Dreams Palm Beach Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Dreams Palm Beach  

Cabeza de Toro; P. O. Box 68; Higuey, Dominican Republic

"Not worth what we paid"
Posted by: Mick and Sylvia on Nov 5, 2012
see all reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews
Dreams Palm Beach Pictures and Information
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#12
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 39 reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Information


Dreams Palm Beach, situated on the sunny east coast of the Dominican Republic, an idyllic haven for singles, couples and families. It is a nice relaxing fully integrated world of magnificent beaches, a majestic turquoise sea and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as an honored guest with all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury - where everything is included.

Dreams Palm Beach official website
http://www.dreamsresorts.com/drepb/

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.4 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  12
Average
  4
Poor
  5
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Leisure (18)
Wedding (3)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
1 - 10 of 39

"Not worth what we paid"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mick and Sylvia  on Nov 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Wedding | With Group
292 people found this review helpful

First time in DR, visited last week of October 2012. Resort location is pretty isolated, no way to visit other resorts by foot for a look around if you wanted to. Rooms are tired and small, basically a motel room, bathrooms real tired,no privacy in the regular "deluxe tropical view" rooms only a swinging glass door between you and your business, with anyone else in the room. Preferred club suites not bad, basically 2 "deluxe" rooms made into one, really nothing special, just bigger and some bathroom privacy, we looked at one and they wanted another $150 a night, negotiable, but we didn't bother haggling to spend even more. We paid $2800 for the two of us for a "deluxe tropical view" room and as far as we are concerned this resort did not live up to its 5 star class or its trademarked "slogan" of "unlimited-luxury", nothing luxurious about this place at all as far as the "regular" rooms go and it was supposedly a group rate as they booked 15 rooms for this wedding. We were moved once we were so disappointed, but second room was more or less the same, although the air conditioning didn't work as well in the second room, it never shut off the entire week and room hovered between 23C and 26C and was very humid in rooms, nothing dried. Fortunately there was a ceiling fan that made it feel a little cooler.
food was ok, no need for reservations at al a carte's which is a good thing and no problem getting in although it was not busy at this resort while we were there. grounds were nice, beach was nice for first 2 days but sea got rough and there was lots of seaweed on beach and in water rest of week,not hotels fault but I guess you have to expect that in autumn in DR. not a real good snorkeling place if you don't want to take a "tour", no rock or coral structures reasonably close to shore or within the swimming area. Outside of swimming area you are likely to be hit by a boat, not sure why these local guys run their boats so close to shore. Also, lots of "sharks" on the beach selling all the usual stuff, tours, souvenirs, etc.... there are only a couple other places nearby so you see them many times a day. kinda annoying.
Staff was pretty good, but not 5 star good. I spent over $150 in tips not including the maid but didn't seem to make a difference, we waited for everything we asked for which wasn't much.
Bottom line, probably won't be going back to this resort.

Room Number:
9320 & 2201

Room Block:
bldg 9 & 2

Arrival:
no problems with checkin, close to airport, 15-20mins but isolated location.

Rooms:
don't even bother with the "deluxe tropical view" rooms, unless you can get one a lot cheaper than our travel agent did, worth maybe $1500 for a week for two.

Restaurants and Bars:
only 2 bars there and a disco and a small casino. Restaurants were good for the most part. buffet was acceptable for the Caribbean.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach as you would expect, except for the seaweed, pools good, grounds good.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good activities if you wanted to get involved.

Other Comments:
we feel we just paid way too much for this place, DID WE??? my wife actually has a lot more complaints but I feel she's just being too fussy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not Bad but Not Good Either"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Billy  on Aug 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
380 people found this review helpful

My wife and I came to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana for our honeymoon. The resort is beautiful, however, we were not impressed with the service. To start our room was not ready when we got there. In addition, the first thing they tried to do was up sell us on a room, which kind of defeats the purpose of all inclusive. The staff was not friendly and did not by any means go out of their way to make us feel welcome. Perhaps it is the language barrier, but we have been to mutliple places where English is not the native language and never had this type of experience anywhere else. Another thing we did not like was they allow outside vendors to come in and barder inside the resort. They were very aggressive and would not take no for an answer, very annoying. Considering that we mainly wanted to relax on our honeymoon we had an enjoyable experience overall, but we will not be coming back to this resort. We spoke to others who have stayed at other all inclusive resorts like sandals and they say the service their blows this service away. Just thought I would share our experience in hopes to give others a better perspective because all the reviews we read about Dreams Palms Beach were all very good and we were disappointed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dishonesty-Poor front desk service. NOT RECOMMENDED"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter  on Apr 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
506 people found this review helpful

We booked a family get together for a group of 12. We had asked to be in the same building but because they were full they couldn't help. O.K. I understand.

We arrived 4 days earlier than the rest of our group. We found the taxi service at the airport eficient but didn't appreciate being called gringos and other rude comments in Spanish. (Perhaps they should consider other people in the world are also fluent in Spanish although from N. America). Interestingly we tried booking a taxi online in order to save time and were told the taxi fee was $35. We had noticed that someone had previously shared a photo showing the rate to be $30. to our hotel. We were told it was an error. Bottom line get your taxi at the airport, rates are posted, service is fast.
Arrived at the hotel, check in was fast, pleasent. Although for the next three days we were awakened by the VIP service to pick up our welcome package. The welcome pkg is just a scam for casino, meals etc. Be carefull with these.
We wanted to change our room and was told to come back the next day. We did so and (Raoul?) blocked a room for us for the following day. We went back the following day and were told there were no rooms as they were sold out and no record of this being booked. Raoul was off for the day so we couldn't speak with him. Finally we asked to speak with the manager De Jesus. He initially stated they were booked and could not help us. My wife told him the room number we were told was booked and someone wasn't telling the truth. De Jesus RUDELY then said the room was blocked for us. He was obviously not happy. I saw him later and smiled and said Ola and he just nodded, still very angry.
Food in the Mexican restaurant is terrible. Italian bad, we ended up at the buffett later as were other people we had seen in the Italian restaurant who couldn't eat the Italian food either. Japanese was good but hard to book. Seaside was good. Buffett was always good. Bar staff were very nice and efficient and entertainment folks were great. Weather was beautifull the first few days and the beach is great.
Bring bug spray for evenings.

Room Number:
6203

Room Block:
none

Arrival:
Quick, fast check in.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean. Good room service. In need of updating, refreshing.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars in resort are all closed by midinight. If you want something after that you ahve to go to the casino. First resort I have ever seen that.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great beach, pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Average.

Other Comments:
I hate to be lied to and found the ront desk people to be the worse. On Sunday msyteriously around check out times our keys stopped working. I went to the front desk thinking the key I had just losts it's programming. They confirmed our check out was for the next day and I was quickly on my way. Back at our rook we found out the second key didn't work. I trudged back to the front desk and a bus had arrived with people lined up. I asked the concierge and then the oterh front desk person if they could just "zap" my card. I was diercted to the back of the line. After 45 minutes I again confirmed by check out time and had the key re-programmed. I told thefront desk person they must have made a mistake. I was told it was our fault and we likely had the keys next to a cell phone or camera !! Strange, the key was always in my shorts side pocket and no cell phone or key was anywehre near it. Starnge that both keys quit at exactly the same time as checkout time. When I mentioned this to the front desk person he stated again they hadn't made a mistake and it was our fault. RIGHT !!! Again, so much for honesty.

Don't Stay Here !!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't go it is not a good dream!"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  judi  on Dec 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
822 people found this review helpful

Everyone in the party was SICK. Please read the high risk for the DR on the CDC site USA. The resort offered no assistance in obtaining the needed care once ill--you are one your own in a third world country with a language barrier. My son ended up in the hospital for 2 days due to food/water borne illness. Was very ill. You need to have access to money--2K USA, at a minimum. So BEWARE. Know what you are getting in to. Know you will have no help from the resort. Know you could die. Know you can get very ill.

Other Comments:
Don't Go. BEWARE

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"if you want the perfect beach this is not it"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  bill  on Oct 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
614 people found this review helpful

before I went here I read the reviews I should have paid better attention, the beach always has weeds, which I found out from someone who lives there it's the current that brings them in there, not from previous storms The more north you go the better the beaches get.After 17 trips to the D.R. this is the worse resort I've been to, very americanized at times I felt I was in miami. This is not the dominician experience.At all the other resorts you could go all day without hearing a word of english, which I love ,makes you feel like your in a different world ,to each his own on that I have never been to a pool so crowded, towels saving the chairs it's just rediculous, it seems they just want to get as many people there as possible, money is there key motivator. they try to make up for it in kindness ,I can see right thru it.I could go on. There are many many better resorts there, don't try this one. but then again if you have nothing to compare it to you might like it but realize there are many better such as the palladium.

Arrival:
good arrival no prblems

Rooms:
clean but ok nothing special

Restaurants and Bars:
soso

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
already commented

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
outback safari, bavarro runners out of this world good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

""Holiday Inn meets Golden Corral""

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Liam  on Sep 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
676 people found this review helpful

Arrived to a very breezy lobby and lots of smiling faces. Our check in went smooth but then we were ushered to the "VIP desk" where a beautiful girl who spoke little English tried to explain their resort coupon scam (ie., dinner on the beach is $200 but with this coupon its only $120, $10 off a $75 dollar bottle of $9 Penfolds, ect..). She then led us around pointing out several facets of the lobby and gift shop before handing us off to the time share pitch man who wanted us to attend a meeting where we would be helped to appreciate the value of a $10,000 vacation condo there in Punta Cana. Ugggghhh - off to the room. Immediate mildew stench hit us in the face (which we got used to by day 3). Furniture was beaten and broken, bed squeaked and moved easily with little motion. Bathroom had mold/mildew everywhere and soap/washcloth bar was falling out of the wall. When taking a shower water goes everywhere and filled bathroom floor. Vents in the bathroom connect to adjacent bathroom so we could literally hear whether our neighbor was going #1 or #2 - nasty! 3 out of 7 nights we were awakened between 1-4am to the sound of yelling, laughing, and outright profane speaking blacks who invaded the place for a wedding. Called the front desk 4 TIMES during our stay to complain, was promised they would send security, which never happened. I truly felt like pulling a fire alarm one night. That was probably the most disgusting experience of the week. The fridge in the room was well stocked for the first 4 days, then the rest of the trip was never restocked. 1/2 the TV channels were fuzzy and 4 out of 25 channels had spoken English. Pools were heavily chlorinated which I would rather have than the STD's. Naked children were allowed into pools - yuck. Pool common areas were always packed full of people. the SEAWEED was overpowering. I know this isnt the fault of the mgmt but...Jesus.....it is the reason I will always look to reviews like this in deciding the beach I am going to spend $2500+ to sit on. The free ocean gear was wither nasty or broken and heavy duty equipment operated ALL DAY EVERY DAY directly adjacent to the beach. The constant backup beeping 6+ hours a day - OMG is this for real? The drinks were ok - nothing top shelf. The FOOD was 5 out of 10 stars. It doesn't matter which "gourmet" restaurant you dine at, its the same ingredients - cooked in the same kitchen. Eat Mexican and get a burrito covered in cheese sauce.....eat Italian and get lasagne covered in cheese sauce..... heavily salted, tough meats, desserts tasted like they came from Kroger. Slow drink service - we would usually receive our drinks in small thin glasses around the time we were halfway through our meals.

But once on the beach, in your chair, under a palm tree, with the sun shining and breeze blowing, while blocking out the sound of that freaking beeping front end loader, and eyes closed so as not to see the nasty seaweed, it was nice.

Room Number:
1112

Room Block:
1000

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"PACK YOUR PEPTO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Sep 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
658 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this resort for 7 days and by day 3 we were so sick we were unable to eat or drink anything without running to the bathroom with painful stomach.No I know why there is several shelfs of pepto in the gift shop. After further review we have come to find out that millions of other people who have stayed here were ill as well. Our sheet's werent changed and were dirty, the shower floor was full of water and the room was damp and musty. The mini bar was full of soda and cheap beer. Our room was a garden view which was located outside of the wedding gazebo which is also the place of entertainment each night so if you prefer quiet and have a garden view room request to change it now. Also the rude people who stay there will come back to their room around 2am and start yelling and throwing trash around and slamming doors so i hope you look forward to a 2am wake up call every night. The beach was ok lots of seaweed but I believe that was from hurricane irene. They drove the john deere tractor several times while your trying to layout to pick up the seaweed which smelled so bad of disel gas you have to walk away. The food...where should we begin with the food?? Horriable. The gift shop sells pringles for a reason.. Oh forgot to mention that the min you sign in to the resort you will be greated by a "salesman" who will sign you up for a "tour of the resort" the next day. Bullshit a tour... it's a tour of the preferred suites and they want you to spend $30,000.00 and they dont want to take no as an answer. Make sure you bring your baggage from your room to the bus when you check out. They take your luggage to a closet room while your wait for your bus to the airport. We weren't leaving the resort without our belongings and we ended up missing our bus to the airport because they didnt have our luggage ready in time. when I went to the front desk I was told to call a taxi for myself and it will probably cost me $30.00. I feel so sorry for the couples who get married here. The flowers are dead looking and I would never in my life have my guest eat that god awful food and spend their week sick. I came home yesterday and I'm still sitting here with a sick stomach and unable to eat. Going to call the Dr tomorrow to see what the heck is going on. Good luck with your travels and vacationer beware of this resort.

Room Number:
1203

Room Block:
building 2

Arrival:
August 27 - sept 3rd. 2011

Rooms:
dirty, musty and hot.

Restaurants and Bars:
i'm still sick from it...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Bring your radio and play it loud cause everyone else does.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Dont bother... they are a bit outdated.

Other Comments:
If there was a half of star I would not even rate it that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ann  on Apr 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
766 people found this review helpful

This was a great hotel. Stayed at Dreams La Romana last year. This was on a smaller scale but more cozier not so big. Food was great except for the Seaside grill. Not as good as in La Romana. Room was very clean. Maid had decorated a few times. Excellent service. Staff very friendly. Entertainment was good. Entertainment staff was excellent. Special thanks to Gasolina, Sunshine,Artsy , Sweety who really get you involved and make you feel special. Our tour operator William from WestJet was really helpful. One excursion we did was swimming with the dolphins (2) was a thrill of a lifetime. Beach is great although windy. Would really recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back.
*Special thanks to concierge Jose who arranged to have my friends room decorated for her birthday and arranged for a cake to be brought to the restaurnt as per my request.

Room Number:
7205

Arrival:
We arrived on March l9th with a speedy check-in. Stayed for one week.

Rooms:
Room was cleaned everyday with turn down service. Towel service twice a day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very clean efficient lots of food. Good service

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Cleaned daily. Only negative point was getting a beach chair around the pool. One had to be up early to secure a spot. Always chairs availabe on the beach. Food stand set up for burgers, fries. Staff available to take your drink order.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities on the resort if you wanted to be involved which we did. Lots of excursions to do if you wanted.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Super wedding week at the Dreams Palm Beach"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  carol  on Oct 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
834 people found this review helpful

My son had a wedding week from 20/8/2010 TO 27/8/2010 at the Dreams Palm Beach. We were there with aboout 60 guests. The hotel staff could not have been better. With so many check-ins quite close together, the hotel did a fantastic job of organizing them. We were directed away from the main lobby and desk to a side area. Here all the rooms, keys etc. were preassigned and we just had to pick them up. Super! They even had hors deourves and a bar set up for us!
I'm sorry that at present I do not remember all the names but the concierge, the wedding planner, Julio and Ms. Frencis as well as Gasolina made our week fantastic.
No one in the group had any complaints about the rooms or the food. They all agreed it was great!
We had one private party on the beach and the wedding reception indoors. Both meals were done buffet style, at our request, and the presentation was quite nice.
The wedding was on the beach and the decorations were beautiful.
All in all it was a great week and we would definately be interested in returning to this resort.
One small thing did distract us during the week. There was no music at the pool with the bar. Everyone missed the music. They should consider adding this.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely Amazing!"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Arhea  on Sep 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
776 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Check in was a breeze, we had to arrange out own transport since there is no shuttle service from the hotel.

Rooms:
Awesome!! The bed was extra comfy. The room was a little damp and musty smelling but we were given a dehumidifier, and we took air freshener,after reviews. The Jacuzzi tub was addictive!

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants awesome and drinks, plentiful!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was unreal.. It was stunning.. There are 3 pools and hot tubs.. We stayed in the preferred area, it was well worth it!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities off the resort were so much fun! The bavarro runners tour and the Marinarium Marine Park were a delight!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube