ClubHotel Riu Bambu Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

ClubHotel Riu Bambu  

Playa Arena Gorda Punta Cana. Dominican Republic

"best hotel i have been too"
Posted by: franky on Aug 19, 2014
see all reviews

ClubHotel Riu Bambu Reviews
ClubHotel Riu Bambu Pictures and Information
ClubHotel Riu Bambu Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#26
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.7

Based on 17 reviews

ClubHotel Riu Bambu Information


Located on Arena Gorda beach, one of the most beautiful places in the Dominican Republic, with fine white sand and turquoise waters. The ClubHotel Riu Bambu (all inclusive 24 hours) is perfect for your holiday live more intensely funny, always surrounded by great comfort in nature.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

ClubHotel Riu Bambu Reviews

ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 3.7 of 5 17 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  8
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (9)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
1 - 10 of 17

"best hotel i have been too"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  franky  on Aug 19, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
37 people found this review helpful

I visited this hotel for my summer holiday while in the Dominican Republic and I must say that in as much as this isn’t my first time in the country, it was the best vacation I have had in a long while. First let me say that it is essential that when you go to a hotel for the first time, you should keep an open mind because if I had gone here with a mind filled with worries based on some negative reviews I found online, I wouldn’t have enjoyed myself, I am glad I did. I stayed on the second floor, I think it was one of the standard rooms there, it was great, I couldn’t believe how clean, well arranged and spacious it was. The bed was very comfortable and it seemed like they used insect repellant in the rooms prior to my arrival so I was very excited. There was a flat screen TV in the room, the shower had good pressure and it was working fine. Dinner at the main buffet was the best decision I ever made at this hotel and the buffet generally for whatever meal you go there for, the choices were pretty great. The air condition in the room worked, the a la carte restaurant where all great. The staff was so helpful, very pleasant set of people and they liked the guests, they wanted to help all the time. I appreciate the effort and will recommend it to as many people as I can.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just what we were looking for!"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ellen  on Jan 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
472 people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at this property. Food was good...breakfast was always great..so great that we passed on lunch most days..as we were still full..Buffets offered lots of variety. Some complained about the food..being that there was no North Amerian cuisine..We fully expected that since we weren't in North America. There was lots to choose from regardless. The beds were hard..but after a long day at the fabulous beach, with blue water and powdery sand, we were able to sleep soundly. We found the staff helpful, even with the launguage barrier, they were able to understand what we needed or if they didn't they found help for us. Sunwing were awesome from start to finish. Our flight was turned around due to landing gear problems and we were back up in the air within 2 hours. The on site Sunwing reps were very helpful and booked our excursions for us. We recommend the Saona Island excursion..it was a long day but well worth it!! We are already planning our return visit! p.s. for some of the negative travellers out there..if you don't like to try new food..stay home..if you want to be understood without question..learn the language before you go..if the beds are hard..drink a few more drinks...and relax it is your vacation!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Vacation - Not really a 5 Star - some issues"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Thomas  on Jan 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
461 people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Riu Bambu 01/04/12 - 01/11/12. First time at this resort. We had six family members in three rooms which we were able to get close to one another. (4 from Kitchener-Waterloo Canada and 2 from Ottawa Canada.)
Nice resort directly on the beach. Beach and general resort area was kept very clean. Rooms were clean and well functioning. Mini bar was not re-stocked daily (unless we wanted to be woke up at 8:30am). Restautants were ok. Not what I expected for a 5 star. (Have had as good of food in Cuba at a 4 star). As usual the buffet had lots of food, was always replentished, but nothing exotic or unusual as I would have expected for a 5 star. Service in the main buffet restaurant was poor. Breakfast Coffee and dinner wine was slower than in Mexico or Cuba, not just the normal Carribean slow (Any yes I did tip, so that wasn't the issue) and getting more of either was almost non-existant. Good thing they had a self serve wine station and a self service coffee machine. The Grill- steakhouse ala carte restaurant was excellent. Service and the food was the best of the whole stay. (But you have to get to the ala carte reservations desk before 7:30am if you want a reservation). The Italain and Asian ala Cartes were ok. Not real ala carte as they were set up a buffets as well. But food was ok and different from the main buffet.
Lots of activities and the bars and shows were on par with expections. However, No Canadain whiskey or Baileys equivalent as I would have expected for a 5 star.
One major problem we had was a family emergency back home. Our family tried to get a hold of us on Jan 10th. They called the hotel 7 times that evening, were hung up on 3 times, then were put through to one of our rooms but the hotel just let it ring and ring and never came back on the line. They called back and tried the other rooms with the same response. The final time they called they spoke to the front desk and told them it was an emergency and asked to leave us a message under our door, to which the front desk agreed. No message was left in any of our rooms. Two of the three rooms checked out at 8:00am the next morning, with no mention of any message or contact when we checked out. Our family called again in the morning, was told that we had checked out and were hung up on again. Which was not true, as the third room didn't check out until noon. Definitely Not the kind of service I expected from a 5 star resort. So be aware of this if you think someone can get a hold of you at the hotel. Keep your cell phone / data active and pay the roaming charges.
Overall would rate the facility a 4- 1/2 star, but would only rate the service at about a 3 star. Will be trying somewhere different next year.

Room Number:
3010

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"As Good as any, better than some"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vivian  on Jan 28, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
735 people found this review helpful

My first week I was there with my husband and another couple. For my second week those 3 went home, and my sister joined me. We all had a great vacation. Making the switch of room mates was no problem.

Room Block:
2900

Arrival:
Our Flight was late so we arrived at our hotel at 3:30AM! Yikes! Check in was easy and efficient and the bell boys helped us to our rooms - even at that hour.

Rooms:
Our room was clean and well supplied. We were on the ground floor of a 2 story building. The Balcony was adequate. There are 2 large beds pushed together which is kind of strange, but worked OK for us. The mini fridge is only stocked every second day, but a note and a tip got us extra beer. The bathroom is smallish, but clean and the shower worked great. There was never a problem with hot water supply.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurants were good. The food quality was very good and the cleanliness was exemplary.
At breakfast the coffee comes to the table in a carafe! So you don't have to wait for refils. There is no peanut butter, but there is a product like Nutella.
We had a wonderful meal at the Italian a-la-cart - the salmon was the best! The other 2 a-la-cart restaurants were only OK. We mostly stuck to the buffet.
Dress codes don't seem to be enforced at all.
The bars were easily accessable and sometimes fun. No beach bar though!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I found the pool area to be crowded.
The beach was great. Lots of loungers and plenty of trees for shade.
Washrooms and drinks are not far, and are easily accessable.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
At this resort the salesmen are very low key. This was a nice change from some resorts where they are very persistant to say the least.
We didn't do much in the way of activities. We do run in the mornings, and used the resort roads and developed a 2km loop that we ran 2 or 3 times each morning finishing on the beach for a nice walk to cool out.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"HUGE disapointment, 3 stars maybe, on a good day!"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  trish  on Jan 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
702 people found this review helpful

Roaches in food, roaches in the room! In two weeks we did not have a hot meal once, even at first seating.The food quality is poor, and left overs are served daily, we were faced with carrots and chicken kabobs reheated for breakfast one morning. The same menu day in and out Mystery meat, bologna, fried cabbage, Instant mashed potatoes, canned vegetables, and canned cheese sauce, left cold for the nachos are standard fare at the Riu.I have had fresher, better quality food at my local shopping mall. Basic cleanliness from the staff is lacking. I witnessed entertainment staff spitting in the childcare's play area, dining and bar staff spitting on sidewalks throughout the resort[ god knows where else] and the staff , including the cooks do not routinely wash their hands after visiting the restroom!I watched other guests taste food in the buffet line, with the serving spoons, use their hands to sort through sandwiches, dish out french fries, and other disgusting displays. This also seems acceptable practice at Riu Bambu, as the staff who witnessed this[ yes even the cook carving the meat for the person using their hands to dish out the vegetables] did not stop the guest, or remove the food. The roaches were flicked out of food, and the food left in place! The beach is one of the dirtier, littered with butts, garbage, and cups. The ground staff was busy selling coconuts on the beach, they appeared not to have time to clean, or remove the one to two feet of sand blocking 40-60 feet of the walkways. The children's club has no scheduled activities and was rarely opened,the entertainment no better than elementary school children, and the bar and staff dodgy. Even when I asked by name for a name brand vodka I was given bar brand. You have to watch them pour in front of you, the RIU staff have a practice of turning their backs and blocking you from viewing the bottle. If you are a non smoker like me, you may as well resign your self to your room in the evening or rainy days. Their is no where to sit, including the sports bar, that does not allow smoking. Unfortunately we spent both Christmas eve and New year's Eve at this resort. The food was basic, the wine horrible, and they did not ask guests to adhere to dress code. Flip flops, shorts and bathing suits were worn in the dining room for these special occasions. The only decorations were dime store balloons taped to lights and the walls. Never again will I stay at a Riu resort. I will go back to Dreams, the Barcelo resort, Melia, or the Bahia. These five star resorts give you the quality, cleanliness, and service you pay for.If you want 2.5 star service, quality, and cleanliness, but want to pay for 5 star, then Riu Bambu is th resort for you!

Room Block:
2100

Arrival:
slow check in, we were one of only two check ins. No maps available, staff barely spoke English.

Rooms:
Old, dated, small. could not open bathroom door more tan 1.5 feet, as toilet was directly behind the door. No floor mats outside or inside the rooms, so sand a problem. Mattresses have seen better days, and need to be retired. only bedding available was a sheet, and a thin bed cover. had to ask for blankets, which unfortunately, the maid kept removing every day?!

Restaurants and Bars:
Skip the a la cartes. Asian is a buffet, with fried chicken, the tempura vegetables are deep fried in the same batter they use everywhere, the vegetables are overcooked, and everything is fried. The steakhouse is terrible. We had a six ounce steak that was four ounces of fat, fried, not grilled. I have had fresher and better pasta at the Olive garden, as opposed to the Italian. The main dining rooms serve the same food every day. Lots of left overs, cold food, poor quality. I didn't pay 5 star prices to eat bologna,no variety, no spice or flavor, everything is fried. Cheese was often warm and melted in the buffet, tomatoes and cucumbers frozen.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Two very small pools, overcrowded. Children's pool small, and very dirty.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
entertainment poor. Unable to sit in sport's Bar, as full of smoke. Entertainment during the day childish, and sometimes inappropriate for children. Kid's club virtually non existent. rarely opened, no activities. Lots of kids on the resort, parents not leaving them at the kid's club, very telling to safety and quality.

Other Comments:
2.5 quality, at a five star price. RIU Management and staff could use a few lessons in basic food handling, hand washing, and customer service. Only seem to do their job when handed money [tips] daily.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Riu Bambu, Great Beach, Excellent Value, Bed like concrete"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Sep 22, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
772 people found this review helpful

I've stayed at different Riu resorts in Mexico and the DR 8-10 times. This time I was traveling with my daughter, son-in-law and grandkids 2, and 8. I've stayed at other all inclusive resorts about 20 times.

Arrival:
Since my last visit I think they've added more speed bumps and removed the shock absorbers from the transfer vans, making the airport-to-resort trip less pleasant than it could be, but also making your arrival at the resort seem all the more delightful by comparison. Check in was fast and efficient.

Rooms:
The rooms were good sized. We were a party of five in two rooms. Both rooms had twin beds placed together like a king bed. One had a sleep sofa, the other had a table and two chairs. The bathrooms are also good sized with a bathtub/shower. Water pressure was excellent with plenty of hot water. The air conditioning cranked away day and night and kept the rooms comfortable but never really cool except first thing in the morning. My room smelled fine, but the other room, did had a bit of an odor.
The room safe was larger than normal and large enough for my 14" laptop, SLR camera and lenses, cell phone, GPS and travel documents. The safe is free and you program the combo yourself so you don't have to carry around a key.
One very unusual thing is the rooms still have regular keys rather than key cards and they gave us just one key per room. Also, there was no deadbolt or chain latch on the inside of the door.
As with all the Riu resorts I've been to there is liquor in your room and the minibar has soda, beer and water. There is no extra charge for the liiquor or minibar.
My only real complain about the room, or the whole resort really, was that my mattress was very hard and uncomfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Main buffet restaurant is very large. I don't know if the resort was below capacity but there were never more than 25% of the tables taken. The food was typical "all-inclusive" resort food. The variety and quality was good but nothing outstanding. The desserts were pretty and tasty. They also had about 6 flavors of ice cream. As with all the Riu's I've been to, you get get your own beer and wine, which I think is super handy.
There are specialty restaurants (Japanese, Italian and Steak). We ate at the Japanese once, and it was buffet style too, which surprised me. It is easy to make reservations to the specialty restaurants each morning in front of the buffet restaurant.
We ate lunch each day at the beachfront restaurant, Mamma Juana's. It has burgers, hot dogs, fries, pasta, salad bar, and a few entrees.
One nice thing they have there is a sports bar that is open 24 hours. The a/c really did the job in there and it was the coolest location in the resort. They have PCs and internet you can pay to use. Free wifi is available in the lobby. There is a fridge and microwave in the sports bar were you can get hot dogs, burgers and sandwiches.
Bar service was good and I felt like they put more liquor in their drinks than is typical at an all inclusive resort

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is one of the best anywhere. Very wide and broad. Lot's of palm trees for shade and an ample supply of chaises. There is a good sized pool with a nice pool bar. They have activities a couple of times a day there such as aerobics and pool games. They tend to blast music and shout through a mic during the activities which I think is supposed to increase the fun level. There is a smaller pool next to that one with a volley ball net. On the other side of the resort is a kiddie pool which is great for kids 1 - 6 years old. There is also a miniclub with has a small wading pool.
The resort is fairly compact with the lobby, pools, bars, restaurants and beach located together which I really liked. Some resorts it can be a 15 minute walk from one place to another and that can get old in the Dominican sun.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort offers typical resort activities like aerobics, dance lessons, bingo, pool games, etc.

Other Comments:
The resort is very well maintained. The staff was friendly. I've been to all inclusive resorts 20-30 times and I'd put this one about in the middle. For the price it is a real bargain and the beach is beautiful with plenty of shade and beach chairs. The only thing that would keep me from returning is the super uncomfortable bed. I don't know if all rooms have the same beds or not, but the one in my room (1701, for what that's worth) was REALLY hard and made it difficult for me to sleep.

Photos: http://www.billsphotos.com/GalleryRiuBambu.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"i love stay in rio bambu"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  manuel  on Aug 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
799 people found this review helpful

Elpersonal de riu bambu todos fueron muy amable,la comida fue excelente lo unico que no nos gusto es que solo hay musica hasta las 11pm luegotuvimos que ir a bailar fuera del resort y estuvo un poco lejo.

Arrival:
me gustaria que hubiera una disci familiar dentro de riu mambu.somos la famia alcantara estubimos 16 persona y nos gustaria volver.

Rooms:
ecelente

Restaurants and Bars:
muy bueno

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
no estuvimos

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Much nicer than I expected for the price!"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Janet  on Apr 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
774 people found this review helpful

We left Boston on a TNT charter flight via Miami Air. Great flight, on time both on departures and arrivals. Good cold meal snacks both ways. Pick up at the airport and arrival at the hotel was prompt.

Your Arrival:
Check in was done immediately on arrival with free in room safes.

Rooms:
Room were clean and maid service throughout the stay was efficient. Free mini- bars were well stocked with water, 4 kinds of alcohol and soft drinks. Staff were friendly!

Restaurants and Bars:
Our family of 4 generations ranging from 3 to 80 years old found plenty of variety and tasty food in the buffets for everyone. We choose not to go a la carte so I can't comment on them. Not ONE person in our party suffered from ANY KIND OF AN INTESTENIAL ailment! Bartenders were eager to please. There was a good choice of domestic alcoholic drinks for everyone. Much better quality than some of the other hotels in Punta Cana. I've been to Punta Cana ten times now.
One of our party left her beach bag with money and an expensive camera in the lady's room. When she realized that it was gone about a half hour after that, she went to the lost and found and it was there!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were nice and clean with plenty of chairs and shade. The beach was beautiful as usual (this is one of the things that keep me going back to Punta Cana). The only shade on the beach was from the palm trees, but there were enough of them to follow the shade and space was ample. The kiddie pool had a nice little playground. We did not take advantage of the structured programs for the kids, but other parents remarked about how much their kids liked them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Plenty of tours to pick from. If you book on your credit card, make sure you check your billing for duplicate charges.

Other Comments:
We knew when we booked that the hotel was planning on closing in April for renovations and I was a little leery about what we would find. I'm not sure what their renovations will include, but I was happy just the was it was. The only negative thing I would say about this hotel is that the soap bars that they give to you are smaller than what I throw away. If you go here bring your own soap and Kleenex!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big disappontment!"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  kelly  on Jan 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
827 people found this review helpful

Will never return!

Your Arrival:
went smoothly, although our rooms were not ready for a few hours after our arrival

Rooms:
small, beds uncomfortable, cockroaches, were not even offered to have our room fumigated! We spoke to our travel rep the following day and he had to talk to them!

Restaurants and Bars:
large variety of food, lots of seafood

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was great, pool was dirty, grounds were kept nice!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
they only played music for a short time each day, shows were good at night but a little late

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The entertainment staff were fun."

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  BJ from Gananoque  on Jan 9, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
849 people found this review helpful

This was my first time to the Bambu. I have stayed at the Mambo in Puerto Plata several times and found this hotel comparable to the Mambo and Merengue. Our flight had quite a bit of turbulence so wasn't so pleasant. Skyservice seats on plane feel crowded...especially if people in front of you recline! Arrival in Punta Cana was quick and easy as was the shuttle to the resort. All went well. I had requested rooms side by side with my group of friends and everything worked out very well. There was only one request not correct and the check in guy sorted it out quickly...so off to a great start!

Rooms::
Rooms had two beds pushed together, which seems to be normal for RIU's. Rooms were clean and mini bar stocked every second day. The beds are very hard/uncomfortable and pillows very thin (it was the same at the Mambo so I expected that). The bathtubs need to be renovated but otherwise all was fine.

Restaurants and Bars::
Very clean! Food was buffet with lots of selection for even picky, allergic people like me. The salads were great, always pizza, fish and chicken were good. The beef is usually not great in DR. In the bars, the drinks were plentiful. Bar and restaurant staff were great fun and very friendly. Keimi in the restaurant looked after us well as did the bar staff, Wilkins/Victor/Javier at the pool/beach bar. Always remembered what we liked to drink! We didn't go to the a la cartes.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The beach was absolutely awesome and my favorite part of the trip. It was very clean and spacious. I noticed next door at the Bahia Principe, it was very crowded. We had lots of room. The ocean was rough by times but it was great fun. No rocks, shells or stones so didn't need to wear my water socks. Water was warm too! The pool was beautiful and kept very clean. We went to the swim up bar several times. The grounds are very well maintained and beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
The entertainment staff were fun. They had activities every day posted on the board in the lobby so lots to do if you wanted. The evening entertainment wasn't great. I found the Mambo entertainers more professional. We didn't do any tours on this trip.

Other Comments::
There is a huge flea market down the beach, about a 30 minute walk. We walked through the RIU Taino, Naiboa, and both Palaces to check out their facilities. One of the pools at the Taino is badly run down and needs to be painted and cleaned. I liked the Naiboa rooms, pool. The Naiboa isn't on the beach but it is a very short walk to the beach. Both Palace hotels are beautiful, especially the RIU Palace Punta Cana! Wow! We even walked through the Gran Bahia Principe next door and it was very nice but VERY big...too big. For the price we paid, $525 plus taxes, the Bambu was terrific. Free wireless internet in lobby too. Also found there were no mosquitos, which I found unusual. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Had a problem with my safe key and the guy came right over to my room to help. I would definitely go back to the Bambu again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube