Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana  

Boulevard Turistico Del Este Km. 28, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.

"Really Upset by the Service"
Posted by: Holli  on Dec 27, 2013
see all reviews

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Reviews
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#18
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.6

Based on 27 reviews

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Information


If you think you know what an all inclusive, upscale resort is, think again. The Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic defies any pre-concept you may have by providing you with a vacation destination like no other, and it is not just the inclusions and the service, you are in an environment where you and nature become one.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Reviews

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 3.6 of 5 27 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  6
Average
  6
Poor
  3
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (16)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 27

"Really Upset by the Service"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Holli  on Dec 27, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
121 people found this review helpful

This has been a really horrible resort. There are so many negatives I cannot actually list them. Normal complaints would be every beach chair on the beach is broken, the food is so bland, the resort is overcrowded (these are all true but I could actually deal with these things as I am in paradise).

Today, is my last day at the resort and on the beach today I actually broke down to tears. I have never felt so fed up, helpless, mistreated by any staff at any resort I have EVER stayed at.

Every day this week there have been issues but today had just finally gotten to me. The staff has treated me as if I am the plague this entire week but today was another level. I went to have lunch at a very VERY casual lunch place (serves chicken nuggets and curly fries, think strollers and babies everywhere). I was wearing high waisted jean shorts and a tank top that was short but because the jean shorts went above my belly button ONLY at max 1/4" of midriff was exposed (akin to a tshirt rising up a little), the tank top had straps and my bathing suit was not visible in anyway. The hostess refused to seat me and laughed in my face saying there was a dress code, embarrassing me in front of people in the restaurant. (Last night at the Italian restaurant men were walking around in socks and adidas flip-flops and basketball shorts and tees). So I went to the pizza restaurant next door and changed my shirt and was seated, this restaurant is actually nicer than the original one I tried to go to. As I am eating my pizza a teenager walks in with NO SHOES ON and another girl with a tank top cropped more than mine and low rise shorts. NO PROBLEM for these people! I change my tank top in the restaurant back to the original one I had been wearing and go talk to the hostess of the pizza restaurant and the manager walks over and I tell her the situation, and she says my outfit is NICE and 100% appropriate for any restaurant in their hotel... then proceeds to walk over to the other restaurant with me to talk to the hostess where the hostess does nothing but laugh in my face.


After this I am just kind of fed up with the uncourteous people, no smiles ever. I go to the beach bar to get a drink, say hi to the bartender he does a little dance makes eye contact with me andd then turns his back to me. Seven kids walk up, each one of them gets a drink and I wait patiently. "Then I go hello!! I have been here for 10 minutes now", he looks at me makes eye contact and looks around the bar to proceed to serve two more men who have arrived. This is what all week has been. You would think a young woman would be treated with a little more respect.

And now I am back in my room it is 5:30 PM and my room still has not been cleaned.

Another fabulous day at the hard rock. I am seriously so upset with this resort, and recommend nobody who has any sort of class or has not been raised in a barn to not pay one dime to this rip off

Room Number:
8316

Room Block:
8A

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hard Rock - Rough around the edges, needs some major resculpting"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Mar 15, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
295 people found this review helpful

We really wanted to like the Hard Rock at Punta Cana. The resort is huge, the rooms spacious and clean, the food was pretty good for an all inclusive. My wife loved the spa, and dinner service was always friendly and prompt. However, there were too many operational things they have to fix that took the shine off the place. See below for details.

Room Number:
4115, 4117

Arrival:
Lineups weren't long, but once it was our turn to check in it took an hour to negotiate our rooms. Since we have 5 in our party (2 adults, a 9-year-old, and twin 3-year-olds) they forced us to have 2 rooms, although we could have easily (and preferably) been accommodated in one room. They wouldn't give us adjoining rooms (although we requested via our travel agency 6 months prior) until we had them speak to the manager. We got a "minor" upgrade to accommodate our adjoining rooms requirement, and were told that we were near the pool, which is a "great spot". Too bad it was the "party" pool with non-stop booming music and drinking spring-breakers. I guess they can't figure that with 3 young kids (who were with us during the check-in process) we might want to be near the kid's pools several buildings away...

Rooms:
Very nice and spacious. The huge jacuzzi in the middle of the room was used most days after the pool and beach, although it takes half-an-hour to fill and five people to displace the water high enough so you can turn on the jets.

Beds are very comfortable. Flatscreens are nice but if you don't speak Spanish, a waste of time as that's all they show on cable. Luckily I knew this beforehand and brought my own media player for the kids.

Biting bugs in the room are a HUGE problem. Our room (4117) was 20 feed away from an outside non-moving water source. All of us, especially my 3-year-olds, were eaten alive by no-see-ums. One child had 35 red dots - on her face after the first night! Wife's ankles were pretty well chewed, had to spend $30 US for two small bottles(!) of repellent and calomine, which helped a little. Itching for her was unbearable for days.

Showers are huge and beautiful, but water pressure is non-existent and go from scalding hot to cold instantly - don't leave small children alone in them! And toilets just don't flush, whether in your room or at a restaurant. There was usually a surprise waiting for me when using a toilet in the restaurants that needed to be flushed away first..

You have a bar fridge in your room which they would restock in the late afternoon... IF you were there. It's nice to get a few (ok, a six-pack) of brews and bring to the kid's pool in a bag of ice - there's no alcohol served near the kiddie pool, you have to walk a ways to get an adult beverage if you're parked there.



Restaurants and Bars:
All good here. There's a Brazilian theme (mmmeat!!) and the wait staff kept my plate and glass full. Steakhouse was also very good, and the asian restaurant "Zen" was Benihana on steroids - the kids loved the experience of watching the chef cook in front of you and engaging the diners.

The breakfasts and lunches are all buffets, and I consider them above average when compared to Mexican and Jamaican all-inclusives.

If you like beer, you better get used to El Presedente as it's all they have. A palatable lager, definitely preferable to Red Stripe. Ice-cold (see above) is the way to drink this one.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The sand near the water is beautiful, with the consistency and colour of brown sugar, great for sandcastles. The rest of the beach is equally beautiful, a white-powdery sand that doesn't get too hot for the bare feed.

It's always windy (yellow or red flags) and high waves. Fun for the older kids (and myself) to body surf but NOT suitable for toddlers!

Pools are clean, there's lots of them. But the water was always cold - not sure why this was. Great kiddie pools, perfect for toddlers.

They dole out towels like they're made of gold. You have to ask an attendant for towels and provide a name and room number along with how many towels you've received. I was refused 5 towels on most occasions - they would only give me 2 or 3. Several times they had no towels to give. This is easily fixed by providing cards-for-towels - I give a laminated card that I receive with my check-in package, I get a towel. I give a towel, I get back a laminated card for the next towel. This seems to work at many all-inclusives I've been to. What about it, Hard Rock? This one's simple to fix.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
What activities? I sent my 9-year-old to the mini-golf, and they wanted $35 PER PERSON for a round! They also have a large pool where you can enclose yourself in a large transparent inflatable ball and roll around the pool like a hamster for $10 for half-an-hour. What happened to "all-inclusive"?

There's no other water activities available - no waterskis, canoes, hobicats, or the usual craft offered at all-inclusives. Probably because the beach is just too rough all the time...

Kids clubs are non-existent, or invisible at the very least. There's a room in the main building ("Space Zone", I think they call it) for kids - but it was always empty when we went past it. You can't leave your kid there unless they're at least 4 years old, and even then there's not much for them to do there. I went in once with our 3-year-olds and it took the attendant 10 minutes to find some crayons.

Other Comments:
The real downer for this place is their emphasis on selling memberships and their "resort credit" nonsense. On the bus ride from the airport we were told by our tour operator to be in the main lobby the next morning for a "very important information session" on when our bus would be taking us back to the airport at the end of the week. And he also said, "No timeshare, I promise!" Bulls***. It was nothing but a high-pressure sales presentation where they have this stupid credit concept. You get $1500 of resort credits that can be used for merchandise and services IF you sit through their sessions to buy a membership (apparently, it's not "timeshare"). Luckily, I didn't go, and my wife called them on their BS tactics and got the credits anyways (we were entitled to $3000 because we had two rooms - lucky us!). And there never was a mention on what time the bus was leaving to take us to the airport...

The credits are worthless and a sham. There's a store in the main building where you can exchange them for local trinkets and junk, but you have to pay the "mandatory 16% tax", which in my opinion alone exceeded the value of the crap you redeemed your credits for. We signed up for a half-hour photoshoot that was 935 credits, and all we had to pay was the 16% tax for the photoshoot and 10 prints, and the amount $150 is mentioned. I was told this was the value, and we pay the tax on it - so 16% of $150 is $24 in my little mind.

Turns out that $150 IS the tax on their perceived value for a rushed half-hour photoshoot and 10 mediocre 8"x6" prints that were created on a low-end home printer. They think this was worth $935??!! Chalk this one up to experience. Buyer beware, at least I didn't buy one of their stupid memberships for tens of thousands of dollars that many on this board have done...



Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Relax or Party"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tammy  on Jan 23, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
297 people found this review helpful

We are Palace Premier members which is recognized by Legendary Vacations so we enjoyed all the benefits of membership. Check in was faster. Member areas are very nice. We sign a new contract for BOGO weeks with Legendary for the future to help our kids afford vacation with us. Membership isn't necessarily a lot cheaper but its a little nicer and easier. If you like all inclusive's then you should check it out. Not sure then skip it by saying no for now. This trip we were with 2 of our adult kids, 18 and 21. We had a great time. Perfect no, but very nice and we plan to return. Beach and golf course are beautiful The beach is quiet, no motorized vehicles. I hope it stays that way, unlike Cancun, Antigua and Aruba. Resort is big. Shuttles are available. Casino is fun. Spa is wonderful. Oro nightclub is a nightmare. Too many staff members running on and off the dance floor with flashlights. Left after 45 minutes of getting bumped into. Rooms are spacious and clean. The resort in general is clean. Lots to do day and night or just do nothing. We had a few problems with our rooms but they were fixed in a very timely manner. Food is pretty standard for this type of resort. Service in general needs to be upgraded a bit. Kids pool area looks fun for younger kids. As posted by another; do remember its not the USA, be patient and smile.

Arrival:
1/6/13 Member check in was fairly quick.

Rooms:
Very nice but view was bad. They offered to move us the next day but we were too lazy to repack!

Restaurants and Bars:
Always a wait at Zen. Very little wait at others. Not crazy about the regular steakhouse. All others were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities all day and night, something for everyone. Theater shows OK.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Feel cheated with legendary club which ruined the rest of the vacation"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Teresa  on Jan 1, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
335 people found this review helpful

We were talked into a presentation the very first morning and believing the convincing salesmanship we signed up and felt cheated ever since. We were told lies, their free is not free and small costs are not small costs but when added to other costs one may as well go on a vacation picked up on the Internet You will not recover the money you pay them to belong to legendary. I felt very robbed of a lot of money

Arrival:
Smooth and they book you up for a sales presentation but don't tell you it is a sales presentation for a type of timeshare. They make it sound like the presentation is a helpful tour of the site and reduced costs in future vacations in exchange for free spa and casino credits

Rooms:
Great rooms large and well kept. Also very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Very nice choice of restaurants good service and nice variety

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Immaculately kept and very clean
The beach was lovely white powdery sand

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not partake in them

Other Comments:
Our mood was disheartened with our commitment to the legendary club. I wish I could express the inaccurate and compelling sales tactics. I cannot believe I fell for it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Resort but do not sign up for the legendary membership."

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elaine  on Nov 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
357 people found this review helpful

The place is beautiful, the first day was hectic...check-in was hectic and signing up for excursions have to be done right away because they sell out with very long lines. There is very little forthcoming information and their service is slow, but the place is beautiful, the spa is gorgeous...rooms were a nice size. We were talked into going to their pushy presentation, and too bad for us, we went and we signed up after getting beat down all day. I REGRET THIS DECISION VERY MUCH. I am trying to schedule another vacation for us and it is taking 2 months to process....they pass you on from associate to associate, hold times are forever...and there is no on in charge. They say their flights are cheaper then the regular...that is a lie too. PLEASE DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THIS MEMBERSHIP!

Rooms:
Family Suite

Restaurants and Bars:
Very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Dune buggy ride was fun. Shows were total weak.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazzzzzing"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eric  on Nov 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) UNITED STATES MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
344 people found this review helpful

Perfect to say the least. Almost anyone complaining about their stay forgot they are in a different country from the USA and are very spoiled. This place is great. The people here are very happy that we are here. This is their country please try to respect that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great vacation"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Jul 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
568 people found this review helpful

We stayed here for spring break and all of us had a wonderful time. The only felt crowded at the pool 1 day when the locals started flowing in for their break but it was still no problem. The resort is beautiful and offers so many pools that you don't have to reserve a chair at 6am. The walking was no problem for our group and I enjoyed walking the property to get around. We stayed in building 5a and could get to anything we wanted easily.

I have read complaints about the food and have to say these people must be pampered by chefs back home because we all thought the restaurants were very good for an all inclusive. The brazillian restaurant was excellant. The casino is very nice but I wish they had $5 blackjack. My son and two neices loved the putt putt course just to have something else to do. The beach is beautiful but the waves are rough so little kids can't hang out there. Our room was wonderful on the 1st floor, which I liked because we didn't have to worry about elevators and we had easy access to the pool and breakfast restaurant.

Overall I thought the resort was great. We did book through RCI and I received a great price, about half of the published rate. I would love to return to this resort next year.

Room Block:
5A

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect Vacation"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Denice  on Jul 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
526 people found this review helpful

Absolutely the best vacation I have been on so far. The staff at the Hard Rock are very friendly and helpful. The buildings are VERY clean and the cleaning staff are great. The food is plentiful and good. The spa is amazing! Overall had the best time and will go back again.

Arrival:
Arrival was smooth and within 20 minutes we were in our room even though we traveled with a large group.

Rooms:
Love the rooms. So nice and great views. The beds are so comfortable. I would love to have the bedding in my own home.

Restaurants and Bars:
Loved the Sax pool and the bar. Great staff and drinks. Cafetto cafe was great we had breakfast there every morning. They had really good coffee.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools are all beautiful and clean. So many to choose from.

Other Comments:
Visit the spa!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time!"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patty  on Jul 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
605 people found this review helpful

I would like to share with you the wonderful experience that my family had on vacation at the Hard Rock - Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. We stayed from June 14th to June 21st and stayed in room 4478. We have a wonderful time and the best serve from beginning to end. My son has a nut/peanut allergy and your staff went above and beyond to make "safe menus and meals" for my son. The chefs, managers, and staff were the best. They remembered our family when we came back in their restaurants to eat. I am sorry for not having the names of some these special people but am going to list the ones I do have and/or remember.

At the Pizzelo Restaurant - Massinio was so nice and caring. He personally explained and remembered us each time we came back in. He talked to my 10 year son and assured him he was in the best hands.

The Ciao Italian Restaurant, many many wonderful people cared for us (we ate breakfast everyday here and three dinners here - just loved the serve and food!! The special serve people that again helped greatly with my son's food allergies were: Miguel and Alfredo.

At Los Gallos Mexican Restaurant it was Ariel and Alfredo top of the list for quality serve and hospitality! Very funny and so sweet to our large group.

In the spa, Reina D'Crrocia was an especially talented and wonderful massage person.

The upstair salon, Priscialla did my nails and toes. She was so sweet and gentle.

What a remarkable staff from diners, pools, spa, salons, and every where in between. Our rooms were ALWAYS clean each and everyday and done very well. We were so happy with our whole Dominican stay.

The atmosphere was relaxing and fun. The pools had lots of entertainment and wonderful people to assist in many ways! Truly thank you from the bottoms our of hearts. Many thank yous from my family to yours!

Many blessing to all that helped and make our vacation the BEST!

Take care,
Patty

Room Number:
4478

Arrival:
Thursday, June 14, 2012

Rooms:
4478

Restaurants and Bars:
Our favorites were the Ciao Italian, Pizzelo, and Los Gallos Mexican Restaurants. Excellent serve and wonderful food!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Loved all pools and the beach!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor Room Services"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cheryl  on Jun 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
637 people found this review helpful

Upon arrivial there were ants in bed and dust from vent in another. We requested king bed and was given double; was forced to contact RCI to get a room change. Room service came into the room changed the linen and the ants were still present; then they had someone to come in and spray the room; wanting us to remain in the room. Once we contacted RCI; they finally changed us to another room. We were out of our room all day and there was no room service. We left early am and return late; then someone came as we were getting ready for the spa. We asked her to return in .5mins; this perhaps turned into no return. The room service staff never leaves clean towel nor service the bar as indicated. This the worse all inclusive resort that I have ever stayed. We have no desire to return to this resort; being that the service is very poor. They also asked me to give them my time share in exchange for months for their program. "Who would be so stupid." This resort is not all what it advertiises to the public. Also, we were on our honey moon and they should no extended services to us. Please read all reviews and noticed that the service for this hotel is not good.....

Room Number:
2014

Arrival:
Wednesday May 20, 2012

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Horse back riding and Spa staff was very good. The restaurant staff doesn't maintain with one guest; there are moving all around trying to service too many people. Also, the restarunts close extremely too early. Again, the resort has false advertisement.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube