Riu Taino Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Riu Taino  

Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana. Dominican Republic.

"beautiful resort"
Posted by: Aiden on Jun 22, 2014
see all reviews

Riu Taino Reviews
Riu Taino Pictures and Information
Riu Taino Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#29
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.5

Based on 16 reviews

Riu Taino Information


In Punta Cana on Arena Gorda beach and right in the palm grove. The Riu Taino, immersed in an exceptional setting, adds to the comfort of its facilities the fascination of nature that surrounds it.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Taino Reviews

Riu Taino Review: 3.5 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  7
Average
  4
Poor
  4
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (7)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 16

"beautiful resort"

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aiden  on Jun 22, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
46 people found this review helpful

This is basically a three star hotel in my opinion; everything was just basic so I didnít see anything special. I went with my family in January and it was a great trip for us and we will be going back here again for our summer break holiday. One thing you should know though about this place is that you shouldnít drink the tap water if not, you will get sick. They were very cautious I mean the staff as they will tell you from the get go not to drink the tap water. The resort is a great place and my family met lots of Europeans and they were all nice people. The manager was very handy and available as most of the time that we needed things sorted out, he was always available to make it happen. Whatever questions or concerns we had, the staff was ready to help out and make sure we are comfortable. The resort is incredibly clean and so were the rooms. It is a fantastic place to visit both for families or couples or those traveling in group that wants to have an amazing experience. My family loved the white sand beach; it was beautiful with crystal clear waters. There were activities on the beach such as volleyball and we played with other guests, it was fun for us all through the vacation. The all inclusive drinks made the trip even better. Itís a beautiful resort, amazing staff, beautiful beach, good food and lots of activities, we will be back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fifth trip to Taino...always a good time!!!"

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Josh  on May 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
711 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have gone to the Riu Taino five times in seven years, we must be having fun!!! Is it a five star resort...no, but it is always clean, the food is always good, the staff is fantastic and the beach is awsome!!! The rooms are sometimes a little musty, but I've been to Aruba, Tulum, Orlando and Myrtle Beach and they all had the same musty smell. The cause is humidity. Take a room freshner, a wash clothe [they don't supply those] and your pillow, you will have the time of your life! We always do! The first week in January can't come soon enough for me!

Your Arrival:
Always a easy trip through the airport.

Rooms:
Somewhat dated, but always very clean! We spend very little time in the room. Te patios are very nice to relax on in the evening.

Restaurants and Bars:
We have always enjoyed the restaurants. We have made some good friends with the wait staff over the years, some of the hardest working people I have ever met!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach, the reason I go to Punta Cana! There are not enough words to describe its beauty!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not worth the money"

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 25, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
706 people found this review helpful

I have been to the Dominican 4 times and I have to say this was the worst place I ever stayed service was terrible. Even one of the employees tried to sell me cocaine I am disabled and he told me this is what they use for a pain killer. To say the least I told him to hit the road.And don't even get me started on the horrible room service.

Your Arrival:
The arrival took for ever and finally we took our luggage to the room ourselves even though I am disabled I had to lug the luggage with my wife at that time. Very bad arrival. They offered no drinks upon arrival like most resorts do.

Rooms:
The rooms were stuck in the 60s with there furniture and paintings. The washrooms were small and once again old sinks and fixtures and shower accommodations were horrible.

Restaurants and Bars:
Once again the food was not that great. You had to eat at buffet if you wanted a half decent food. The food was at best a 3 star and thats being nice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Well the pools were dirty and my wife actually seen a used condom in the pool floating I don't really think I have to say much more about the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
By the looks of things the activities were hookers. I seen one man that was very much overweight and had a different woman everyday. Then when I thought I seen it all he had picked up a young boy one day. He was no more then 17 years of age. This was disgusting and not something you would want your kids to see happening. I doubt very much they will post this Ad. We complained to the travel agent and they gave us a 200.00 dollar voucher for the next time we went. It was good for 6 months. I know we had saved for over a year for this trip so the 6 month voucher was really no good to us. They must of thought we were rich and traveled all the time and could afford to go on another trip. We are working folk and were not able to use it.

Other Comments:
I would not recommend this resort. Do your shopping and you will find a much better deal then the resort from hell. We made the best of it but feel we really did not get our moneys worth. I give this place a 3 star rating and that is being generous. This is certainly not a place for children. One good thing that did happen was one of the locals made us a ashtray out of a coconut which was pretty cool to watch him do this with such a big knife.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"awful Theresa and Graydon Lewis Pembroke Ontario Canada"

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Theresa  on Mar 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
672 people found this review helpful

ist room was musty and small, gave extra money to move got a better room.
Staff try to be helpful.Food was all the sameday after day.
The four of us in our party got sick i mean sick my brother-in law
was in the hospital3 days,the three
of us left never ate or drank for 3 days. We were all dehydrated and weak.
This is a 2 maybe a2.5 star.Staff were friendly and did there best.
Never again and feel we should be compensaded for 3 of the 10 days paid.

Your Arrival:
Feb.26th 2010 till March 8th /10 days 4 sick days times 4 people

Rooms:
bad and need renovating.Heard they were tearing this resort down and rebuilding.Maybe they should not have made reservations this year,

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was the best part bars good friendly staff.

Other Comments:
Would like to talk to someone from riu Mamagement if i had a contact name

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do Not Go!!!!"

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  kelly  on Feb 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
712 people found this review helpful

5th time here and never again! Hotel is going to be demolished we were told by staff. Nice no longer a 5 star more like 2 with cockroaches!

Your Arrival:
Pushy photo people at airport, jumped out of line to bypass and they yelled at us! private transport good, going comming home never showed up and NO refund!

Rooms:
mold! on beds etc, dirty HUGE cockraoches in two of the four rooms we had. NO air in most no working fans, broken furinture, smoke soiled lines, had to ask for linens to be changed on two weeks! all people 7 in our group had moved 4 times! Mini bar poorly stocked ! and only every other day! not all inclusive! Foul smelling towels! BUGS!

Restaurants and Bars:
repetative food, copmpaired to bambu HUge difference! cold, and if you didn't eat it for dinner it was there for breakfast EG mashed potatoes! ewwww

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
grounds beautiful! Pools in poor repair, with children urinating in them, no bathing suites for most children, unhygenic! lights hanging in pool! Broken cocrete, ladders on poor angles.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Local son week-end with no supervision, eating drinking and peeing in pool! Really gross

Other Comments:
horribel condition, best local on beach, but really needs a major overhaul. Have asked for a refund!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Riu chain - never again!"

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alice  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
730 people found this review helpful

While I've heard mixed reviews of the Riu chain I would never travel again to Riu Taino. Money stolen out of our safe, daughter lost room/safe key; front desk unwilling to do anything except tell us to look for key and come back later.
No hot water in shower last three days despite three calls to reception, no hand towels or bathmat last two days.
Most of the staff were great with the exception of a few men that felt it was perfectly ok to paw my daughter. Food was mediocre at best; last night went to the Mexican al a carte; we were both sick on the plane ride home.

Your Arrival:
Late at night, bags dropped off. Bellhop spoke no English, attempted to tell us how to secure patio door. Everything was closed up at 11:30 so went to bed

Rooms:
Meh - beds hard, pillow flat as a board, somewhat expected in given previous experience.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food just ok, very little seafood with the exception of oysters and shrimp. Great service at bar providing you tipped the b/tender on a daily basis.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice but crowded.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Carribean Festival with stingrays/sharks. They neglected to tell us we had to have the receipt but thankfully we were able to re-book for the next day. Our Sunquest guide Orlando was awesome!

Other Comments:
Am uncomfortable with the pushiess of the people selling their wares. I don't like rude people and find it difficult to be rude; unfortunately at time I had to resort to just that when they clearly wouldn't allow you to walk away. Afer having our holiday money stolen found it even more frustrating that even on excursions the bus driver, the excursion people, etc. all request tips. Bartering is my second least favorite thing to do....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Shawn Oromocto New Brunswick Canada "

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  shawn nash  on Jan 11, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
790 people found this review helpful

stay from Dec 30/09 to Jan 6/10

Your Arrival:
I travelled with Canjet from Halifax. The flight was only 4 hrs. It went smooth and luggage was easily recieved at the Punta Cana Airport. Seemed like only 25 mins to my hotel.

Rooms:
The rooms were very tidy with tile floors. It had a mini bar which included 2 each of Brahma beer,club soda, pepsi and one jug of water plus three rum bottles all you can drink. The fridge gets filled every 2 days which wasnt a problem as you can get drinks at the hotel bars and take them to your room. The beds were a little hard but not that bad plus i could hear a little music from the hotel next door but wasnt that bad. There is a safe in the room which you get a key from the front desk, i never used the safe just took my money with me. I left my bags locked on the second bed in my room and never once had a problem even when a maid found one of my keys, placed it on my bed for me, nothing was taken. I was lucky enough to get a room with a balcony on the 2nd floor and my trip was booked online.

Restaurants and Bars:
I only did the regular buffets. I didnt reserve anything. The regular buffets each day changed a little but mostly offered pizza(not like canadians pizza), fries, desserts, burgers, fruit, salads, mashed potato, pasta. For a week, it wasnt that bad to eat this, there was still quite a variety to choose from. The bars were great, lots of drinks to choose from.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were kept up really well, the pools were tended to everyday, pool closed at 7 pm, the swim up bar was great, there was a pool next door that u could use also but had to get a towel from your own resort and there is a limit of one towel per day on the loan card u are given but you can always use a towel from your room if this doesnt interest you. Beach stretched for a long ways left or right, only a few smoke butts that i saw, the beach is rocky when going in the water but if you get water shoes, this isnt much of a problem. I wore water shoes even just for walking and i recommend you buying a pair before going. Also take sneakers, shoes if you wish.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They have daily bingo, darts which isnt much, workouts in groups by the pool, evening shows at the bar which includes a Michael Jackson show, Karokee, Dancers, Circus De Soleli which were simply great. I went HorseBack Riding on the beach which was great except for the flies that bit me, if you get bit alot i dont recommend doing something that includes anything in the woods. It rained when i went riding but it wasnt that bad cold wise. I went swiming with seeing nurse sharks below me and tropicial fish which was simply amazing and got to hold a sting ray on this tour which was a bonus. I did the swimming with the dolphin which was great, u can also get an interaction excersion also which i would think be pretty much the same and save you some money. These are the only extra things i did where u have to pay money but well worth it. The HorseRiding was $55 US, Dolphin was $129 US, Snorkling which also included a party on the boat where u can dance and get involved also was $89 US.

Other Comments:
The people of the Dominican Republic are very friendly and very hard working people. I got to hang out with Miguel who worked at the bar which he is such a nice guy and travels to different resorts to work. I recommended buying things like toothpaste, toothbrushes, little shampoos/conditioners, gum, hairclips, stationary, etc at the dollar store and leave it in yr room as a appreciation for the maids as its a way of saying thank you for your hard work and they dont get alot of these things their way. The bars close at 12 am at the resorts and then there is a bar up the street that charges $10 US to get in, $5 US drinks and stays open until 4 am in the morning. You plan on partying alot take enough money for this. I recommend taking aloe vera in case u get burned, sandels, golf shirts for the guys for at night no dress long sleeve shirts you wont need them, some jeans and dress pants, plenty of sunscreen, power converter if you have anything to charge, batteries extras. Take a bit of money if you plan on buying anything and charge your exersions to your visa as its better for you that way. This was my first experience to the DR, i met people from Germany, Toronto, Argentina, USA, all people i met were very nice. The resort is very safe, going off the resort isnt from what i heard, do not rent a car as there is lots of impaired drivers there and you get in an accident, im told its the tourists fault not there fault. DR people do come to the hotel and sell things, they do hassle you a little but when you say "NO i dont wanna buy anything" they leave you alone, i did get a good deal on a necklace and earrings at the hotel, the guy asked $73 US and i got it for $25 US so you can barter for a deal. I do not recommend buying anything off the beach as i learned and got taken for as my first time there, buyer beware. On the dolphin excersion theres a shop also you can buy things plus the stores near the hotel up along the street. Far as language barrier, there is a little but i didnt have much problem, even if you dont speak the language, spanish. The resort i did find was 80% Europeans, 20% other, there wasnt many topless women there, lots of families, lots of women in bikinis though. My first time at the DR, an amazing experience, the resort was great and i will difinately be going back, i miss it already

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort seemed to be a favorite spot for locals on the weekends."

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Tanya from Kitchener  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
687 people found this review helpful

Arrival: November2009
Arrival was uneventful. Staff on hand to take your photo, nice feature for those that want it but we should be given the option, not have to wait in line for something that you do not want to participate in.

Rooms:
1st room was smelled of stale smoke and musty. Beds were hard and pillows flat. Didn't sleep well for the first 3 nights. Requested an upgrade which we received for free. 2nd room much better but the pillows were still flat and hard. This room didn't have the same smell and you could definitely tell that you were in an area that was more expensive. We received better cleaning service and more towels.

Restaurants and Bars:
Service at the bar was not great, we were ignored at times and it took forever to get drinks. Our dining experience was made very enjoyable by our server, he would reserve our table for us and placed flowers on the table prior to our arrival. He would have our drinks waiting for us when we returned from getting our food from the buffet. If it wasn't for him the experience could have been very different.
The lunch buffet was very repetitive, hamburgers, hot dogs, salmon, fries, and rice every day! The Dinner buffet had a bit more variety but not much. Attended one one restaurant but again the food was the same.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and the grounds were very well maintained. It was a beautiful beach with soft sand and great swimming in the ocean. Didn't use the pool much, there wasn't very many sunny spots, lots of trees around the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on 1 tour and did the para-sailing. We went to Saona Island, the beaches and the water were very beautiful as well, white sand and clear water.

Other Comments:
The resort was mainly occupied by locals and Europeans. We found it difficult to find English speaking people including other guests and heard the same remark from the few that we did encounter. The resort seemed to be a favorite spot for locals on the weekends - Friday to Monday.

I would go back to the Dominican but not this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort needs a MAJOR facelift."

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Donna & Paul from Ontario  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
724 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb for 2 weeks
This was our 4th time at the Riu Taino. My husband and I agree that this resort needs a MAJOR facelift.

Rooms
The rooms are tired, and need new beds, and decor. Everything about this hotel is just tired and old looking.

Restaurants and Bars
The restaurants are fine, but over the years have declined in quality. When we first went here they would serve lobster and shrimp a few times a week..In our 2 weeks here, we had mussels(cheap) and shrimp once. The food had alot of garlic, butter, sauces or were fried or deep fried. We are not fussy eaters at all, but everything was so rich..If you have trouble with your stomach..beware.
Believe me, we didn't starve, but our stomachs suffered

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach has always been breathtaking. Pools are worn and need a paint job and some work on them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Didn't do any.

Other Comments
This is TRULY NOT a 5 star hotel...it used to be. Like I said above, we have been here 4 times, and really like this hotel. Over the years though, they have not been taking care of it. We would love to go back, but will not, till they do some reno's on it. Beware of paying 5 star prices for a 3-3.5 star hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is second to none."

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Barbara and Roger  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
684 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 21 - March 7
Flight was uneventful - arrival at airport and bus ride to hotel went well.Had to wait for room to be ready but that was o.k we just got in our suits and headed to the beach!!

Rooms
The rooms were clean and the staff were always helpful if you needed anything you just had to ask and it was sent. We did notice that the showers need to be upgraded and they definitely need new beds,mattresses and pillows. The rooms had been newly painted and were very clean.

Restaurants and Bars
We frequented the main restaurant - the food was very good and there was alot of variety.The staff were very friendly and always remembered you plus would set up "your" table with the drinks you preferred at meals - and there were 6 of us in the party!! We did go one night to the steak house- not as good

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is second to none-in a word perfect! The pool was always clean and everyone in our group enjoyed it everyday.There were plenty of beach lounges for use around the pool and on the beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel All the guys in our group went golfing at Punta Blanca golf course and had a great day.Another couple took in the monster truck and snorkling expeditions and really enjoyed them both.

Other Comments
We have stayed at the Taino in 2005 and this year2009-we have seen a change in the upkeep -we hope this will be rectified as it is a small intimate resort-the villas decrease noise and give you a feeling of privacy.Both times we have enjoyed ourselves but hope that this great smaller resort will not be forgotten while these huge palace resorts are being built.Had a great time and will definitely return

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube