Dreams Palm Beach Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Dreams Palm Beach  

Cabeza de Toro; P. O. Box 68; Higuey, Dominican Republic

"Not worth what we paid"
Posted by: Mick and Sylvia on Nov 5, 2012
see all reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews
Dreams Palm Beach Pictures and Information
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#12
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 39 reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Information


Dreams Palm Beach, situated on the sunny east coast of the Dominican Republic, an idyllic haven for singles, couples and families. It is a nice relaxing fully integrated world of magnificent beaches, a majestic turquoise sea and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as an honored guest with all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury ® - where everything is included.

Dreams Palm Beach official website
http://www.dreamsresorts.com/drepb/

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.4 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  12
Average
  4
Poor
  5
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Leisure (18)
Wedding (3)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
1 - 10 of 39

"if you want the perfect beach this is not it"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  bill  on Oct 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
646 people found this review helpful

before I went here I read the reviews I should have paid better attention, the beach always has weeds, which I found out from someone who lives there it's the current that brings them in there, not from previous storms The more north you go the better the beaches get.After 17 trips to the D.R. this is the worse resort I've been to, very americanized at times I felt I was in miami. This is not the dominician experience.At all the other resorts you could go all day without hearing a word of english, which I love ,makes you feel like your in a different world ,to each his own on that I have never been to a pool so crowded, towels saving the chairs it's just rediculous, it seems they just want to get as many people there as possible, money is there key motivator. they try to make up for it in kindness ,I can see right thru it.I could go on. There are many many better resorts there, don't try this one. but then again if you have nothing to compare it to you might like it but realize there are many better such as the palladium.

Arrival:
good arrival no prblems

Rooms:
clean but ok nothing special

Restaurants and Bars:
soso

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
already commented

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
outback safari, bavarro runners out of this world good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not So Excellente!"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cap  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
399 people found this review helpful

I was one of many who were sick while there. You couldn't enagage in conversation without someone discussing them being sick and their travel companions. Everyday we met without exageration 15 people who were sick.
This was our 3rd trip to Punta Cana, our first and last trip to Dreams Palms.

Your Arrival:
The arrival was fine and the room was ready within 15 minutes.

Rooms:
The room was good sized, but the pillow shams were dirty as was the bed spread and the curtains. We asked fro clean shams and 2 days later we got them after several requests. They also continued to put the dirty shams back on the bed even after we told them not to.
I will say the bed matress was comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was OK at the buffet assuming the sickness everyone got wasn't food related. The ala carte restaurants were good, but I expected something a bit more from the buffets for a "Six Gold Apple" resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and pools were nice and appeared clean. The crew kept up with the seaweed keeping the beach clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities were what you would expect from any all inclusive and the employees were enthusiastic without being over kill.

Other Comments:
I did some checking unfortunatley too late to see that guests getting sick isn't an isolated instance. I noticed several entries going back over the past 6 weeks of peple getting sick.
Also I will ote that the Apple Vacations Representative on premises was of no use what so ever. She even said that she was there to seel excusriosn not help a sick client.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't go it is not a good dream!"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  judi  on Dec 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
858 people found this review helpful

Everyone in the party was SICK. Please read the high risk for the DR on the CDC site USA. The resort offered no assistance in obtaining the needed care once ill--you are one your own in a third world country with a language barrier. My son ended up in the hospital for 2 days due to food/water borne illness. Was very ill. You need to have access to money--2K USA, at a minimum. So BEWARE. Know what you are getting in to. Know you will have no help from the resort. Know you could die. Know you can get very ill.

Other Comments:
Don't Go. BEWARE

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"PACK YOUR PEPTO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Sep 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
690 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this resort for 7 days and by day 3 we were so sick we were unable to eat or drink anything without running to the bathroom with painful stomach.No I know why there is several shelfs of pepto in the gift shop. After further review we have come to find out that millions of other people who have stayed here were ill as well. Our sheet's werent changed and were dirty, the shower floor was full of water and the room was damp and musty. The mini bar was full of soda and cheap beer. Our room was a garden view which was located outside of the wedding gazebo which is also the place of entertainment each night so if you prefer quiet and have a garden view room request to change it now. Also the rude people who stay there will come back to their room around 2am and start yelling and throwing trash around and slamming doors so i hope you look forward to a 2am wake up call every night. The beach was ok lots of seaweed but I believe that was from hurricane irene. They drove the john deere tractor several times while your trying to layout to pick up the seaweed which smelled so bad of disel gas you have to walk away. The food...where should we begin with the food?? Horriable. The gift shop sells pringles for a reason.. Oh forgot to mention that the min you sign in to the resort you will be greated by a "salesman" who will sign you up for a "tour of the resort" the next day. Bullshit a tour... it's a tour of the preferred suites and they want you to spend $30,000.00 and they dont want to take no as an answer. Make sure you bring your baggage from your room to the bus when you check out. They take your luggage to a closet room while your wait for your bus to the airport. We weren't leaving the resort without our belongings and we ended up missing our bus to the airport because they didnt have our luggage ready in time. when I went to the front desk I was told to call a taxi for myself and it will probably cost me $30.00. I feel so sorry for the couples who get married here. The flowers are dead looking and I would never in my life have my guest eat that god awful food and spend their week sick. I came home yesterday and I'm still sitting here with a sick stomach and unable to eat. Going to call the Dr tomorrow to see what the heck is going on. Good luck with your travels and vacationer beware of this resort.

Room Number:
1203

Room Block:
building 2

Arrival:
August 27 - sept 3rd. 2011

Rooms:
dirty, musty and hot.

Restaurants and Bars:
i'm still sick from it...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Bring your radio and play it loud cause everyone else does.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Dont bother... they are a bit outdated.

Other Comments:
If there was a half of star I would not even rate it that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

""Holiday Inn meets Golden Corral""

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Liam  on Sep 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
712 people found this review helpful

Arrived to a very breezy lobby and lots of smiling faces. Our check in went smooth but then we were ushered to the "VIP desk" where a beautiful girl who spoke little English tried to explain their resort coupon scam (ie., dinner on the beach is $200 but with this coupon its only $120, $10 off a $75 dollar bottle of $9 Penfolds, ect..). She then led us around pointing out several facets of the lobby and gift shop before handing us off to the time share pitch man who wanted us to attend a meeting where we would be helped to appreciate the value of a $10,000 vacation condo there in Punta Cana. Ugggghhh - off to the room. Immediate mildew stench hit us in the face (which we got used to by day 3). Furniture was beaten and broken, bed squeaked and moved easily with little motion. Bathroom had mold/mildew everywhere and soap/washcloth bar was falling out of the wall. When taking a shower water goes everywhere and filled bathroom floor. Vents in the bathroom connect to adjacent bathroom so we could literally hear whether our neighbor was going #1 or #2 - nasty! 3 out of 7 nights we were awakened between 1-4am to the sound of yelling, laughing, and outright profane speaking blacks who invaded the place for a wedding. Called the front desk 4 TIMES during our stay to complain, was promised they would send security, which never happened. I truly felt like pulling a fire alarm one night. That was probably the most disgusting experience of the week. The fridge in the room was well stocked for the first 4 days, then the rest of the trip was never restocked. 1/2 the TV channels were fuzzy and 4 out of 25 channels had spoken English. Pools were heavily chlorinated which I would rather have than the STD's. Naked children were allowed into pools - yuck. Pool common areas were always packed full of people. the SEAWEED was overpowering. I know this isnt the fault of the mgmt but...Jesus.....it is the reason I will always look to reviews like this in deciding the beach I am going to spend $2500+ to sit on. The free ocean gear was wither nasty or broken and heavy duty equipment operated ALL DAY EVERY DAY directly adjacent to the beach. The constant backup beeping 6+ hours a day - OMG is this for real? The drinks were ok - nothing top shelf. The FOOD was 5 out of 10 stars. It doesn't matter which "gourmet" restaurant you dine at, its the same ingredients - cooked in the same kitchen. Eat Mexican and get a burrito covered in cheese sauce.....eat Italian and get lasagne covered in cheese sauce..... heavily salted, tough meats, desserts tasted like they came from Kroger. Slow drink service - we would usually receive our drinks in small thin glasses around the time we were halfway through our meals.

But once on the beach, in your chair, under a palm tree, with the sun shining and breeze blowing, while blocking out the sound of that freaking beeping front end loader, and eyes closed so as not to see the nasty seaweed, it was nice.

Room Number:
1112

Room Block:
1000

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extremely disappointing"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marcu  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
426 people found this review helpful

This is to inform you that we had an unpleasant experience in the dream plam beach resort in punta cana during our vacation from February 5 to february 12, 2010.

I have experienced bad stomac pain and nausea over the week of 02/08/10 and until present. We have found that other people experienced the same problems over the same period . I intend to check with my doctor and then start letting people know what to expedct when vacationing in that specific resort. It is unacceptable to go thru this kind of experience in a resort advertising 6 gold apples.

I am extremely disappointed and intend to share this experience with all the people who think comming to that resort.

Veronica-Ileana Marcu/Cleveland /Ohio.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dishonesty-Poor front desk service. NOT RECOMMENDED"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter  on Apr 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
541 people found this review helpful

We booked a family get together for a group of 12. We had asked to be in the same building but because they were full they couldn't help. O.K. I understand.

We arrived 4 days earlier than the rest of our group. We found the taxi service at the airport eficient but didn't appreciate being called gringos and other rude comments in Spanish. (Perhaps they should consider other people in the world are also fluent in Spanish although from N. America). Interestingly we tried booking a taxi online in order to save time and were told the taxi fee was $35. We had noticed that someone had previously shared a photo showing the rate to be $30. to our hotel. We were told it was an error. Bottom line get your taxi at the airport, rates are posted, service is fast.
Arrived at the hotel, check in was fast, pleasent. Although for the next three days we were awakened by the VIP service to pick up our welcome package. The welcome pkg is just a scam for casino, meals etc. Be carefull with these.
We wanted to change our room and was told to come back the next day. We did so and (Raoul?) blocked a room for us for the following day. We went back the following day and were told there were no rooms as they were sold out and no record of this being booked. Raoul was off for the day so we couldn't speak with him. Finally we asked to speak with the manager De Jesus. He initially stated they were booked and could not help us. My wife told him the room number we were told was booked and someone wasn't telling the truth. De Jesus RUDELY then said the room was blocked for us. He was obviously not happy. I saw him later and smiled and said Ola and he just nodded, still very angry.
Food in the Mexican restaurant is terrible. Italian bad, we ended up at the buffett later as were other people we had seen in the Italian restaurant who couldn't eat the Italian food either. Japanese was good but hard to book. Seaside was good. Buffett was always good. Bar staff were very nice and efficient and entertainment folks were great. Weather was beautifull the first few days and the beach is great.
Bring bug spray for evenings.

Room Number:
6203

Room Block:
none

Arrival:
Quick, fast check in.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean. Good room service. In need of updating, refreshing.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars in resort are all closed by midinight. If you want something after that you ahve to go to the casino. First resort I have ever seen that.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great beach, pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Average.

Other Comments:
I hate to be lied to and found the ront desk people to be the worse. On Sunday msyteriously around check out times our keys stopped working. I went to the front desk thinking the key I had just losts it's programming. They confirmed our check out was for the next day and I was quickly on my way. Back at our rook we found out the second key didn't work. I trudged back to the front desk and a bus had arrived with people lined up. I asked the concierge and then the oterh front desk person if they could just "zap" my card. I was diercted to the back of the line. After 45 minutes I again confirmed by check out time and had the key re-programmed. I told thefront desk person they must have made a mistake. I was told it was our fault and we likely had the keys next to a cell phone or camera !! Strange, the key was always in my shorts side pocket and no cell phone or key was anywehre near it. Starnge that both keys quit at exactly the same time as checkout time. When I mentioned this to the front desk person he stated again they hadn't made a mistake and it was our fault. RIGHT !!! Again, so much for honesty.

Don't Stay Here !!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will never be able to recommend Dreams Palm Beach Hotel to anyone"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sonja  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
236 people found this review helpful

If this complaint were to be titled, it would be called "Not all Dreams are Pleasant". Let me first clarify that on this trip the parts that were provided directly by Sunwing were at a rather high level of service. Our checking on the 28th of December went smoothly despite rather large crowds at the airport. Our luggage arrived at Punta Cana without a glitch. It can be said that the same was true about our return flight. We used Sunwing in the past-most recently last July to Sandals, Varadero, Cuba. Based on the last experience, we rated Sunwing highly when choosing our next vacation and trusted that the Dreams Palm Beach hotel, also rated by Sunwing as a 5 star hotel like Sandals, would provide a similar, if not better, experience.

Unfortunately this was not the case and our vacation was ruined by the horrendous service at the hotel.

Now, let me tell you about our hotel experience. Upon arrival at the hotel around 12:30 PM local time, we were directed to the reception where staff was extremely disorganized and unable to sort the arriving crowd. Our Hotel voucher was taken from us and we were given a bad photocopy of the hotel map and told to return 3.5 hours later in order to get the room.

To make things even worse, after returning to the reception 3.5 hours later we were still made to wait for another hour and a half until we got the single room key. During this time, no less than 5 people took our name and disappeared into the little office beside the reception in order to get the room sorted out. We approached the Sunwing representative Ryan while waiting, in order to expedite the room check-in, but he was of absolutely no help at all. So by waiting for our room for a better part of the day we were not able to use the first day of our vacation at all. This turned our 7-day trip to a 6-day trip.

Once we finally got the room key we were told that we could only have one room key because they were having problems with the system. These problems were never resolved and we had to go all week with one room key. The room we got was well below the 5 star levels promised. The bathtub advertised as an amenity was nothing more than a small and unfinished shower. Tile grout was still all over the bathroom and there was no proper shower enclosure installed, resulting in regular flooding of the bathroom as you showered.

The toilet would not flush properly and it seemed to be at least 10-15 years too old. In order to flush a piece of toilet paper you would have to run the water at least 3 times. The mirror in the bathroom was taped to the wall and a soap bar was nowhere to be found.

Furthermore, several cigarette buts were dispersed in various corners of the room and 2 pillows were missing pillowcases. The balcony door could not be opened and once opened could not be closed. The ceiling fan in the room was not functional and the air-conditioning unit only worked at the highest possible setting while emitting sounds equivalent to a jet plane at take off. Only the bathroom lights worked in the room and one of the bedside lamps, all others were missing light bulbs. We asked the hotel staff to move us into a room that was completed but we were told that that is not possible and that all the problems would be resolved shortly.

Over the course of our vacation, we ran into other guests at the hotel who had similar, if not worse, complaints about their experience at Dreams Palm Beach. They described similar problems leading us to believe that our room was as good as it gets.

The next day our t-shirts and sandals were taken from the beach chairs that we were using together with the hotel beach towels that we got. This all happened in the 15 minutes that we were away from the chairs in the water. It appears that hotel staff just threw it away and gave the chairs to another couple so that they can collect tip. We could never find our belongings, and informing the reception staff did not resolve the matter.

Obtaining the replacement beach towels took more than 5 hours and only after speaking to the reception manager. At the same time, we informed him of all the room deficiencies, and were again told that everything was going to be taken care of shortly. Upon returning to our room at 6 PM it was still not made up and even after it was finally cleaned around 8 PM, none of the issues were resolved.

As the week progressed things did not improve much. Beach towels were a rare occurrence at the towel desk. Our one and only soap bar was finally delivered to our room on our fifth day. We got one more light bulb on our fourth day at the hotel but the mirror, AC, and the ceiling fan were never fixed. All the pillows were placed in the pillowcases only on our last day there. The balcony door fell on my girlfriend as she was trying to get it opened and we had to fix it, as the hotel could not find their technicians.

The cigarette buts were never cleaned out of the room.

A daily strong odour from the sewage could be well noted inside the bathroom as well as immediately outside our room. Every conversation carried in the neighbouring rooms could be heard inside ours. Our promised Deluxe Tropical view was that of a shipping container and of a hotel unpaved road used by buses for turning around. This persisted day and night providing very little privacy and quiet time for sleep and relaxation. We got two 6 AM wake up calls that we did not ask for. The hotel staff was not able to help us with any of this.

As far as the beach was concerned, it was far from the 5 star standards that one might expect. It was not cleaned and there was plenty of seaweed in the water and in the sand. While hotel staff can't be blamed for the seaweed in the water, cleaning the one on the sand should be done more than once a week. If this was not bad enough, one could never get any beach chairs unless resorting to getting up extremely early to get one and go and guard it all day long. Several incidents occurred around the pool area and the beach with people shouting and yelling over stolen beach chairs. This contributed to the feeling of nervousness and complete misery rather than relaxation at a 5 star resort. Further complicating matters was the fact that the majority of the narrow beach that the hotel had was closed off to the swimmers, as boats were constantly going in and out of the water. Getting a drink at the beach bar was always a chore as there was always something missing and an incredible line up to go with it.

Two nights during our stay at the hotel, local "Artisan" vendors were permitted on the hotel property. They were extremely aggressive, tagging at guestąs sleeves in order to get us to buy something. The majority of hotel guests, us included, resorted to walking around and through grass in order to avoid the before mentioned scenes. This further added to the matters of an uneasy feeling about this hotel. To make things even worse, the hotel management blatantly allowed these vendors to openly sell fake cigars on the hotel property. Unsuspecting tourists wasted their money on this, and it is unimaginable that a 5 star hotel condones this kind of practice and behaviour on its property. As far as the rest of the property was concerned, there was never enough space at the lobby bar to get a seat. This was largely due to the fact that there simply werenąt enough spots where one could sit down for a drink or just to relax. The hotel has an open-concept layout, but the space is not used well. The entertainment was lacking and was limited to two or three songs. There was only one night where there was decent entertainment. While I enjoy listening to Bob Marley, listening to one CD for the entire trip blaring through the hotel premises was a little too much.

While all of the above was enough to make our vacation miserable, the events that occurred on January 2nd and 3rd were what really got us upset. Upon leaving the room in the morning, we left tip on the night table for the maid. Once we returned to the room around 3PM, we discovered that the room was not made up, the mini bar was not refilled, but the money was gone. What was even worse is the fact that someone entered the room, drilled into the walls and installed a toilet paper dispenser. All the mess was left unclean and several new cigarette buts were left for us. Trying not to dwell in negativity, we returned to the beach, thinking that it would all get cleaned. Upon entering our room again at 6PM, we were disappointed to see that it had still not been cleaned.

At this time, we once again returned to the reception to complain about it and were assured that our room would be cleaned up first thing in the morning, and that we have nothing to worry about. They brought us two clean towels and soap but our room was never cleaned in the morning as promised.

Sunwing representatives could never be located around the lobby or the representative desk at the prescribed hours. Once we finally saw Ryan on January 2nd and complained, he told us that we should have told him of our problems earlier. That would have been only possible if he could be found where he was supposed to be found. Since he was never there he was of no help to us. He did advise us to meet with George the next morning and to fill out a Customer Complaint Form. But, once we found George he knew nothing of such a form and just gave us a borrowed piece of blank paper and asked us to write our complaint on it.

Based on the summary of the above described it is hard to believe that a reputable company such as Sunwing would rate this hotel as a five star resort. If we paid $500 per person and were told that this was a 2 star resort, the service and level of cleanliness would have still been unsatisfactory.

While paying a fair amount of money for this vacation from hell, we did not expect to be carried to our own beach chairs and waited on hand and foot.

What we did expect was a clean room with facilities equaling to a five star resort. Basic necessities such as working lights, functional doors, complete bedding, and a bar of soap would have been a good start. Responsive and courteous hotel staff would have made it a bonus.

We will never be able to recommend Dreams Palm Beach Hotel to anyone.

Although we would have liked to continue using the services provided by Sunwing, this will have to wait until they take initiative to actually respond to our complaint, which to this date, has not occurred.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not Bad but Not Good Either"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Billy  on Aug 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
414 people found this review helpful

My wife and I came to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana for our honeymoon. The resort is beautiful, however, we were not impressed with the service. To start our room was not ready when we got there. In addition, the first thing they tried to do was up sell us on a room, which kind of defeats the purpose of all inclusive. The staff was not friendly and did not by any means go out of their way to make us feel welcome. Perhaps it is the language barrier, but we have been to mutliple places where English is not the native language and never had this type of experience anywhere else. Another thing we did not like was they allow outside vendors to come in and barder inside the resort. They were very aggressive and would not take no for an answer, very annoying. Considering that we mainly wanted to relax on our honeymoon we had an enjoyable experience overall, but we will not be coming back to this resort. We spoke to others who have stayed at other all inclusive resorts like sandals and they say the service their blows this service away. Just thought I would share our experience in hopes to give others a better perspective because all the reviews we read about Dreams Palms Beach were all very good and we were disappointed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort is not ready to have guests"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scot, New Jersey  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2008
235 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 12/24/08
The resort is not ready to have guests. Most families waited from 3 to 8 hours for a room. We saw and spoke to about 20-30 families over the first two days having the same problems as us. We arrived at 2 and got a room at 7:00pm. Some did not get rooms until 12:00 in the morning. They had no room keys so they told us to get a guard to open the doors. Trying to find a guard when you needed was a chore.

Rooms:
We had three rooms. No A/C in one, the fan in the second room made so much noise that we could not run it while in the room or at night, no control of the A/C in the third (50F or 80). Dozens of rooms had the roof leak over their beds and complained parts of the ceiling were falling on them as they slept. The halls are always flooded during the rain. Two inches in our room by the door. My sons room door would not lock and we had to wait two hours for a repair man to come fix it. Our three rooms had no cable TV however I did figure out how to connect them myself and program the TV channels. There were no towel racks or toilet paper holders in the bathrooms. No handles on the shower or toilet doors. Room service was non existent unless you called several times. Rooms were made each day by 6-7:00pm. We always were out of bath towels. We had suites (Preferred Club) but there were no drawers to put our clothes. My wife kept hers in the night table drawers and I used my suitcase. The floors in the rooms and parts of the lobby are smooth tile that were like sheets of ice when wet. We fell or slipped many times.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food is just average. Getting reservations at the habachi restaurant is a trick. You need to get there by 5:45 and wait until 6:30 when it opens to get in line to make reservations for 1 of the 9 seating available the entire evening.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They ran out of beach towels several times a day. They ran out of vodka several times and we had to wait til the next day. You need to get up early to get a lounge chair on the beach and even earlier to get one at the pool. We saw many argument about stolen chairs.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The state of the art Gym is a small room with 1960 bar bells. One of three Hobi sailboats were broken making lines very long making there first come first serve policy anoying. We had to stand there for up to 1-2 hours to get the next available one. The Theater was closed and we saw no shows.

Other Comments:
Well I could go on forever but this should be enough for you to make your decision. There are too many great resorts out there to waste your time on this one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube