Dreams Palm Beach Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Dreams Palm Beach  

Cabeza de Toro; P. O. Box 68; Higuey, Dominican Republic

"Not worth what we paid"
Posted by: Mick and Sylvia on Nov 5, 2012
see all reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews
Dreams Palm Beach Pictures and Information
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#12
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 39 reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Information


Dreams Palm Beach, situated on the sunny east coast of the Dominican Republic, an idyllic haven for singles, couples and families. It is a nice relaxing fully integrated world of magnificent beaches, a majestic turquoise sea and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as an honored guest with all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury ® - where everything is included.

Dreams Palm Beach official website
http://www.dreamsresorts.com/drepb/

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.4 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  12
Average
  4
Poor
  5
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Leisure (18)
Wedding (3)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
1 - 10 of 39

"Do not go on the beach after dark."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Gary from Illinois  on Jun 1, 2008  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2009
252 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 08 - June 13
The arrival at the airport was handled very well. Instructions from the cabin crew on USA 3000 were spot on. A short bus ride and the arrival/checkin was uneventful. That is to say, it was exactly as it should have been. Quick, efficient, polite.

Rooms:
We had asked for a king and were assigned one with two queens. A brief exchange with the bellman and he quickly had us in a King. No problem. The room was small but adequate....afterall, you are not there to spend time in a room. Bathroom is in a word, different. Shower literally opens up into the room....through the wall. Funky but OK. Design of shower guarantees some water challenges on the floor. Nothing that is not manageable. The cleaning crew does a good job and there is no shortage of towels. Temperature controls are great and rooms are comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet is first rate. Breakfast and lunch there every day but one. The food is prepared well and presented in a very appetizing way. Service is as good as I have seen in a resort. The people are genuinely happy and pleasant. They could give lessons to Disney....they are that good.The Japanese/Chinese restaurant has very large portions. Go when you have an appetite. Portions are smaller at all of the others. Service at the Italian was the only issue I saw. On the night we were there , there was only one staff member with a working vocabulary in English. he was working his tail off. Eveyone else was dependent on him for instruction. Not a bad experience...just slow that night. The French resturant service is again best in class. You will enjoy the evening. Mexican is OK..nothing spectacular. Don't miss the Carribbean buffet on Tuesday night. Grilled lobster leads the menu. Some very skilled folks carve spectacular things from melons. Take a camera to dinner. I am not a drinker, although you can ge anything you want...any time you want......quickly. Water, tea, cranberry or any other juice. Any cocktail, Make sure you visit the coffee bar. The coffee is not for sissies. It is bold and robust. I took mine black...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is clean and safe. There is visible security approximately every 50 feet. As they are public, everyone has access. Do not go on the beach after dark. Do not. Way too much personal risk. Pools have plenty or room, and plenty of umbrellas etc. Towels are again plentiful and you are never far from either food or beverage. Grounds reflect good maintenance and the assortment of plant life expected in a tropical paradise.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We only went to the Cigar Factory. in a vehicle driven by a maniac. Holy buckets. I have riden in hundreds of taxis in Chicago. This guy was in a class all by himself.

Other Comments::
The staff works hard. Most make about $100 per week. Trust me it is not a 40 hour week . A few dollars in tips ....go a long way. The staff we met were simply nice people. We enjoyed them very much. And yes, we plan to return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort is not ready to have guests"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scot, New Jersey  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2008
240 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 12/24/08
The resort is not ready to have guests. Most families waited from 3 to 8 hours for a room. We saw and spoke to about 20-30 families over the first two days having the same problems as us. We arrived at 2 and got a room at 7:00pm. Some did not get rooms until 12:00 in the morning. They had no room keys so they told us to get a guard to open the doors. Trying to find a guard when you needed was a chore.

Rooms:
We had three rooms. No A/C in one, the fan in the second room made so much noise that we could not run it while in the room or at night, no control of the A/C in the third (50F or 80). Dozens of rooms had the roof leak over their beds and complained parts of the ceiling were falling on them as they slept. The halls are always flooded during the rain. Two inches in our room by the door. My sons room door would not lock and we had to wait two hours for a repair man to come fix it. Our three rooms had no cable TV however I did figure out how to connect them myself and program the TV channels. There were no towel racks or toilet paper holders in the bathrooms. No handles on the shower or toilet doors. Room service was non existent unless you called several times. Rooms were made each day by 6-7:00pm. We always were out of bath towels. We had suites (Preferred Club) but there were no drawers to put our clothes. My wife kept hers in the night table drawers and I used my suitcase. The floors in the rooms and parts of the lobby are smooth tile that were like sheets of ice when wet. We fell or slipped many times.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food is just average. Getting reservations at the habachi restaurant is a trick. You need to get there by 5:45 and wait until 6:30 when it opens to get in line to make reservations for 1 of the 9 seating available the entire evening.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They ran out of beach towels several times a day. They ran out of vodka several times and we had to wait til the next day. You need to get up early to get a lounge chair on the beach and even earlier to get one at the pool. We saw many argument about stolen chairs.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The state of the art Gym is a small room with 1960 bar bells. One of three Hobi sailboats were broken making lines very long making there first come first serve policy anoying. We had to stand there for up to 1-2 hours to get the next available one. The Theater was closed and we saw no shows.

Other Comments:
Well I could go on forever but this should be enough for you to make your decision. There are too many great resorts out there to waste your time on this one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will definetely go back to this resort."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carole from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
250 people found this review helpful

Arrival: December 31, 2008 - January 7, 2009
We arrive at Dreams Palm Beach on December 31, 2008 at 5:30 p.m. for one week.
We were brought to our room upon arrival. No waiting time.

Rooms:
The room was nice and clean. The only downfall was it was right beside the laundry room. It got a little noisy when you kept the door open. The fridge didn't work, but the next day we receive a new one. During our stay, it was only stock once.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was great! There was always a variety to pick from like lobster to spaghetti. The deserts were fabulous. We always received good service from the waiters/waitresses. The coffee at the Cafe was good and again so were the deserts. The only a la carte restaurant we ate at was the Italian restaurant which we found the food very good and so was the service.

At night we would go to the lobby bar where we would be entertained by the bartenders. We had a lot of fun.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We didn't swim in the pool, only went to the beach. There's was only one day that we couldn't get chairs, so we just sat on our towels on the sand.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We tried our luck at the Casino on the resort. Very small, needs more machines and tables. But we won, so it wasn't all that bad.

We went on the Saona Island tour. It was great, we had a lot of fun on the speed boats and got to take pictures with the starfish. I found that on this tour you really get to set how people live and the poverty. Very sad.

Other Comments:
This was our first trip to Dominican Republic and we enjoyed it very much. We found that the staff at the Palm Beach resort were very nice, friendly and always service with a smile.

We will definetely go back to this resort.

The only downside is that we decide to go off the resort up the street to do some shopping. The guides pointed out to us that we could buy souvenirs there. Well, not a good ideal. The venders are very, very aggressive to the point were they make you feel uncomfortable. We definetely won't go shopping there again. I picked up a few souvenirs in the gift shop on the resort which the prices weren't too bad.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dreams should change there name to Nightmare."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jody & Carl from Mississauga, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
271 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 25th to Jan 1st
Arrived 1:00 p.m. Dec 25th/08. Waited until 7:30 p.m. before shown a room with the ceiling caving in & water dripping from light fixtures. Got another room @ 9:30 with no A/C, frig not working, safe not working, bathroom still under construction, & with a lovely view on the laundry facilities. Accepted the room for the nite because we were exhausted. Finally got a decent room at noon the following day. Rooms beside us were falling apart.

Rooms:
The room we finally got was just okay. Not a 5 star resort. Maid service was just okay. Mini bar was not stocked. Bathrooms are very outdated. No doors on shower or bathroom. Very small vanity.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant had good food, but slow service for beverages. Ala carte restaurants were good. The beach grill & pool bar had grumpy people and poor service. The pool side waitresses were great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was cold. Not enough chairs at the pool or beach. Witnessed a few fights over chairs, and people stealing chairs. The beach was okay. Too many motorized boats. They spoil the water & reefs.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did the parasailing & it was great. Went on the boat tour to the reef & swim with sharks & stingrays. Too many people. Got kicked in the face a # of times while snorkelling, & the coral reef is dead.

Other Comments:
This resort was not ready to open. Heard many horror stories. Dreams should change there name to Nightmare. Would not go back!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a terrific visit and were generally very pleased."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  MS  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2009
248 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 12/23/08 (1 week)
This is a spectacular-looking newly-renovated resort which aims for 5 stars but may not achieve that for quite some time. In the first 2 days, many things were not finished, not working, or out of stock. There was no manager in sight, and front desk staff was not helpful or pro-active about solving problems. But each day some of these problems were fixed.

Rooms
Rooms were clean with good beds and linens and nice balconies; bathrooms were a bit plain, and some things didn’t work at first. A lot of attention had been lavished on fancy cushions and mirrors but not enough on plumbing. TVs were just being installed. Maid service varied in timing but was friendly.

Restaurants
There are four small air-conditioned restaurants (dinners only) and one large all-day buffet dining area. We thought the food in the buffet dining room was mostly terrific, lots of variety of seafood, fish, meats, vegetables, fruit; and the bread/pastry items were excellent. The red and white table wines were different each day and usually not great. The open-air design may be a bit risky – it was windy in there, and at other times may be hot. The Italian restaurant had good food, wine, and staff. The Japanese place had medium food at the group grill table, but good wine and staff. We didn’t try the others – the French decor looked stuffy, Mexican didn’t appeal. The no-reservation/beeper system for the restaurants didn't work at all. In total we enjoyed the food.

Bars
The biggest bar is in the spectacular main lobby. This bar had great service, nice seating area although the outer chairs get wet when it rains – this area should probably be retrofitted with a clear roof. There is a stand up and swim up pool-side bar with good pool and beach service. The small seafood bar and grill at the far side of the beach was dark and windy when we were there.

Pool/Grounds/Beach
The pools are beautiful big free-form pools, unheated so apparently too cool for some people, but we thought they were great, although you can’t get a chaise after early morning. Grounds had new sod, some flowering shrubs, some palms need replacing. The beach in front of the resort is lovely clean sand kept raked every day. Ocean water was clear of seaweed and has a marked safety zone. Best of all is the beautiful undeveloped beach to the northwest past the next resort where you can walk barefoot for miles carrying rubber shoes to get past the coral point; government guards try to warn you of danger but there are lots of people there all day walking and swimming.

Activities
You have to be prepared to entertain yourself, this isn’t summer camp. There are fitness classes for adults and kids, Spanish lessons etc. Swimming, walking and reading seemed popular. We can’t comment on the casino, gym, tennis, boat rentals or kids area. We didn’t go on snorkelling or other water excursions because it was so windy and often rainy, but from the shore the Marinarium cruise looked like fun for some but not others with loud dancing and a stop at the Bavaro pool that looked dull. The jeep safari trip looked like a long day on hard wood seats. There are no towns or archaeology sites to visit, and the Palma Real shopping mall was ritzy and totally empty of shoppers. The outdoor evening entertainment can be good but wasn’t well advertised and the magic show was cancelled, but one night we saw an acrobat troupe that was utterly beautiful and spectacular.

Comments
We had a terrific visit and were generally very pleased. We were lucky not to experience the worst of the renovation problems, and hope they will sort that out soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would recommend Dreams Palm Beach to anyone."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  OntarioBowHunter from Stratford, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
262 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 15-23, 2009
We arrived here by taxi from Dreams Punta Cana after a less than memorable (least good ones) stay at that resort from January 9th-14th. Upon arriving we were greetings with Champagne with a cherry in it, and a total different atmosphere than at DPC. Check in was effortless..we arrived at 1pm and had our room keys exactly at 3pm as promised. The bellman took our bags to our rooms, and even refused to be tipped...said it was 'his pleasure'. We gave him $5 anyways told him to give it to his kids then...he just smiled.

Rooms:
We had just the standard room, no upgrades, no special 'vip' treatments, nothing, and were left in awe at how nice this room was. Huge queen size bed, dresser, night tables, writing table, end chairs, large bathroom, big balcony and everything worked!!! The safe was large enough to put my laptop in if I wanted to, but we just left it on the end table...plugged in the entire time. No worries.

Restaurants and Bars:
I could go on and on here. Lets start with the basics... World Cafe, this is the general dinning/buffet room. Food is varied, abundant, and excellent. Champagne and orange juice every morning, or every meal if you so choose. The ala cartes were the highlights of our meals though. The Bordeaux is for ADULTS ONLY..no one under 18 allowed in this restaurant. Food was magnificent. The SeaSide Grill was our next favorite, they had a rib eye steak that was at least 2 lbs, and so tender, I would find it hard to compare it to any steakhouse here in Canada. The ElPatio, is a nice ala carte as well, serving a variety of cuisine. There is also an Italian, Japanese and Asian restaurant, but we never made it to those, but the stories we heard from others who attended was only raves and very very few 'it was okay'. So in general, meals here were fabulous, with NO restervations required. BARS: The lobby bar is the most popular next to the pool swim up bar of course, and they have nightly music and a very laid back atmosphere. Service is beyond belief, if you tip or dont tip, service was excellent. Each day they had a 'drink of the day' and they are well worth trying out.... Sammy Sosa's were favorties of the ladies, while alot of us guys were the double bailey's on the rocks, or golden pineapple guys. They have all top shelf alcohol here...just ask for it by name and you will get it at no extra charge. Drinks we found here were not as over powering as we have had at other resorts...they dont use as much of the 151 here I think... LOL There was also a daily beach bbq which you could get burgers, fries, hot dogs and sometimes chicken. Filled those mid day hunger pangs! There were also waitresses that went up and down the beach and poolside areas to take your drink orders, that were unbelievable. Marta was our favorite, and she was such a sweetie.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:

Pool...two words describe them...Beautiful, Immaculate! Lots of chairs, loungers, water floaters, towels for all...never once did we have to go without.

Beach...kept very clean and you could go out into the water at any time without need of watershoes which was a nice change from Dreams Punta Cana. The Grounds on this resort were some of the best manicured and well kept grounds that I have been on in all my trips to the Dominican. They should be commended! We made a habit of giving the grounds crews a coke or sprite whenever we could, and the smiles were heartwarming.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
This is the first trip we didnt go on many tours. The main trip we took was with MikeFisher from here at Debbies... This was one of the most memorable trips we have had. Not just because of the sailfish we caught, but because of Mike's expertise, courtesty, friendship and his experienced crews. Would definitely do this trip everytime we are there without hesitation! Only other trip we did was self exploring in the little barrio town around the resort for some local colour, cold beer, and shopping. Definitely worth it if you want to buy goods at local prices instead of tourist prices! Coffee was under $4 instead of the resort $8-9 price.

Other Comments:
Only negative comment we can make, if you can even call it a negative, is that the main entertainment centre wasnt completed yet, but should be by mid February according to the Entertainment director. They still had a temporary stage set up outside building 3. Only other small pet peeve I had was the very small casino. They had one caribbean poker table, NO 3 card poker, 3 blackjack, 2 roulette, no holdem, and just a handfull of slots... nice way to kill hour or two. Drinks were included of course!

If you want to do some local shopping for dominican prices...go out the front gates, walk down the left sidewalk about 1500 yards or more, you will come across a corner store called La Defensa... incredible prices and quality. We went there a few times.

OVERALL.... I would recommend Dreams Palm Beach to anyone, and would definitely return again in the future. I will be posting my pics as soon as we download all the cameras and sort them into a manageable order.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will never be able to recommend Dreams Palm Beach Hotel to anyone"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sonja  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
243 people found this review helpful

If this complaint were to be titled, it would be called "Not all Dreams are Pleasant". Let me first clarify that on this trip the parts that were provided directly by Sunwing were at a rather high level of service. Our checking on the 28th of December went smoothly despite rather large crowds at the airport. Our luggage arrived at Punta Cana without a glitch. It can be said that the same was true about our return flight. We used Sunwing in the past-most recently last July to Sandals, Varadero, Cuba. Based on the last experience, we rated Sunwing highly when choosing our next vacation and trusted that the Dreams Palm Beach hotel, also rated by Sunwing as a 5 star hotel like Sandals, would provide a similar, if not better, experience.

Unfortunately this was not the case and our vacation was ruined by the horrendous service at the hotel.

Now, let me tell you about our hotel experience. Upon arrival at the hotel around 12:30 PM local time, we were directed to the reception where staff was extremely disorganized and unable to sort the arriving crowd. Our Hotel voucher was taken from us and we were given a bad photocopy of the hotel map and told to return 3.5 hours later in order to get the room.

To make things even worse, after returning to the reception 3.5 hours later we were still made to wait for another hour and a half until we got the single room key. During this time, no less than 5 people took our name and disappeared into the little office beside the reception in order to get the room sorted out. We approached the Sunwing representative Ryan while waiting, in order to expedite the room check-in, but he was of absolutely no help at all. So by waiting for our room for a better part of the day we were not able to use the first day of our vacation at all. This turned our 7-day trip to a 6-day trip.

Once we finally got the room key we were told that we could only have one room key because they were having problems with the system. These problems were never resolved and we had to go all week with one room key. The room we got was well below the 5 star levels promised. The bathtub advertised as an amenity was nothing more than a small and unfinished shower. Tile grout was still all over the bathroom and there was no proper shower enclosure installed, resulting in regular flooding of the bathroom as you showered.

The toilet would not flush properly and it seemed to be at least 10-15 years too old. In order to flush a piece of toilet paper you would have to run the water at least 3 times. The mirror in the bathroom was taped to the wall and a soap bar was nowhere to be found.

Furthermore, several cigarette buts were dispersed in various corners of the room and 2 pillows were missing pillowcases. The balcony door could not be opened and once opened could not be closed. The ceiling fan in the room was not functional and the air-conditioning unit only worked at the highest possible setting while emitting sounds equivalent to a jet plane at take off. Only the bathroom lights worked in the room and one of the bedside lamps, all others were missing light bulbs. We asked the hotel staff to move us into a room that was completed but we were told that that is not possible and that all the problems would be resolved shortly.

Over the course of our vacation, we ran into other guests at the hotel who had similar, if not worse, complaints about their experience at Dreams Palm Beach. They described similar problems leading us to believe that our room was as good as it gets.

The next day our t-shirts and sandals were taken from the beach chairs that we were using together with the hotel beach towels that we got. This all happened in the 15 minutes that we were away from the chairs in the water. It appears that hotel staff just threw it away and gave the chairs to another couple so that they can collect tip. We could never find our belongings, and informing the reception staff did not resolve the matter.

Obtaining the replacement beach towels took more than 5 hours and only after speaking to the reception manager. At the same time, we informed him of all the room deficiencies, and were again told that everything was going to be taken care of shortly. Upon returning to our room at 6 PM it was still not made up and even after it was finally cleaned around 8 PM, none of the issues were resolved.

As the week progressed things did not improve much. Beach towels were a rare occurrence at the towel desk. Our one and only soap bar was finally delivered to our room on our fifth day. We got one more light bulb on our fourth day at the hotel but the mirror, AC, and the ceiling fan were never fixed. All the pillows were placed in the pillowcases only on our last day there. The balcony door fell on my girlfriend as she was trying to get it opened and we had to fix it, as the hotel could not find their technicians.

The cigarette buts were never cleaned out of the room.

A daily strong odour from the sewage could be well noted inside the bathroom as well as immediately outside our room. Every conversation carried in the neighbouring rooms could be heard inside ours. Our promised Deluxe Tropical view was that of a shipping container and of a hotel unpaved road used by buses for turning around. This persisted day and night providing very little privacy and quiet time for sleep and relaxation. We got two 6 AM wake up calls that we did not ask for. The hotel staff was not able to help us with any of this.

As far as the beach was concerned, it was far from the 5 star standards that one might expect. It was not cleaned and there was plenty of seaweed in the water and in the sand. While hotel staff can't be blamed for the seaweed in the water, cleaning the one on the sand should be done more than once a week. If this was not bad enough, one could never get any beach chairs unless resorting to getting up extremely early to get one and go and guard it all day long. Several incidents occurred around the pool area and the beach with people shouting and yelling over stolen beach chairs. This contributed to the feeling of nervousness and complete misery rather than relaxation at a 5 star resort. Further complicating matters was the fact that the majority of the narrow beach that the hotel had was closed off to the swimmers, as boats were constantly going in and out of the water. Getting a drink at the beach bar was always a chore as there was always something missing and an incredible line up to go with it.

Two nights during our stay at the hotel, local "Artisan" vendors were permitted on the hotel property. They were extremely aggressive, tagging at guestąs sleeves in order to get us to buy something. The majority of hotel guests, us included, resorted to walking around and through grass in order to avoid the before mentioned scenes. This further added to the matters of an uneasy feeling about this hotel. To make things even worse, the hotel management blatantly allowed these vendors to openly sell fake cigars on the hotel property. Unsuspecting tourists wasted their money on this, and it is unimaginable that a 5 star hotel condones this kind of practice and behaviour on its property. As far as the rest of the property was concerned, there was never enough space at the lobby bar to get a seat. This was largely due to the fact that there simply werenąt enough spots where one could sit down for a drink or just to relax. The hotel has an open-concept layout, but the space is not used well. The entertainment was lacking and was limited to two or three songs. There was only one night where there was decent entertainment. While I enjoy listening to Bob Marley, listening to one CD for the entire trip blaring through the hotel premises was a little too much.

While all of the above was enough to make our vacation miserable, the events that occurred on January 2nd and 3rd were what really got us upset. Upon leaving the room in the morning, we left tip on the night table for the maid. Once we returned to the room around 3PM, we discovered that the room was not made up, the mini bar was not refilled, but the money was gone. What was even worse is the fact that someone entered the room, drilled into the walls and installed a toilet paper dispenser. All the mess was left unclean and several new cigarette buts were left for us. Trying not to dwell in negativity, we returned to the beach, thinking that it would all get cleaned. Upon entering our room again at 6PM, we were disappointed to see that it had still not been cleaned.

At this time, we once again returned to the reception to complain about it and were assured that our room would be cleaned up first thing in the morning, and that we have nothing to worry about. They brought us two clean towels and soap but our room was never cleaned in the morning as promised.

Sunwing representatives could never be located around the lobby or the representative desk at the prescribed hours. Once we finally saw Ryan on January 2nd and complained, he told us that we should have told him of our problems earlier. That would have been only possible if he could be found where he was supposed to be found. Since he was never there he was of no help to us. He did advise us to meet with George the next morning and to fill out a Customer Complaint Form. But, once we found George he knew nothing of such a form and just gave us a borrowed piece of blank paper and asked us to write our complaint on it.

Based on the summary of the above described it is hard to believe that a reputable company such as Sunwing would rate this hotel as a five star resort. If we paid $500 per person and were told that this was a 2 star resort, the service and level of cleanliness would have still been unsatisfactory.

While paying a fair amount of money for this vacation from hell, we did not expect to be carried to our own beach chairs and waited on hand and foot.

What we did expect was a clean room with facilities equaling to a five star resort. Basic necessities such as working lights, functional doors, complete bedding, and a bar of soap would have been a good start. Responsive and courteous hotel staff would have made it a bonus.

We will never be able to recommend Dreams Palm Beach Hotel to anyone.

Although we would have liked to continue using the services provided by Sunwing, this will have to wait until they take initiative to actually respond to our complaint, which to this date, has not occurred.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It Was Excellent"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
243 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Everything was great got our room in under 45 minutes even though we arrived at 11:30.

Rooms
Rooms were very clean and very quiet which is important to as we are up early and also are in bed fairly early.

Restaurants and Bars
Best food in an all inclusive I have ever had. Best bartenders at the lobby bar at night and beach bar during the day. Mexican and the Japanese were the best but I heard they had great lobster even at the buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
It was so clean it was like they cleaned the floors ever 20 minutes.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Did not go any tours this time as it is our 5th time there, but the water sports guys were great and even got me out on a Catamarand.

Other Comments
We took a six apple square deal, it was very nice I would only have 2 complaints very minor 1) the bathroom in the room was not very private, and it was hard to get a diet coke. But other than that it was excellent!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will be back,for sure."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia from Charlottesville, VA  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
241 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
We flew from BWI (Baltimore, MD) via USA3000. Arrived on time at 1:30pm. Processing through entry and customs was as fast as it could be considering the great volume arriving at the Punat Cana airport in the AM. We had not been in Punta Cana for 3 years and were astonished by the growth of the airport and the efficiency with which the officials processed everyone.

Rooms:
Our first room was in Building 8, room 8203. It was decorated very nicely with two queen beds. The second night we were there the fuse box started sparking around 9:30pm. My husband called the front desk -- hard to explain without Spanish -- front desk said they would send some one. In the meantime I went into the hall and saw the nigh maid supervisor and had her come in and see the problem, she also called. We waited about an hour and called again and stressed it could mean a fire. The electrician came and looked in the box and said, it's okay. Fortunately, my husband saw a loose wire, pointed it out to the electrician who called the front desk and we were moved upstairs which was just fine with us. We ended up in room 8304 which was great. Being on the top floor is much quieter because at this resort the stairwells echo EVERY little sound - even just light conversation it comes booming up so we would recommend the 3rd floor. The only other problem with the room has been mentioned in other reviews which is the poor design of the shower so that no matter how careful you are the water goes all over the floor because of the half glass door.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars were terrific -- no question about it. We have been in 6 different AI at Punta Cana and the buffet and ala cartes at DPB is by far the very best. The superior quality and diversity of good choices is great. There is something for everyone. What did we like: hot donuts early in the AM, carribean lobster, shrimp, wheels of very good blue cheese, gouda and swiss, wonderful whole wheat bread, fresh baby asparagus, fresh papaya, a caesar salad bar where it's made to order for the guests, champagne and orange juice at breakfast, grouper, mahi-mahi -- the list would go on and on and all of it done with care and finesse.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We loved both the pools and the beach. They do have floats at the pool which are often hidden away by guests so that you may have difficulty finding one. We always buy a couple in the winter when they can be found in the back room of most pool/hot tub stores, put them in our luggage and have the scuba guy blow them up and when the float hogs move in, we bring them down to the pool and give ) them to families with kids when we leave -- it's worth it. On the beach at DPB you will find lots of guests (usually not Americans) who smoke like mad and leave their cigs all over the beach. I don't know when if ever the resorts will do something about it because it requires a lot of labor to be cleaning up after the careless smokers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The recreation team at the resort was terrific -- a high leven of energy and geniune interest in helping and entertaining guests.

Other Comments:
The DPB staff was very helpful and hard-working. It is an old resort that has be renovated and only opened December 10 so we believe the technical water, wiring, etc. problems will be addressed and are really small compared to the over-all vacation experience DPB provides. We will be back,for sure.

ragmountain@comcast.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our favorite resort"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patti from Michigan, USA  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
254 people found this review helpful

We arrived on February 8, 2009 for a 7 day stay at Dreams Palm Beach. We were greeted by the bellman with a friendly smile and a "Welcome Home!" What a wonderful way to start our stay. We did indeed feel "back home" even though we had never been to this resort. This was our 7th stay at either a Sunscape or a Dreams resort.

We did not take the transfer provided by AppleVacations, but arranged a private transfer with Dominican Taxi Service which we have used numerous times with complete satisfaction. Since we "beat" the bus, check-in was very fast with no waiting in line. The gentleman checking us in was very fluent in English and also greeted us with a warm welcome. He gave us a quick orientation of the property and supplied us with a map. While we were checking in, a young man brought us cool washcloths. That was so nice after the long flight. Then a young lady brought us Mimosas and warm chocolate cookies. We both felt so pampered already! A bell-boy was immediately at our side with our luggage to take us to our room. And what a room....It was amazing!! It was room 3301 in the preferred section. We have stayed in honeymoon suites before, but this one was over the top. Since it was a refurbished resort, two rooms were combined into one which made for a very spacious suite. The very best thing in the whole room had to be the bed. We have never had such a comfortable bed in the Dominican or Mexico. They are usually cement with sheets. This was a pillow-top mattress. Also, a pillow menu was available, but we were happy with the pillows we had. I always bring our own facecloths but everyday we had 3 facecloths along with plenty of towels. Beach towels were even in our room as well as robes and slippers. Body wash, shampoo, sunscreen, toothbrushes and razor were supplied in the room. A hammock in addition to a table and chairs were on the double patio. The safe was electronic and very spacious, large enough for a laptop and then some. An iPod docking station/clock radio was great for listening to our tunes and recharging the iPod. Plenty of closet space and hangers. Everyday the room was cleaned and restocked with towels. Housekeeping staff was always friendly and they work so hard. The mini bar was restocked daily as well. One day I left a note in Spanish asking for Presidentes and that is what was restocked daily. We only had! turn do wn service one night, but that is not important to us. Three nights we came back to our room to find gourmet chocolate creations on our coffee table!! They were amazing.

The food is hands down the best food we have ever had at any AI. The chicken and fish were all tender as was the beef. Plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. Everyday around 4pm we went to the Coco Cafe to grab a coffee or tea and a pastry. The buffet was so good I would have been happy eating there morning, noon and night. Lovely young ladies seating guests and prompt courteous wait staff at all meals. We ate at all the ala carts except the Japanese/Chinese. All were very, very good. Excellent quality food, drinks and service. One night we went to El Patio and only had appetizers. As we were leaving the manager was concerned that we did not like the food. We told him it was the opposite, the food was wonderful but we were not that hungry. Too much great food and not enough time. We did have room service twice and it was very, very fast and very, very good.

Liquor was top shelf if you wanted it. Mixed well and served promptly. We even had drink service at the pool and the beach!!

The pool was very clean and well laid out. Every afternoon a young lady would go around the pool and pass out cookies. That was a really nice touch. Not enough shade areas at the pool area, though. If you want shade, you need to be there by 8 am. The beach has more shade and we did not have any problems finding chairs. The chair reserving game did not seem to be too much of a problem. I did not notice many reserved chairs not being used. What I did notice was people taking the pool floats to the beach or just keeping them by their lounge chairs. Not a problem for us because we bring our own floats. The "Sundial", the daily newsletter, always requested that floats be shared. Beach towels were never in short supply and always available, morning or afternoon.

I can not comment on the nightly shows, because we never went to any. We turned in by 10 and started our day by 7 am. We were there for the sun and sand, not the nightlife. I did enjoy the stretching and the aerobics on the beach.

I had a massage at the spa which was wonderful. We then had a couples massage on the beach and that was the best!!

The vendors came on site 3 nights but they were never a problem. My husband actually told one guy that we had been to the Dominican so many times and had so many souvenirs that we were thinking of bringing some back with us and selling them. The vendor just about busted a gut laughing at that one. One morning we did go outside the resort about 5 minutes walk down the road to a shopping area and bought some rum and coffee at a great price.

AppleVacations had a cocktail party one evening which was very nice. Got to chat with a few of the Apple reps. Nice folks. The managers cocktail party was the next night. That was really cool. They had delicious canapes and drinks and friendly dancers (they work so hard). Got to meet many of the managers and the head chef. They genuinely cared to hear our comments. We really only had positive comments, but they assured us that they are striving to improve the resort even more.

We are hoping to return in October because this has now become our favorite resort. Close to the airport and so easy to enjoy. Whenever we would say "thank you" to any of the staff, it was always replied with "My pleasure" and I believe they meant it!!

If anyone has any questions, please feel free to ask. I can not recommend this resort enough. It is truly a Dream come true!

Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/35695315@N08/sets/72157614275346950

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube