Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata > Puerto Plata Hotel Index > Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Plata Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Villa Taina

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 22, 2014

Iberostar Costa Dorada

4.4 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2013

BlueBay Villas Doradas

4.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Agualina Kite Beach Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 16, 2014

Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa  

Abreu | Cabrera (formerly Eden Bay Nudist Resort), Puerto Plata, Dominican Repķblic.

"in need of better management"
Posted by: bob on Jun 21, 2014
see all reviews

Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa Reviews
Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

#24
of 94 Hotels in Puerto Plata

User rating 3.8

Based on 3 reviews

Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa Information


Caliente Caribe is as laid-back or high-energy as you wish, and offers beautiful appointments featuring ocean views and direct access to its own private nude beach. Because the entire resort is clothing optional, you can feel as free as you want, anywhere, any time.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa Reviews

Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa Review: 3.8 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  2
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (2)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 3 of 3

"This resort is clothes optional and is run with the highest level of professionalism"

Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Gerry from Ottawa, Ontario  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
920 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 13 - 20
Airport pickup is included in the price and there was a taxi waiting for me with a sign with my name clearly displayed. This is like my 35th trip to DR so I knew exactly what to expect. It is about 1.5 hours drive and the road is a bit rough (some people at the resort commented). Once at the resort I was met at the entrance and my bag was transferred from the taxi to a resort vehicle. I asked about checking in, filling out forms, signing something and was told none of that was needed and I was driven to the building and shown my room. There was a club sandwich and two cold cans of beer waiting for me. I knew things were going to be awesome!

Rooms
My room was very large and seemed a bit scarce on furniture even though, there was a king sized bed, dresser, coffee type table as well as TV and another table suitable for working on my laptop. The bathroom was equally huge with a stool and counter with a mirror. Shower only but extremely large as well.

Restaurants and Bars
The main restaurant had seating for about 100 ? I guess. No buffet strictly a la carte. All meals were just that step above anything I had seen in DR before (I do tend to choose budget place though) All lunches were served buffet style at the beach bar not quite as elegant but varied and always a choice. The beach bar was also very good although they were having some trouble with the draft beer dispenser. Many top shelf liquors were included. I don't drink much but I did see Jim Beam, Jose Cuervo, Baily's and a few more. All staff were wonderful and more than willing to go the extra mile if required. I was a bit frustrated with flat beer and I mentioned it and it wasn't long till some cold cans appeared.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach gets the lowest points in this review, it is quite small and the bottom is a bit rough I did not swim in the ocean. There are three pools,the upper pool with swim up bar is not heated and is quite refreshing it is large and has a conversation pool area as well as steps leading into the pool that make it easy to ease into it. The lower pools by the beach, one is exclusively used for volleyball ant the other is more for relaxing than swimming as it is kept way too warm for me. The grounds are wonderful there is always crew working on the lawns picking up all leaves that have fallen cutting or knocking down any coconuts that may become a hazard always pristine. Oh yeah when I say upper and lower I mean 58 steps difference up and down (helps burn off some of the extra calories) seems a bit much but it really wasn't bad at all, there is also a slightly longer route with no steps just gradual incline. May not be that good for those with mobility problems.

Other Comments:
This resort is clothes optional and is run with the highest level of professionalism. I have read some reviews that indicated some visitors had encountered some public expressions of sexuality but I assure you that there was no such activities going on while I was there.I would strongly recommend anyone thinking about visiting Caliente Caribe to do it you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First Naturalist Experience"

Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Sep 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
780 people found this review helpful

This was my first trip to a naturalist/nudists resort and of course I was nervous. The place is gorgeous and looked like a great regular resort. In fact the only difference was (the naked guests of course) the high quality facilities but a less than expected number of guests. The grounds are divided into two elevations. You enter on the top of a bluff, the main dinning room, gym and cheaper rooms (in two towers) are here. Below are detached "Villas," and open air bar/snack bar, pool, massage table, beach, etc. To get from one to the other there are stairs or a long ramp.

Rooms:
We got the cheap rooms in one of the towers (much of the staff stays in the other tower). The room was very nice with a patio and view of the ocean and grounds.

Restaurants and Bars:
I personally loved the snack bar on the lower level next to the beach and the activities (volley ball, etc) pool. But there is a swim up pool side bar on the bluff that is very nice too.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds are extensive and quite nice. There are tennis courts, two pools, two hot tubs (one covered), a massage hut by the ocean. A tiny beach with lots of beach toys, kyaks, etc.
In the administration building you will also find a gift shop, business/computer office, excursions information and reservations and an equipped gym.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The staff is very friendly and they take no notice of naked guests. They have two activities people who provide continual entertainment. The wait staff is attentive as is the administration.

Other Comments:
As I was traveling alone and as this was my first time at a nudist resort I was afraid I would be too nervous to interact with any one. So I contacted an agency in Cabarette and they provided me with an English speaking companion who could translate Dominica/Spanish for me and make sure I wasn't sitting alone. This worked out great. I had made the reservation for two people and no one ever asked or said anything about the middle aged Gringo with the younger Dominican. (This is legal in the DR.)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"in need of better management"

Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Caliente Caribe Resort & Spa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  bob  on Jun 21, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
54 people found this review helpful

I had a wonderful time at this hotel but I think the hotel is in need of better management for maximum service to the guests. It is my first time in DR and I wanted to have the best time of my life here but the hotel kind of made that difficult but still, I had a great time. The hotel is basic and outdated but it is clean and tidy. Entertainment and other activities they had going on all day made the trip more fun for me and I used the opportunity to meet some great and amazing people. If you look past some of the hotels shortcomings, you will have a great time because it is the guests here and some staff members that made this vacation a wonderful one but I still canít give 4 star because the hotel needs better management. The activities I took part in with some customers which I gathered were repeated customers include volleyball and it was fun. The hotel buildings and villas need upgrades because they are rough around the edges but that didnít stop me from having the time of my life here. The rooms are clean and spacious but some things were not working, the bathroom was clean. The hotel grounds are also clean and the staff did a great job of making me and other guests comfortable. Internet service was very poor here so it might not be a good idea for those a business trip that may need to contact their office while here.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube