Dreams Palm Beach Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Dreams Palm Beach  

Cabeza de Toro; P. O. Box 68; Higuey, Dominican Republic

"Not worth what we paid"
Posted by: Mick and Sylvia on Nov 5, 2012
see all reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews
Dreams Palm Beach Pictures and Information
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#12
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 39 reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Information


Dreams Palm Beach, situated on the sunny east coast of the Dominican Republic, an idyllic haven for singles, couples and families. It is a nice relaxing fully integrated world of magnificent beaches, a majestic turquoise sea and most importantly, the special feeling of being welcomed as an honored guest with all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury ® - where everything is included.

Dreams Palm Beach official website
http://www.dreamsresorts.com/drepb/

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Dreams Palm Beach Reviews

Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.4 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  12
Average
  4
Poor
  5
Terrible
  8
By Occasion...
Leisure (18)
Wedding (3)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
21 - 30 of 39

"This resort is FANTASTIC and we couldn't have been more happy with everything"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rose from Thunder Bay  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
231 people found this review helpful

All I can say is WOW! This was our first vacation of this type (family of two adults, 17 and 12 yr old) and it was fantastic. We had the time of our lives and could not be happier with the Dreams Palm Beach Resort. Everything was wonderful! We are already making plans for next year! Absolutely fantastic!

Rooms::
Rooms are as pictured....we had the two doubles. I would recommend a 2nd floor room as we had one bad rain storm which flooded the downstairs rooms as there are no exterior doors on the buildings. No complaints about the room....overall, quite happy/satisfied with it!

Restaurants and Bars::
Hubby loved the buffet....and the kids and I loved the coffee shop! We ate at all but one restaurant (Bordeaux which is 18+ only) and have no complaints. But for us, the buffet was ideal as it's hard to plan your day. Word of advice though....the restaurants do NOT take reservations so it's best to get there right when they open to put your name on the list as sometimes it can be a bit of a wait.....some night we did not eat until 9pm. No complaints about any of the bars....great service...awesome drinks....be sure to look for Juan (server) as he was awesome with us the entire week....and would actually "hunt" us down every morning and take care of us all day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Awesome....well maintained and beautiful. Pools and beach are close to all buildings (no more than 2 minute walk at the max) and easy to get to. Beautiful beach and shoreline. Great pools.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Entertainment team was great (especially Rey, Felix and Gilbert and staff at the water sport center/Christian, Francois and Carlos G). We highly recommend the snorkling tour/boat tour ($35 each for 2.5 hours), the kayaking (free), parasailing ($45 each) and the bike tour (free). Also, be sure to take part in all of the free activities (beach volleyball, numerous games, crafts, cooking lessons, etc.)...and see the free shows at night (especially the circus).

Other Comments::
Overall, this resort is FANTASTIC and we couldn't have been more happy with everything. The staff is wonderful as was pretty much everything about the resort. This was our first time.....but it definately won't be the last!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I don't think that this should be rated as a 6 apple."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bill from Philadelphia  on Jan 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | Solo
223 people found this review helpful

I was unhappy with the beach. Igf you were not at the beach by 7:40 a.m. you would not get a chair under the cabanas. Because of the amount of people there I don't think the beach was cleaned as well as others that I have been to. I don't think that this should be rated as a 6 apple by Apple Vacations. There ratings may be swayed since, from what I heard, Apple owns this resort

Rooms:
Nice but not great. I did not like the layout of the bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good not great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good not great

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We really had a wonderful time."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Katie from Michigan  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009
202 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 15 to July 20
My husband and I (ages 29 and 30) spent 6 days(7/15-7/20) at the Dreams Palm Beach. We booked through Apple Vacations. This was our second time with Apple and in an all inclusive. We previously stayed at the Grand Palladioum Resort in the Riviera Maya. Our flights on US Airways were on time or early both ways. We spoke briefly with the Apple Rep when we reached Punta Cana and he immediately directed us to a minivan that drove just my husband and I to the resort. It was very nice not to have to climb onto a charter bus and make multiple stops. We were at our resort within 20 minutes.

Hotel check in was smooth and our room was ready for us even though it was 2:00. We received cool towel and mimosas while we checked in. Check out and departure also went very smoothly.

Rooms:
The room looked just like the pictures. Some of the fixtures are showing wear already even though I believe they are less than a year old. It is still a very nice room. Our room was 6305 (on the 3rd floor--this is nice because you get cathedral ceilings). It had a great view of the pool and even a view of the ocean! We booked the AI Supersaver rate and received a standard room. It had a king sized bed, flat screen tv, iron, hairdryer, safe, shower (no tub), mini-bar, and a balcony with a small table and chairs. The bathroom had shower gel, shampoo, lotion, and bar soap. The AC worked great! Our room was clean when we arrived. Our bellman told us that the mini-bar was half empty and that we should request to have it refilled immediately. We did and they did come and add some items (I'm not sure how long it took, because we were at the pool). Our room was cleaned nicely each day and most nights we received turn down service. The mini bar never got restocked until we called on the 4th day. It took two calls before they came and we never really did get what their room guide said it should have had. Oh well, it wasn't a big deal to us.

Restaurants and Bars::
There were many bars throughout the resort. They would even set up temporary, but well stocked bars, around the pool during the day, so a drink was never far away. We didn't experience the long waits for drinks that others have described. We did feel that the drinks at the lobby bar were much stronger than the pool bars, so it is up to you on how you prefer it. The buffet had many choices and everything we had was good. We are very picky, but always found plenty to eat. Others who are more adventurous would probably really enjoy the variety. The buffet is open air and it can be pretty hot in there. Everyone is very friendly, but drink service is pretty slow. We ate at 3 of the restaurants. The only one we had a long wait for was the Seaside Grill. We enjoyed our meal, but it wasn't spectacular and the service was very slow. We had virtually no wait at either Portifino or Bordeaux, but had the same feelings as Seaside Grill. Pretty good food, slow service, we were glad we'd tried them but weren't anxious to go back. We tried room service a few times. It is a limited menu, but they were always quick. The room guide states 30 minutes, but we usually had our food in 10-20 minutes. We often ate lunch at the beach bar, which offered chicken (most of the time), burgers, hotdogs, and fries.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The overall grounds were very nice and well kept. The resort is nicely laid out and everything is easy to get to. The pools were very nice. It can be tricky to get chairs, but we always managed to get some without resorting to getting up super early and reserving them, like many people did. The rafts were nice. We enjoyed the swim up bar. There was always some music and activities, but it was never annoying or obnoxious. We met many friends around the pool and although there were many families with kids that never bothered us either. You can grab towels whenever you need them (no cards and no limits). We had a wait for them. It seemed easiest to get them early in the morning or late in the afternoon. It was easier to get chairs at the beach, but hard to get shade. There is a lot of seagrass on the beach and some floating in the water. The bottom is clean and sandy for quite a ways. The grass is better than normal seaweed, but I could have lived without it. They try to keep up with it, but there are a lot of boats going by and I think they stir it up and then it floats in. The water was clear and warm. The beach itself wasn't quite as clean as I would've liked some litter and debris from the trees and seagrass. I talked to someone who stayed at the Moon Palaca and she said they had a large beach with no boats and no seaweed. I heard similar things from other who stayed up the coast in those resorts. If your main reason for going is the beach you may want to try a resor in that area. For us, it wasn't a huge deal because we also enjoy the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We did the Mundo Authentico shopping/cigar tour (free through Apple). It was interesting and took less than two hours. Some items are a good deal compared to the resort and others are not. The selection of souvenirs seemed pretty limited. The only other time I left was to walk into town with a friend I had met. I am always a little nervous when leaving the resort, especially this time with it just being 2 women. The walk to the shops is very short though and things went fine. The vendors are a little aggressive (not as bad as the ones that come on to the resort once or twice a week) and you have to barter, but we felt our trip was a success. It was worth going as they had more reasonable prices than anywhere else we'd been.

Other Comments::
I hope my review does not come across as negative, we really had a wonderful time. I think most of the little bumps we had are common at most all-inclusives and they did not detract from our enjoyment. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and nice. We would consider returning or staying at a Dreams resort again. I had some reservations about traveling in July, but found it to be a very nice time to visit. The weather was beautiful. It was very warm, but there is always a nice breeze, especially in the evening.

My final bit of advice has to do with calling home. We left our 1 year old daughter at home and it was important to us that we were able to check in on her. We found that there really is no easy way to call home, even our cell phone gave us some trouble. The resort charges fairly high fees (around $2 to connect and then $3 a minute). My advice is to call home once right away (we ended up having the front desk place the call for us because our phone would not dial out properly). When you call, give your family the hotel number and your room number. After that have them call you on a calling card. I purchased a card ahead of time that was about $0.30/minute). If you use the card to call, then you will still be charged a connection fee, etc. But if they call you , then you will not recieve any additional charges. They can leave you a voicemail if you don't answer (just beware that there was no way for us to know that we had a voicemail except to dial 8000 and check it! There was a red light on the phone, but it never flashed whether we had one or not) At the end of the trip, I had only a $3 bill for phone usage.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There is no way I'll stay at Dreams again."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Steve from New Jersey  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009
206 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 26 - July 01
We flew on a 6:00am flight on Apple Vacations charter airline, USA 3000. The check in at Philadelphia was chaotic. Nothing is computerized. Other than that, the flight was uneventful, which means great. The flight attendants were extremely friendly. Our return flight was also great. Again, the flight crew was excellent.

Rooms::
We were a group of 8, in 4 rooms. Two of these 8 were my 24 year daughter and her friend. The front desk had a lot of problems handling this. They wanted to put us 8 rooms apart. We had requested connecting with our travel agent, and it could have been her mess up, but the front desk wouldn't even try to move us next to each other. We ended up in building 8, while the other 4 in our group was in building 6. It appears that nobody is allowed to think with the permission of their manager. It took a few hours and they finally put us in adjoining rooms. One small problem, the door from our room to the girls room was bigger than the frame, and therefore wouldn't close. They said they would fix, so we left and headed out to the pool. When we returned, the door was closed. Of course it was jammed closed, so now we couldn't open it. Kinda defeats the purpose of connecting rooms. We waited 4 days, but they did fix it for our last night. For our second day, we returned from the pool to find out that we had no shower. Maintenance did some sort of jerry rigging and we had a shower a few hours later. Yes the shower set up is pretty stupid, and the floor gets soaked, put a towel on the floor. Problem solved. Just to top off our room problems, my wife went back to the room during the afternoon of our third day and the toilet didn't work. It took a while to fix this problem. Then of course later that night, when we returned from the casino, our toilet didn't work again. I spent the next few days lifting the float and repositioning the flapper. To be fair, Jose the day time front desk manager offered to move us to a honeymoon suite, and move the girls close to us. We really didn't want to pack and unpack again, so we said, no, please just fix the room we're in. We did ask for and receive access to the preferred club so our girls could use the internet. Unfortunately, our room issues never stopped. Our mini bar was never stocked. No matter how many times we called, we would return at the end of the day to an empty mini bar. Every afternoon we called for a refill. One night, we returned a little after midnight and called the front desk. They connected us to housekeeping who told us that the mini bar service was closed for the evening but they could transfer us to room service. Room service was gracious enough to tell us that we could get drinking water in 60 minutes. A little talk with the front desk sped up this process. The next day, empty mini bar. They told us that they had restocked it at 2:45. They told us this same answer for the next two days. Our housekeeper was very good about forgetting to bring us towels. Most days we received two towels, no floor towel and no hand towels. We had to make daily calls housekeeping about this. A couple of days we received the paper with the next day's events, but not every day. Cesar at the front desk was about the only person who was able to get anything done for us. He was also probably the only person who cared. The rooms themselves are fairly large and the A/C worked great.

Restaurants and Bars::
The main buffet has some great choices. The breakfast buffet is your standard, omelet station, pancakes, waffles, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, etc. At lunch, they had absolutely delicious grilled shrimp and mussels. There was always a fresh fish being grilled. Other than the heat, since it is open air, the breakfast and lunch buffets were great. For dinner, we never ate at the buffet. We ate at 4 of the 5 specialty restaurants. We did not try the Italian restaurant since we heard from numerous people that the food was awful. Our first night we tried Himitsu, the hibachi side of the Asian restaurant. Our chef was Acevedo and our waiter was Danny. They were great. Since the show is a big part of Hibachi, wanted to mention them by name. We loved it. The food and the interaction was great. Again, I don't know what they do to the shrimp, but they are amazingly good. The caramel bananas and the fried ice cream are the winners as dessert choices. The next night we ate at the Seaside Grill. This was a big disappointment. The food was not good and the service was terrible. Most our group got the shrimp cocktail and the (gotta love this translation) Tibon steak (T-Bone for the rest of us). The shrimp was over cooked and chewy. The steaks were like half a cow. They were bigger than the plate, burnt to a crisp and full of fat. I personally got the rib eye. It had a lot of fat, but the when you cut off the fat, the meat was pretty good. El Patio, the Mexican restaurant was next. This was a lot of fun. Everybody enjoyed their diners except for my nephew who didn't listen to our waitress, Noami, and ordered the tacos. She was best waitress that we had at any restaurant. Great service and a great personality. The manager, Carlos, was also phenomenal. The dessert here is the Tree Milk Cake. Not sure what it means, but it was very good. Don't miss this restaurant. The French restaurant, Bordeaux, isn't really French food, but it was pretty good. The only problem here was that it took 2 ½ hours. We returned to Himitsu to try the Chinese side. It's not really Chinese, but once again, everyone enjoyed their meals. Very good service. Overall, the food is very good for an

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The grounds are very nice. The pools are large. I think the resort was very full, so chair and float saving was a very big issue. We were up at 7:30 to make sure we got floats and lounges. The beach is powdery soft white sand and the ocean is crystal clear. It's probably just the time of year, summer, or maybe just all those people sitting at the swim up bar and not moving all day, but the pool water was warmer than the air. The ocean is cooler and more refreshing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We did the parasailing. They promise you 12 minutes, but they only deliver about 6-8. Still, it was fun. We also went deep sea fishing. You have to do a lot of negotiating to get a decent price. After 3 hours of boredom, we did catch a 6 Marlin, so in the end it was worth it.

Other Comments::
This resort is next to the Grand Oasis which was the Sunscape Punta Cana Grand 4 years ago. I stayed there when it was Sunscape. I loved it. I wrote a great review about it on Debbie's website. While Dreams might be considered a better resort (both AMSTAR properties), we had a better time at Sunscape. Supposedly there was an activities team at Dreams. This was the first resort that I've been to in the D.R. (or any Caribbean resort) that had no music playing at the pool during day. They also didn't try to get any activities going. They did activities with 2 or 3 guests. They had very little interaction with the guests. We hardly saw them and we were at the main pool all day. The entire team should be replaced. I was also a little shocked by the bar service. Yes, they had some top shelf liquor, Absolut, Stolichnaya, Kahlua, Baileys, etc, but they almost always only had one bartender so there were always long waits. They also never had cold water at any bars, only like warm. The bartenders also were devoid of personality except for Clemente at the lobby bar who was loaded with it. We spoke to couples who had their rooms changed, some twice. Many who had previously stayed at Barcelo, Melia Tropical, and Paradisius, all of whom said they would return to those resorts before Dreams. I love the Dominican and Punta Cana, but there is no way I'll stay at Dreams again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All of the restaurants were better than any all inclusive restaurant I have stayed at."

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Heather from Manchester, CT  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009
199 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 25 - May 02
Upon arrival, we were graciously shown to the front desk but were promptly sent to the Preferred Club for separate check-in. As previous guests have noted we were given champagne and a wet towel to cool off. At first a room with 2 double beds was offered even though we requested a king size bed, but a king room was ready in less than a hour.

Rooms:
The rooms were very spacious for what we needed and though we had a garden view overlooking the explorers club, noise was not an issue throughout our stay. The beds were extremely comfortable and I wanted to take the matress home! The shower was an issue, though nothing a towel on the ground in front of the shower didn't fix. The rooms were a bit moist, I am not sure if it is because of the space below the door letting mooisture in or not, but a mildew smell did start to come from my clothes and I have washed them once and it seems like one or two more washes and the smell will go away. I was a little upset towards the end of the week when I found out there were many additional items that were supposed to be included that were not in our preferred room at anytime including the upgraded mini-bar, the beach towels during turndown service, our internet had ot be requested, it was not just set up for immediate use, and we did not receive upgraded toiletries. It seems a bit worrysome that they do not automatically give you the items you pay for being in a preferred room, and that you must ask for everything that is considered "extra". Had I known this and thought of it, I would have never paid the extra money to have a preferred room and would have saved a couple hundred dollars each for our trip or I would have made sure everything that was promised was there from the first day we were there. I would suggest either not paying the extra money, or making sure from the first day of your stay that you request all the items that were promised given your preferred status.

Restaurants and Bars::
All of the restaurants were better than any all inclusive restaurant I have stayed at. The Hibachi was a great time (we went there twice) and the rib eye at the Seaside Grill was amazing. We only hung out at the Lobby bar while we were there since the dance club was not that great. If I had to pick a least favorite restaurant it would have to be Portpofini since the pasta dish I had the last night was undercooked, but still edible and both times I asked for a ravioli dish they had listed on their menu, but did not have either time and I found out the last night we ate there that this had never been changed from previous management. One thing travelers should know is that during the off season, the restaurants are only open a couple times a week, not the advertised "only closed twice a week" as noted. There was also 2 days of our stay that we were given only one choice of where to eat. One was an outside buffet and the other night was a Dominican style dinner at the convention center.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
There was never an issue as I have heard others complain, about getting a towel or poolside chair, nor was there an issue getting a beach chair, though our trip was during a slow season and I can not imagine 1000 guests trying to find an available pool chair, since there woudl not be that many to accomodate even half the guests.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:

I did not go on any tours, I am a fan of sitting around and doing nothing, though other guests raved about the ATV ride, parasailing, and chartering a boat to go fishing. There are also plent of things to do while on the resort but they do not push you to be involved asking you hundreds of times to do something.

Other Comments:

Please note that I tried to be as informative as possible and tried to list as many positive and negative things about the resort. The staff was great and there for anything you need, not a bad apple in the bunch. Our drinks were never watered down as others have noted, I did have a huge problem with mosquitos but my partner did not (I seemed to have attracted them more bring bug spray just in case), the pool, beach area, and walkways were always kept immaculately clean, and the grounds were beautifully kept.

I probably would not rate this a 4 out of 5 stars, but I will say that for $1400 with flight from Hartford, CT, I definitely thought it was more than what I paid for it! Again, I tried to give both positive aspects and negative aspects about this resort to help you form the best decision to fit your vacation needs. If you have any quetsions, please do not hesitate to contact me!

kinsley_heather@yahoo.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would highly recommend this resort"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Janet from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
215 people found this review helpful

Arrival
It was a great trip. One of the best Resorts we've been to. We traveled to Mexico and Punta Cans many times.

Rooms
The rooms were fine, only one little complaint. They had 6 large decorative pillows on the beds, and they took up so much room I had them taken out.

Restaurants and Bars
We did not go to the restaurants as we prefer the buffet. It was the best food and the best selection we have had. The restaurants did not require reservations which is a great feature.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool was wonderful. The resort is not as large as some which we liked as we are seniors.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The staff were the best and the shows were great. The shows were different each night not your standard fare. We went on self driving trip on the Fun Buggy. It was exciting and very enjoyable. www.fun-buggy.com We went on the Party Boat at the resort for an afternoon. Some snorkling and swimming and lots of fun.

Other Comments
We would highly recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Stay at Dreams Palm Beach"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer from PEI, Canada  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
206 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 12 - 19
We were greated with champagne and a quick check-in. We were told it would be a few hrs before our rooms would be ready because we arrived around 12noon but they were ready before that time. One small clitch with our check in was that we had 4 rooms with our party and 2 rooms were in one building and 2 were in another. They did get all 4 in one building but not on the same floors.

Rooms
Rooms were beautiful but as mentioned before the shower was not practical as the door is a half glass door and water was always on the floor. Also, the floors and tile in bathroom really should have been regrouted with the renovations! Our phone did not work properly and was never fixed by the time we left.

Restaurants and Bars
Restaurants were great! Best food was at the japanese restaurant and the buffet. I thought I would like the idea of not having to make reservations for the restaurants but we had a group of 9 and it was always hard to get a spot and they always wanted to divide us up into 2 tables. It always seemed to be a big problem when we went into the buffet to get a table for 9, even when there were a ton of empty tables that could be pushed together. Some waitstaff were very slow with the water refills.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Nice grounds except that if it is supposed to be a 5 star there was a lot of garbage on the beach and the pool was really dirty on the bottom for a day or so. They always had guys raking up the seaweed which was nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Went on the zipline adventure and it was amazing except for the 2hr drive to and from in the back of the truck!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We’re not likely to return"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Don  on Feb 1, 2009  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
212 people found this review helpful

ADEQUATE SUPPLY OF TOWELS: Generous, very large and fluffy.

ADEQUATE SUPPLY OF CHAIRS: You have to reserve one early.

ADEQUATE ALLOCATION OF SPACE TO NON-SMOKERS: Not even an issue; no one attempted to smoke in public spaces.

BEACH: Very calm, not warm, much seaweed (usually swept up).

ENTERTAINMENT: We’ve stopped going to this, still being at dinner when it started at 9:30.

TENNIS AVAILABILITY: Dreams’ courts aren’t finished yet, but we were able to go next door to Natura, which has 3 (seldom-used, though 2 seemed to be permanently locked).

FOOD: Excellent variety and quality. All a la carte very good, and dessert/pastry cafe an unexpected bonus. Main dining room not shielded from the elements, and on rainy tables it was windy and wet.

SHOPS AND AMENITIES: The usual jewelry and gift shops (with resort prices). There is an Internet cafe, but unlike other hotels, there is a charge to use computers ($4 for 15 minutes). Adequate exercise room, though a charge for steam and sauna.

NON-HARRASSMENT: Vendors were allowed on the grounds once; the beach salespeople were low-key.

TV STATIONS: Major and network cable available.

QUIET: Their website states, “Three beautiful sun-basked pools including a children's pool and a quiet, adults-only area.” This is only true at the small “preferred” pool (we didn’t ask how to become “preferred”); it’s hard to avoid noise at the main pool. The resort is compact, so the long major pool is connected to the kiddie one. The beach was peaceful except during aerobics.

STAFF: Excellent attitude, but some in contact positions needed English training. We had a problem with the TV, and it was replaced right away. But no one seemed to know how to deal with the room safe.

GROUNDS: Kept up.

ROOM: Kind of on the small side, especially bathroom (no tub). No odors. The entire resort was out of diet soda for 2 days. Mini-bar service is sporadic; we had to get water bottles at the bar and bring to our room.

SPA: Excellent facial.

AIRPORT AND CHECK-IN: Airport arrival handled efficiently. Hotel check-in slow. Airline check-in (Air Trans) very slow, but plane arrived ahead of schedule.

SUMMARY: This hotel omits some of the nonsense of other all-inclusives: no bracelets, signing out for towels, and signing up for restaurants. Having opened 12/08, it’s not quite ready for a 5-star rating. We’re not likely to return because of the beach and room size.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It Was Excellent"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
228 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Everything was great got our room in under 45 minutes even though we arrived at 11:30.

Rooms
Rooms were very clean and very quiet which is important to as we are up early and also are in bed fairly early.

Restaurants and Bars
Best food in an all inclusive I have ever had. Best bartenders at the lobby bar at night and beach bar during the day. Mexican and the Japanese were the best but I heard they had great lobster even at the buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
It was so clean it was like they cleaned the floors ever 20 minutes.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Did not go any tours this time as it is our 5th time there, but the water sports guys were great and even got me out on a Catamarand.

Other Comments
We took a six apple square deal, it was very nice I would only have 2 complaints very minor 1) the bathroom in the room was not very private, and it was hard to get a diet coke. But other than that it was excellent!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our favorite resort"

Dreams Palm Beach
User Rating:  Dreams Palm Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patti from Michigan, USA  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
241 people found this review helpful

We arrived on February 8, 2009 for a 7 day stay at Dreams Palm Beach. We were greeted by the bellman with a friendly smile and a "Welcome Home!" What a wonderful way to start our stay. We did indeed feel "back home" even though we had never been to this resort. This was our 7th stay at either a Sunscape or a Dreams resort.

We did not take the transfer provided by AppleVacations, but arranged a private transfer with Dominican Taxi Service which we have used numerous times with complete satisfaction. Since we "beat" the bus, check-in was very fast with no waiting in line. The gentleman checking us in was very fluent in English and also greeted us with a warm welcome. He gave us a quick orientation of the property and supplied us with a map. While we were checking in, a young man brought us cool washcloths. That was so nice after the long flight. Then a young lady brought us Mimosas and warm chocolate cookies. We both felt so pampered already! A bell-boy was immediately at our side with our luggage to take us to our room. And what a room....It was amazing!! It was room 3301 in the preferred section. We have stayed in honeymoon suites before, but this one was over the top. Since it was a refurbished resort, two rooms were combined into one which made for a very spacious suite. The very best thing in the whole room had to be the bed. We have never had such a comfortable bed in the Dominican or Mexico. They are usually cement with sheets. This was a pillow-top mattress. Also, a pillow menu was available, but we were happy with the pillows we had. I always bring our own facecloths but everyday we had 3 facecloths along with plenty of towels. Beach towels were even in our room as well as robes and slippers. Body wash, shampoo, sunscreen, toothbrushes and razor were supplied in the room. A hammock in addition to a table and chairs were on the double patio. The safe was electronic and very spacious, large enough for a laptop and then some. An iPod docking station/clock radio was great for listening to our tunes and recharging the iPod. Plenty of closet space and hangers. Everyday the room was cleaned and restocked with towels. Housekeeping staff was always friendly and they work so hard. The mini bar was restocked daily as well. One day I left a note in Spanish asking for Presidentes and that is what was restocked daily. We only had! turn do wn service one night, but that is not important to us. Three nights we came back to our room to find gourmet chocolate creations on our coffee table!! They were amazing.

The food is hands down the best food we have ever had at any AI. The chicken and fish were all tender as was the beef. Plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. Everyday around 4pm we went to the Coco Cafe to grab a coffee or tea and a pastry. The buffet was so good I would have been happy eating there morning, noon and night. Lovely young ladies seating guests and prompt courteous wait staff at all meals. We ate at all the ala carts except the Japanese/Chinese. All were very, very good. Excellent quality food, drinks and service. One night we went to El Patio and only had appetizers. As we were leaving the manager was concerned that we did not like the food. We told him it was the opposite, the food was wonderful but we were not that hungry. Too much great food and not enough time. We did have room service twice and it was very, very fast and very, very good.

Liquor was top shelf if you wanted it. Mixed well and served promptly. We even had drink service at the pool and the beach!!

The pool was very clean and well laid out. Every afternoon a young lady would go around the pool and pass out cookies. That was a really nice touch. Not enough shade areas at the pool area, though. If you want shade, you need to be there by 8 am. The beach has more shade and we did not have any problems finding chairs. The chair reserving game did not seem to be too much of a problem. I did not notice many reserved chairs not being used. What I did notice was people taking the pool floats to the beach or just keeping them by their lounge chairs. Not a problem for us because we bring our own floats. The "Sundial", the daily newsletter, always requested that floats be shared. Beach towels were never in short supply and always available, morning or afternoon.

I can not comment on the nightly shows, because we never went to any. We turned in by 10 and started our day by 7 am. We were there for the sun and sand, not the nightlife. I did enjoy the stretching and the aerobics on the beach.

I had a massage at the spa which was wonderful. We then had a couples massage on the beach and that was the best!!

The vendors came on site 3 nights but they were never a problem. My husband actually told one guy that we had been to the Dominican so many times and had so many souvenirs that we were thinking of bringing some back with us and selling them. The vendor just about busted a gut laughing at that one. One morning we did go outside the resort about 5 minutes walk down the road to a shopping area and bought some rum and coffee at a great price.

AppleVacations had a cocktail party one evening which was very nice. Got to chat with a few of the Apple reps. Nice folks. The managers cocktail party was the next night. That was really cool. They had delicious canapes and drinks and friendly dancers (they work so hard). Got to meet many of the managers and the head chef. They genuinely cared to hear our comments. We really only had positive comments, but they assured us that they are striving to improve the resort even more.

We are hoping to return in October because this has now become our favorite resort. Close to the airport and so easy to enjoy. Whenever we would say "thank you" to any of the staff, it was always replied with "My pleasure" and I believe they meant it!!

If anyone has any questions, please feel free to ask. I can not recommend this resort enough. It is truly a Dream come true!

Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/35695315@N08/sets/72157614275346950

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube