Dreams Palm Beach Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Dreams Palm Beach  

Cabeza de Toro; P. O. Box 68; Higuey, Dominican Republic

"leonardito and dreamer at DPB"
Posted by: leonardito  on Nov 1, 2015
see all reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews
Dreams Palm Beach Pictures and Information
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#12
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 40 reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Information


Dreams Palm Beach, situated on the sunny east coast of the Dominican Republic, an idyllic haven for singles, couples and families. It is a nice relaxing fully integrated world of magnificent beaches, a majestic turquoise sea and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as an honored guest with all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury ® - where everything is included.

Dreams Palm Beach official website
http://www.dreamsresorts.com/drepb/

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.4 of 5 40 reviews
Excellent
  11
Very good
  12
Average
  4
Poor
  5
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Leisure (19)
Wedding (3)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
11 - 20 of 40

"We would definately go back"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Denise from Pittsburgh  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
639 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan.2 6- 30
We arrived at Dreams Palm Beach by 12:30pm, only a 20 minute ride at most from the airport. There were a lot of people checking in when we got there but it went relatively fast since they had many people working the front desk for this purpose. Alexander checked us in and told us where our room was so off we went.

Rooms:
I had emailed the reosrt a week prior to our arrival and asked for a third floor room with a king bed and nice view if any were available and that's just what we got. First let me say we just booked the Supersaver Room through Apple vacations, no up grades of any sort. Our Room was 6316, Third floor with king bed overlooking the pool where they play water polo and things. Very nice I might add. The room was newly renovated and was spa like feeling. We had robes, 24 hour room service (which we never used) safe, turn down service each night, ironing board and iron, flat screen tv, nice sitting area. The room was cleaned everyday usually by lunch time. One day we came back to the room and found a swan on the table made for us out of towels by the maid. Like stated before no matter how careful you are it is hard not to get water on the floor when showering so we used one of the hand towels for a bath mat and it worked. The air conditioning worked so well that at times we had to turn it off for fear of freezing! No matter how we adjusted the thermostat it still was cold, but I would much rather have that than it not to work. We spent time out on the balcony people watching and just enjoying the beautiful resort.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We didn't do anything since we were only there 4 nights. I will tell you that there was always someone walking around the resort telling you what activities would be taking place soon. One thing that I liked that this resort did was every night they would deliver a paper with the next days activities, special drink of the day, weather, etc.

Other Comments:
One of the things that I didn't like and it is a pet peeve of mine is that they played very little Dominican music if any. I was told that they "HAD" to play American music, believe me I'm American and I do not want to hear Celine Dion singing God Bless America. Then they would play this stuff from the 50's it was horrible down by the pool. In the lobby each evening they had live music which varied I still don't remember Dominican music there either. I told them at guest relations about it since that is what I was told to do by the head of the entertainment team. I just told them that I am American and don't want to hear American music when I come to the Dominican, I love their music. One other thing is that I know from past experience to bring whatever you think you might need because the shops on the resorts are always so highly priced. well we were in the Dominican in June of 08 and bought quite a bit of coffe at $6.00 a bag. I know ther is inflation but they wanted $16.00 for a bag of coffee, the same kind we always buy. So of course I wouldn't buy it there. When I got to the airport (which is always more expensive thanthe resorts) I bought a couple bags at $8.00 a bag. I don't know why Dreams was charging so much for their coffee. We would definately go back some day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We’re not likely to return"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Don  on Feb 1, 2009  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
646 people found this review helpful

ADEQUATE SUPPLY OF TOWELS: Generous, very large and fluffy.

ADEQUATE SUPPLY OF CHAIRS: You have to reserve one early.

ADEQUATE ALLOCATION OF SPACE TO NON-SMOKERS: Not even an issue; no one attempted to smoke in public spaces.

BEACH: Very calm, not warm, much seaweed (usually swept up).

ENTERTAINMENT: We’ve stopped going to this, still being at dinner when it started at 9:30.

TENNIS AVAILABILITY: Dreams’ courts aren’t finished yet, but we were able to go next door to Natura, which has 3 (seldom-used, though 2 seemed to be permanently locked).

FOOD: Excellent variety and quality. All a la carte very good, and dessert/pastry cafe an unexpected bonus. Main dining room not shielded from the elements, and on rainy tables it was windy and wet.

SHOPS AND AMENITIES: The usual jewelry and gift shops (with resort prices). There is an Internet cafe, but unlike other hotels, there is a charge to use computers ($4 for 15 minutes). Adequate exercise room, though a charge for steam and sauna.

NON-HARRASSMENT: Vendors were allowed on the grounds once; the beach salespeople were low-key.

TV STATIONS: Major and network cable available.

QUIET: Their website states, “Three beautiful sun-basked pools including a children's pool and a quiet, adults-only area.” This is only true at the small “preferred” pool (we didn’t ask how to become “preferred”); it’s hard to avoid noise at the main pool. The resort is compact, so the long major pool is connected to the kiddie one. The beach was peaceful except during aerobics.

STAFF: Excellent attitude, but some in contact positions needed English training. We had a problem with the TV, and it was replaced right away. But no one seemed to know how to deal with the room safe.

GROUNDS: Kept up.

ROOM: Kind of on the small side, especially bathroom (no tub). No odors. The entire resort was out of diet soda for 2 days. Mini-bar service is sporadic; we had to get water bottles at the bar and bring to our room.

SPA: Excellent facial.

AIRPORT AND CHECK-IN: Airport arrival handled efficiently. Hotel check-in slow. Airline check-in (Air Trans) very slow, but plane arrived ahead of schedule.

SUMMARY: This hotel omits some of the nonsense of other all-inclusives: no bracelets, signing out for towels, and signing up for restaurants. Having opened 12/08, it’s not quite ready for a 5-star rating. We’re not likely to return because of the beach and room size.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would highly recommend this resort"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Janet from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
601 people found this review helpful

Arrival
It was a great trip. One of the best Resorts we've been to. We traveled to Mexico and Punta Cans many times.

Rooms
The rooms were fine, only one little complaint. They had 6 large decorative pillows on the beds, and they took up so much room I had them taken out.

Restaurants and Bars
We did not go to the restaurants as we prefer the buffet. It was the best food and the best selection we have had. The restaurants did not require reservations which is a great feature.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool was wonderful. The resort is not as large as some which we liked as we are seniors.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The staff were the best and the shows were great. The shows were different each night not your standard fare. We went on self driving trip on the Fun Buggy. It was exciting and very enjoyable. www.fun-buggy.com We went on the Party Boat at the resort for an afternoon. Some snorkling and swimming and lots of fun.

Other Comments
We would highly recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Stay at Dreams Palm Beach"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer from PEI, Canada  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
687 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 12 - 19
We were greated with champagne and a quick check-in. We were told it would be a few hrs before our rooms would be ready because we arrived around 12noon but they were ready before that time. One small clitch with our check in was that we had 4 rooms with our party and 2 rooms were in one building and 2 were in another. They did get all 4 in one building but not on the same floors.

Rooms
Rooms were beautiful but as mentioned before the shower was not practical as the door is a half glass door and water was always on the floor. Also, the floors and tile in bathroom really should have been regrouted with the renovations! Our phone did not work properly and was never fixed by the time we left.

Restaurants and Bars
Restaurants were great! Best food was at the japanese restaurant and the buffet. I thought I would like the idea of not having to make reservations for the restaurants but we had a group of 9 and it was always hard to get a spot and they always wanted to divide us up into 2 tables. It always seemed to be a big problem when we went into the buffet to get a table for 9, even when there were a ton of empty tables that could be pushed together. Some waitstaff were very slow with the water refills.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Nice grounds except that if it is supposed to be a 5 star there was a lot of garbage on the beach and the pool was really dirty on the bottom for a day or so. They always had guys raking up the seaweed which was nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Went on the zipline adventure and it was amazing except for the 2hr drive to and from in the back of the truck!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All of the restaurants were better than any all inclusive restaurant I have stayed at."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Heather from Manchester, CT  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009
621 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 25 - May 02
Upon arrival, we were graciously shown to the front desk but were promptly sent to the Preferred Club for separate check-in. As previous guests have noted we were given champagne and a wet towel to cool off. At first a room with 2 double beds was offered even though we requested a king size bed, but a king room was ready in less than a hour.

Rooms:
The rooms were very spacious for what we needed and though we had a garden view overlooking the explorers club, noise was not an issue throughout our stay. The beds were extremely comfortable and I wanted to take the matress home! The shower was an issue, though nothing a towel on the ground in front of the shower didn't fix. The rooms were a bit moist, I am not sure if it is because of the space below the door letting mooisture in or not, but a mildew smell did start to come from my clothes and I have washed them once and it seems like one or two more washes and the smell will go away. I was a little upset towards the end of the week when I found out there were many additional items that were supposed to be included that were not in our preferred room at anytime including the upgraded mini-bar, the beach towels during turndown service, our internet had ot be requested, it was not just set up for immediate use, and we did not receive upgraded toiletries. It seems a bit worrysome that they do not automatically give you the items you pay for being in a preferred room, and that you must ask for everything that is considered "extra". Had I known this and thought of it, I would have never paid the extra money to have a preferred room and would have saved a couple hundred dollars each for our trip or I would have made sure everything that was promised was there from the first day we were there. I would suggest either not paying the extra money, or making sure from the first day of your stay that you request all the items that were promised given your preferred status.

Restaurants and Bars::
All of the restaurants were better than any all inclusive restaurant I have stayed at. The Hibachi was a great time (we went there twice) and the rib eye at the Seaside Grill was amazing. We only hung out at the Lobby bar while we were there since the dance club was not that great. If I had to pick a least favorite restaurant it would have to be Portpofini since the pasta dish I had the last night was undercooked, but still edible and both times I asked for a ravioli dish they had listed on their menu, but did not have either time and I found out the last night we ate there that this had never been changed from previous management. One thing travelers should know is that during the off season, the restaurants are only open a couple times a week, not the advertised "only closed twice a week" as noted. There was also 2 days of our stay that we were given only one choice of where to eat. One was an outside buffet and the other night was a Dominican style dinner at the convention center.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
There was never an issue as I have heard others complain, about getting a towel or poolside chair, nor was there an issue getting a beach chair, though our trip was during a slow season and I can not imagine 1000 guests trying to find an available pool chair, since there woudl not be that many to accomodate even half the guests.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:

I did not go on any tours, I am a fan of sitting around and doing nothing, though other guests raved about the ATV ride, parasailing, and chartering a boat to go fishing. There are also plent of things to do while on the resort but they do not push you to be involved asking you hundreds of times to do something.

Other Comments:

Please note that I tried to be as informative as possible and tried to list as many positive and negative things about the resort. The staff was great and there for anything you need, not a bad apple in the bunch. Our drinks were never watered down as others have noted, I did have a huge problem with mosquitos but my partner did not (I seemed to have attracted them more bring bug spray just in case), the pool, beach area, and walkways were always kept immaculately clean, and the grounds were beautifully kept.

I probably would not rate this a 4 out of 5 stars, but I will say that for $1400 with flight from Hartford, CT, I definitely thought it was more than what I paid for it! Again, I tried to give both positive aspects and negative aspects about this resort to help you form the best decision to fit your vacation needs. If you have any quetsions, please do not hesitate to contact me!

kinsley_heather@yahoo.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We really had a wonderful time."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Katie from Michigan  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009
609 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 15 to July 20
My husband and I (ages 29 and 30) spent 6 days(7/15-7/20) at the Dreams Palm Beach. We booked through Apple Vacations. This was our second time with Apple and in an all inclusive. We previously stayed at the Grand Palladioum Resort in the Riviera Maya. Our flights on US Airways were on time or early both ways. We spoke briefly with the Apple Rep when we reached Punta Cana and he immediately directed us to a minivan that drove just my husband and I to the resort. It was very nice not to have to climb onto a charter bus and make multiple stops. We were at our resort within 20 minutes.

Hotel check in was smooth and our room was ready for us even though it was 2:00. We received cool towel and mimosas while we checked in. Check out and departure also went very smoothly.

Rooms:
The room looked just like the pictures. Some of the fixtures are showing wear already even though I believe they are less than a year old. It is still a very nice room. Our room was 6305 (on the 3rd floor--this is nice because you get cathedral ceilings). It had a great view of the pool and even a view of the ocean! We booked the AI Supersaver rate and received a standard room. It had a king sized bed, flat screen tv, iron, hairdryer, safe, shower (no tub), mini-bar, and a balcony with a small table and chairs. The bathroom had shower gel, shampoo, lotion, and bar soap. The AC worked great! Our room was clean when we arrived. Our bellman told us that the mini-bar was half empty and that we should request to have it refilled immediately. We did and they did come and add some items (I'm not sure how long it took, because we were at the pool). Our room was cleaned nicely each day and most nights we received turn down service. The mini bar never got restocked until we called on the 4th day. It took two calls before they came and we never really did get what their room guide said it should have had. Oh well, it wasn't a big deal to us.

Restaurants and Bars::
There were many bars throughout the resort. They would even set up temporary, but well stocked bars, around the pool during the day, so a drink was never far away. We didn't experience the long waits for drinks that others have described. We did feel that the drinks at the lobby bar were much stronger than the pool bars, so it is up to you on how you prefer it. The buffet had many choices and everything we had was good. We are very picky, but always found plenty to eat. Others who are more adventurous would probably really enjoy the variety. The buffet is open air and it can be pretty hot in there. Everyone is very friendly, but drink service is pretty slow. We ate at 3 of the restaurants. The only one we had a long wait for was the Seaside Grill. We enjoyed our meal, but it wasn't spectacular and the service was very slow. We had virtually no wait at either Portifino or Bordeaux, but had the same feelings as Seaside Grill. Pretty good food, slow service, we were glad we'd tried them but weren't anxious to go back. We tried room service a few times. It is a limited menu, but they were always quick. The room guide states 30 minutes, but we usually had our food in 10-20 minutes. We often ate lunch at the beach bar, which offered chicken (most of the time), burgers, hotdogs, and fries.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The overall grounds were very nice and well kept. The resort is nicely laid out and everything is easy to get to. The pools were very nice. It can be tricky to get chairs, but we always managed to get some without resorting to getting up super early and reserving them, like many people did. The rafts were nice. We enjoyed the swim up bar. There was always some music and activities, but it was never annoying or obnoxious. We met many friends around the pool and although there were many families with kids that never bothered us either. You can grab towels whenever you need them (no cards and no limits). We had a wait for them. It seemed easiest to get them early in the morning or late in the afternoon. It was easier to get chairs at the beach, but hard to get shade. There is a lot of seagrass on the beach and some floating in the water. The bottom is clean and sandy for quite a ways. The grass is better than normal seaweed, but I could have lived without it. They try to keep up with it, but there are a lot of boats going by and I think they stir it up and then it floats in. The water was clear and warm. The beach itself wasn't quite as clean as I would've liked some litter and debris from the trees and seagrass. I talked to someone who stayed at the Moon Palaca and she said they had a large beach with no boats and no seaweed. I heard similar things from other who stayed up the coast in those resorts. If your main reason for going is the beach you may want to try a resor in that area. For us, it wasn't a huge deal because we also enjoy the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We did the Mundo Authentico shopping/cigar tour (free through Apple). It was interesting and took less than two hours. Some items are a good deal compared to the resort and others are not. The selection of souvenirs seemed pretty limited. The only other time I left was to walk into town with a friend I had met. I am always a little nervous when leaving the resort, especially this time with it just being 2 women. The walk to the shops is very short though and things went fine. The vendors are a little aggressive (not as bad as the ones that come on to the resort once or twice a week) and you have to barter, but we felt our trip was a success. It was worth going as they had more reasonable prices than anywhere else we'd been.

Other Comments::
I hope my review does not come across as negative, we really had a wonderful time. I think most of the little bumps we had are common at most all-inclusives and they did not detract from our enjoyment. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and nice. We would consider returning or staying at a Dreams resort again. I had some reservations about traveling in July, but found it to be a very nice time to visit. The weather was beautiful. It was very warm, but there is always a nice breeze, especially in the evening.

My final bit of advice has to do with calling home. We left our 1 year old daughter at home and it was important to us that we were able to check in on her. We found that there really is no easy way to call home, even our cell phone gave us some trouble. The resort charges fairly high fees (around $2 to connect and then $3 a minute). My advice is to call home once right away (we ended up having the front desk place the call for us because our phone would not dial out properly). When you call, give your family the hotel number and your room number. After that have them call you on a calling card. I purchased a card ahead of time that was about $0.30/minute). If you use the card to call, then you will still be charged a connection fee, etc. But if they call you , then you will not recieve any additional charges. They can leave you a voicemail if you don't answer (just beware that there was no way for us to know that we had a voicemail except to dial 8000 and check it! There was a red light on the phone, but it never flashed whether we had one or not) At the end of the trip, I had only a $3 bill for phone usage.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There is no way I'll stay at Dreams again."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Steve from New Jersey  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009
619 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 26 - July 01
We flew on a 6:00am flight on Apple Vacations charter airline, USA 3000. The check in at Philadelphia was chaotic. Nothing is computerized. Other than that, the flight was uneventful, which means great. The flight attendants were extremely friendly. Our return flight was also great. Again, the flight crew was excellent.

Rooms::
We were a group of 8, in 4 rooms. Two of these 8 were my 24 year daughter and her friend. The front desk had a lot of problems handling this. They wanted to put us 8 rooms apart. We had requested connecting with our travel agent, and it could have been her mess up, but the front desk wouldn't even try to move us next to each other. We ended up in building 8, while the other 4 in our group was in building 6. It appears that nobody is allowed to think with the permission of their manager. It took a few hours and they finally put us in adjoining rooms. One small problem, the door from our room to the girls room was bigger than the frame, and therefore wouldn't close. They said they would fix, so we left and headed out to the pool. When we returned, the door was closed. Of course it was jammed closed, so now we couldn't open it. Kinda defeats the purpose of connecting rooms. We waited 4 days, but they did fix it for our last night. For our second day, we returned from the pool to find out that we had no shower. Maintenance did some sort of jerry rigging and we had a shower a few hours later. Yes the shower set up is pretty stupid, and the floor gets soaked, put a towel on the floor. Problem solved. Just to top off our room problems, my wife went back to the room during the afternoon of our third day and the toilet didn't work. It took a while to fix this problem. Then of course later that night, when we returned from the casino, our toilet didn't work again. I spent the next few days lifting the float and repositioning the flapper. To be fair, Jose the day time front desk manager offered to move us to a honeymoon suite, and move the girls close to us. We really didn't want to pack and unpack again, so we said, no, please just fix the room we're in. We did ask for and receive access to the preferred club so our girls could use the internet. Unfortunately, our room issues never stopped. Our mini bar was never stocked. No matter how many times we called, we would return at the end of the day to an empty mini bar. Every afternoon we called for a refill. One night, we returned a little after midnight and called the front desk. They connected us to housekeeping who told us that the mini bar service was closed for the evening but they could transfer us to room service. Room service was gracious enough to tell us that we could get drinking water in 60 minutes. A little talk with the front desk sped up this process. The next day, empty mini bar. They told us that they had restocked it at 2:45. They told us this same answer for the next two days. Our housekeeper was very good about forgetting to bring us towels. Most days we received two towels, no floor towel and no hand towels. We had to make daily calls housekeeping about this. A couple of days we received the paper with the next day's events, but not every day. Cesar at the front desk was about the only person who was able to get anything done for us. He was also probably the only person who cared. The rooms themselves are fairly large and the A/C worked great.

Restaurants and Bars::
The main buffet has some great choices. The breakfast buffet is your standard, omelet station, pancakes, waffles, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, etc. At lunch, they had absolutely delicious grilled shrimp and mussels. There was always a fresh fish being grilled. Other than the heat, since it is open air, the breakfast and lunch buffets were great. For dinner, we never ate at the buffet. We ate at 4 of the 5 specialty restaurants. We did not try the Italian restaurant since we heard from numerous people that the food was awful. Our first night we tried Himitsu, the hibachi side of the Asian restaurant. Our chef was Acevedo and our waiter was Danny. They were great. Since the show is a big part of Hibachi, wanted to mention them by name. We loved it. The food and the interaction was great. Again, I don't know what they do to the shrimp, but they are amazingly good. The caramel bananas and the fried ice cream are the winners as dessert choices. The next night we ate at the Seaside Grill. This was a big disappointment. The food was not good and the service was terrible. Most our group got the shrimp cocktail and the (gotta love this translation) Tibon steak (T-Bone for the rest of us). The shrimp was over cooked and chewy. The steaks were like half a cow. They were bigger than the plate, burnt to a crisp and full of fat. I personally got the rib eye. It had a lot of fat, but the when you cut off the fat, the meat was pretty good. El Patio, the Mexican restaurant was next. This was a lot of fun. Everybody enjoyed their diners except for my nephew who didn't listen to our waitress, Noami, and ordered the tacos. She was best waitress that we had at any restaurant. Great service and a great personality. The manager, Carlos, was also phenomenal. The dessert here is the Tree Milk Cake. Not sure what it means, but it was very good. Don't miss this restaurant. The French restaurant, Bordeaux, isn't really French food, but it was pretty good. The only problem here was that it took 2 ½ hours. We returned to Himitsu to try the Chinese side. It's not really Chinese, but once again, everyone enjoyed their meals. Very good service. Overall, the food is very good for an

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The grounds are very nice. The pools are large. I think the resort was very full, so chair and float saving was a very big issue. We were up at 7:30 to make sure we got floats and lounges. The beach is powdery soft white sand and the ocean is crystal clear. It's probably just the time of year, summer, or maybe just all those people sitting at the swim up bar and not moving all day, but the pool water was warmer than the air. The ocean is cooler and more refreshing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We did the parasailing. They promise you 12 minutes, but they only deliver about 6-8. Still, it was fun. We also went deep sea fishing. You have to do a lot of negotiating to get a decent price. After 3 hours of boredom, we did catch a 6 Marlin, so in the end it was worth it.

Other Comments::
This resort is next to the Grand Oasis which was the Sunscape Punta Cana Grand 4 years ago. I stayed there when it was Sunscape. I loved it. I wrote a great review about it on Debbie's website. While Dreams might be considered a better resort (both AMSTAR properties), we had a better time at Sunscape. Supposedly there was an activities team at Dreams. This was the first resort that I've been to in the D.R. (or any Caribbean resort) that had no music playing at the pool during day. They also didn't try to get any activities going. They did activities with 2 or 3 guests. They had very little interaction with the guests. We hardly saw them and we were at the main pool all day. The entire team should be replaced. I was also a little shocked by the bar service. Yes, they had some top shelf liquor, Absolut, Stolichnaya, Kahlua, Baileys, etc, but they almost always only had one bartender so there were always long waits. They also never had cold water at any bars, only like warm. The bartenders also were devoid of personality except for Clemente at the lobby bar who was loaded with it. We spoke to couples who had their rooms changed, some twice. Many who had previously stayed at Barcelo, Melia Tropical, and Paradisius, all of whom said they would return to those resorts before Dreams. I love the Dominican and Punta Cana, but there is no way I'll stay at Dreams again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I don't think that this should be rated as a 6 apple."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bill from Philadelphia  on Jan 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | Solo
662 people found this review helpful

I was unhappy with the beach. Igf you were not at the beach by 7:40 a.m. you would not get a chair under the cabanas. Because of the amount of people there I don't think the beach was cleaned as well as others that I have been to. I don't think that this should be rated as a 6 apple by Apple Vacations. There ratings may be swayed since, from what I heard, Apple owns this resort

Rooms:
Nice but not great. I did not like the layout of the bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good not great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good not great

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort is FANTASTIC and we couldn't have been more happy with everything"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rose from Thunder Bay  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
663 people found this review helpful

All I can say is WOW! This was our first vacation of this type (family of two adults, 17 and 12 yr old) and it was fantastic. We had the time of our lives and could not be happier with the Dreams Palm Beach Resort. Everything was wonderful! We are already making plans for next year! Absolutely fantastic!

Rooms::
Rooms are as pictured....we had the two doubles. I would recommend a 2nd floor room as we had one bad rain storm which flooded the downstairs rooms as there are no exterior doors on the buildings. No complaints about the room....overall, quite happy/satisfied with it!

Restaurants and Bars::
Hubby loved the buffet....and the kids and I loved the coffee shop! We ate at all but one restaurant (Bordeaux which is 18+ only) and have no complaints. But for us, the buffet was ideal as it's hard to plan your day. Word of advice though....the restaurants do NOT take reservations so it's best to get there right when they open to put your name on the list as sometimes it can be a bit of a wait.....some night we did not eat until 9pm. No complaints about any of the bars....great service...awesome drinks....be sure to look for Juan (server) as he was awesome with us the entire week....and would actually "hunt" us down every morning and take care of us all day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Awesome....well maintained and beautiful. Pools and beach are close to all buildings (no more than 2 minute walk at the max) and easy to get to. Beautiful beach and shoreline. Great pools.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Entertainment team was great (especially Rey, Felix and Gilbert and staff at the water sport center/Christian, Francois and Carlos G). We highly recommend the snorkling tour/boat tour ($35 each for 2.5 hours), the kayaking (free), parasailing ($45 each) and the bike tour (free). Also, be sure to take part in all of the free activities (beach volleyball, numerous games, crafts, cooking lessons, etc.)...and see the free shows at night (especially the circus).

Other Comments::
Overall, this resort is FANTASTIC and we couldn't have been more happy with everything. The staff is wonderful as was pretty much everything about the resort. This was our first time.....but it definately won't be the last!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I believe this resort offers many amenities that some others do not."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Bill and Jenny  on Feb 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
647 people found this review helpful

Dreams Palm Beach Great Addition

We stayed at Dreams PB from Jan 21 to Jan 26. This was our 13th visit to an Amresort property and the resorts was just wonderful. We have been to many all-inclusives but have been returning to this chain because of no wristbands, no reservations required at restaurants(you can just eat anywhere and anytime you want and no restrictions or coupons. But mostly the staff and its crew outshine any other resorts we have been to, the friendliness, service, ammenities, food, pools etc are just what we like. We have stayed at Dreams Punta Cana(STB) 5 times but wanted to try this new resort because it offers a closer resort to the Airport and is on Bavaro Beach and is a Dreams property.

We had a Preferred Club room so we just checked into the club with no waiting. The Club area is like a resort in a resort. Has its own internet(3 computers), self serve bar, horderves, concierge, big screen TV’s in the club itself. Attached to the club is the Seaside Grill which is open to club members only for breakfast and lunch and a full service bar. Restrooms right there. Unlimited pool towels, drink service, a large hot tub which is hot, and your own private pool with plenty of loungers and floats, and a private beach. You really don’t have to leave the area.

The resort is laid out like a big “U”. You stand at the lobby and look out and each side is lined with rooms and down the middle you just see the 2 main pools, the children’s pool, palm trees and the beach and ocean. Not a lot of walking required. The 4 a-la-carte restaurants(French, Italian, Mexican, Japanese) are in one building. Each has different décor and atmosphere and are very pretty rooms. The World Café is beside the restaurant and shopping area. The buffet has whatever you want for breakfast, varies but large selection at lunch and themed selections for dinner including lobster tails. The Seaside Grill is open to everyone and is open air and on the beach. All have excellent food and service. Some of the dinners will truly be some of the better meals you have had. Top notch all-inclusive food. They also have wine lists so if you want a better wine the bottles on the list are very reasonable. The house wine are not bad with the white being better in my opinion. If the restaurant has a wait they will give you a beeper which works all over the resort so relax and have a drink or listen to the live music in the lobby bar or the beach bar or just shop in the stores. Alcohol is high end and they have pretty much whatever you want. I like Bailey’s and it was everywhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I believe this resort offers many amenities that some others do not."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Bill and Jenny  on Feb 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
647 people found this review helpful

Dreams Palm Beach Great Addition

We stayed at Dreams PB from Jan 21 to Jan 26. This was our 13th visit to an Amresort property and the resorts was just wonderful. We have been to many all-inclusives but have been returning to this chain because of no wristbands, no reservations required at restaurants(you can just eat anywhere and anytime you want and no restrictions or coupons. But mostly the staff and its crew outshine any other resorts we have been to, the friendliness, service, ammenities, food, pools etc are just what we like. We have stayed at Dreams Punta Cana(STB) 5 times but wanted to try this new resort because it offers a closer resort to the Airport and is on Bavaro Beach and is a Dreams property.

We had a Preferred Club room so we just checked into the club with no waiting. The Club area is like a resort in a resort. Has its own internet(3 computers), self serve bar, horderves, concierge, big screen TV’s in the club itself. Attached to the club is the Seaside Grill which is open to club members only for breakfast and lunch and a full service bar. Restrooms right there. Unlimited pool towels, drink service, a large hot tub which is hot, and your own private pool with plenty of loungers and floats, and a private beach. You really don’t have to leave the area.

The resort is laid out like a big “U”. You stand at the lobby and look out and each side is lined with rooms and down the middle you just see the 2 main pools, the children’s pool, palm trees and the beach and ocean. Not a lot of walking required. The 4 a-la-carte restaurants(French, Italian, Mexican, Japanese) are in one building. Each has different décor and atmosphere and are very pretty rooms. The World Café is beside the restaurant and shopping area. The buffet has whatever you want for breakfast, varies but large selection at lunch and themed selections for dinner including lobster tails. The Seaside Grill is open to everyone and is open air and on the beach. All have excellent food and service. Some of the dinners will truly be some of the better meals you have had. Top notch all-inclusive food. They also have wine lists so if you want a better wine the bottles on the list are very reasonable. The house wine are not bad with the white being better in my opinion. If the restaurant has a wait they will give you a beeper which works all over the resort so relax and have a drink or listen to the live music in the lobby bar or the beach bar or just shop in the stores. Alcohol is high end and they have pretty much whatever you want. I like Bailey’s and it was everywhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube