautiful - very attractive - the food was good, but it seem to be the same almost every day - ish, beef, pork, however, they did have chicken on the menu two nights. There was a pizza place where you could get a pizza everyday and that was really good. The bars were good, there were three - one in the lobby which is a place to go after supper and they have a lady singer come in a sing for an hour or so each evening until the show started and Lewis the bar tender could certainly perform when it came to dancing and juggling the drinks her prepared, Lewis is a really friendly outgoing man...he always had a smile and was eager to serve. There was a swim up bar by the pool and it was great the guy on the bar was so sweet, he made all sorts of drinks and danced with the beat of the music from the amination team. There was a third bar in the Sports Bar area - we never really visited this bar - most of the young tourist in the 20's went there to play a game of pool etc. but it also looked like everyone who were hanging out in there were having a lot of fun.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is terrific - the best we've seen - we have visited the Dominican Republic for 10 years in a row and this is by far the nicest - longest beach. The pool is very clean and attractive the grounds are immaculate - with flamingo, peacocks, and ducks - everone were enjoying feeding them and taking pictures. They were one of the nicest part of the ground area.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We enjoyed the amination team - we learned the dances of the dominican and we particiated in the exercise fun they had in the pool area. We went to the shows ever night and the aminiation team were fabulous. They interacted with everyone and got everyone involved in dancing and enjoying themselves. We really enjoyed our 7 night stay with this resort. There was lots to do and see - the team even played bingo and gave away bottles of liquor as prizes....fun, fun, fun. We played horse shoe games on the beach along with volleyball - they really made every game enjoyable.

Other Comments:
This is a new resort - only about a year old and it is beautiful, we couldn't believe all the marble and cermanic tiles - they have wonderful furniture in the loby area and there is lots of room for all to sit and enjoy all the entertainment that is offer nightly. I liked the resort because if you want to go and enjoy yourself - there is always something to do - and if you just wanted to turn in early - your rooms were sound proof and you could get a good night sleep without loud noises from the shows etc. This was a plus for me and my husband. This resort is one that we will certainly return to. We met many wondeful people from England, Ontario, New Zeland, Germany and Italy. The resort has many lounge chairs on the beach and huts to protect you from the sun if you want to have a nap. They even have a big apple shaped wicker lounger in the lobby that many take pictures in - but I even seen one guy sleeping in it - because it is so comfy. If you want a nice vacation - go to this resort you won't be sorry. Just up the beach past the next resort and through the fench is a hut and a mini mall to shop in. We really enjoyed our 7 night stay and wished we had booked for the 14 nights, but because we read some ad reviews we were worried - people remember you are in the Dominican not L.A, or New York....we went for the sun.....and got much more, we loved the resort and made lots of friends and had lots of fun and relaxation ! Go to the Colony Bay - We really enjoyed our stay ! Thanks Colony Bay Resort !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort is maybe a 3 with a generous spirit."

Colony Bay Resort
User Rating:  Colony Bay Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alice from Whitchurch/Stouffville, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
760 people found this review helpful

Rooms:
First room 2l09 - pleasant, clean acceptable balcony, first couple of days ...fine than four day of water raining from upstair through the ceiling, so much water when towels were put on floor to sop it up they were as if they had just been removed from the wash and the spin cycle didn't work...maintenance tried 3 times to fix before we moved to 3105...during the night I woke up to use the bathroom and the bathroom door was locked...they have locking systems when the door is closed the lock engages...had to get front desk to come and open...the phone worked in this room..it didn't in building 2.

Restaurants and Bars:
...the open aire buffet was a lovely venue with views of the ocean and gentle breezes, the serving stall was great, but the food was over cooked, hot veg were cold, chicken good, but the same thing every day lunch and supper, yes, they did serve bacon along side the cold scrambled eggs some mornings, ran out of butter for toast...coffee great, ice cream fabulous also most desserts.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
...wonderfull beach, kept clean, rough seas during our stay which required caution but much safer than Xtapia waters

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
..what activities, aside from pool exercise, beach volleyball, nothing really...we had 3 rain days and the only activities was sitting up to the bar...they could certainly benefit from maybe bingo, movies..even something as basic as a book exchangew shelf, doesn't cost anything. Other Comments:

...most of the common wash rooms didnot have locks or toilet paper, if they had toilet paper it was in a cubicle that didn't have a lock and no hand towel (paper) until the 2nd week in any of the washrooms. This resort is maybe a 3 with a generous spirit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We did have a restful vacation."

Colony Bay Resort
User Rating:  Colony Bay Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Casey from New Brunswick, Canada  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
775 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 2009 We couldn't check in until 3 p.m. and arrived at 11 a.m. No biggie, but we were a bit pooped. Staff was very friendly.

Rooms:
Rooms are much like a Holiday Inn. Clean. If you're used to a soft bed, you may find these hard. The mini bar was a bit bare, 2 pop, 2 water, 2 beer. They use solar heating, so we didn't have hot water until late afternoon. Didn't bother us, but others were pretty pissed about that. They seemed to be understaffed, and they really did their best to accommodate everyone as best they could.

Restaurants and Bars:
hmmm...well the food was interesting. The Italian restaurant was actually the pizza and ice cream bar during the day, the food was edible. Again, the staff was great and it's not like we were going to starve. I did need imodium on this trip though. The breakfast was the best meal. The bread was good. The steak restaurant was good. The main bar was fun to hang out around. The bartenders were fun, have to say you want rum though or they made us virgin pina coladas. Red wine was good in the restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was nice, they kept it cleaned up in front of the resort but if you walked any direction either way it was littered with garbage up high where the grass started. Pool was nice too, the dancers worked tirelessly to get us up for water aerobics and other stuff. The water was pretty rough so we didn't go swimming much. It was a bit breezy but whatever, it was minus 30 when we left N.B.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the shopping excursion for 65 U.S. and it was nice because we did more than shop. Saw a cigar making facility, a rum facility, and a natural cave which was cool. However, when we got back to the resort around 4 p.m. there were vendors set up selling stuff we bought on the excursion. So, we were kinda miffed that our Sunquest rep (Steve) didn't just tell us that in the beginning.

Other Comments:
It was a great getaway for us. We were looking for a smaller resort minus the drunken fools for a relaxing, restful vacation. Now, if anyone is thinking of going here for the Casino, don't because it's not built yet. They have a small room in the lobby with a couple slot machines, roulette table etc. but the casino itself is not built. There weren't many who could speak English, but apparently it had just changed hands and they put together the staff quickly. I'm sure it will get better. I probably wouldn't book this resort again, but the staff really was great and we did have a restful vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube