ClubHotel Riu Bambu Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

ClubHotel Riu Bambu  

Playa Arena Gorda Punta Cana. Dominican Republic

"Just what we were looking for!"
Posted by: Ellen on Jan 22, 2012
see all reviews

ClubHotel Riu Bambu Reviews
ClubHotel Riu Bambu Pictures and Information
ClubHotel Riu Bambu Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#27
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.6

Based on 16 reviews

ClubHotel Riu Bambu Information


Located on Arena Gorda beach, one of the most beautiful places in the Dominican Republic, with fine white sand and turquoise waters. The ClubHotel Riu Bambu (all inclusive 24 hours) is perfect for your holiday live more intensely funny, always surrounded by great comfort in nature.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

ClubHotel Riu Bambu Reviews

ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 3.6 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  8
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (8)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
1 - 10 of 16

"HUGE disapointment, 3 stars maybe, on a good day!"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  trish  on Jan 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
660 people found this review helpful

Roaches in food, roaches in the room! In two weeks we did not have a hot meal once, even at first seating.The food quality is poor, and left overs are served daily, we were faced with carrots and chicken kabobs reheated for breakfast one morning. The same menu day in and out Mystery meat, bologna, fried cabbage, Instant mashed potatoes, canned vegetables, and canned cheese sauce, left cold for the nachos are standard fare at the Riu.I have had fresher, better quality food at my local shopping mall. Basic cleanliness from the staff is lacking. I witnessed entertainment staff spitting in the childcare's play area, dining and bar staff spitting on sidewalks throughout the resort[ god knows where else] and the staff , including the cooks do not routinely wash their hands after visiting the restroom!I watched other guests taste food in the buffet line, with the serving spoons, use their hands to sort through sandwiches, dish out french fries, and other disgusting displays. This also seems acceptable practice at Riu Bambu, as the staff who witnessed this[ yes even the cook carving the meat for the person using their hands to dish out the vegetables] did not stop the guest, or remove the food. The roaches were flicked out of food, and the food left in place! The beach is one of the dirtier, littered with butts, garbage, and cups. The ground staff was busy selling coconuts on the beach, they appeared not to have time to clean, or remove the one to two feet of sand blocking 40-60 feet of the walkways. The children's club has no scheduled activities and was rarely opened,the entertainment no better than elementary school children, and the bar and staff dodgy. Even when I asked by name for a name brand vodka I was given bar brand. You have to watch them pour in front of you, the RIU staff have a practice of turning their backs and blocking you from viewing the bottle. If you are a non smoker like me, you may as well resign your self to your room in the evening or rainy days. Their is no where to sit, including the sports bar, that does not allow smoking. Unfortunately we spent both Christmas eve and New year's Eve at this resort. The food was basic, the wine horrible, and they did not ask guests to adhere to dress code. Flip flops, shorts and bathing suits were worn in the dining room for these special occasions. The only decorations were dime store balloons taped to lights and the walls. Never again will I stay at a Riu resort. I will go back to Dreams, the Barcelo resort, Melia, or the Bahia. These five star resorts give you the quality, cleanliness, and service you pay for.If you want 2.5 star service, quality, and cleanliness, but want to pay for 5 star, then Riu Bambu is th resort for you!

Room Block:
2100

Arrival:
slow check in, we were one of only two check ins. No maps available, staff barely spoke English.

Rooms:
Old, dated, small. could not open bathroom door more tan 1.5 feet, as toilet was directly behind the door. No floor mats outside or inside the rooms, so sand a problem. Mattresses have seen better days, and need to be retired. only bedding available was a sheet, and a thin bed cover. had to ask for blankets, which unfortunately, the maid kept removing every day?!

Restaurants and Bars:
Skip the a la cartes. Asian is a buffet, with fried chicken, the tempura vegetables are deep fried in the same batter they use everywhere, the vegetables are overcooked, and everything is fried. The steakhouse is terrible. We had a six ounce steak that was four ounces of fat, fried, not grilled. I have had fresher and better pasta at the Olive garden, as opposed to the Italian. The main dining rooms serve the same food every day. Lots of left overs, cold food, poor quality. I didn't pay 5 star prices to eat bologna,no variety, no spice or flavor, everything is fried. Cheese was often warm and melted in the buffet, tomatoes and cucumbers frozen.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Two very small pools, overcrowded. Children's pool small, and very dirty.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
entertainment poor. Unable to sit in sport's Bar, as full of smoke. Entertainment during the day childish, and sometimes inappropriate for children. Kid's club virtually non existent. rarely opened, no activities. Lots of kids on the resort, parents not leaving them at the kid's club, very telling to safety and quality.

Other Comments:
2.5 quality, at a five star price. RIU Management and staff could use a few lessons in basic food handling, hand washing, and customer service. Only seem to do their job when handed money [tips] daily.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big disappontment!"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  kelly  on Jan 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
789 people found this review helpful

Will never return!

Your Arrival:
went smoothly, although our rooms were not ready for a few hours after our arrival

Rooms:
small, beds uncomfortable, cockroaches, were not even offered to have our room fumigated! We spoke to our travel rep the following day and he had to talk to them!

Restaurants and Bars:
large variety of food, lots of seafood

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was great, pool was dirty, grounds were kept nice!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
they only played music for a short time each day, shows were good at night but a little late

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach did make our stay almost bearable."

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  yzm121 from Pennsylvania  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2009
241 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Let me start by saying that we "won" this trip to the riu bambu punta cana, and even at that price, (trip tax and such), it's still not a bargain. We arrived at 11 am. 4/6/09, with a bus load of other guests and were told that our rooms wouldn't be ready until 3 pm. We were not advised that we could use the facilities which I discovered later in the day, right in the lobby to change, put on swim suits etc. So there we were wondering around until 3 pm. in our travel clothes. Advice: change in the airport! hahaha

Rooms
Our room was small and old looking, 2 beds pushed together which moved apart during the night, so my husband and I just slept on one full size bed the entire stay, well that wasn't so bad, hehehe. The room had ants and the shower blew at fire hose strength so rinsing was actually painful. The air conditioning in our room fluctuated from cool to hot to humid. Oh and by the way, there are notes in your bathroom asking you to reuse your towels. Free trip right?

Restaurants and Bars
The food was so disgusting that we only ate to survive our trip. The food was all either under or over cooked, everything was mushy and unidentifiable. If you try to use salt or pepper to flavor it forget it, that doesn't have any flavor either, even fruit didn't have any taste. We thought we would be ok with breakfast, nope. Honestly I don't know how and egg that comes out of a shell can be tasteless and bacon is fried all at one time in a deep fryer so it turns into burned to ash bacon balls. The "restaurants" that you have to get up at 7 am, go to the main dining room to make your reservation for were a joke. They turn the snack bar into "the steak house \ Italian restaurant" at night. Then you're served the same uneatable food, but this time by wait staff in suits. How exciting! The drinks were acceptable but in thimble sized plastic cups and the bar was actually a treck from the beach location. no beach service. We were told that we should buy $15 ea. insulated cups.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach however did make it almost bearable. Beautiful white sand, crystal clear water, palm trees lots of chairs and shade if you want it. Just be firm with the people trying to sell you pictures, massages, activities unless that's what you're looking for. If you tell them NO 3 or 4 times they will give up only after telling you that they work on comission. The pool is full of screaming, running, jumping right on top of you kids! enough said about that!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Except for a couple of people from England and Canada 90% of the guests are from Germany & France, which is fine, but socializing is out of the question unless you're fluent in French or German. Also, don't think that you'll be able to converse with the staff non of them speak or understand English, they do however understand how to count out pasos in change for your American money. They will be visably angry if asked to give change in American, which the til is full of.

If you're not traveling with children don't even think of staying here. This is a FAMILY resort. Entertainment is 9pm. childrens musical chairs on the main stage. Oh yes we noticed many of the guests brought their own cards and board games.

Other Comments
Everyone and I mean everyone want and expects to be tipped round the clock and for everything.

We've stayed in all inclusive's before some of the best are in Jamaica, i.e.; Hedonism, Beaches, and you practically have to threaten any of the staff to accept a tip for over and beyond great service. (the food is great there too).

Lastly, if you're planning a trip DON'T pick an Apple Vacation! Their rep. stationed in the lobby was very rude and insulting when we and others asked about our departure info. She pointed to a large binder and told us to look it up ourselves latter in the day. When asked how to do that she raised her voice, annoyed that she had to repeat herself and said, "like I just said to you...LOOK IT UP AFTER 4PM!" Wow, OK! thanks for the help.

As for our free trip, If something sounds too good to be true....well you know the rest.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DO NOT GET MARRIED THERE!!!"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jean from Saskatchewan  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
221 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Febuary 18 - 25
It was a fairly typical arrival....the only small problem is no signs to tell people where the buses are for those that have never been to all-inclusive hotels

Rooms
adquate ....except for all the live wires that were bare as well as most electrical outlets did not work. Definatly bring an extension cord and your own blow dryer. I would love to say they blow but they dont.

Restaurants and Bars
the food was pretty decent in the buffet...the al a carts was a joke. waste of time. they take your lunch buffet where everyone comes in wet and sandy and turn it into the Italine AND the steak House. It says that they are 24 hr but they are definatly not!!! I have a toddler that was getting up very early and had to wait till 7:00 am to get breakfast..or any food for that matter. They shut down the main bar to clean it between 4-6Am but they dont offer any other place for coffee/cappicino. The service was pretty good at the buffet and the bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
everything was clean...there was no liter anywhere...really nice to see. My daughter touched a live wire that was sticking out of the ground in the middle of the courtyard...the managers responce was to get it fixed right away and tell me it was from the x-mas ligthts????? at the end of Febuary??? to say the least I was furious!!how many other got hurt and nothing was done??

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
we went on the sunset tour which was great for the money we spent....just so everyone knows...their idea of snacks is chips and peanuts...which we liked!!!LOL! Because of our daughter we packed her life jacket which was a great idea they only had one and it was too big for her....

Other Comments
DO NOT GET MARRIERD THERE!!! OR ANY RIU HOTELS IN PUNTA CANA!!!! The wedding coorditator (Magnolia) that we are reading about that sounds so awsome is on maternity leave!!! the ladies that are doing it now, do not care and really couldnt care less. wrong music for our wedding ...the photographer only got pics of my husbands family...none of my family. We were doing a vow renewal and they forgot to tell us that we needed a copy of our wedding certifiate. Good thing I brought a copy anyway!! the ceramony itself lasted 10 mins with and extra 5 with the photographer....so all in all....15 mins. Kinda like the exfoliation that was offered in the royal package...LOL!!! when we walked into the spa there was no appoitment made for us...they just looked a little lost...then we were taken upstairs told to strip....of course I asked the 2 ladies to leave they said no and told us to strip naked!!! LOL!! we were shocked but did it anyway. we were smeared with some sort of salt and what felt like mineral oil then told to rinse and we were done.. it litereally lasted less than 15 min and the water was cold...the flowers were well done and beautiful but remember you cannot take them home..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would not come back to this hotel."

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharli from Toronto  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
400 people found this review helpful

Arrival: November 5-12/09
Traveled with Sunquest. Departure was ok but arrival, although on time was dissapointing and dissorganized; it appears that Skyservice changed their plane at the last minute and we were not provided with turist cards, so this delayed us by one hour standing on the line in the sweltering humidity with the ceiling fans NOT working. Only when we got a provisional pass (which they collected 100 mtrs. ahead)did the fans starting to work! got to the hotel in 1/2 an hour and stood in line to get the keys to the room. We were the last ones to get a key as the room asigned to us was not ready (it was after 1pm when we arrived)

Rooms:
Spacious, 2 beds joint together, safe, fridge with drinks, etc; maid forgot to supply us with glasses, towells, shower rug and toilette paper. We phoned in and it took them more than an hour to bring us those. The next day she also forgot to leave us somethings. The third day, a glass bottle fell on the floor and smashed into peices. I called the front desk and asked for someone to come and clean and that the bed cover was also wet and that I need a replacement. After half hour I call again as noone came and I didnt want the floor to attract ants....the lady at the desk told me that the girl was cleaning the other floor-so they didnt seem concerned....I saw the girl cleaning the floor when she was doing our room, she took the bed cover but didnt bother to bring a new one!!! grrrrrr...and we were missing towels again...

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was very repetitive; anything involving beef was hard as a sole-we liked the fish, veggies, fruits, desserts but as soon as the desserts or fruits were running low, there was noone to come and replenish them for a while. Some people complained that if they got in for breakfast at 9:00, there was not much left to eat. Some waiters seem to be very attentive.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was the best thing on this trip although it rained a lot and it was very wavy all the days we stayed there. Overall, the beach is very clean and there is lots of shade. I havent been to the pool but it is due for repairs. The whole resort is going under repair in the spring. The bar in the middle of the resort smells of sewage...yuck.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didnt go on any tours. There was some kind of entertainment during the day but not much. The evening ones were very average and didnt care much for them.

Other Comments:
We felt that this hotel is deffinately a 3- star and NOT a 5 star! I think they dont care much as they are going to be renovated in the spring. From people that were there in the prior year, the service has gone down a lot. I would not come back to this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Vacation - Not really a 5 Star - some issues"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Thomas  on Jan 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
421 people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Riu Bambu 01/04/12 - 01/11/12. First time at this resort. We had six family members in three rooms which we were able to get close to one another. (4 from Kitchener-Waterloo Canada and 2 from Ottawa Canada.)
Nice resort directly on the beach. Beach and general resort area was kept very clean. Rooms were clean and well functioning. Mini bar was not re-stocked daily (unless we wanted to be woke up at 8:30am). Restautants were ok. Not what I expected for a 5 star. (Have had as good of food in Cuba at a 4 star). As usual the buffet had lots of food, was always replentished, but nothing exotic or unusual as I would have expected for a 5 star. Service in the main buffet restaurant was poor. Breakfast Coffee and dinner wine was slower than in Mexico or Cuba, not just the normal Carribean slow (Any yes I did tip, so that wasn't the issue) and getting more of either was almost non-existant. Good thing they had a self serve wine station and a self service coffee machine. The Grill- steakhouse ala carte restaurant was excellent. Service and the food was the best of the whole stay. (But you have to get to the ala carte reservations desk before 7:30am if you want a reservation). The Italain and Asian ala Cartes were ok. Not real ala carte as they were set up a buffets as well. But food was ok and different from the main buffet.
Lots of activities and the bars and shows were on par with expections. However, No Canadain whiskey or Baileys equivalent as I would have expected for a 5 star.
One major problem we had was a family emergency back home. Our family tried to get a hold of us on Jan 10th. They called the hotel 7 times that evening, were hung up on 3 times, then were put through to one of our rooms but the hotel just let it ring and ring and never came back on the line. They called back and tried the other rooms with the same response. The final time they called they spoke to the front desk and told them it was an emergency and asked to leave us a message under our door, to which the front desk agreed. No message was left in any of our rooms. Two of the three rooms checked out at 8:00am the next morning, with no mention of any message or contact when we checked out. Our family called again in the morning, was told that we had checked out and were hung up on again. Which was not true, as the third room didn't check out until noon. Definitely Not the kind of service I expected from a 5 star resort. So be aware of this if you think someone can get a hold of you at the hotel. Keep your cell phone / data active and pay the roaming charges.
Overall would rate the facility a 4- 1/2 star, but would only rate the service at about a 3 star. Will be trying somewhere different next year.

Room Number:
3010

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Riu Bambu, Great Beach, Excellent Value, Bed like concrete"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Sep 22, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
730 people found this review helpful

I've stayed at different Riu resorts in Mexico and the DR 8-10 times. This time I was traveling with my daughter, son-in-law and grandkids 2, and 8. I've stayed at other all inclusive resorts about 20 times.

Arrival:
Since my last visit I think they've added more speed bumps and removed the shock absorbers from the transfer vans, making the airport-to-resort trip less pleasant than it could be, but also making your arrival at the resort seem all the more delightful by comparison. Check in was fast and efficient.

Rooms:
The rooms were good sized. We were a party of five in two rooms. Both rooms had twin beds placed together like a king bed. One had a sleep sofa, the other had a table and two chairs. The bathrooms are also good sized with a bathtub/shower. Water pressure was excellent with plenty of hot water. The air conditioning cranked away day and night and kept the rooms comfortable but never really cool except first thing in the morning. My room smelled fine, but the other room, did had a bit of an odor.
The room safe was larger than normal and large enough for my 14" laptop, SLR camera and lenses, cell phone, GPS and travel documents. The safe is free and you program the combo yourself so you don't have to carry around a key.
One very unusual thing is the rooms still have regular keys rather than key cards and they gave us just one key per room. Also, there was no deadbolt or chain latch on the inside of the door.
As with all the Riu resorts I've been to there is liquor in your room and the minibar has soda, beer and water. There is no extra charge for the liiquor or minibar.
My only real complain about the room, or the whole resort really, was that my mattress was very hard and uncomfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Main buffet restaurant is very large. I don't know if the resort was below capacity but there were never more than 25% of the tables taken. The food was typical "all-inclusive" resort food. The variety and quality was good but nothing outstanding. The desserts were pretty and tasty. They also had about 6 flavors of ice cream. As with all the Riu's I've been to, you get get your own beer and wine, which I think is super handy.
There are specialty restaurants (Japanese, Italian and Steak). We ate at the Japanese once, and it was buffet style too, which surprised me. It is easy to make reservations to the specialty restaurants each morning in front of the buffet restaurant.
We ate lunch each day at the beachfront restaurant, Mamma Juana's. It has burgers, hot dogs, fries, pasta, salad bar, and a few entrees.
One nice thing they have there is a sports bar that is open 24 hours. The a/c really did the job in there and it was the coolest location in the resort. They have PCs and internet you can pay to use. Free wifi is available in the lobby. There is a fridge and microwave in the sports bar were you can get hot dogs, burgers and sandwiches.
Bar service was good and I felt like they put more liquor in their drinks than is typical at an all inclusive resort

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is one of the best anywhere. Very wide and broad. Lot's of palm trees for shade and an ample supply of chaises. There is a good sized pool with a nice pool bar. They have activities a couple of times a day there such as aerobics and pool games. They tend to blast music and shout through a mic during the activities which I think is supposed to increase the fun level. There is a smaller pool next to that one with a volley ball net. On the other side of the resort is a kiddie pool which is great for kids 1 - 6 years old. There is also a miniclub with has a small wading pool.
The resort is fairly compact with the lobby, pools, bars, restaurants and beach located together which I really liked. Some resorts it can be a 15 minute walk from one place to another and that can get old in the Dominican sun.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort offers typical resort activities like aerobics, dance lessons, bingo, pool games, etc.

Other Comments:
The resort is very well maintained. The staff was friendly. I've been to all inclusive resorts 20-30 times and I'd put this one about in the middle. For the price it is a real bargain and the beach is beautiful with plenty of shade and beach chairs. The only thing that would keep me from returning is the super uncomfortable bed. I don't know if all rooms have the same beds or not, but the one in my room (1701, for what that's worth) was REALLY hard and made it difficult for me to sleep.

Photos: http://www.billsphotos.com/GalleryRiuBambu.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just what we were looking for!"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ellen  on Jan 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
426 people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at this property. Food was good...breakfast was always great..so great that we passed on lunch most days..as we were still full..Buffets offered lots of variety. Some complained about the food..being that there was no North Amerian cuisine..We fully expected that since we weren't in North America. There was lots to choose from regardless. The beds were hard..but after a long day at the fabulous beach, with blue water and powdery sand, we were able to sleep soundly. We found the staff helpful, even with the launguage barrier, they were able to understand what we needed or if they didn't they found help for us. Sunwing were awesome from start to finish. Our flight was turned around due to landing gear problems and we were back up in the air within 2 hours. The on site Sunwing reps were very helpful and booked our excursions for us. We recommend the Saona Island excursion..it was a long day but well worth it!! We are already planning our return visit! p.s. for some of the negative travellers out there..if you don't like to try new food..stay home..if you want to be understood without question..learn the language before you go..if the beds are hard..drink a few more drinks...and relax it is your vacation!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"i love stay in rio bambu"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  manuel  on Aug 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
758 people found this review helpful

Elpersonal de riu bambu todos fueron muy amable,la comida fue excelente lo unico que no nos gusto es que solo hay musica hasta las 11pm luegotuvimos que ir a bailar fuera del resort y estuvo un poco lejo.

Arrival:
me gustaria que hubiera una disci familiar dentro de riu mambu.somos la famia alcantara estubimos 16 persona y nos gustaria volver.

Rooms:
ecelente

Restaurants and Bars:
muy bueno

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
no estuvimos

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"As Good as any, better than some"

ClubHotel Riu Bambu
User Rating:  ClubHotel Riu Bambu Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vivian  on Jan 28, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
699 people found this review helpful

My first week I was there with my husband and another couple. For my second week those 3 went home, and my sister joined me. We all had a great vacation. Making the switch of room mates was no problem.

Room Block:
2900

Arrival:
Our Flight was late so we arrived at our hotel at 3:30AM! Yikes! Check in was easy and efficient and the bell boys helped us to our rooms - even at that hour.

Rooms:
Our room was clean and well supplied. We were on the ground floor of a 2 story building. The Balcony was adequate. There are 2 large beds pushed together which is kind of strange, but worked OK for us. The mini fridge is only stocked every second day, but a note and a tip got us extra beer. The bathroom is smallish, but clean and the shower worked great. There was never a problem with hot water supply.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurants were good. The food quality was very good and the cleanliness was exemplary.
At breakfast the coffee comes to the table in a carafe! So you don't have to wait for refils. There is no peanut butter, but there is a product like Nutella.
We had a wonderful meal at the Italian a-la-cart - the salmon was the best! The other 2 a-la-cart restaurants were only OK. We mostly stuck to the buffet.
Dress codes don't seem to be enforced at all.
The bars were easily accessable and sometimes fun. No beach bar though!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I found the pool area to be crowded.
The beach was great. Lots of loungers and plenty of trees for shade.
Washrooms and drinks are not far, and are easily accessable.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
At this resort the salesmen are very low key. This was a nice change from some resorts where they are very persistant to say the least.
We didn't do much in the way of activities. We do run in the mornings, and used the resort roads and developed a 2km loop that we ran 2 or 3 times each morning finishing on the beach for a nice walk to cool out.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube