Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA  

Playas Uvero Alto, Provincia La Altagracia, Dominican Republic

"renovation is needed"
Posted by: collins on Oct 11, 2014
see all reviews

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Reviews
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Pictures and Information
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#6
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.9

Based on 53 reviews

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Information


Get away from it all with Unlimited-Fun in the sun at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa. Has it all, and itís all included. Sunny beaches. Shady palm groves. Wild water sports. Awesome entertainment. Clubs and activities for kids of all ages. Spectacular diningÖ and best of all, no worries, no reservations, no wristbands!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Reviews

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 3.9 of 5 53 reviews
Excellent
  25
Very good
  9
Average
  7
Poor
  10
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (29)
Wedding (8)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (15)
Solo
1 - 9 of 53

"renovation is needed"

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  collins  on Oct 11, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
10 people found this review helpful

Well, I expected more from this hotel but I guess high expectation is a bad idea. Considering that the name is Dreams, they are supposed to make your dreams of a vacation come true. They should consider renovating the hotel so that they can give the customers the maximum satisfaction. When it comes to room service, they are really efficient and quick in rendering services. The rooms are moderate, not so shabby but needs renovation; the doors look worn out but still feel safe. The bathroom looks like it was designed in the ancient days, wrong combination of shower and tub. In fact the location and friendliness of the staff is the reason I am writing this review and giving a 3 star review if not, I would have totally skipped and never return. I really like this place but they should improve, they should try to ask customers how they feel about the services they get, more like a questionnaire. The food was great, the restaurant was clean and that was a good thing at least no food poisoning throughout my stay there unlike some other restaurants I have been to that I got food poisoning from. The room is not well decorated, they should look into that. They have the nicest pools and beaches and restaurants I have ever seen in all the hotels I have been to in DR but they still need to improve in the renovations. I may come back if things improve.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great place to go - healthy food, good beach, staff and nice room"

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Teresa  on Mar 4, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
266 people found this review helpful

If you are looking for healthy eating restaurant, you may agree with me this is great place to go. They cook the food from scratch, not too much spice but enough spice, not too oily, good quality lean meat and not much deep fried food

The beach is sandy lot of chairs. Staff is very very nice. Place is very clean. There are lots of good points about the hotel like nice evening entertainment. Quiet room that is steps to the swimming pool. There are resting places everywhere and music is not too loud.

There are no flying insects which is amazing.

One disadvantage is the Wifi is not free but we end up not checking the emails which is great for a holiday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not the best place I've went"

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dan  on Sep 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Wedding | Family and Kids
364 people found this review helpful

I'll start from when we arrived, the drive there from airport is an hour, Upon Arrival I went to check in and asked for a ground floor room and didnt get it, we have 3 kids aged, 12. 8 and 3 mths its very difficult to carry a stroller up a flight of stairs 4 to 10 times a day and would have been nice to have asked us if we would like a swim up room (no questions at all) Next point, launguage barrier..found it very difficult to communicate even at restauraunts this was a problme when we didnt get apps and every one else was on there dessert :( The food not tasty at buffet, the room service is nice and so was the walk up bar service very nice, but as i stated before, with having two kids ages 8 and 12, the ice cream machine was broken all week :( and you couldnt get icecream at buffet :( ( i know you may think this is petty but it's important when you pay any kind of money) My kids could only use the core zone certain times a day:( One major disapointment was if you go with a family the people making out in fron of you is crazy they were having forplay like crazy they should have a family friendly area where you could have adults that have kids and nothing dirty happening. I will say the spa was amazing, grounds were well kept. They are not accomadating for families imo, i would not reccomend this resort, all extra activities were expensive and a long way to travel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dreams---the best holiday spot ever"

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  maureen  on Jul 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Wedding | With Group
541 people found this review helpful

First , let me say that I loved it here. I cant imagine why there are any negative reviews, but I guess bad things can happen. I was at dreams for a week, along with a group of over 20 people. (ages from 2 years to 70's). As far as I am concerned, everything was perfect. My room was lovely and very clean, as was the bathroom. Both were much bigger than I expected. The air conditioner and fan both worked so well that I shut them off at night. I was on the third floor of building 3, which meant walking a bit, but how can that hurt? The food was great and as much as you wanted. The same with drinks--alcoholic or otherwise. My fridge was always restocked with pop/beer daily, the bathroom cleaned and restocked, bed made etc.. I found all the people very friendly , even if their English was limited. The entertainment was great;very talented performers. There were also movies every night. For Canada day there was a big celebration, parade etc. Also for july 4th. I used the gym every day, and although warm in there, the equipment was topnotch. I could go on and on. I have to say the grounds were astounding, the beach lovely and clean. Somone on here mentioned a lack of chairs on the beach, but I always found many that were empty. If you want a great holiday for you and your family, go to Dreams punta cans. I know I will be returning.

Room Number:
3325

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
We arrived on sat. , june 30/2012 and left on july 7th

Rooms:
mine was 3325 my sons was 3324

my other son (who was married there) , I think had 1204 (not a hundred % sure on that one). The rest of the group were spread around at different buildings. The ones who got the "swim out" rooms were all very pleased. I loved mine on the third floor as I had a really good view of the grounds.

Restaurants and Bars:
Liked world cafe the best, but oceana and the Italian rest. were good too

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
cant choose, everything was lovely

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Spanish lessons
volleyball
painting
trip to market
movies

Other Comments:
We went to a nearby market by bus, and bought various items. But when we returned and went into the store in the resort, the same things were there only cheaper. If you want to buy coffee or vanilla, buy it at the resort---cheaper and bigger containers. There is also a market way to the left of the resort, things there were a bit different and cheaper as well. Best to go there in a group though.

If you go on any tours, make sure they are positive about when the ride will arrive. Some of our group paid for tours, and then waited hours before discovering no one was coming and they had to wait till next day to go on the outing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good but not great!!!!"

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alexa  on Jul 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
539 people found this review helpful

My family and I recently took a vacation at Dreams Punta Cana resort and spa.The ocean was beautiful and the weather was perfect. Every place has there negatives but this place had a quite a few of negatives. First of all broken glass and broken tile was often found to be on the floor of the pool. The last day we were there a young girl was taken away in a wheel chair from stepping on some broken glass which was laying on the bottom of the pool around the swim up bar.Around the iceberge made for kids to climb was a pile of broken tile laying around many kids were cut and scrapped on it and the workers were notified about this problem but no clean up was made. As you can see on the dreams punta cana resort and spa website there is an ocean trampoline. While we were here we tried to get up on the trampoline but we noticed it was impossible. There was no ladder to get up and the platform to jump was ripped. I give this resort 3 and half stars!!!

Room Number:
6104 and 6105

Restaurants and Bars:
The best restraunt in the resort is the adults only Italian resteraunt.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfectly set up for a beautiful wedding! Hired HDC Photography & was blown away!"

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Janelle  on Apr 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Wedding | With Group
594 people found this review helpful

We recently returned from Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa and had a fantastic experience! The grounds exceeded what we expected, the almost continuous pool system was very unique and the food was superb.

The service in all of the restaurants was phenomenal ~ albeit a bit "over the top" in the main buffet...but much better than being forgotten! Most everyone spoke enough English to make conversation (more than I can say for most of us Canadians :p)

We came down for my daughters wedding and booked in with 44 or so people! Ages in the group ranged from 14-60 years old ~ seasoned travelers to first timers. We beached it, golfed, sat by the pool, got massages, played in the foam party, did a catamaran, went to Surf Camp with http://macaosurfcamp.com/, went deep sea fishing, learned archery, ventured to the market, closed down the disco most every night, and made it home intact!!! Good times, GREAT memories!!

The wedding itself was situated (of course) in the gazebo area. Such a perfect setting; and Jessica, our wedding co-ordinator was great, even if we couldn't find her, she showed up where she needed to be, on time & prepared. There were speakers that the bride & groom could hook their I-Pods into for certain songs ~ my only beef would be the volume control was lacking ~ some attendees could not hear the vows spoken by the couple. Otherwise, all was seamless.
We hired a freelance (not resort) photographer www.hdcphoto.com (which I found from other reviews on this site) and we were completely pleased with their prices {PHENOMENAL!!}, impressed with their quality, promptness in pulling together the photos in 2 days and relieved at the congeniality and patience of the photographer! My daughter did the "Trash the Dress" shoot the day after the wedding and said it was so much FUN!! My husband & I did a shoot after them for our ten year anniversary and were very impressed with the shots!! We also must commend our photographer as it was blistering hot that day and he kept going ~ even waiting out a short rain spell so we could finish our shots on the beach!!

Overall, I must say we were all very impressed with the resort, the staff and all the ammenities.

Room Number:
*7$% & $%@#

Room Block:
Five

Arrival:
We came from Canada as a group of 44 for my daughter's wedding on March 24th. Our bus from the airport was luxurious and air conditioned...our arrival (bombarding the hotel with ALL of us at once) was dealt with in a calm,organized & professional manner. A couple of the people asked if they could upgrade, and for a fee, they were given a preferred suite with many more perks (for a fee of course!!), but were happy with this arrangement.

Rooms:
It was very convenient and much appreciated that many of us were situated in the same block as the rest of the party (away from the Bride & Groom of course!!)
I felt sorry for some of the other patrons as some of our party was quite rambunctious, but thank goodness for cement walls!

Restaurants and Bars:
We attended the main buffet (World Cafe) the first night for dinner as we were hungry & tired and were all impressed with the service and selection of a wide variety of foods! Breakfasts were always an adventure from fresh fruit, fresh squeezed juice, hand made omlettes &

During our stay our party ate at:
Oceana (Surf & Turf) Delicious!! ~ with familiar, yet reasonably priced wines by the bottle for sharing)
Portofino (Italian) Soooo many items to choose from!!! Some dishes (pasta) were too aldente, but still, the presentation was fantastic and the quality of the food was great
Himitsu (Japanese) Oh What Fun!!! The chef makes this place HAPPEN!! Go by 5:30-5:45 to book for one of three dinner times (6, 7:30 & 9 if I'm not mistaken) So well worth it!!! And if anyone has a birthday, just tell the waiter & they will bring out a small nicely decorated cake!!
SeaSide Grille (Burgers & such) Long waits during lunch time, but more selection than burgers or hot dogs.
El Patio (Mexican) Never went, but those of our group who did had no complaints

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was clean but could use a few (ok many) more beach chairs...
Drink service on the beach and at the pools exceeded our expectations all around!
Pool & grounds were always clean and very well maintained. It was like "the night before" never even happened! :p

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Wow! Every day there is something NEW!! Watch for your little sheet of paper you get every morning that tells you the weather forecast, the daily activities, announcements, etc...it is filled with a tonne of info!!

I wished there was a quiet yoga on the beach in the morning, but settled for watching the fools doing the foam party in the afternoon instead!! Lots of laughs with all their activities!!

Other Comments:
All in all, I was super impressed with Dreams. I have only stayed in all inclusive's in Sosoua, Punta Cana (10 yrs ago) & Manzanillo. I might be a bit rusty on that front, but know my food well and completely enjoyed it here. The work the staff does to keep this hotel up to caliber is so so commendable. Kudos to ALL!

ISSUES:
The HOTEL photographer did not respect the space for the gentleman I hired to take professional photos. He did do an adequate job with his photos, but his services are in the package and the bride & groom did not appreciate his face in theirs when he did not need to be there...more communication would be my suggestion....

We DID have a power outage for about 30-60 minutes in a restaurant(which we made the best of and had fun with it! ~ and think of the draws on the system these places are putting on their plants), our A/C did not work in our room, but we weren't in there enough to bring it to anyone's attention; also, we did not have hot water on our departure day...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was excellent!!!!"

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  jordan  on Mar 14, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
615 people found this review helpful

This was our second time at Dreams and we absolutely loved it just like the first time. I was a fantastic experience! If you have children, this is the place to go!!!

Arrival:
mar 6, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was excellent!!!!"

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  jordan  on Mar 14, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
613 people found this review helpful

This was our second time at Dreams and we absolutely loved it just like the first time. I was a fantastic experience! If you have children, this is the place to go!!!

Arrival:
mar 6, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay away from Dreams Punta Cana."

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathryn  on Mar 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
637 people found this review helpful

My advice to anyone thinking of going to Dreams Punta Cana is DONíT! We paid substantially more for the preferred club and that is a scam. We were not alone in that we paid for an upgrade and received a mediocre room facing a piece of the pool. Some guests we met with no upgrade had better rooms than we did. We were not alone either. We met and spoke to guests whom had paid large for upgrades, and were given rooms with 2 twin beds rather than king beds and were way back on the resort from the ocean. I requested a better room and they said no, but on our second week when the resort was only about half full they offered us an upgrade to fully face the pool for $100 USD a day. We said no thanks. Our bathroom ceiling leaked on several occasions and we had to have it fixed, the water was forever dripping down the wall in the bathroom behind the toilet. We were sure that eventually mold would be forming. The toilet ran regularly. Non-preferred members regularly used the beds on the beach for the preferred customers. Raphael on the beach was great and really took care of us, but when people refused to move whom were not preferred, the resort did not back him up and those people stayed. As well, the beds on the beach were an eyesore. They take up a great deal of space on the beach and block the view of the guests sitting in the preferred area on chairs. There were nowhere near enough shelters and chairs for the non-preferred so many sat in our area in an effort to get their children and themselves out of the hot sun. The water is a lot rougher there as itís on the Atlantic side and there are tons of large rocks making walking and swimming difficult. As well, any water sports they provide they have to bus you to another beach and that includes the banana boat rides etc. Of course due to the rough water and rocks. As for food, the buffet is the best. The Italian is awful. They had actually had the pasta sitting in the bowl, poured some sort of chef boy are de (sp) sauce on it and nuked it. My husbandís food was supposed to contain diced tomatoes in it. There was no such thing. Last and certainly not least, as is the disease of the Dominican, is the pushy rude people harassing every guest regularly about going to a so called 90 minute presentation off the resort to buy time share. This is something you do not want to do!!! It actually takes close to a day according to the guests that got roped in and the sales people are incredibly aggressive. If a so called high end resort like Dreams has leaking ceilings, curtains hung with loose bits of wood and according to an electrician we met who attempted to remove a light bulb from his balcony light, very scary electrical work, would you want to invest thousands of your hard earned dollars on a condo there, NOT!! What was good about it, the staff, the gym, the spa and the buffet.

Room Block:
building 1

Arrival:
February 2012

Restaurants and Bars:
Italian was bad! Buffet was the best.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nicely kept.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"" Contigo " in Dreams Punta Cana."

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  leonardito  on Nov 9, 2011  >  18 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
658 people found this review helpful

Dreams Punta Cana is definitely a great hotel to visit. The grounds are beautiful with lots of mature vegetation and

shaded by a multitude of palm trees. The beach is awesome and has lots of palapas available. The pool is truly

wonderful. It runs the length of the resort and, has one swim up bar at the beach end. It is so huge, therefore not

crowded. There were always lounge chairs available everywhere.

We stayed in the Prefer Club and our suite in building 1 was very comfortable and well furnished. The AC worked well.

Our concierge Johnny was always helpful to our needs and requests. Thanks Johnny you are a Great One. We also enjoyed

meeting Nancy- Chief Editor of Dreams Punta Cana Facebook.

The food at the buffet was really good with plenty of variety. The a la Carte Restaurants had all good menus to chose
from. We enjoyed our daily breakfast by the beach, at Oceana Restaurant a la Carte (breakfast for Prefer Members
only).The staff could not have been nicer.The ocean view is breathtaking.
We met many interesting people during our vacation and we would like to mention that we had the pleasure to meet
Florian Monnier-Resident Manager. His hospitality and savoir faire towards us will remain with us. He is simply "the
best of the best". Muchas Gracias Florian por todos.

All in all, this was a very relaxing holiday in a fantastic hotel, with good food, nice beach and excellent staff.

We certainly recommend the Dreams Punta Cana to anyone looking for a good All Incluse resort in Punta Cana.
Room Tip: block 1, or 6.
more and photos on :
http://leonardito.com/drmpc1110n/drmpc1110.php

Room Number:
1208

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube