Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Majestic Elegance Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, La Altagracia. Dominican Republic.

"Great View, So,so food, rude service."
Posted by: Mike  on May 16, 2013
see all reviews

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Reviews
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#1
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.1

Based on 69 reviews

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Information


This spectacular 5 star all inclusive hotel resort is surrounded by the most astonishing landscapes, exuberant flora and fauna, making it an ideal place for Caribbean lovers and first timers visiting the Dominican Republic. “Comfort and style”, describes the New Majestic Elegance Punta Cana.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Reviews

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Review: 4.1 of 5 69 reviews
Excellent
  29
Very good
  22
Average
  8
Poor
  7
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (32)
Wedding (4)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
With friend (5)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (20)
Solo
1 - 10 of 69

"Great View, So,so food, rude service."

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on May 16, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2013 | Wedding | With Group
196 people found this review helpful

The hotel lobby was awesome. They lost my reservation, so no room. Almost a year in advance and fully paid, still had to wait hours for room. Lost luggage. Its somewhere in the hotel but nobody knows where. I hunted it down myself.

The rooms were nice but a little shody. The views were fantastic. The beach was amazing. Bars and restaurants everywhere.

The service, the people, were very rude for the most part. They would ignore you or call you names in Spanish. If you ask for something, there is a real language problem. Unless you pull out dollar bills. Them the language barrier disappears as they begrudgingly take your dollar.

Most of the food is just bad. You will be hard pressed to find something good to eat. When you do, and try it again the next day, its not good. I actually lost weight on the trip.
To sum up, fantastic hotel, amazing scenery, poor service and worse food. I really enjoyed the good parts but the bad parts will keep me from going back.

Sincerly Mike.

Room Number:
4302

Arrival:
May 05 2013. I don't know what to say here but that the airport is slow. The customs people are the most ignorant folks I have ever dealt with. They have people panhandling in the airport.

Its so hot, and no air conditioning. I guess one can't complain about the heat because, after all, that's why the resort is there.

Its confusing and even the people there to help. Hotel reps and the like aren't very fluent in English. So more confusion.

Bus ride in is good. The scenery is not.

Other Comments:
I don't know if I'm being a little harsh because I don't know what it takes to run a resort in a third world country.

But at the prices paid, one would think they could provide a little more service and a better trained staff. I did end up getting sick, don't know if it was food or water but the whole party of 30 something people I traveled with also got sick.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was ok, but could have been better!"

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  JayBatty  on Nov 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
264 people found this review helpful

When we arrived we were greeted this hand towels to cool us off which was very nice. Once we got over to check in, the rooms weren't available. My girlfriend and I had to wait an additional 20 minutes after we've already waited 20 minutes for us to say that the rooms weren't available. When asked for wash clothes we only received one and had to keep asking for them everyday.

Once we got passed the humps in the road, everything else was beautiful except the young ladies in the photo shop. One girl had a very nasty attitude because we didn't want to but the entire package which cost $830.

I gave a two flowers because of the amount of money to travel to a foreign country and not have the best service was very disappointing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will definitely not visit again. "

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tiffany  on Oct 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
290 people found this review helpful

My husband I never had a honeymoon, so 8 years after exchanging vows we finally spent our anniversary/honeymoon at the Majestic Elegance. This was my first trip out of the country so I really had no idea what to expect. Upon arrival they gave us a woodenish band to wear that would allow us into the various restaurants and threatened us that if we lost it we would be charged $90. Threats already?

We were then met by our butler, Leo, who led us and 2 other couples in to each others rooms. It was extremely uncomfortable and awkward to go into other people's rooms and have others in ours.

We then were told that Leo "the butler" didn't have time to take care of us right now. This upset me because, after all, he was our BUTLER. Isn't that his job? We weren't given towel cards, which we were told was the only way we could get towels for the pool/beach and that if we lost those cards we would be charged $30. Yet another threat! Yikes!!

Our room had an awful smell and was extremely dirty. The chairs in the room had blood stains on them (YUK!!) and our jacuzzi didn't drain. The flowers they put out were all withered and dead and the toilet had urine (I'm hoping it was just urine) all over the seat. So on vacation I ended up having to clean my room. It was disgusting.

The food was awful, the service was awful and the staff was extremely rude. The resort smelled awful and it always seemed dirty.

Had it not been for the awesome company of my amazing husband, who was able to laugh it off, and the beautiful clear fish filled waters I would have given this resort 1 flower. If you have the money and can stay elsewhere I would recommend it.

Room Number:
3108

Arrival:
09/23/2012

Other Comments:
We were in a swim up room with a bar just a few strokes away. It had stools in the water and that was pretty neat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome vacation - can't wait to go back"

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Jul 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
413 people found this review helpful

If you are looking for an awesome vacation go to Majestic Elegance Punta
Cana. The staff (Dio, Natalia, Felix, Maxima and Tony) are my new friends. They did everything for us including making reservations at hard to get into restaurants, they made wonder drinks like Majestic, Coco-Loco and my favorite the Maxima Special. Dio even had coconuts brought to our room so Felix could make us magical drinks. The food was great. One place I would not go back to is the See and Sea restaurant. It was great for breakfast, lunch and snack but watch out for that Carribbean Lobster at dinner and the staff was not friendly. The bartenders were awesome. If you want to do and excursion, see Papa Tony at Prieto Tours. The sailing adventure was really an adventure. Melanie, Tequilla and the staff were amazing with the snorkeling, dancing, water-basketball and of course the floating bar. If you don't want to do an excursion, no worries. There are so many wonderful things to do right on the property like water aerobics, seeing shows in the theater, listening to the bands, beach parties, bali beds, or just laying on the beach soaking up the sun and of course drinking (they bring you drinks right on the beach!) I could go on and on but you really hve to experience Majestic Elegance for yourself. It's the best vacation we ever had. See you next year.

Room Number:
1150

Arrival:
June 26, 2012 - July 2, 2012

Rooms:
Junior Suite with butler service and Jacuzzi
Very clean
the flowers were a nice touch

Restaurants and Bars:
except for See and Sea all were great. Try them all you won't be disappointed

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful white sand very clean

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

""Terrible, you couldnt pay me 10k to go back""

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Zach  on May 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
505 people found this review helpful

Food was horrible, service was less than desirable. No one appreciated nice tips that were given to them, like $10.00... money did not change attitudes, most all the staff was rude and not helpful. They serve cheap liquor, many things you would take for granted in many other countries are not included here. Maids dont change sheets, we had to wait 2 days for towels. We went to customer relations at the resort, they were no help. Safe didnt work when we got there, everyone elses didnt either from who we talked to, everyone at the resort has access to go into your room when they want... I believe all of this is by design... Terrible Terrible Place. At first i thought I might being a typical American, but we talked to other people, all seem to be first time visiting and they had the same mind set. The country is a very poor place and with their arrogance and disregard for help and other people, this country will always be 100 years behind the rest of the world.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BEWARE - MUST READ!"

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  EVELYN  on Mar 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
522 people found this review helpful

While we were guests at the Majestic Elegance, my iPod was stolen from my room. We immediately contacted hotel security and they did a search of our room and an “investigation.”

I was told by hotel management that the investigation turned up nothing. I was also informed that they did not question the housekeeping staff because they did not use a key card to get into our room. We were in the room when they arrive and we had let them in. We sat on our terrace while they worked in the room. I was not happy with the way the hotel handled the situation and went to the local police department and filed an official complaint. The hotel assistant manager, Ismael, was going to email me a copy of the police report. I have emailed him and requested this information 5 times to no avail. I found the hotel management to be unhelpful and a little rude regarding this situation. I have also emailed the corporate office of the Majestic chain and again have not had a response.

My major concern is that these people are thieves. They are still working at this resort and will, in all likelihood, steal from other guests. While there is a safe in the room, the iPod was not in it – it was left in a case on the dresser. They unzipped the case, pulled out the earphones and re-zipped the case. When you take something that does not belong to you – you are a thief. Please lock up all your belongings! I have placed this negative review in the hope that other travels will be warned.

While the iPod is not of great monetary value, it is a vital part of my business. I teach ZUMBA and use it for my classes. I had to replace the iPod, cancel my iTunes account and the credit card that the iTunes account was linked to.

The funny thing is that the music on the iPod is all Spanish and Latin music – not American music. So basically they got music they can hear on their local radio stations.

Room Number:
4315

Other Comments:
This is definitely not a five star resort.
Go to Sandals - instead!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Majestic Arrogance"

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dwayne  on Mar 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
494 people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the resort from March 9-16. We were so looking forward to our first vacation alone to the Carribean. This resort looked so nice we were excited to purchase. Upon our arrival we inquired about upgrading to Elegance Club and after they initially wanted 1200$ US we were upgraded for $300. This gave us, no kids zone, free internet, unlimited drinks in room, and 24 hr room service. We originally asked for an upgrade to a swim up room. What they gave us was a room with no air conditioning and a Musty odor and dampness that penetrated everything. Service.....lets just say the workers were lazy, rude and arrogant. If nodding at you and saying si senior and Hola is service, it was excellent!(sarcasm). The Elegance Club girl at the desk near room 3115 was inefficient, lazy, rude and always gabbing on the phone or playing on the computer. When I asked about the poor Air Conditioning she said it was working fine and Punta Cana is humid so we would have to live with it. Once there, you are told that tipping is expected. The workers count their tip money and if it is not sufficient, your service next time will suffer.
Some positive notes, The grounds, beach, pool area and facilities are top notch and beautiful. The Food is "Resort Food" and nothing special but edible and choices are abundant. The Steak House is not good, the Italian restaurant is okay but you feel rushed to finish. The French restaurant was really good. We couldnt get near the Japanese Tapanyaki as it was fully booked by 7:10am each day.
This resort sets up a "Social Class" system and those in Club (what we were in) had better accomodations, towells,amenities and service that non club guests had. I would hate to see the level of their service. Stay away from this resort and its staff and book the Gran bahai Principe next door. The guests there raved about their resort and everyone we spoke to would return in the future. All in all my wife and I enjoyed our vacation as we keep to ourselves and participated and various off resort excursions so all we needed was a comfy bed for sleeping...although the bed is always damp and musty.

Room Number:
3125

Room Block:
Elegance Club

Arrival:
when inquiring, upon check-in, to upgrade to a swim up room we were told that for 177$ a day more we could. We negotiated an upgrade for $300 but found out it was not a swim up room but in Elegance Club ,eaning no kids and many benefits.

Rooms:
Air Conditioning didnt work, was told nothing could be done. Bad Musty odor penetrated everything. Maid's cleaning was make bed, replace towells, and if we were lucky toilet paper was refilled. No face cloths were in the room and we had to ask for them. She gave us some one day but they were taken the next and never replaced. She would wet mop the floor giving a damp room what it needed...more dampness

Restaurants and Bars:
We have had worse resort food and it was edible. Bar service was good but stay away from their house wines in the restaurants...it is undrinkable

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This is the best feature of this resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Dolphin excursion was awesome and we did the Fun Buggy tour

Other Comments:
There are many resorts to choose from in this area and we will return to Punta Cana some day but not to the Majestic Arrogance...oops Elegance(?)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Trip # 2 - Better the the First"

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Allan  on Feb 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
570 people found this review helpful

Although we have vacationed at some great resorts we always felt we would be disappointed if we ever returned to one because it might not be as great as we remembered. Well we were wrong. After a great stay last year at the Majestic Elegance (ME) we decided to return for another 2 weeks from Jan 17- 31st. I would have to say stay number 2 was even better because we knew the pros and cons of the resort and what to expect. We were made to feel right at home throughout our whole stay. Our stay was for R & R and that is what we got; 2 whole weeks of stress free vacation time. Overall everything ran smoothly and we had no problems to speak of.
We again chose the Elegance Club and feel for us it is well worth the extra cost. In fact we would never consider returning unless we could stay in the Elegance Club. We love the quiet adult only setting of the Club pool and lounge sections with the Bali Beds, bar service, and 3 club pools. We did get to try out the new swim-up bar once which was very nice, but being in the building closest to the beach we found it a little far for us to spend much time at. We preferred the pool area right outside our building especially once we got to know the friendly staff and they got to know us. It was so nice to come out each morning and receive a warm greeting from the bar, towel, lounge and even cleaning staff and some even dropped by our loungers to chat and see how our vacation was going. We have found a warm greeting and a smiling face on our part goes a long way and is always returned in kind. Even though the Club section has been expanded we didn’t notice a big difference with overcrowding in the Club section compared to last year. In fact our club lounge seemed less busy than I remember it being last year. Neither one of us ever had a problem getting access to a computer.
As you can tell though, we really like this resort and we are so glad we took the plunge and decided to return. We knew we had done the right thing within the first 24 hours. Who knows we may even return for a 3rd time next year. There are just too many things that we have found we like at this resort that we are afraid we would miss is we went elsewhere.

Room Number:
4336

Room Block:
Ella Building # 5

Arrival:
Check-in and check-out were both quick and easy. We were given our Club bracelets and met our Butler in the new Club Check-in area off the main lobby. We told our Butler we did not need the tour of the resort this year and were therefore driven directly to the Ella Club lounge and taken up to our great room.

Rooms:
Last year we loved our room, 4334 but this year we received room 4336 which was even better. It was a 3rd floor end room in building 5 and overlooked the vacant lot, the upper deck bar and the ocean. You could even lie in bed and see people out walking the beach and the shipwreck in the distance. I would say it would have to be one of the best rooms in our room category. We had the best maid service we have ever had at a resort. We never lacked for anything in our room and it was always cleaned by noon, and usually before 10am. Turn down service was hit and miss but that was no biggie for us. Our mini fridge was always full and the 4 liquor bottles were always replaced on a regular basis often without us requesting it, and one day they even left a bottle of white wine. We never ran out of anything, shampoo, soap, towels, water, pop or drinks. Almost every day while getting ready to head out for dinner there would be a treat delivered to our room: Chocolate covered grapes, fruit plates, cheese plates, bottle of red wine to name a few. And of course there was a bottle of Champagne and a couple plates of goodies to greet us upon our arrival.

Restaurants and Bars:
As far as restaurants and food goes everything was fine. We really received outstanding service at most of our visits to the restaurants, especially the buffet and the Italian Club a la carte. We had no problem getting bookings for the French or Japanese a la cartes around the time we wanted, usually 7 to 7:30ish. For dinner we ate at the Sea & See 4 times, the Steakhouse and the French 3 times each, the Italian 2 times and the Japanese once.We liked all the restaurants for different reasons. The French has great service and a more upscale feel to it (long pants and closed toed shoes required) but has a very limited menu, especially when there for 2 weeks.We also saw several couples be seated, look at the menu and then leave without ordering.
The Steakhouse had some great steaks and nice baked potatoes, but could be hit or miss on the service cause it could get quite chaotic at times with the servers rushing around trying to keep things moving. The Italian (long pants and closed toed shoes) had some great dishes but my friend got sick after our 2nd visit so he really did not feel like going back even though everything was great service wise our 2 times there. The open air Sea & See, although the more casual of the a la cartes had a great menu, good food and some great service on 3 of our 4 visits. The 2nd time our order got mixed up and they tried to serve our main dishes before we had our appetizers and our glasses were not refilled. But this did not keep us from going back another 2 times. The Japanese is your typical tepanyaki tables with good food and service and a Sushi Bar for appetizers. For us though doing the Japanese thing once was enough.
Some of the dishes we enjoyed were the Shrimp, the Crab Cake, and the Grouper at the Sea & See; the Grouper, the Gnocchi, the Lobster Spaghetti, the Stuffed Chicken and the Seafood Ragu at the Italian; the Shrimp/Grouper and the Tenderloin at the French; the Fillet Kabobs and the Chateaubriand at the Steakhouse; various soups at the buffet; and their Fried Chicken at the Sea & See at lunch, the bar at the Steakhouse, and the buffet. They also had a great selection of cheeses and breads. My friend also enjoyed a couple good hamburgers done to his liking by the grill chef at the buffet. I also enjoyed a nice hot cup of cappuccino at the various restaurants at lunch and dinner. The house wine was a Baron de Valac from France and was not bad at all. Note, that we did find some of the dishes a little salty for our tastes, but we also noticed others adding salt.
We ate most of our lunches at the buffet. The few times we ate at the Sea and See for lunch we found it quite chaotic where the buffet was never busy.We were also greeted with an Hola and asked how we were and/or how our trip was going. Sort of reminded me of the song from Cheers – ‘where everybody knows your name’; that’s the feeling we had at the buffet whenever we walked in.

Other Comments:
Some of the outstanding features of this resort for us were:
-a very good international drink selection throughout the resort
-the Bali Beds at the Club pools especially at the Ella pool where most had a ‘canvas roof’ on them. Note that for the first ten days we had no problem finding a Bali Bed with a ‘roof ‘ in our favorite location no matter when we came out in the morning, but the last few days there was a group show up who started saving a group of beds at 5:30am
- the nice quiet (most of the time) atmosphere of the Piano Bar which was our favorite spot after lunch and dinner
- the Club Parties were a nice touch
- the covered walkways from the club loungers all the way up to the lobby. These came in handy when ever there was a down pour – which we did have a few of this year
- the friendly accommodating staff
- the grandness of the lobby area – it is one of the grandest we have been to
- nothing is far away – and it is very easy to find your way around this resort
Things of note:
-Last year they had daily treats they would bring around to those at the pool – this year they only did this a couple times – we missed the caramel/Choc drinks and I missed the freezer pops
- they did have several beach parties at lunch time and a couple at night – they seemed popular although we did not go – just not our thing
- although we only made the plaza bar area once during our stay we could hear the music up in the Piano Bar area
- the upper deck club bar was open most nights this year – but it was never busy – re referred to the bartender there as the ‘Maytag Man’
- went over to the club beach section one afternoon and had no problem finding a lounger in the shade
- between the buffet, the Sea & See and the snack bar in the Caribbean Street food is available almost 24 hours a day
- guests were encouraged to use the hand sanitizers when entering all the restaurants
- we did notice that the vibe of the resort is somewhat set by our fellow guests – most of the time the Club area was quiet but it only took one large noisy group to change this – or one large noisy group to come into an a la carte and start demanding personal service that kept the staff hopping – or one group who felt they needed to be together at the Club pool and started saving a bunch of loungers that were hardly ever used – or one table of smokers to ruin a dinner experience by chain smoking

Staff & Service:
One of the biggest pros at the ME for us is the staff and the level of service we received throughout the resort overall. Yes there were a few times when service was not top notch but that can happen anywhere. But in the long run looking back it is the outstanding service we received most of the time that stands out to us. Staff like Miriam at the Club a la carte; Joselito, Ana Marie, and Allagricia at the buffet; Kelvin and Clara at the club pool bar; the towel guys at our club pool; Narita, Francis and Roberto at the various lobby bars, and Dalton at the Steakhouse are some that stood out and really went out of their way to make us feel at home. On several occasions we had up to 6 different servers waiting on our table. The great service seemed to come from the top down cause we would always see the management out around the property checking up on things and even stepping in to serve whenever needed. Every time we ran into Jordi he was always asking how our vacation was going and looking for feedback on ways to improve.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Memorable Experience"

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Betty  on Oct 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
597 people found this review helpful

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our one week all-inclusive stay at the Majestic Elegance from Sept. 30 until Oct. 7, 2011. We celebrated my husband's 80th birthday and were very graciously treated by the staff in all areas of the hotel.
Each of the five restaurants offered delicious choices with a variety of cuisines to suit every taste.
We especially enjoyed Il Botaccio, the Italian restaurant, but all the others were also good. The Asadito in particular served various cuts of Argentinian beef and we had to return a second time for very tender cuts of blue rare sirloin for my husband and chateaubriand for me. I salivate just thinking about it.
The buffet at the See and Sea, where we always ate lunch, had a huge selection of choices. The suckling pig was especially delicious. It was difficult to count calories because we often went back for seconds and delectable desserts.
The rooms were very clean and each morning we delighted in having Eduardo from Room Service bring us our breakfast to enjoy still in our pyjamas on our balcony with a lovely view.
The lobby bar is exceptionally beautiful and our pre-dinner drinks there gave us an opportunity to meet other friendly guests from all over the globe.
Servers I want to mention in particular are Yolanda,Eduardo, Sori, Carlos Eusebio and Jorge Luis. My husband became infamous amongst the staff and was known as "Senior Ha Ha" because of his constant teaching of the Majan word for water which is "HA".
Keyla Reynoso, the front desk manager is outstanding and we were very impressed by her caring and graciousness.
We highly recommend the Majestic Elegance Hotel which was indeed a memorable experience.
Betty and John Lenard

Room Number:
2441

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lack of security"

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
User Rating:  Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Sep 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
675 people found this review helpful

After reading many reviews of this resort and wondering what is fact and what is fiction, I have just returned and would like to add mine to the mix.

The Animation crew was great! Fun and inviting. Thanks to Julio (50/50), Chocolatte & Coffee for a great time. Julio was the best !!!

The food ranged from poor to excellent depending where you ate. I will list the positives first and the areas of opportunity second.
The Japanese Restaurant was great on the first night but just okay on the second visit.

The Italian Restaurant will not disappoint.. I had the seafood risotto that was the best I have ever had. Other items there were just as good with the exception of the eggplant rolletini.

The main buffet was predictable with quality that ranged from fair to good.

The See & Sea was not very good, the food was just down right yucky. Wherever you eat stay away from the cold cuts they are just funky looking.

The D M (after hours like night food place) was the worst of the worst. We were starving and tossed our food.

The service in some places was very good and in others was just okay. Although tipping was included with your package you can that it was expected and service depended on how well you tipped.

The drinks are good. The Mamajuna rocks. The only beer is Presedenti.

While on the subject of drinks, the bartenders make about $75.00 US per week and want to keep their jobs. Therefor they allow many guests to drink as much as they want. They will not stop a guest from taking a bottle from the bar and pouring their own drinks as they fear loosing their job because of a guest complaint.

The lack of security on the property mixed with an intoxicated guest does not make for a fun trip as I have witnessed in person.

Room cleaning was just okay at best. If you want good room service you have to tip.

The beach was great as well as the pool.

Bring what you need and just know that things at the resort like shampoo are way over priced.

To wrap things up...Food just okay in most cases...Drinks are unlimited but not top shelf...Rooms are nice and clean but room service is lacking...Lack of security is a major concern and the reason that I would not recommend this resort to any one reading this.

Hope this helps with you decision. If I had a choice I would pick another resort.
Best of luck.

Mike
New Jersey

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube