Dreams Palm Beach Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Dreams Palm Beach  

Cabeza de Toro; P. O. Box 68; Higuey, Dominican Republic

"Not worth what we paid"
Posted by: Mick and Sylvia on Nov 5, 2012
see all reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews
Dreams Palm Beach Pictures and Information
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#12
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 39 reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Information


Dreams Palm Beach, situated on the sunny east coast of the Dominican Republic, an idyllic haven for singles, couples and families. It is a nice relaxing fully integrated world of magnificent beaches, a majestic turquoise sea and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as an honored guest with all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury ® - where everything is included.

Dreams Palm Beach official website
http://www.dreamsresorts.com/drepb/

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.4 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  12
Average
  4
Poor
  5
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Leisure (18)
Wedding (3)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
11 - 20 of 39

"Beautiful"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diana  on Jun 27, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
627 people found this review helpful

We were a party of four. Our stay was wonderful. We had a little trouble with the rooms at first, but the hotel staff fixed everything quickly.
The overall status of the hotel was very, very friendly and clean. The staff was the best. The entertainment was excellent, friendly, funny ect...
The food was excellent at all the establishments. Can't really say anthing negative about this resort.

Your Arrival:
Upon arrival we were greeted very well. Our pictures were taken and then we were escorted through everything very quickly. It was so quick that we had to wait for luggage. The trip to the resort was very fast and friendly. There was little mix up with the rooms when we arrived, but taken care of very quickly. Drinks were offered upon arrival too.

Rooms:
The rooms were very clean and the ac and fans were working all great.Towels and supplies were always kept up. The fridge was always restocked and if you needed anything the staff were there very quickly to accomodate you.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars are plentiful. It was great that you didn't have to make a reservation at any of the restaurants. If you had to wait, they gave you a beeper and you could walk around till it was your turn to go in.
We never had to wait too long for any meal. The food was fabulous.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was great. Sometimes you had to look around for chairs but that didn't take that long. It was kept clean all the time.
Now the pools are very good, but I would watch out for the swim up pools. People tend to forget the sun and how many drinks you cosume at the swim up bars. Wonderful time!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were great. There was always something going on.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great value"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Charlene  on Apr 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
545 people found this review helpful

We booked an Apple Vacations "6 apple square deal" which meant we did not know until our destination until the morning of our departure. The "Square deal" saved us about $130 each over the sticker price of this place. We are seasoned travelers but this was our first time for an "all-inclusive." What a value and wonderful, relaxing way to vacation.
WEATHER - it rained almost every day of our trip, but in a rain-forest kind of fashion. The rain would come and 15 minutes later the sun would folo. So it was not like a rainy day at the Carolina beaches. One morning it stormed so bad that the rain was coming in the open-air buffet. We noticed one gentleman eating his scrambled eggs under his umbrella. But by the time we finished, the sun was out.

Your Arrival:
Cookies, a fruity cocktail and wet cloths added to the outdoor ambiance of the lobby. The staff was very accommodating in trying to meet our request for a lower-level room.

Rooms:
Clean. Spacious. The AC worked fine. The shower is a little strange. There is no shower curtain -- just a permanent glass front. Only the glass is only half the size of the shower, so it is virtually impossible not to get water on the floor. There is even an umbrella in everyone's closet, which can come in handy.

Restaurants and Bars:
Honestly, how could anyone ever complain? In general, we don't like buffets. We prefer to be served, so we never ate dinner in the buffet. But we usually checked it out to know what we were missing. One night they were cooking filets. They had grilled lobster tails on two occasions. There was always a pasta bar. We did eat breakfast and/or lunch at the buffet. We saw fruit we had never seen in the US. Always fresh squeezed orange juice, and sometimes champagne to go with it . . . They had an omelet bar that also made eggs to order. The salad bar at lunch was good. One day they were cooking T-bones for lunch. It is true that drink service at the buffet can be slow. Getting coffee in the morning was no problem, but asking for a coke at lunch took a couple of requests.
On Saturday, they cooked huge woks of paella at the beach. For dinner, we went to the Hibachi place twice, the seaside grill twice (great-flavored steaks) and the french place twice. Only disappointment was the Italian place because pasta didn't come with the meals. You had to ask for it extra.
True. the pool bar drinks were not strong. But we never went wanting for alcohol. One night they put out a whole table of cordials for help-yourself service. . . another evening they served champagne at the gazebo while a saxophonist entertained . . . the coffee shop coffee was awesome.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean pools. Guests can get two fresh beach towels each day. The beach does get seaweed, but they are busy cleaning it up every morning. There are fun ocean things -- like an inflatable climbing wall -- for kids.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do any excursions this trip. We did hit the local flea market, which is not far from the front gate. These guys are quite aggressive, but there are bargains.

Other Comments:
This place apparently is a big wedding destination. We saw at least 6 weddings. One family told us they had 85 people there, It's also kid friendly. This was SUCH a good vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was great got spoiled"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 25, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
465 people found this review helpful

I have been to the D.R. 4 times and this was the first one i attended and all the others were a let down after staying here. The service was excellent. The resort was great and felt right at home there. We just loved it. Since then I got divorced and went to another resort by myself and won't make that mistake again. I am already planning a trip back to this resort. I recommend this resort to anyone that wants to get there moneys worth. I will be going back there very soon and hope to be greeted as I did last time. Hope to see you all there you won't be disappointed.
John Sorensen

Your Arrival:
Was great treated like royalty

Rooms:
The rooms had everything you could possibly need. The AC worked great which is a big plus so you can get a good night sleep.

Restaurants and Bars:
All food was very tasty and the bars were top notch and it seemed there was never a lineup for drinks. They are great people that serve you and have no complaints.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was awesome and very clean. The beach is something you will just have to see on your own. We just loved it. And at night could not get any better.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lot's to do. You never run out of things to do. And the prices were not bad even your average Joe can afford them. The resort is hard to explain it is just so beautiful everywhere you go. They treat you like royalty. These people know how to run a resort. Everything is so clean and perfect.

Other Comments:
This is a great place to vacation and you really get your moneys worh and I will be returning soon. Like I said have been to the D.R. 4 times and this was the best place by far.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extremely disappointing"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marcu  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
416 people found this review helpful

This is to inform you that we had an unpleasant experience in the dream plam beach resort in punta cana during our vacation from February 5 to february 12, 2010.

I have experienced bad stomac pain and nausea over the week of 02/08/10 and until present. We have found that other people experienced the same problems over the same period . I intend to check with my doctor and then start letting people know what to expedct when vacationing in that specific resort. It is unacceptable to go thru this kind of experience in a resort advertising 6 gold apples.

I am extremely disappointed and intend to share this experience with all the people who think comming to that resort.

Veronica-Ileana Marcu/Cleveland /Ohio.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not So Excellente!"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cap  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
391 people found this review helpful

I was one of many who were sick while there. You couldn't enagage in conversation without someone discussing them being sick and their travel companions. Everyday we met without exageration 15 people who were sick.
This was our 3rd trip to Punta Cana, our first and last trip to Dreams Palms.

Your Arrival:
The arrival was fine and the room was ready within 15 minutes.

Rooms:
The room was good sized, but the pillow shams were dirty as was the bed spread and the curtains. We asked fro clean shams and 2 days later we got them after several requests. They also continued to put the dirty shams back on the bed even after we told them not to.
I will say the bed matress was comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was OK at the buffet assuming the sickness everyone got wasn't food related. The ala carte restaurants were good, but I expected something a bit more from the buffets for a "Six Gold Apple" resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and pools were nice and appeared clean. The crew kept up with the seaweed keeping the beach clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities were what you would expect from any all inclusive and the employees were enthusiastic without being over kill.

Other Comments:
I did some checking unfortunatley too late to see that guests getting sick isn't an isolated instance. I noticed several entries going back over the past 6 weeks of peple getting sick.
Also I will ote that the Apple Vacations Representative on premises was of no use what so ever. She even said that she was there to seel excusriosn not help a sick client.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dream Pepto Bismal Punta Cana"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on Feb 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
350 people found this review helpful

The resort was in a great location and well taken care of except the following. Bathrooms were least desireable. inadequate shower doors means water all over the place. Some people complained about mold in the bathroom. Lack of adequate door also means no privacy when with family.
Sickness was the greatest concern. Over 90 % of the people polled had some form of gastro intestinal sickness which included violent vomiting. Was it the food?, water ? or norwalk hard to tell.
Kids plenty of kids in all pools ecept thier designated one.
food at the buffet was the same each day, restaurants were hit and miss for quality.
Service was great and so were the staff.

Rooms:
Bathrooms poor - shower and door needs desparate improvement
water all over the place

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet same food every day

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
kids in every pool. ? sickness and the young kids in the water.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Good"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aspasia  on Feb 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
332 people found this review helpful

Just returned from Punta Cana, this was our 7th. time to the D.R. The room was very clean, the mini bar was always filled and towels replaced as per need. To take a shower was a bit messy with too much water falling on the floor. The buffet we found it a bit boring especially for lunch and dinner. The Japanese/Chinese restaurant was very good and the French amazing. We liked the fact that there was no need for reservations and you could go as many times as you wanted. Pool area and beach area very clean, service we found was excellent. We're in the restaurant business, so service to us means a lot. The beach area we found that there was a lot of seaweed, the Bavaro beach area we find it a lot nicer but more windy. At this beach you have less wind. At this resort you have a lot of older folks so last call at the lobby bar is midnight and than you can go to the disco. We personally think that this resort should get rated 4 stars not 5. Overall our stay was a good experience. Honestly no resort is perfect. What we really liked about this one, is that is a smaller resort so everything is around you and close.

Your Arrival:
Our flight came in 2 hours late but checking was fast and informative.

Rooms:
Good size room and very clean. We were in building 9 facing the back so we could see part of the ocean which that was very nice.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was ok. Japanese/Chinese and French was very good. Bars were also good but we're not big drinkers. Coffee shop amazing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds are very clean, beach area lots of seaweed. Plenty of lounge chairs for everyone. You don't have to get up from 6:00 am. to get a chair. At the beach no one would hassle you to buy anything. Service was excellent at the beach area, never had to get up once to get our own drinks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They need more activities and music by the pool.

Other Comments:
The people that work at this resort seems that they like their jobs and seem to be happy. I think that management takes care of their people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent in almost every way"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diana  on Feb 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) GREECE
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
223 people found this review helpful

We stayed previously at the Bavaro Princess, which was fairly awful. Dreams is completely different.
Rooms - spotless, spacious, well equipped, super comfortable beds, good linens and pillows. Well insulated no disturbance from other rooms, bars etc.
Beach - excellent, teams constantly cleaning seaweed, no sunbed problems at all, very few beach vendors and those who were there were no problem at all, unlike Bavaro where they really don't leave you alone.
Pools - excellent, plenty of space - the fact that there are 3 pools means no crowding
Grounds - spotless but not as much wandering around area as Bavaro, Natura etc. who have mini eco parks in their grounds.
Restaurants - buffet very good, occasionally not terribly hot, wide selection, very good service, long opening hours which is probably why there is no 'scrum' for tables. A la carte restaurants ok, not fantastic in terms of food quality, but nice for a change.
Staff - really good, always friendly, helpful and efficient - we did generally tip but they do not actually make you feel that you MUST tip, unlike other places we have been.
Bars - several to choose from, so you can have peace and quiet or active, as you prefer.
Entertainment - they tried REALLY hard, we are not really into organised entertainment karaoke type stuff, but the team were enthusiastic, and you have to applaud them for their efforts. Also movie every night on the beach and several nights music on the beach which was very good.
Spa looked good, didn't try it but people seemed to find it good.

Only problem here is like rest of Punta Cana - go on an excursion or go nowhere! Small village outside the hotel but the usual hassle to buy fairly tacky stuff. In the past we rented a car and went exploring which was good, driving not as difficult as reps selling excursions would imply, although we live in Greece so maybe we are more used to 'unusual' roads and driving.

Other Comments:
only minus - forget the jacuzzi and preferred club pool - jacuzzi used as a kids pool by presumably club guests, which is a shame since there is a perfectly good kids pool only 50m away. Means lots of noise noise in the small club pool joining the jacuzzi, so not much use if you want to relax!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor food handling."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dan  on Feb 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
279 people found this review helpful

We stayed for 10 days during which time 4 of our 6 were ill. I saw chefs at the buffet use tongs that they had used on raw meat (chicken or beef) then serve the cooked food with the very same tongs. They also would place raw chicken & then raw beef on the same plate time after time not changing the plate. The food industry in Canada would call this cross contamination. On more than one time we were served under cooked chicken at the buffet. The bacon for breakfast had a spoiled taste. So if this was seem in the front part what happened in the back part where you didn't see. The food was the same in the buffet all 10 days and rated about a 4 out of 10. We also ate at the beach snack area where they served hamburgs & Hot Dogs & Fries, we were served under cooked hamburgs & I saw the chef place hamburgs on the grill with his bare hand & then with the same unwashed hand cut the hamburg buns an place them in the serving basket.. Food in the theme rest were better but would be rated a 6 of 10. The booze was watered down as well.
The rooms are good (ground level rooms are very musty) the hotel was clean the staff were very attentive & the beach was good.
We have been to the D.R. serveral times & this was the worst food handling & quality that I have seen.

Your Arrival:
No issues

Rooms:
good other than ground floor very musty

Restaurants and Bars:
Poor food handling many people ill

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
typical resort activities

Other Comments:
I would not recommend this resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I believe this resort offers many amenities that some others do not."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Bill and Jenny  on Feb 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
256 people found this review helpful

Dreams Palm Beach Great Addition

We stayed at Dreams PB from Jan 21 to Jan 26. This was our 13th visit to an Amresort property and the resorts was just wonderful. We have been to many all-inclusives but have been returning to this chain because of no wristbands, no reservations required at restaurants(you can just eat anywhere and anytime you want and no restrictions or coupons. But mostly the staff and its crew outshine any other resorts we have been to, the friendliness, service, ammenities, food, pools etc are just what we like. We have stayed at Dreams Punta Cana(STB) 5 times but wanted to try this new resort because it offers a closer resort to the Airport and is on Bavaro Beach and is a Dreams property.

We had a Preferred Club room so we just checked into the club with no waiting. The Club area is like a resort in a resort. Has its own internet(3 computers), self serve bar, horderves, concierge, big screen TV’s in the club itself. Attached to the club is the Seaside Grill which is open to club members only for breakfast and lunch and a full service bar. Restrooms right there. Unlimited pool towels, drink service, a large hot tub which is hot, and your own private pool with plenty of loungers and floats, and a private beach. You really don’t have to leave the area.

The resort is laid out like a big “U”. You stand at the lobby and look out and each side is lined with rooms and down the middle you just see the 2 main pools, the children’s pool, palm trees and the beach and ocean. Not a lot of walking required. The 4 a-la-carte restaurants(French, Italian, Mexican, Japanese) are in one building. Each has different décor and atmosphere and are very pretty rooms. The World Café is beside the restaurant and shopping area. The buffet has whatever you want for breakfast, varies but large selection at lunch and themed selections for dinner including lobster tails. The Seaside Grill is open to everyone and is open air and on the beach. All have excellent food and service. Some of the dinners will truly be some of the better meals you have had. Top notch all-inclusive food. They also have wine lists so if you want a better wine the bottles on the list are very reasonable. The house wine are not bad with the white being better in my opinion. If the restaurant has a wait they will give you a beeper which works all over the resort so relax and have a drink or listen to the live music in the lobby bar or the beach bar or just shop in the stores. Alcohol is high end and they have pretty much whatever you want. I like Bailey’s and it was everywhere.

The pool entertainment is pretty much standard fare with games and contests all day. The night time shows are scaled back right now but with an new entertainment facility being built will be full scale soon(within 2- to 4 weeks). There will also be a conference center there and a new bar which I am sure will be very popular. The new facility will be right past the casino and the sports bar. Right now the shows are on a small stage in the middle of the resort and are open air. The show are still fun and my wife likes being outside and close to stage. Servers bring drinks constantly.

The rooms are all very nice and all are pretty standard in size except for the suites which are a double size rooms with a very large bathroom, a large powder room, eating table, couches, 2 flat screen TV’s and patio or deck. The standard room has a king bed or 2 doubles, bath, storage closet , TV, coffee maker, mini bar, very comfortable rooms. The linens are high end and the beds are the most comfortable of any all-inclusive ever. Amenities in the bathrooms are high quality. Towels large and soft. Deck or patio. Room service is available although we didn’t try it. Maid service was excellent. Bed was turned down nightly with a Sundial newsletter explaining the next days activities and chocolates were on the bed each night. Mini bar refurbished daily.

The pools are 2 separate pools . One has a large whirlpool in the middle(not heated) and many nooks to put chairs in the water, to get shade, to swim under fountain sprays etc. The swim up bar is in this pool. Walk out of the pool and go a few feet across the walk and you are on the beach. The other pool has the children’s pool at one end and is more of a lazy river type pool where the pool activities are located. All walkways and the hard areas around the pools are a tile like material which is beautiful but stays cool and is not very slippery, very nice.

The beach is white sand and the water is fairly calm and blue. Large beach but many like the beach and may be harder to find chairs so go early or later. Some seaweed but is raked up constantly. There is a beach hut for fresh grilled hot dogs, hamburgers, and french fries with tables and chairs in the sand. Very good food. A beach bar is very close to the beach but with so many servers you never wait long for a drink. The servers even filled up our thermal mugs.

Tipping is not required for service at any time. Service is excellent and with a “its my pleasure’ each time. Tipping is a personal thing. If you want to tip it would be nice, a few dollars go a long way but it is definately not required for excellent service! If you do tip bring dollars because they are hard to get there and a tip will be greeted with a smile.

The lobby bar is a very busy place at night with the bartenders basically putting on a show with their drink making. Many Martini’s being made there but a full bar with everything. Also a sitting area in front of the bar to drink and listen to the music. They also have live entertainment in the lobby at night. There is an outside bar near the beach with tables and are candle lit for a more intimate setting. Also a bar at the Seaside Grill with a few tables on the walkway outside the restaurant. The new entertainment will also have a bar.

Outside the World Café the is a Starbucks like coffee shop to get whatever type of coffee drink or pastry you may like. Outside there are a few tables to sit and enjoy as well as tables and booths inside, again very nice.

The resort has a kids club, a core zone for teenagers, a spa and exercise room which I can’t really comment on except to say that from many people I have talked with at all Dreams I have been to that the activities for kids and teenagers are exceptional. There is also a kids movie in the evening at the wedding gazebo. Plenty for kids of all ages from just peeking into the clubs.

Apple Vacations rates resorts on a one to 6 Apples with 6 being the highest. I would rate this resort a 5 Apple right now and as soon as the new bar-conference center-entertainment show center opens(just weeks away) then I believe it will be a 6 Apple. I believe this resort offers many amenities that some others do not as a whole package.

The resort is just refurbished and it really is a complete transformation. A few bugs are being worked out as with any new resort but none should affect your vacation and management is working them out as we chat. Landscaping will need some time to mature but the areas between the rooms, the fountains outside the main lobby etc make this a very pretty resort. I also believe this would be a great resort for handicapped guests to be able to get around with just a few exceptions(the Bordeaux and Italian Restaurants are up steps).

I spoke with many people while at this resort and aside from a few start up problems the responses were excellent. In all my trips with Amresorts I have had great times and they have been hassel free. We have been to many other all-inclusive resort chains but prefer Dreams and Secrets. I like to see managers walking around the resort and that are available in case of a problem or suggestion. The no reservation and no wristband is a huge thing with me and is just another huge plus with Amresorts(Dreams,Secrets, Sunscapes). Hope this review helps and as you can tell I love the chain of hotels and will return again. If I can be of help my e-mail is bbgamer1@yahoo.com.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube