Riu Taino Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Riu Taino  

Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana. Dominican Republic.

"beautiful resort"
Posted by: Aiden on Jun 22, 2014
see all reviews

Riu Taino Reviews
Riu Taino Pictures and Information
Riu Taino Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#29
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.5

Based on 16 reviews

Riu Taino Information


In Punta Cana on Arena Gorda beach and right in the palm grove. The Riu Taino, immersed in an exceptional setting, adds to the comfort of its facilities the fascination of nature that surrounds it.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Taino Reviews

Riu Taino Review: 3.5 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  7
Average
  4
Poor
  4
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (7)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 16

"Riu chain - never again!"

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alice  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
730 people found this review helpful

While I've heard mixed reviews of the Riu chain I would never travel again to Riu Taino. Money stolen out of our safe, daughter lost room/safe key; front desk unwilling to do anything except tell us to look for key and come back later.
No hot water in shower last three days despite three calls to reception, no hand towels or bathmat last two days.
Most of the staff were great with the exception of a few men that felt it was perfectly ok to paw my daughter. Food was mediocre at best; last night went to the Mexican al a carte; we were both sick on the plane ride home.

Your Arrival:
Late at night, bags dropped off. Bellhop spoke no English, attempted to tell us how to secure patio door. Everything was closed up at 11:30 so went to bed

Rooms:
Meh - beds hard, pillow flat as a board, somewhat expected in given previous experience.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food just ok, very little seafood with the exception of oysters and shrimp. Great service at bar providing you tipped the b/tender on a daily basis.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice but crowded.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Carribean Festival with stingrays/sharks. They neglected to tell us we had to have the receipt but thankfully we were able to re-book for the next day. Our Sunquest guide Orlando was awesome!

Other Comments:
Am uncomfortable with the pushiess of the people selling their wares. I don't like rude people and find it difficult to be rude; unfortunately at time I had to resort to just that when they clearly wouldn't allow you to walk away. Afer having our holiday money stolen found it even more frustrating that even on excursions the bus driver, the excursion people, etc. all request tips. Bartering is my second least favorite thing to do....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not worth the money"

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 25, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
707 people found this review helpful

I have been to the Dominican 4 times and I have to say this was the worst place I ever stayed service was terrible. Even one of the employees tried to sell me cocaine I am disabled and he told me this is what they use for a pain killer. To say the least I told him to hit the road.And don't even get me started on the horrible room service.

Your Arrival:
The arrival took for ever and finally we took our luggage to the room ourselves even though I am disabled I had to lug the luggage with my wife at that time. Very bad arrival. They offered no drinks upon arrival like most resorts do.

Rooms:
The rooms were stuck in the 60s with there furniture and paintings. The washrooms were small and once again old sinks and fixtures and shower accommodations were horrible.

Restaurants and Bars:
Once again the food was not that great. You had to eat at buffet if you wanted a half decent food. The food was at best a 3 star and thats being nice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Well the pools were dirty and my wife actually seen a used condom in the pool floating I don't really think I have to say much more about the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
By the looks of things the activities were hookers. I seen one man that was very much overweight and had a different woman everyday. Then when I thought I seen it all he had picked up a young boy one day. He was no more then 17 years of age. This was disgusting and not something you would want your kids to see happening. I doubt very much they will post this Ad. We complained to the travel agent and they gave us a 200.00 dollar voucher for the next time we went. It was good for 6 months. I know we had saved for over a year for this trip so the 6 month voucher was really no good to us. They must of thought we were rich and traveled all the time and could afford to go on another trip. We are working folk and were not able to use it.

Other Comments:
I would not recommend this resort. Do your shopping and you will find a much better deal then the resort from hell. We made the best of it but feel we really did not get our moneys worth. I give this place a 3 star rating and that is being generous. This is certainly not a place for children. One good thing that did happen was one of the locals made us a ashtray out of a coconut which was pretty cool to watch him do this with such a big knife.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do Not Go!!!!"

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  kelly  on Feb 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
712 people found this review helpful

5th time here and never again! Hotel is going to be demolished we were told by staff. Nice no longer a 5 star more like 2 with cockroaches!

Your Arrival:
Pushy photo people at airport, jumped out of line to bypass and they yelled at us! private transport good, going comming home never showed up and NO refund!

Rooms:
mold! on beds etc, dirty HUGE cockraoches in two of the four rooms we had. NO air in most no working fans, broken furinture, smoke soiled lines, had to ask for linens to be changed on two weeks! all people 7 in our group had moved 4 times! Mini bar poorly stocked ! and only every other day! not all inclusive! Foul smelling towels! BUGS!

Restaurants and Bars:
repetative food, copmpaired to bambu HUge difference! cold, and if you didn't eat it for dinner it was there for breakfast EG mashed potatoes! ewwww

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
grounds beautiful! Pools in poor repair, with children urinating in them, no bathing suites for most children, unhygenic! lights hanging in pool! Broken cocrete, ladders on poor angles.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Local son week-end with no supervision, eating drinking and peeing in pool! Really gross

Other Comments:
horribel condition, best local on beach, but really needs a major overhaul. Have asked for a refund!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"awful Theresa and Graydon Lewis Pembroke Ontario Canada"

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Theresa  on Mar 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
673 people found this review helpful

ist room was musty and small, gave extra money to move got a better room.
Staff try to be helpful.Food was all the sameday after day.
The four of us in our party got sick i mean sick my brother-in law
was in the hospital3 days,the three
of us left never ate or drank for 3 days. We were all dehydrated and weak.
This is a 2 maybe a2.5 star.Staff were friendly and did there best.
Never again and feel we should be compensaded for 3 of the 10 days paid.

Your Arrival:
Feb.26th 2010 till March 8th /10 days 4 sick days times 4 people

Rooms:
bad and need renovating.Heard they were tearing this resort down and rebuilding.Maybe they should not have made reservations this year,

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was the best part bars good friendly staff.

Other Comments:
Would like to talk to someone from riu Mamagement if i had a contact name

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beds hard. Pillows thin. Mould in bathroom."

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kristen from Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
192 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 27 to March 6
We arrived late in the evening. No issues.

Rooms
We stayed in a regular room. My parents stayed in a suite. Both rooms were in major need of updating. Beds hard. Pillows thin. Mould in bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars
Food is not great. Very repetitive. Reservations have to be made between 7am and 10am each day. They were usually filled up early. Mexican was the best out of all. Major issue was the rats we saw crawling around the La Bamba bar in the evening. (We have pictures to prove it.) We did complain but nothing was done about it that night that we could see.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach was great but people hog the chairs so if you aren't out by 8am on a sunny day you aren't getting a chair.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Went on a snorkel tour through Scuba Caribe. It was good. Day trips through the hotel are expensive.

Other Comments
I would rate this hotel a 3 star and that would be generous. I would not recommend it to anyone. If you go....you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort needs a MAJOR facelift."

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Donna & Paul from Ontario  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
725 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb for 2 weeks
This was our 4th time at the Riu Taino. My husband and I agree that this resort needs a MAJOR facelift.

Rooms
The rooms are tired, and need new beds, and decor. Everything about this hotel is just tired and old looking.

Restaurants and Bars
The restaurants are fine, but over the years have declined in quality. When we first went here they would serve lobster and shrimp a few times a week..In our 2 weeks here, we had mussels(cheap) and shrimp once. The food had alot of garlic, butter, sauces or were fried or deep fried. We are not fussy eaters at all, but everything was so rich..If you have trouble with your stomach..beware.
Believe me, we didn't starve, but our stomachs suffered

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach has always been breathtaking. Pools are worn and need a paint job and some work on them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Didn't do any.

Other Comments
This is TRULY NOT a 5 star hotel...it used to be. Like I said above, we have been here 4 times, and really like this hotel. Over the years though, they have not been taking care of it. We would love to go back, but will not, till they do some reno's on it. Beware of paying 5 star prices for a 3-3.5 star hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bars and restaurants are absolutely dreadful!"

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer from Vancouver  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
204 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 15 - 22
Arrived 11pmish, left to find our own room which was right down the back of the resort. Our liggage took almost an hour to be delivered.

Rooms
Beds and pillows uncomfortable. There were 2 of us, but only one blanket in the room. Housekeeping had apparently gone off duty so we couldn't get another until the next day! Bathrooms need renovating and for some bizarre reason the safe is no the floor.

Restaurants and Bars
Absolutely dreadful! The steakhouse wasn't open at all, which was probably a blessing! Not to mention there is smoking allowed everywhere.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach was goegeous. The saving grace for this resort. The pool was very cold, needed to have more lounges and new towels - of which you could only have one per day!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Yes. A day trip to an island. It was a good to get off the resort.

Other Comments
Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort seemed to be a favorite spot for locals on the weekends."

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Tanya from Kitchener  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
687 people found this review helpful

Arrival: November2009
Arrival was uneventful. Staff on hand to take your photo, nice feature for those that want it but we should be given the option, not have to wait in line for something that you do not want to participate in.

Rooms:
1st room was smelled of stale smoke and musty. Beds were hard and pillows flat. Didn't sleep well for the first 3 nights. Requested an upgrade which we received for free. 2nd room much better but the pillows were still flat and hard. This room didn't have the same smell and you could definitely tell that you were in an area that was more expensive. We received better cleaning service and more towels.

Restaurants and Bars:
Service at the bar was not great, we were ignored at times and it took forever to get drinks. Our dining experience was made very enjoyable by our server, he would reserve our table for us and placed flowers on the table prior to our arrival. He would have our drinks waiting for us when we returned from getting our food from the buffet. If it wasn't for him the experience could have been very different.
The lunch buffet was very repetitive, hamburgers, hot dogs, salmon, fries, and rice every day! The Dinner buffet had a bit more variety but not much. Attended one one restaurant but again the food was the same.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and the grounds were very well maintained. It was a beautiful beach with soft sand and great swimming in the ocean. Didn't use the pool much, there wasn't very many sunny spots, lots of trees around the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on 1 tour and did the para-sailing. We went to Saona Island, the beaches and the water were very beautiful as well, white sand and clear water.

Other Comments:
The resort was mainly occupied by locals and Europeans. We found it difficult to find English speaking people including other guests and heard the same remark from the few that we did encounter. The resort seemed to be a favorite spot for locals on the weekends - Friday to Monday.

I would go back to the Dominican but not this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sad to see that many used the glorious beach as an ash tray."

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dwight from Saskatchewan  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
189 people found this review helpful

Rooms:
The supersaver room that we had would likely disappoint most people. My opinion is that it was more of a 3 star level. It was clean, with sufficient storage, and had good air conditioner & ceiling fan. The curtains blocked out most daylight if you wanted to sleep in. However, the beds and furniture had seen much better days. One bed had a sag in the middle such that it was 3 inches lower than the other. Beds were twin size. The patio door was very difficult to slide. Most drawers did not work very well. I never did figure out how all the 3way light switches worked. The frig and drinking water are generally restocked about every second day. Since we do not spend much time in our room on any vacation, this accomodation was passable for us. We did sleep well.

Restaurants and Bars:
Las Arecas is the main buffet, and was excellent. The variety of food and the service are exceptional. I would rate this restaurant 4 to 5 star. La Bamba and Cocos are beach buffets that offer considerable less variety than Las Arecas, but for a snack or quick lunch when you are only wearing your swimsuit they are perfect. The is a Pizzeria, which is handy for a quick pizza for lunch, but otherwise not remarkable. An Italian restaurant is a fair hike from the hotel, which we didn't bother with. The steakhouse offers a variety of meats such as pork, ribs, chicken and a ribeye, but that's about it. It would be a valid choice if you wished to be served your meal instead of using a buffet. The last restaurant offers a menu that cycles between three types of cuisine: Asian, Mexican, and Caribbean. All meals are buffet, and we really liked the Mexican and Caribbean food. If you like to try different fare, then this is a good choice. By the way, I would highly recommend the coffee when the Caribbean food is offered! House wine (white, rose, or red) is available for lunch and supper.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Amazing. The two-storey apartment blocks are like living in a tropical park. The plants, palm trees, shrubs and flowers are wonderful. The walk to the beach is very short, only about 5 minutes or less. The beach is the best I have ever seen: miles and miles of white sand, clear turquoise & green water, mostly polite waves, plenty of space, and many palm trees. Walking along the shoreline is a very popular activity for many people. The two pools are good, and one includes a swim-up bar. There is a collection of "shops" about 15 minute walk south of the hotel, on the beach. This are interesting to browse, but prices are not necessarily better than in the hotel or on Caribbean street.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were good. A variety of shows are offered including two Vegas type dance shows: Latin Tropical, and Dominican. Some musical offerings include Grease, and a Michael Jackson show. Variety shows usually had several couples competing against each other, all in good fun, which were ok but not what we generally prefer. They also had a "Carnaval" every Thursday night on Caribbean street with other shows, music, dancing, and shopping. A beach party features a circus type of show, which is more for kids. Most shows typically start at 9:45 pm and last 45 minutes. We took a shopping tour, which is not as much of a shopping tour as some may expect. The tour includes a cigar factory, a fruit rum factory (not a distillery), a Taino cave, and a larimar/amber museum at the Palma Real mall. We really enjoyed the tour mostly for these extras. If all you want to do is shop, I believe there is a free shuttle to the Palma Real. Other hotel activities include dance lessons (merengue, salsa, bachata: lots of fun), bingo, free non-motorized water sports (kayaks & catamarans). The staff is very good and excellent at getting audience participation.

Other Comments:
This is a "European" hotel, which means that many ladies will never wear out their swimsuit tops. After Spanish (and Portuguese), German is probably the most common language. Other languages include English, French, Italian. Smoking is very common, which we don't appreciate much, and it was sad to see that many used the glorious beach as an ash tray.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We did have fun and enjoyed the relaxation."

Riu Taino
User Rating:  Riu Taino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen from Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
191 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 12 - 19
We were dropped off at another resort around 10:30 pm and lugged our luggage to the reception area. We then had to walk through darkness to find our room.

Rooms
Clean, but the sliding door was extremely difficult to maneuver. The tv reception was terrible and would cut off during a program. The twin beds that were pushed together were hard and uncomfortable.

Restaurants and Bars
We really enjoyed the food, but I would not suggest eating at the Steak House.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Ocean water was beautiful, we really enjoyed the waves. Pools were almost empty.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There were a lot of activities. The bingos were interesting! Did not go on any tours.

Other Comments
There aren't many English speaking people there. They seemed to cater to the Germans. I am not one to criticize nationalities, but if two Germans were walking towards you, they would not move and you had to walk around them. Smoking was terrible, so if you are a non-smoker, you were constantly breathing in second hand smoke. The workers at the resort were always pleasant and worked extremely hard to please. The day before our departure, we were supposed to speak to a Sunquest rep to get the details, and all we found was a binder with a departure time. The next day, we sat in the lobby waiting for the bus, but there weren't many people waiting for it. We asked at reception abuot it and were told we had to go over to the other resort since there was a festival happening and the bus weren't allowed. So we lugged our luggage down Caribbean Street...and just about got run over by a bus (not ours) that was on its way to our resort...we were not happy about that!!!! But we did have fun and enjoyed the relaxation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube