Coconut Palms Resort Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata > Puerto Plata Hotel Index > Coconut Palms Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Plata Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Villa Taina

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 22, 2014

Iberostar Costa Dorada

4.4 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2013

BlueBay Villas Doradas

4.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Agualina Kite Beach Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 16, 2014

Coconut Palms Resort  

Vista de Caribe, North Coast, Dominican Republic.

"key hotel, you should go"
Posted by: lucky on Sep 2, 2014
see all reviews

Coconut Palms Resort Reviews
Coconut Palms Resort Pictures and Information
Coconut Palms Resort Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

#17
of 94 Hotels in Puerto Plata

User rating 3.7

Based on 6 reviews

Coconut Palms Resort Information


Whether your idea of paradise is relaxing with a cocktail by the pool, or throwing yourself into the surf, you'll find it with us at The Coconut Palms Resort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Coconut Palms Resort Reviews

Coconut Palms Resort Review: 3.7 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  4
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With Group
1 - 6 of 6

"key hotel, you should go"

Coconut Palms Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Palms Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  lucky  on Sep 2, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
30 people found this review helpful

Talk about low key hotels in the country, this is one of them and one of the best as well. I wanted a low key, not so fancy and not over the top restaurant that still offered at least average services to their guests and this hotel was top on my list so I visited and have no regrets whatsoever. The Coconut Palms was the best choice for all these combination and they have a very responsive and attentive staff. The staff gave their all literally, they made sure they were polite even to some rude customers who talked maliciously yet they kept their cool. The entertainment team or rather I call them the activity team had a lot in store for us the guests and the director was so much fun and genuine in his dealings and conversations with me and other guests present at the time. The front desk staff was nice, smiling all the time and attended to anything you asked for. Now another great thing about this hotel is the fact that its location is perfect because there were guard dogs everywhere which made me feel very safe. The pool is clean and swimmable, the whole hotel grounds and rooms are all clean, and the housekeeping staff usually does a good job of making sure that everywhere was tidy. Every amenity in the room worked nothing to complain about. Meals here were excellent and lots of choices and varieties. I liked it here and will be back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst resort ever"

Coconut Palms Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Palms Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  bobby  on Sep 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
355 people found this review helpful

Our stay at your resort from July 28th through August 4th was the worst one of our vacation. We were ripped off at this resort by the timeshares sellers; their supervisor name is Don Gaines. From the 2nd day we arrived, they started making pressure on us to upgrade our timeshares while selling our current RCI timeshares in Florida. Despite many no efforts, we finally gave up and took it but under 2 conditions:
1. We could cancel the agreement within 10 days ("1 page fake agreement" like my lawyer said).
2. If we cancel the sale of our timeshare that will cancel the agreement to upgrade within 10 days.
We did cancel it 3 days later but up to today we havenít received our $800 deposit. We cancel it for the reason: after researching online, many recommend not to buy timeshare at this resort because they are liars and you will never receive your rental fee as stated in the agreement.
We are very frustrated and I am trying to sue Don Gaines if he doesnt refund our $800. Unfortunately we live in the US. I am writing to the resort to tell you how unhappy we are. YOU SHOULDNíT ALLOW THIS GUY IN YOUR RESORT OTHERWISE YOU WILL KEEP LOSING CUSTOMERS LIKE US AND MANY OTHERS.
We stayed in a 3 bedroom there with plenty of roaches and bugs (room 61 I think). There is no AC and some lights switches didnít work. The TV is broken, makes a weird noise and has a very poor resolution. The room wasnít cleaned and smelly. The bathroom showers are very old and not working properly despite the hot water faucet. They have no gym; the only nice settings there are the pool and food. Also their tours are more expensive than the ones offered in the city by the same tours company. Be careful travelling at this place. We do not recommend it.
We request management to look into this complain and refund our deposit.

Room Number:
51

Room Block:
south 3rd floor

Arrival:
july 28th

Rooms:
smelly, roaches, broken faucet

Restaurants and Bars:
good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
small and dirty

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
tours are more expensive than buying them at Cabarete from the same company

Other Comments:
do not go

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Beautiful Gem in Paradise"

Coconut Palms Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Palms Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Margery  on Mar 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
750 people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 2 weeks at the Coconut Palms Resort. It is a mid-size resort where we couldn't ask for more. I don't want to be entertained with resort activities, I'd rather meet people, relax and go out into the community to experience the culture. This is the place to do it. The grounds are well kept, beautiful plantings and flowers, easy to get around: the walk to the nearby beach holds something different to see each day. The two comments I'd make are 1)They do need to work on the leaks in some rooms, which they did say they are making improvements. 2) The resort is located between Sosua and Cabarete. This means you'll want to ride. There are some days where the resort offers free rides into Cabarete. Other times you'll need to get a cab. This can use your cash fast. Try to share the ride with others. At this resort...once you have been there, many people come back annually. Talk to other guests...

Arrival:
We were welcomed with complimentary drinks and very friendly staff...and other guests.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean and spacious. They all have a balcony that reminds you that you are in paradise. We had no problems with insects. That rooms are cleaned very well every day. The only concern were the leaks.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food at the restaurant was very good. I liked the fresh omlets in the morning. There is a choice of buying your meals daily or getting a meal plan. Your choice.

The bar...lots of fun especailly at Happy Hour.. Their main bartender Victor is an asset to the place. It is a great time to meet new friends and learn about the area activities from others.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool area is perfect. Not too large, surrounded by palm trees and beutiful flowers. The grounds are very well kept.

The beach is an easy walk. If you want, they will give you a ride to and from the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort offers tours although we did not take advantage of them. Meals, Happy Hours, jewlry vendor, massage (very good), didn't realise there was a game room till it was time to leave, computer access, best place to meet people!

Other Comments:
This will be a place that you will want to return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect Vacation."

Coconut Palms Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Palms Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shannon  on Mar 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
797 people found this review helpful

I loved this fabulous resort! How fast can I return? Never having been to the area I was wondering what the hotel would be like. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised! The hotel is beautiful and very very clean. The pool area (we didn't spend much time there, we were on the beach) was absolutely gorgeous! If you want a laid back vacation with the staff treating you warmly, kindly and helping you with whatever you need this is your spot. The restaurant was good and we enjoyed our meals there when we decided to stay at the hotel. The rooms have kitchens as well so you can cook yourself as well if youíre on a budget, which is a nice option. As far as general security we traveled as 4 adventurous single women and we were always taken care of with respect and never felt threatened anywhere we went on the island and we went out every day and night.

Donít forget the Tiki Bar, as in the last post it is still staffed by Francis during the day and by Victor at night and they know their drinks and keep it fun day or night!

I highly recommend staying here for your Dominican vacation.

If you want high rise Americanized accommodations this is not for you, this is warmer, local and more personalized. The building is older but very well maintained. The hotel does not have air conditioning, but we did not need it during our stay and we were very comfortable.

I canít wait to go back with my friends!

This spot is worth a try when considering your vacation.

Room Number:
42

Arrival:
Upon arrival the staff was very helpful and while getting our ridiculous amount of luggage into our rooms we were served a delicious punch to keep us happy. Very nice touch!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The hotel beach is a great surfing beach. Want to try Kite Surfing? This is you spot! You can also rent horses on the beach to explore further.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
You must try the waterfalls if you are physically fit it is amazing!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing"

Coconut Palms Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Palms Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  S  on Aug 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
807 people found this review helpful

I loved this place!! Stayed there for 7 days and was thoroughly sad upon leaving. This place truly captures the warmth and comfort of the island while still providing an escape from the ordinary with just the right amount of luxury. My family and I stayed there and we all enjoyed the warmth of the entire staff and the authenticity of the entire resort. Smiling faces all around, eager to help truly goes a long way in having a great vacation stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"our second home"

Coconut Palms Resort
User Rating:  Coconut Palms Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Aug 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
799 people found this review helpful

My family completed a 10 day stay this July, having last been to the resort two years ago. I was uncertain as to how the economic downturn had affected the area and especially our resort.

We found that times are tough for many establishments in the area, but the resort is faring better than many. The staff remains fairly intact from our prior visits, which pleased all of us. These people are so friendly that we consider them our second family. They will go out of their way to make your stay pleasant.

The resort is not opulent, but upgrades are being made in all areas. It is well maintained and very clean. The pool area is large and, depending on the guests, may have a continuous volleyball game going on. The tiki bar is staffed by Francis during the day and by Victor at Night. please see them for your favorite drink. They offer happy hour from 4-5 each day.

There was one major addition made to the staff . The resort restaurant ( the Palm Room) has a classically trained chef named Bolivar who joined the staff last year. His creations and presentations are simply superb. For example, there are daily specials such as lobster thermidor, a Dominican feast on Friday,and spinach ravioli in cream sauce with an orange reduction ( amazing). After having this on the first night we purchased the meal plan. Bolivar also prepared a surprise luncheon for my husband's birthday as our flight left that same evening. it was truly amazing; we had chicken, steak, plantains , rice and beans, onion rings, salad, and a specially made birthday cake. It was delicious.

We so enjoyed our time with our friends at the resort. Please consider it if you are in the area and enjoy all that it has to offer. We cant't wait to return.

Karen Stacko

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube