Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana  

Boulevard Turistico Del Este Km. 28, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.

"total nightmare for a all inclusive resort be aware vacationers"
Posted by: esardai  on Jul 27, 2016
see all reviews

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Reviews
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#17
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.5

Based on 28 reviews

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Information


If you think you know what an all inclusive, upscale resort is, think again. The Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic defies any pre-concept you may have by providing you with a vacation destination like no other, and it is not just the inclusions and the service, you are in an environment where you and nature become one.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Reviews

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 3.5 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  6
Average
  6
Poor
  4
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (16)
Party (1)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"Far from being finished"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ruth from Harley, Ontario, Canada  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
474 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 21 to Jan 28
Do not trust RCI or the hotel to give you the right info as we were told the resort was ready for visitors. I have since read a report on the hotel and they are now offering a "soft opening" with 25% discount. In no way should this resort have opened its doors to the public at least for another 2 months. There is still a lot of finishing work to be done in the hotel itself let alone the rows of complexes that house the rooms. There is a lot of walking but there are elevators but that was an inconvenience as only one in our complex was working and no ice machines working etc.. It is far from being finished. This is a huge resort complex . The casino is not opened nor will it even be ready for at least another 6 months. The golf course will not be ready for at least the same amount of time. There are no spa facilities opened or even ready When this resort is finished it will be awsome but for now anyone going there will only be disappointed if you are not aware of all the facts before you go. However since my husband and I did not encounter any problems other than the dissapointment of not being able to golf we did rather enjoy the the Dominican people and their way of making you smile and seeing how hard these people are working and the conditions they have to work under is truly amazing. They actually sing when they are working.

Rooms:
We were lucky to have had a room that for the most part was completed and they will be very beautiful when finished. The beds and pillows are ever so comfortable. There were others that had things go very wrong. A jaccuzi that had a drain that was not hooked up. Of course as soon as the plug was pulled to empty did it flood the room.Workers were always around either plastering or painting etc. Be wary if you are going now as there was no TV hook up or internet service. We did hear they were working on it. When it rained some of those on the top floor were experiencing leaks with plaster falling off ceilings.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant were good one night but the next it would be served completely different or not what you thought you had ordered. Again staff was learning.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were constantly being worked on around the clock. The pools are beautiful and the beach is awsome although it is quite wiindy at times but I loved it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were only 3 or 4 tours to go on and activities are very limited at this time.I would advise that not travel to this resort with young children for at least a year.

Other Comments:
There is a doctor on call 24 hrs. at the hotel. We needed her services for initestinal problems which were addressed promptly and did not interfere or keep us hold up in our room. We were back to normal with in hours of taking the medication.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We did have a very relaxing vacation and did enjoy ourselves"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie S  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
544 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Good transfer from airport. The first impression is the massive piles of sand where the golf course will be someday.

Rooms
Nice large room with a patio or balcony. The large double shower head is awesome!

Restaurants and Bars
Excellent service! Very pleasant and attentive.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The white sand beach is beautiful! What an unpleasant surpise to find that the riptides here are very strong so there is no swimming in the ocean! The pools are plentiful and pretty.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
2 excellent tours were offered (a safari and snorkeling) at no charge due to the delay in completion of the resort and the lack of being able to swim in the ocean...

Other Comments
Due to the recent opening of the resort there are many management and structural issues that need to be addressed. There is an electical problem in the rooms and the lights just turn off. The light switches are confusing and turn on and off a different light everytime you use it. The entire resort had no electricity for 4 hours one day. The toilets frequently backed up, the door fell off the safe twice and maintenance is VERY SLOW to respond. There is a strong language barrier. The resort is going to be huge. We got lost one night and security couldn't help us as they did not speak or understand English.

We did have a very relaxing vacation and did enjoy ourselves even with the snags.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wait a year."

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dave T  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
652 people found this review helpful

We made reservations before learning about "soft opening." Had we known we would have delayed at least until 2010. That said we went with positive attitude and enjoyed our stay. But, we probably won't go back because it takes 15 hours (in air plus airport waiting) to get there. ( SAN to PUJ)

Arrival visa costs $10; also filled out Customs declaration that no one collected. We were so intent on avoiding folks wanting to help with our luggage that we walked by the Moon Palace booth. Some guy outside pointed us back to booth. We shared van with another couple and left after only 15 minute wait. Be prepared for an exciting ride: pot holes, narrow roads, numerous mopeds. Arrival. Bellhops appeared a bit disorganized...but no problems. Front desk gave us wrong wrist bracelets, which we corrected later. Room: beds were very comfortable. No Palace slippers in room and safe didn't work. TV is not easily viewable from beds. (We watched very little TV) Wireless internet worked well. Bldg. halls and stairwells needed better cleaning. Oh, coffee was excellent, but nothing to stir with.

Grounds: there are places for bldg. signs/directions...but no info yet. We figured out lay of the land after first day. One restaurant down by beach--Marina Grill--where we ate buffet breakfast and lunch plus it has order from menu at dinner. I rate Marina Grill as very good...but wine as poor. There is also a sandwich place down there and frequently a lunch BBQ was set up.

Other restaurants are in main bldg. with lobby. Tao (Oriental) was good; you have to reserve your table with morning breakfast greeter. Spaggo (Italian) was very good...went for dinner 3 times. Must Sweet Coffee--my wife enjoyed their deserts and special coffees. Pizzetto was very good; beer and pizza always delicious. Cafetto. Service problems when we were there. Lucca (International) Good. We only went once...for breakfast buffet. Several pools with some away from the beach and more are being made ready.

Most of the construction was at the southern end...did not bother us.

Entertainment doesn't start until 9:45, which is past our bedtime. However, we were up late first night and went to "Stars Show." It began 20 minutes late...and there were technical problems; we left. Can't comment about other shows. Like the resort...a work in progress.

Checkout went smoothly. Airport departure was mostly seamless, however, after getting boarding passes, etc. we needed to fill out disembarkation form that was in a pad on table near final check point. Other folks may have gotten forms from their airlines, but not Delta.

If one has reservations, don't cancel, you'll have good time. If one is thinking about going, wait a year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extremely disappointing."

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Nichol from Atlanta, GA  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2009
590 people found this review helpful

Arrival
The lobby is huge but the walls of the lobby are only primed - no paint - there are no plants at all and lots of construction/drywall dust. It took over 60 minutes to check in when we were second or third in line. They did bring frozen non-alcholic drinks on a tray.

Rooms
Room would be beautiful if cleaned correctly - it smelled like either drywall dust or wet paint or both. The furniture is quality and mattress comfy. Glass tops were missing from the table on the balcony.

Restaurants and Bars
Restaurants were good but not gourmet. Only six open including a deli and an ice cream shop. Everything was a little bland and lots of diguised sameness in the menus. Service was good but inexperience showed. Wine menu not available in some restaurants. When it was available they didn't have many of the wines listed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is fabulous - wonderful sand. Pools nice (only three open) but the showers from the beach to the pools are not working and cheap chairs/inadequate amount at two of the pools. The grounds look best at night. We were told to walk only one way on the beach to stay out of danger. Security guards patrolling.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
A couple we traveled with did the zipline tour which was wonderful.

Other Comments
This hotel had no business pretending it was open and taking my money before it is adaquetely finished. There were absolutely no signs anywhere - the spa and gym were temporary and the whole place was dirty, not painted and smelled. There are apparently lots of water and building problems at the resort as my sister's room had water running down the walls and she had to change rooms 3 times. One of the buildings had a large amount of water running down the outside of it from the top and stayed that way the whole time we were there. The drinks flowed freely to try to keep people happy. I will never again stay at any of the Palace Resorts. Extremely disappointing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would recommend this Moon Palace to anyone who likes a 5 star hotel"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Len from Reading, Pennsylvania  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009
723 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 25 - May 2
As soon as we got our bags, we went to the taxi area of the airport. We arrived at the Moon Palace guest desk and within 5 minutes we were on our way to our room. The taxi ride took about 30 minutes from the airport to Moon Palace.

Rooms:
Rooms are huge and very clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
The steak restaurant was our favorite. The food was good and the service was excellence.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools and very clean and we were lucky that there weren't very many people at the pool we selected, it was like we had out very own 70 x 140' pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't take any tours althought they were included in our package.

Other Comments:
I would recommend this Moon Palace to anyone who likes a 5 star hotel with very helpful, polite and pleasant employees.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best part was our Wedding Day"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Svetlana from Philadelphia  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2009
797 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 29th
Resort is huge, the property is very large although still in the works but absolutely beautiful.We were greated with a cold glass of champagne(very nice) and a flower for the ladies.

Rooms:
All the rooms are brand new and gorgeous. The beds are extremely comfy! The shower is fantastic, huge 2 person/2 shower heads(excellent)Jacuzzi tub in ground in the room. Flat screen tv, the room was very clean and cozy!

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars are good, some better than others,but over all very good. Asian restaurant is delicious!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
So many pools and all are very nice. The beach is beautiful(water is a little rough but still fun) and the waiters keep coming around with drinks made to your order. The grounds are extravagant although it's very easy to get lost on your first day, buildings all look alike, and there are so many of them(should have building numbers posted on them).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Zip line is awesome, horse back riding not bad(but the horses seem very thin).

Other Comments:
Over all a very nice resort, still needs at least a year until completely finished. Once it's done will be one of the best in Punta Cana!

The best part was our Wedding Day-May 30th, 2009!!!
We had a beach ceremony which was gorgeous! Our photographer Arnaud did an amazing job!!! The pictures were breathtaking.To those who are getting married in Punta Cana I definitely recommend "Huellas del Caribe" photography service was outstanding! Arnaud was so easy to work with( very charming and funny)! Our wedding was Saturday, he met with us Monday to show our pictures and select the ones we want and had our photo album shipped to us in two weeks! Our video was also ready by Monday(video was beautiful).Thanks again Arnaud! You've captured our wedding day in breath taking photos that will last a life time!!! Amazing job. Our wedding planner Nancy and her assistant Maria were the BEST!!! They went above and beyond.We had a two hour private reception by a secluded gorgeous pool with it's own open bar/delicious buffet and gorgeous palm trees all around with a cute lounge with sand under your feet and hammocks all around.The staff was so great and accomodating, they saw how much fun we were having, they even extended our reception to 4.5 hours free of charge! After we took the party to the lobby bar! The bartenders were great, the drinks were coming non stop for all! Had so much fun on our wedding day!
Thanks again to Nancy, Maria,Arnaud and his video partner!!!
Best wedding ever!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" If we come back to the DR we will surely stay there again"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alec from Washington DC  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009
784 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" If we come back to the DR we will surely stay there again"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alec from Washington DC  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009
784 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" If we come back to the DR we will surely stay there again"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alec from Washington DC  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009
784 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" If we come back to the DR we will surely stay there again"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alec from Washington DC  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009
784 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gorgeous resort."

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Silvia from Gatineau, Quebec  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
827 people found this review helpful

Arrival: nov 18 to 25, 2009
Gorgeous resort.

Rooms:
wonderful, big double shower, most comfortable king size bed in D.R. double whirpool in front of patio doors, frige, rhum, vodka included. big balcony

Restaurants and Bars:
all very good, enjoyed food at Japanese, simple but good. Nice set up for cafes, good ice cream bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pools , pools and more pools, chairs in the pool....very nice, close to beach and /or more quiet ones throughout the site

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
golf at the Punta Blanca golf course, very nice, just 10 minutes away. Also played at the Rocco Ki, not worth it yet too expensive

Other Comments:
staff make extra effort to speak english...even if you speak spanish, they want to answer in english or french. Very very helpful staff thoughout.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wow... so many pools and all are just gorgeous"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ivan from Red Deer  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
946 people found this review helpful

Arrival was great as usual.. we flew Westjet from calgary via Toronto with an over night stay. Unfortunately on the way back we were to change planes in Ottawa back to Calgary, but a Saturday in Punta Cana Airport is a busy day, and althought the Dominicans are lovely people, they cannot organize a line up to the bathroom let alone a busy airport. Needless to say we were 2 hours late leaving Punta Cana and missed our flight from Ottawa, but Westjet was terrific, putting us up in a hotel in Ottawa overnight and flying us back to Calgary in the morning. Next time we are going Direct even if it is Transat's cattle class..

Rooms::
The rooms at the resort are terrific, very spacious and roomy, and clean. Note if you are a sleep walker, you take your life in your hands because the jacuzzi tubs are in the floor right in front of the bed. Had a chat with the resort doctor who said there were a few broken bones from people falling in the jacuzzi in the middle of the night. There are still many problems to be solved, if that is possible in the Dominican. The sewer smells from the bathroom was almost unbearable at night time, we had to close the bathroom door just to sleep.Plumbing codes do not exist.. The Fire alarms also kept going off in the middle of the night, so a restfull sleep was never had. Power outages and air conditioning breakdowns are common and frequent.

Restaurants and Bars::
A good selection of Resturants. As We were in Buiding 2A, overlooking the Marina Restuarant we made this one our breakfast favorites. Service and friendlyness are outstanding.. the food is so-so, your typical buffet, half cold and average. Favorites were the Brazilian and Steakhouse and Marina Grill. Although we read reviews praising the Italian and Japanese , we were not impressed. Do not bother with the Tepinyaki Grill.. takes 2 hours to cook your food, it is cold and rubbery by the time he finally gives it to you.. We ate off the menu there one night and the pad thai resembled a poor impression of chop suey. The pasta was great in the Italian.. and be careful of the pizza in the buffets because it is made with goat cheese.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Wow... so many pools and all are just gorgeous.. they have to be because although the beach is beautiful, the water was so rough for the whole 2 weeks we were there, swimming in the ocean was next to impossible... never saw anything other than red flags, and the lifeguards pulling out the odd person foolish enough to venture in. The resort was many 30% full when we were there so we had our choice of pools, chairs, you name it.. Was kind of nice.
They are just finishing and furnishing the last couple of wings on the south side. The grounds, even though its a very new resort are simply beautiful.. Thay have a people mover that constantly roams around the resort to give guests rides around the resort which is a fantastic idea because the resort is huge.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
There are the typical activities including spanish lessons, beach volleyball, etc.. there are no water sports, obviously because of the rought water. The included snorkeling trip is a waste of time, they pick you up in a bus, take you to a boat, run you out in the water, throw everyone off for 10 minutes, the current is very strong, no good fish around, then they take you to the Shark and Ray enclosure to try to get you to pay to snorkel with them .. the Jungle tour was okay, if you like zip lining definately do that although for 80 bucks US it is kind of pricey. The trip to Saona Island is definately worth it.. Starts out from Casa de Campo,then speedboat down the Chavon River out to the sea, stopping at a sand bar in the middle of the sea where the water is waste deep, then on to the island where the beaches are great.. Unfortunately, the best beaches and true caribbean water is on the south side of the Dominica by La Romana, and there are very few resorts there.

Other Comments::
Over all, the resort is great, and will be better when totally finished and they get the bugs out.. But if you want the true Caribbean water and beaches, Punta Cana does not have that. The resort is your typical Palace resort, of which we are members.The weather is beautiful and warm in December , which is why we went there instead of Mexico. Howerever, after staying there for 2 weeks, we would not return to this resort. At the moment I would have to give it a 4 star at the best.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All I got was a voicemail"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Thomas from New Brunswick  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
932 people found this review helpful

after having stayed in numerous Palace Resorts in Mexico, we were very anxious to go to their new resort in Punta Cana DR. How-ever we will never return to this resort and I don't think that the Palace Resorts will ever be considered in our future travel plans. Although the resort itself is beautiful and fininshed to the Palace resort standards, and the staff are very friendly and try to be helpful, there is a very serious problem in comunications. The wait staff, the front counter, people in the stores, everywhere at the resort there is the same problem....they do not understand what you are asking and in turn you cannot understand the reply. Usually this shouldn't be a problem, however as an example for the whole week we asked different people where the hot tub was and the best we could get is it is in your room. I knew that there was mention of this in there ad and sure enough on the last day we actually did find the hot tub. There were a very high number of things like this that happened all week, but the biggest problem and the MAIN REASON we will never return to this location is that when we arrived home, our daughter informed me that she had tried to reach me on a very serious matter and was unable to make the switchboard understand the importance that see contact me and they would not or could not take a message and try to track me down. She ten tried to contact our other daughter (her sister) who was in the next room with the same result. She then sent the head office an e-mail explaning that she had to contact me, and as of this date, she has not had a reply.
When we arrived home and I heard this, I immediatly called Palace esorts head office in Miami,Fl, and all I got was a voicemail, so I left a message explaining the problem, and the same day I wnt on the Palace Resort web site and e-mailed them. That was over three wekks ago and to this day I have not had a reply to my phone call or my e-mail.
When a family member cannot contact you when you are on vacation, this is very serious, because as we all know, any thing can happen at any time!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube