Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana  

Boulevard Turistico Del Este Km. 28, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.

"Really Upset by the Service"
Posted by: Holli  on Dec 27, 2013
see all reviews

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Reviews
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#18
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.6

Based on 27 reviews

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Information


If you think you know what an all inclusive, upscale resort is, think again. The Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic defies any pre-concept you may have by providing you with a vacation destination like no other, and it is not just the inclusions and the service, you are in an environment where you and nature become one.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Reviews

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 3.6 of 5 27 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  6
Average
  6
Poor
  3
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (16)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
11 - 20 of 27

"Beware of Ledgendary Vacations !!!"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chris  on Mar 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
587 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Hard Rock , Punta Cana, back in February and found it to be a beautiful facility. The staff were quite friendly but the service could use some improvement.

As guests of this hotel we were subject to Legendary Vacations solicitation to buy a membership. The staff were quite agressive in thier persuits to get a meeting with us.When we agreed to meet, the salesmanship was slick and bullylike.We negotiated a membership with a condition that we could avail of a special rate for a hotel in New york City (NYC) in May of this year.Once we started to plan our NYC vacation, we discovered the information given to us by Legendary was totally eronious.

We contacted Legendary on at least five occassions regarding this issue and recieved absoulutly no satisfaction. We were passed from dept to dept with long waiting times.

I suggest that anyone planning a vacation at this hotel be aware of Legendary Vacations and proceed with caution.

Arrival:
The arrvial was good and we were well recieved. The staff were quite helpful.

Rooms:
The room was great and we had no issues with it.

Restaurants and Bars:
During the duration of our stay, we ate in all the restaurants and the food was really good. The service in some restaurants were better than others.

The Bars were great, the staff were quite friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and pools were excellent. The service at the pool bars was good. The beach bar service could have used some improvement.

Other Comments:
Our stay at Hard Rock was overall good. They should put more effort into promoting better customer service. There was too much effort put into selling guests Legendary Vacation memberships. If this effort was utilized in improving customer service, it would be a better resort.

Resort cedits issued at the start of the holiday were hard to redeem. Long lines and delays were common.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ann  on Mar 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Wedding | Solo
483 people found this review helpful

Resort was clean, staff was friendly and all inclusive included everything including phone calls to US. Rooms were large and comfortable with nice views of grounds. Be sure to hold on to your luggage and give yourself plenty of time to make flight. I got to airport at 12:30 for 3:30 flight and only had about half hour to spare. And they actually pat you down when leaving country so be prepared. Above all -stay on resort grounds or with hotel sponsored excursions-area sketchy once you leave grounds. Food and drink are plentiful-pace yourself. Lines sometimes are long at the better restaurants so you may have to adjust your plans sometimes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Lemonade Holiday"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shannon  on Feb 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Party | With Spouse/Partner
489 people found this review helpful

We just got home.. the biggest waste of money and disappointing idea of a vacation EVER!We call it our Lemonade holiday.. all we could do was make lemonade out of the lemons.

The room we had was nice.. but spoke to MANY people who had sewer issues, flush and it showed up in the bathtub.We did notice that the lights turn off on their own every 10 minutes and the shower is not a consistent temperature. DO NOT leave children or people unable to feel temperature in the shower alone. They will get water burns or freeze.

The food was in most cases almost edible at best.

the entertainment was bad.. or non existent. The vibe team showed up at 1 pool at 3pm for 1/2 hour. The nite shows were $store productions.

The Sun bar stink like old vomit, which we were told was the smell of the ship ropes hanging all over. I held my breath walking by, let alone actually go in. The Moon lounge band failed to show 3 out of 4 planned nights. The nightclub is only open thurs- sat.. and you have to pay to get in and each drink is $14 once you are in there.

They expect people to either golf, play casino or sit in the spa.. if you want fun or entertainment during the day you have to make your own.

I can sum up the trip in 1 picture we took by a pool. no drinking, no eating, no music allowed.

Oh.. and remember to bring $90,000 for the hard sell membership thing they are gonna want you to buy into.

If you do not belong on "Real housewives" you don't belong here.

Room Number:
2280

Room Block:
2B

Arrival:
Sent to VIP check in at 5pm.. room was not ready. When did they think we were coming???? only at 30% capacity but still had to wait an hour for our room and they could not even put us in the building we asked for or give us a kingsize bed that we requested.. BUT.. this gave the salesman time to get a feel for who we were and if we would be an investor in the hotel.

Rooms:
big, beautiful
Some water and electrical issues.

Cleaned daily
Inconsistent services such as turn down, mini bar etc but overall not anything we stressed over.

Restaurants and Bars:
Pretty sure they send the leftover bread from the member restaurant up to the buffet. All the bread at the main building was stale.

Romantic dinner was bad. Mushy lobster, warm champagne and out of 4 steaks I ate all ordered at medium well... 1 was blue, 2 rare and the other was so tough we never even got it cut open to look at it.

If you talk to the bartenders at the pools you can get the burgers and such off the "members menu" and they are good. Non Member food is disgusting and near impossible to find unless you leave to pool and actually go into one of the restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is great , very wavy and rip currents. Red flags all the time (permanent) and children/ weak swimmers should not go in

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
what activities????

Casino, golf, spa..... they give you $1500 in resort credits so you can go on excursions and such but booking is a nightmare, tracking the credits to make sure they are correct is near impossible. You spend more time "dealing" with this then you do doing the stuff.

they have a waterslide and lazy river for kids.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Really enjoyed our stay"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carol  on Oct 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
551 people found this review helpful

Had a great week at this hotel---very clean facility---service was very good--loved the all inclusive aspect---snorkel excursion was a lot of fun---Dominican Expedition was interesting---really nice pools with great food & drink service provided---shows were fun and entertaining---met a lot of nice people from all over the world---getting around the grounds was easy with the shuttle tram---beach is pretty although the water is rough---staff was very willing to help, however communication was a bit difficult at times---free long distance calling to USA was a real plus---enjoyed the shows---all in all, Hard Rock Resort provided everything to allow for a great vacation

Room Number:
7314

Room Block:
7A

Arrival:
10/22/2011 - 10/29/2011

Restaurants and Bars:
Especially liked Zen Japanese Steakhouse, Cafetto, also the Italian restruarant, breakfast buffet at Toro, and dinner at Isla

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
GREAT!!!!!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Stingray Bay Carribbean Festival snorkeling excursion was really a lot of fun and had a great staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dominican Experience was enjoyable and very informative, although they could shorten the time speNT at the market.

Other Comments:
All in all, everything was great and allowed us to have a wonderful relaxing and fun vacation

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bring the Pepto or Imodium"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  James  on Jun 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
790 people found this review helpful

first and foremost bring imodium or pepto because just about every other person here has been sick from poor food prep. my experience is after getting moved to a second room and the air condition still does not working after three service calls, tv does not have signal, shower wont drain, toilet does not flush well, and an abundance of other irritations. We will not come back. I am a palace premier member and have been to the resorts in cancun as well. They are far better. this place is not ready to be a first class resort. the staff are not polished like the other palace resorts nor is their English. The $1500 room credit given as an incentive is a joke, no, a rip-off. They should call it 1500 credits to be used if you can figure out how. they have so many ways of blocking you that they are actually worthless. believe me when I say that this place has a long way to go before I would consider it as a vacation destination again. oh yeah, if you think i am one of those snooty people who could not have fun anywhere. your wrong, Moon Palace Cancun is great and I have been there 5 times, liked it everytime. just beware of this place and bring the pepto.

Room Number:
7317 and 7323

Room Block:
7317

Arrival:
06-18 - 06-25

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Resort .... But they need to have better Front Desk"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Mar 22, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
798 people found this review helpful

Wow! It is a large resort! Food was 10/10 & Pools were very clean!

In conclusion, the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Punta Cana was nice. But we are very upset that it took until our final full day (Friday) to find out the truth regarding our room that we had PAID FOR well in advance. We travel annually for our anniversary, and the arrangements that were made from Nov 2010 through Feb 9, 2011 were ignored.

Room Block:
5B

Arrival:
Very smooth! This is our 8th time to Punta Cana, and our first time to the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana.

Rooms:
We booked our Concierge Level Room for our anniversary in October 2010 (well in advance). I called Palace, as well as the Hard Rock Hotels to confirm the Concierge Level Room after November's Hard Rock Hotels announcement. Our travel agent even received an email in January confirming our reservation for champagne (anniversary request) & the Concierge Level Room.

Imagine our shock when we were in a regular room. We went to the Front Desk, and Guest Services over three times, to which they replied we had a Concierge Level Room.

Finally, on the Friday before our check-out a front desk employee told us that we were not in a Concierge Level Room as there were only 39 of these rooms, and all were full upon our check-in, and that the hotel offers first come, first serve. He also provided a copy of the original check-in form showing 2 prior room numbers hand written before we were given our room. The employee also explained the Code for concierge Rooms as CNG , and that Concierge Rooms are only in Buildings 4A and 5A. I called our travel rep, and the original booking clearly states Concierge Level room.

Restaurants and Bars:
10/10 amazing food!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
10/10

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awsome hotel and trip!!!!"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marvin  on Mar 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
611 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Moon Palace for 10 days in Feb. This was our 6th trip to the DR and our third hotel. We've stayed at the Coral Hamaca (back when it was a Hilton) and our last two trips we stayed at the Iberostar Bavaro. By far, this was our best trip and the much better of the three hotels. The resort is massive. They have a tram that runs around it to cut down on your walking, but be ready to put in some miles.

There are 14 pools. 9 of them have swim up bars. Each one was spectacular. The beach is awesome. Be prepared for an active surf though. More waves than either of the other hotels

Your Arrival:
Smooth, no problems.

Rooms:
Very nice, big and comfortable. There is an in room jacuzzi tub about 4 feet off the bed. Watch it at night! Very big bathroom with a huge shower with two shower heads. Flat screen tv and a nice balcony.

Restaurants and Bars:
A nice feature is you don't make any dinner reservations except at the Japenese steak house (Tao). All of the others are walk in. We never waited and the food was a definate step up from the Iberostar. We liked the steakhouse and Italian with our favorite being Tao.

Every bar had top shelf liquer. It was nice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The most beautiful pools I've seen at a resort. Each was different. You could relax at the pool that had 15 hammacks around it or party with the 20's croud at the central pool by the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was a temporary casino in the lobby area but the main casino is sceduled to be open the 23rd of March. It will be a Hard Rock casino and is 2 football fields in size.

Other Comments:
We loved it and can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wow... so many pools and all are just gorgeous"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ivan from Red Deer  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
696 people found this review helpful

Arrival was great as usual.. we flew Westjet from calgary via Toronto with an over night stay. Unfortunately on the way back we were to change planes in Ottawa back to Calgary, but a Saturday in Punta Cana Airport is a busy day, and althought the Dominicans are lovely people, they cannot organize a line up to the bathroom let alone a busy airport. Needless to say we were 2 hours late leaving Punta Cana and missed our flight from Ottawa, but Westjet was terrific, putting us up in a hotel in Ottawa overnight and flying us back to Calgary in the morning. Next time we are going Direct even if it is Transat's cattle class..

Rooms::
The rooms at the resort are terrific, very spacious and roomy, and clean. Note if you are a sleep walker, you take your life in your hands because the jacuzzi tubs are in the floor right in front of the bed. Had a chat with the resort doctor who said there were a few broken bones from people falling in the jacuzzi in the middle of the night. There are still many problems to be solved, if that is possible in the Dominican. The sewer smells from the bathroom was almost unbearable at night time, we had to close the bathroom door just to sleep.Plumbing codes do not exist.. The Fire alarms also kept going off in the middle of the night, so a restfull sleep was never had. Power outages and air conditioning breakdowns are common and frequent.

Restaurants and Bars::
A good selection of Resturants. As We were in Buiding 2A, overlooking the Marina Restuarant we made this one our breakfast favorites. Service and friendlyness are outstanding.. the food is so-so, your typical buffet, half cold and average. Favorites were the Brazilian and Steakhouse and Marina Grill. Although we read reviews praising the Italian and Japanese , we were not impressed. Do not bother with the Tepinyaki Grill.. takes 2 hours to cook your food, it is cold and rubbery by the time he finally gives it to you.. We ate off the menu there one night and the pad thai resembled a poor impression of chop suey. The pasta was great in the Italian.. and be careful of the pizza in the buffets because it is made with goat cheese.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Wow... so many pools and all are just gorgeous.. they have to be because although the beach is beautiful, the water was so rough for the whole 2 weeks we were there, swimming in the ocean was next to impossible... never saw anything other than red flags, and the lifeguards pulling out the odd person foolish enough to venture in. The resort was many 30% full when we were there so we had our choice of pools, chairs, you name it.. Was kind of nice.
They are just finishing and furnishing the last couple of wings on the south side. The grounds, even though its a very new resort are simply beautiful.. Thay have a people mover that constantly roams around the resort to give guests rides around the resort which is a fantastic idea because the resort is huge.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
There are the typical activities including spanish lessons, beach volleyball, etc.. there are no water sports, obviously because of the rought water. The included snorkeling trip is a waste of time, they pick you up in a bus, take you to a boat, run you out in the water, throw everyone off for 10 minutes, the current is very strong, no good fish around, then they take you to the Shark and Ray enclosure to try to get you to pay to snorkel with them .. the Jungle tour was okay, if you like zip lining definately do that although for 80 bucks US it is kind of pricey. The trip to Saona Island is definately worth it.. Starts out from Casa de Campo,then speedboat down the Chavon River out to the sea, stopping at a sand bar in the middle of the sea where the water is waste deep, then on to the island where the beaches are great.. Unfortunately, the best beaches and true caribbean water is on the south side of the Dominica by La Romana, and there are very few resorts there.

Other Comments::
Over all, the resort is great, and will be better when totally finished and they get the bugs out.. But if you want the true Caribbean water and beaches, Punta Cana does not have that. The resort is your typical Palace resort, of which we are members.The weather is beautiful and warm in December , which is why we went there instead of Mexico. Howerever, after staying there for 2 weeks, we would not return to this resort. At the moment I would have to give it a 4 star at the best.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All I got was a voicemail"

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Thomas from New Brunswick  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
705 people found this review helpful

after having stayed in numerous Palace Resorts in Mexico, we were very anxious to go to their new resort in Punta Cana DR. How-ever we will never return to this resort and I don't think that the Palace Resorts will ever be considered in our future travel plans. Although the resort itself is beautiful and fininshed to the Palace resort standards, and the staff are very friendly and try to be helpful, there is a very serious problem in comunications. The wait staff, the front counter, people in the stores, everywhere at the resort there is the same problem....they do not understand what you are asking and in turn you cannot understand the reply. Usually this shouldn't be a problem, however as an example for the whole week we asked different people where the hot tub was and the best we could get is it is in your room. I knew that there was mention of this in there ad and sure enough on the last day we actually did find the hot tub. There were a very high number of things like this that happened all week, but the biggest problem and the MAIN REASON we will never return to this location is that when we arrived home, our daughter informed me that she had tried to reach me on a very serious matter and was unable to make the switchboard understand the importance that see contact me and they would not or could not take a message and try to track me down. She ten tried to contact our other daughter (her sister) who was in the next room with the same result. She then sent the head office an e-mail explaning that she had to contact me, and as of this date, she has not had a reply.
When we arrived home and I heard this, I immediatly called Palace esorts head office in Miami,Fl, and all I got was a voicemail, so I left a message explaining the problem, and the same day I wnt on the Palace Resort web site and e-mailed them. That was over three wekks ago and to this day I have not had a reply to my phone call or my e-mail.
When a family member cannot contact you when you are on vacation, this is very serious, because as we all know, any thing can happen at any time!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gorgeous resort."

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
User Rating:  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Silvia from Gatineau, Quebec  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
605 people found this review helpful

Arrival: nov 18 to 25, 2009
Gorgeous resort.

Rooms:
wonderful, big double shower, most comfortable king size bed in D.R. double whirpool in front of patio doors, frige, rhum, vodka included. big balcony

Restaurants and Bars:
all very good, enjoyed food at Japanese, simple but good. Nice set up for cafes, good ice cream bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pools , pools and more pools, chairs in the pool....very nice, close to beach and /or more quiet ones throughout the site

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
golf at the Punta Blanca golf course, very nice, just 10 minutes away. Also played at the Rocco Ki, not worth it yet too expensive

Other Comments:
staff make extra effort to speak english...even if you speak spanish, they want to answer in english or french. Very very helpful staff thoughout.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube