Riu Palace Macao Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Riu Palace Macao  

Playa Arena Gorda Punta Cana. Dominican Republic.

"great honeymoon"
Posted by: helen on Jun 24, 2014
see all reviews

Riu Palace Macao Reviews
Riu Palace Macao Pictures and Information
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#35
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.6

Based on 11 reviews

Riu Palace Macao Information


The superb Hotel Riu Palace Macao (all inclusive 24 hours) is located in Punta Cana, on the white sand beach of Arena Gorda, a paradise of palm trees and turquoise waters. This exclusive 5-star will offer you the ultimate in elegance, service and activities.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Palace Macao Reviews

Riu Palace Macao Review: 4.6 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 11

"great honeymoon"

Riu Palace Macao
User Rating:  Riu Palace Macao Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  helen  on Jun 24, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
38 people found this review helpful

I and my husband had a great honeymoon here so I decided to take the time out to write a review of this place as I am recommending it to anyone looking to have a nice time on here. The rooms first were clean and almost spotless; the maid cleaned it out everyday which was really nice of the hotel. The towels in the rooms were also changed on a daily basis. They kind of exceeded our expectation because it is not our first time visiting Punta Cana and some hotels here donít really do justice to the area but this was beyond what we expected. We were treated well right from when we arrived to when we checked out of the hotel two weeks later. They have a very professional and courteous staff who would go high and beyond to make sure you are comfortable as a guest. The food was outstanding, nice choices and deserts were really amazing. It is an all inclusive resort that actually gives the guests what was promised on the site and not empty promises of quality service. The buffet restaurant is exceptional, they had varieties and it was fun for us because I am a foodie so I loved it. The entertainment here is the same with what you will get from an average DR hotel so there is nothing to complain about there. From when you arrived, you will be treated nicely and as we were shown to our room, our bags were also being delivered to our room.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome"

Riu Palace Macao
User Rating:  Riu Palace Macao Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Mar 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
917 people found this review helpful

We were two couples in our early 50's. Had a fabulous week at the Riu Palace Macao. We had previously stayed at the Bambu next door and had lunch there a few times. The crowd and noise level is much higher at the Bambu although their pool is nicer and had a swim up bar. The beach is the best we've ever been on with lots of trees for shade and never ever crowded. The Crystal and Steakhouse alacarte restaurants were fabulous and the buffet was never boring. Love that they serve wine from the bottle and lunch and dinner.The staff is friendly and appreciated the fact we tried to speak a little Spanish. This resort is definitely geared to 40 and up but that's what we wanted!Would for sure reccomend this to over 40's looking for a quiet vacation. The hotel is a little dated but it is an older hotel. The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day. Love the hotel style of the resort too. Fantabulous.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Vacation I've ever had"

Riu Palace Macao
User Rating:  Riu Palace Macao Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fran  on Jan 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
939 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
3204

Arrival:
Arrived Dec 11 via Sunquest.
Everything went smoothly. Check-in was great. No waiting.

Rooms:
Room was very clean. We cannot say anything negative about the room. It was always cleaned and towels changed daily. The only thing I can say that might be a downer for someone is that we were facing construction of the new hotel so it was a bit loud during the day but come 6pm the workers would all go home and all was quiet.

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet was superb. The food was great and the presentation was awesome. We were assigned a certain table for each evening so we always knew where we would be sitting.

We were always treated like royalty whenever we ate at the buffet.
Absolutely no complaints.

The specialty restaurants were also great. The food was excellent and the service exceptional.

In the evening we would go to the bar. We always were served promptly and with a smile.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Oh; the beach!!!! AWESOME.....
The pool was cold so didn't get to try it out.
The grounds were good; very clean with lots of greenery.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were on the mild side. They have shows in the evening (10 pm) but only went to one. Didn't go to any activities off the resort as it rained most days we were there.

Other Comments:
This resort is very quiet and range in the 50+ category.

Would highly recommend this resort if you want a quiet, relaxing and pampered vacation.

I would highly recommend this hotel and am looking for a seat sale in late March to go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"riupalace macao"

Riu Palace Macao
User Rating:  Riu Palace Macao Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  elaine  on Dec 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
932 people found this review helpful

we arrived on the 2nd of december the hotel was very nice a realy good standared the room was nice and big and clean you have rocking chairs on the balcony. the surroundings are very well maintained and the staff are very friendly.It is the first time we have been in a 5 star and we would do it again it is a proper grown up hotel there were kids there but not many.they have good shows every night and they play bingo at 8.30 every night and it is free to play and there are some prizes which are ok for nothing. the beaches are lovley they go on for miles and the sea is lovley and warm there are some big waves.
the waether was good for the first week but the second week we had rain every day and it started about 3 in the afternoon and went on for a few hours i know you carnt garentee the weather but i think we were very unlucky.We went on a jeep safari trip and what a good day it cost us 89 dollars each but well worth the money and the food was very good as well i would recomend this hotel

Room Number:
3329

Room Block:
on the side

Arrival:

Restaurants and Bars:
there was one lobby bar where you could get a drink and one just before where you got the towels from there was plenty of entertainment in the day as well the pool is only small but there was never antone in it i dont know if it was cold because we used to go in the sea which was nice and warm even though there were some big waves. the only thing is there is always a wind there so the temperature was not to hot the beach it lovley and clean and there is also a beach bar on the beach where you could have some dinner and a drink all in all it was very good and i hope this will help you decide

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice resort, mostly older people, quiet."

Riu Palace Macao
User Rating:  Riu Palace Macao Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jocelyne, Mike  on Feb 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
957 people found this review helpful

We booked with Sunquest, we arrived late at night, everything went pretty smooth from the airport to the RIU Macao. Just find the right bus and you are at your resort in about 20 min.

Your Arrival:
Check in was quick, they just put bracelets on and we had a bit of trouble locating our room but eventually found it.

Rooms:
Our room was nice. 2 double beds, you could easily push them together. Balcony had 2 rocking chairs and small table and dry rack to dry your clothe.
You must keep the patio door closed for a/c to work, that was indicated. Bathroom had tub and shower. Always had hot water. TV has many channels, lots in Spanish. Not there to watch tv. Didn't have a remote when we got there asked the front desk twice. The second time we made them laugh, we asked very politely and we were very friendly, they called to have someone bring a remote right away. If you dont want to be disturbed when you are in your room, put the "don't disturb" sign on door as they always seem to be coming in your room to stock up towels, stock fridge ect. Beds were a little hard. Overall our room was confortable, always clean, always had towels, pop, beer in fridge.

Restaurants and Bars:
There's lots to eat at the buffet. None of us got sick or had diarrhea and my husband tried everything, from seafood to sushi. I stuck with fruits, salads, pasta and bread. Never went hungry. We did reservation at the Japanese, the steak house and the Krystal with no problem. My husband enjoyed the "a la carte" but I rather eat at the buffet, more selection. I didn't like having to choose a seating for the supper buffet, we took the second seating (8:30pm) found that a little late some nights to eat. During the day, found it a little awkward for lunch as you could not go in the restaurant in bathing suit, or barefoot. We ended up eating at the Bambu or Taino lots of times for lunch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I liked the pool, quiet, older crowd. If you want rowdiness, just go to the pool at the taino or bambu if you want more games and kids and noise. Never had problem getting our towels or chairs at the pool side or the beach, anytime of day. They are always serving drinks, you don't even have to move from your chair if you dont want too. The beach is beautiful, blue water, white sand. Ocean water was warm. Lots of trees for shade or on beach if you want full sun. The dominican people work very hard, always ready to serve you.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not do any off site activities this time. This is our second time to DR. First time was in Puerto Plata at the Riu Bachate (nice resort). Punta Cana is very much nicer beach and all. Didn't take part in any activities on the resort but they did have lawn bowls, archery, aerobics, dance, volley ball. We just wanted to relax and play in the ocean. It's a quiet resort with mostly older crown, we are in our forties with a 10 yrs old but that's what we liked.

Other Comments:
I would stay at the Macao again. Went to visit the Taino and Bamboo. Don't think I would stay at the Taino, just looked like a rougher crowd. Would consider the Bambu depending on the price. Visited the New Riu Palace, very very posh, not for us unless we had lot's of money and didn't care to spend it. These resort all have the same beautiful beach and that's why we were going there. As long as the rooms are clean and the food is good nothing else really matters.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic!"

Riu Palace Macao
User Rating:  Riu Palace Macao Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robin  on Feb 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
943 people found this review helpful

This was my 3rd resort I have stayed at in Dominican and by far the best starting with the organization of check in.

Your Arrival:
Very well organized check in! No chaos at the front desk that is the usual in most resorts.

Rooms:
The room was lovely and clean with a nice balcony.

Restaurants and Bars:
The wait/bar staff were friendly and efficient and extremely professional right down to their uniforms. The food in the main dining room was the best of any resort I have been to. The specialty restaurants were not up to the same par of quality as in the main dining room.
We enjoyed the entertainment in the bar each night but wish the bands had played for longer.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I did miss having a swim up bar but the pool side and beach side service helped make up for it somewhat. If there was anything to add to this resort it would be a swim up bar.
There were lots of tress on the beach so it was nice to be able to stay at the beach and still be in shade when we wanted.

Other Comments:
Men, be sure to bring long pants as shorts are not allowed in the dining rooms for dinner. Ladies you may want to bring something nice to wear for dinners and many people dress up.
We loved this resort and intend to return next year and have no problem recommending it to anyone.

Housekeeping:
The housekeeping staff were good but the lack of facecloths most days was a disappointment. We often had to chase them down to get these. The fresh little flowers from the grounds were a very nice touch to the room as was the turn down service. Tipping the housekeeping staff did not improve the service in the rooms.
The whole resort was extremely clean at all times.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The weather, resort, and food were great."

Riu Palace Macao
User Rating:  Riu Palace Macao Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fred and Coreen  on Feb 9, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
970 people found this review helpful

I will keep this short and sweet. We are 2 easy going canucks flying out of Toronto. We stayed at the Riu Palace Macao from Jan. 31-Feb 7, 2010. The reviews on Trip Advisor about the food had us a little worried. This was our third stay at this resort in the last 3 years. The food and service was fantastic.

Your Arrival:
Our flight on Sky Service was delayed by 2 hours because the crew and plane had to be switched. Not sure why they couldn't sort this out long before we left is beyond me. Skyservice coming home was terribe. Delayed over 3 hours. We even had to make a stop in Nassau to drop off a plane mechanic. Instead of arriving home at 2 a.m., we made it to Toronto at 6:30 a.m. The only plus was that we got to watch the space shuttle take off as we were flying by Florida. A sight to remember.

Rooms:
Rooms were great and well stocked. A/C worked fine. Only problem was the bed was very firm. I heard many other people make the same comment about the beds. Our bad the last 2 times in previous years was hard as well.

Restaurants and Bars:
Always ate at the buffet because there is so much variety and the food is very good. Service was great and we tipped the waiter several times because he was so good. There is soft serve all you can eat ice cream and cones all day at the bar by the pool. Add a cup and a banana to make a banana split.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Awesome.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't do any activities off the resort. Scuba Caribe advertises people at the resort can do a number of activities for free. This is not entirely correct. The advertised activities include sail boats, kayaks, etc. They supply snorkels but no fins which we thought was stupid. The advertisement says it includes fins. Scuba Caribe didn't even tell us that we could use life jackets or where we should and should not go. The snorkels were not cleaned after other peoples use. Turns out we swam in the "wrong" spot in front of the resort. I would reccomend you use someone other than Scuba Caribe. Scuba Caribe is there just to hound guests to go on a side trip which you pay for. Take bananas to feed the fish.

Other Comments:
The weather was great, food was great, beach was great, and beds were very firm. Take a can or 2 of pringles or Fritos. I even brought a bottle of 1000 island dressing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would absolutely recommend this resort!"

Riu Palace Macao
User Rating:  Riu Palace Macao Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Jan 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1189 people found this review helpful

Your Arrival:
Booked through Sunquest for a two week stay over Christmas. Flight was with Skyservice. Managed to get bulkhead seats for the flight down so had lots of legroom. And we had three seats for the two of us. Coming home the plane was full.

Rooms:
The rooms have an old world colonial feel to them. Lots of rich wood. High ceilings. Plenty of storage for clothes and suitcases. Outlets were an odd size so for about $6 we bought the adaptors we needed to recharge the notebook computer and other rechargeables. We bought the adaptors from the little shops that lined the street next to the resort. Bathrooms were a nice size. Mattresses were REALLY firm. Rooms could do with a little bit of updating but they are nice enough.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet had excellent food. I loved everything I tried. I found the fish was over seasoned for my taste (too salty). They really went all out for the Christmas eve gala. Decorations all over the place. It was a big party atmosphere.

We tried all four of the ala carte restaurants; Caribe grill, Steakhouse, Kabuki (Japanese). Krystal (the gourmet restaurant) was our favourite. The presentation, atmosphere and food quality at Krystal was a notch above everything else. We enjoyed all the food. We tried the bars at the neighbouring Riu resorts but only ate at the Macao. Guests of the Macao can eat breakfast or lunch at either Riu Naiboa, Taino, Bambu or Macao. Dinner is always at your own resort. And dinner is always at the same table. You have to pick your sitting time as well for dinner (6:30 PM or 8:30 PM). Ala carte reservations are booked after 7 AM for the same day. We never had trouble booking for whatever restaurant we wanted to try. We always chose the late sitting.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I only spent one afternoon (Dec 25) at the Naiboa pool because the beach was JAMMED with people. I travelled far so I wanted to enjoy the ocean and beach. We never had trouble finding loungers on the beach even though we usually were not hitting the beach until 10 or 10:30 AM. There is drink service on the beach - tip the guy and you will have drinks whenever you need them.

As a tip, make sure you carry enough sunscreen with you for the duration of the trip. You will have to pay about $20 US for a tube at the little shops (it might cost you half that at home).

What I liked about this resort was the ease of walking from your room to the buffet to the beach. No tram or train ride required! Not like some of the mega resorts.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
One day we took a cab ($20 plus tip each way) to the Palma Real Shopping Centre. Had a nice lunch at Tony Roma's. There were some nice shops there.

Other Comments:
We like to tip the chamber maid about $2 or so per day. We like to tip the waiters and drink servers as well. It only takes a couple of days and they quickly figure out your favourite beverage. I was really impressed when I sat down for lunch and the fizzy water glass was placed in front of me - I did not have to order it. That was service!! They work incredibly long hours and I want to reward them for the great service. It was not unusual for the breakfast buffet waiter to be working at the outdoor lunch bar and then again at one of the ala carte restaurants for the late evening sitting. As a tip, bring what cash you expect to need for the trip. Small bills if possible. Working bank machines were hard to find. The reception desk was not always able to make change for large bills. We went to Bahia Spa (at the resort next to Riu) to use their facilities. They would only take cash, no credit cards. We wanted a late check out on departure day and credit card was a big hassle so we had to use cash for that as well ($10 per hour). In the end we had to switch rooms for the late check out and the room we got for showering and changing before the flight was dirty - but they brought clean towels right away. The immediate lobby area has free wi-fi if you have your own laptop. I would absolutely recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not pleased."

Riu Palace Macao
User Rating:  Riu Palace Macao Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Bob from Kensington, Maryland  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009
974 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 17, 2009 to April 24
Apple Vacations handled this package and did a superb job as always in all aspects. We checked in and the clerk moped around and asked us to go to lunch before we checked in. When we returned, he made us wait at least 30 minutes to just hand us keys to the room. He said he was exhausted. I asked several times as to the problem and he just said "soon". Very poor.

Rooms:
Our standard room on the third floor was fine and the balcony was very nice. Housekeeping all week was excellent and the AC worked well. The only problem was that only one of the two elevators in our room worked all week.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars on the beach gave you small weak drinks. The ones in the lobby prepared fine cocktails. The buffet restaurant was only fair. One problem was that in the "show cooking" areas, several of the food trays were often empty. The specialty restaurants were fair but we were only able to get a reservation two of the seven nights that we were there. Food was definitely not the highlight of this stay.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is small but clean and good for cooling off. The best part of this whole resort is the beach which is excellent. The one problem was that they do not have the Palapas(? little shelters) like resorts on either side of it has. The beach itself is unbeatable if you are a walker, it extends for miles without any barriers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not take any tours.

Other Comments:
We had stayed here before and were pleased. This time we were not. We have stayed at several Riu resorts and they were great. This one was not. The facility was fine, many employees just seemed to go through the motions. Santos in the buffet restaurant was great. We stayed at the Grand Palladium in November 2008 and felt it was a much nicer overall experience as well as an exceptional value for the price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Riu Palace Macao is a very classy hotel with friendly service."

Riu Palace Macao
User Rating:  Riu Palace Macao Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maria from Toronto, Ontario  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
1014 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 6 - 13
A delay of two hours taking off Toronto Pearson airport due to the need to de-ice the plane on the runway. Nice flight. Hot roast beef sandwich for dinner on the plane. Coming off the plane right onto the open-air tarmac of the airport was refreshing and gave a retro-feel. Very efficient custom process. If you are willing to pay a few bucks for a tip, the local porters could get your luggage to the right coach very quickly. Short 15-20 minutes ride to the Riu complex. First stop: Riu Naiboa had a breathtaking Christmas tree in its lobby. Second stop: Riu Taino and finally: Riu Palace Macao! The reception was really friendly. I was simply too polite staying at the back of a group of rhowdy, half drunk guests who arrived before me. Little direction to get to the room and no bellhop offered. Luckily, a very friendly hotel guest pointed to us the right direction to our room.

Rooms:
High ceiling, classy with a short corridor entering the room. Very spacious and a great layout including a bench for your luggage. The beds did not have the most luxurious bedding and linen, but were practical and adequate. You can easily separate the two beds or combine them together. The beds were not as wide as a true double bed. I think they were the 3/4 beds that travel brochures talked about. The whole room, with the high ceiling fan, wood panelling on closets and cabinets, and the washroom taps gave a very retro 70'ish feel. The bathroom was very spacious. The tub had a handle bar for seniors. The only problem was that the ringer was worn down in the tap and so the tap kept dripping and wasting water the whole time. Also, the tub drainage was clogged with hair easily. Once you put your fingers in the drain to pull out the hair (wooohhh, yuck, right?), then the drain worked fine.

Restaurants and Bars:
I can't say enough about the amazingly wonderful food that was provided in the Buffet Restaurant. The food was deliciously prepared without over-seasoning or MSG. Plentiful fruits, juice, bread, and a variety of healthy, scrumptious meat and vegetables. There is no need to visit the specialty restaurants. You can get everything you want at the Buffet restaurant, and the service there matches that of a very high class and expensive restaurant, with waiters and waitresses wearing formal outfits, and catering to all your needs. You get an assigned table for dinner, and dinner is divided into early and late seatings.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool at the Riu Palace Macao is not my favourite. I don't particularly enjoy being disturbed by pool side entertainment activities and games at one end of the pool. I prefer to have the whole pool quiet for swimming. The pool was narrow and rather long. I preferred the pool at Riu Naiboa, and unfortunately only discovered swimming there on my last day. There were convenient outdoor rinse showers throughout the different pools at the Riu complex.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I went on two tours: a swim with stingrays and sharks tour and a Eco/Educational Tour. Both were good, although the massage promised in the"Swim with Stingrays and Sharks" tour was not as soothing and relaxing as I had hoped. The Eco/Educational tour was way too long. We left at 8:15 am and did not get home till 6:30 pm. The last few sites on that tour became a drag.

Other Comments:
The line-up at the Dominican Republic Airport for the Skyservice flight coming home was long. We stood in line for almost an hour, as all the tourists seemed to be leaving around the same time with the several late night flights booked to depart. Coming home, the custom line-ups were long as well and we did not get home till 3 am. The Riu Palace Macao is a very classy hotel with friendly service. The food was what we appreciated most. It even agreed with my mom, who is a very picky and particular eater. I like the Riu Palace Macao the most of all the different hotels in the Riu complex and would go back to Riu Palace Macao again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube