Islazul Los Delfines Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Islazul Los Delfines reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Cuatro Palmas

4.2 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2014

Villa Tortuga

4.1 based on 76 reviews
Last reviewed May 12, 2012

Acuazul

4.1 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 14, 2014

Club Tropical

3.8 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

BelleVue Sunbeach

3.8 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Varadero Internacional

3.8 based on 94 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2014

Islazul Los Delfines  

Ave. Playa y Calle 39 Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba

"nice staff"
Posted by: poski on Jul 14, 2014
see all reviews

Islazul Los Delfines Reviews
Islazul Los Delfines Pictures and Information
Islazul Los Delfines Varadero Cuba

#45
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.3

Based on 7 reviews

Islazul Los Delfines Information


It is one of Varadero Beach resortsí most historically and internationally best-known hotels, and boasts vast experience and a deeply rooted culture of welcoming visitors. Distinguished by its personalized treatment of clients and its warm, inviting, ambiance, this facility is located on the beach, in one of the most privileged areas of Varadero.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Islazul Los Delfines Reviews

Islazul Los Delfines Review: 4.3 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 7 of 7

"nice staff"

Islazul Los Delfines
User Rating:  Islazul Los Delfines Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  poski  on Jul 14, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
20 people found this review helpful

This is a small hotel located in downtown Varadero where you can get easy access to things like shops, restaurants and banks just outside the hotel so it has a wonderful location. The rooms are small but clean and has outdated furnishings with small balconies, the rooms though, they are comfortable. Itís the perfect hotel; it has everything you could possible want without having to go so many miles to get it. They have got a swimming pool for both adults and kids so its kid friendly for those traveling with kids and looking for a nice accommodation spot in Varadero, this is the place for you. Every of the staff was nice starting from the smiling bellman to the reception staff, they were very comfortable. The staff was so warm that they greet you daily with warm smiles that make it hard to forget their face or even their names. The kindness and warmness of the staff added to the very reason I enjoyed every moment I spent here. There are lots of activities to do daily here; they have these activities planned out for the guests such as ping pong and volleyball. The manager Luiz is a great man whose main goal is to make sure that every guest is comfortable so it was nice to meet you. Now the food was really amazing and I have to say thumbs up to the chef for making that possible. This hotel offers way better services compared to larger hotels and resorts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"nice place"

Islazul Los Delfines
User Rating:  Islazul Los Delfines Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  frenzo  on Jun 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
21 people found this review helpful

This is a small hotel located in downtown Varadero where you can get easy access to things like shops, restaurants and banks just outside the hotel so it has a wonderful location. The rooms are small but clean and has outdated furnishings with small balconies, the rooms though, they are comfortable. Itís the perfect hotel; it has everything you could possible want without having to go so many miles to get it. They have got a swimming pool for both adults and kids so its kid friendly for those traveling with kids and looking for a nice accommodation spot in Varadero, this is the place for you. Every of the staff was nice starting from the smiling bellman to the reception staff, they were very comfortable. The staff was so warm that they greet you daily with warm smiles that make it hard to forget their face or even their names. The kindness and warmness of the staff added to the very reason I enjoyed every moment I spent here. There are lots of activities to do daily here; they have these activities planned out for the guests such as ping pong and volleyball. The manager Luiz is a great man whose main goal is to make sure that every guest is comfortable so it was nice to meet you. Now the food was really amazing and I have to say thumbs up to the chef for making that possible. This hotel offers way better services compared to larger hotels and resorts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Location, small and quant"

Islazul Los Delfines
User Rating:  Islazul Los Delfines Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  lori  on Jan 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
214 people found this review helpful

Went to Los Delfines with my sister for R&R. Was pleasantly surprised with this really cute hotel. The food was half decent, rooms modest but clean, staff friendly, gorgeous beach in an active area of Veradero. For a small place the entertainment was fun as the animation staff make sure clients are engaged and enjoying their stay. Not a Big Fan of Cuba but would definitely go back to this hotel. You can walk off the grounds quite safely to neighbouring restaurants cafes,stores and restaurants.

Only irritating thing was when some of the visiting Cubano's lined up at the grill to demand "heaping" platefuls of meat while the rest of us had to wait for what seemed like an eternity. This self-centredness really bugged us a lot but they did not seem to care! Some of them took advantage of the free drinks waaaayyyy too much and were pushy at the bar expecting to be served before other awaiting clients.

All in all it was fun and I would recommend this hotel for sure! Friendly staff makes all the difference. Great beach front.

L

Arrival:
June 2011

Rooms:
clean but plain

Restaurants and Bars:
your average fare

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean, great beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
cafes, restaurants, cigar shops, markets, hair and beauty salon, carriage tour rides etc.. you are right in the heart of Veradero action. computer cafe down the street.

Other Comments:
worth the money. Note that many Cubanos travel here in the summer and although nice, they take over the restaurant so prepare to wait in the grill line for a very loooong time!

No computer access!!!!!!!!!!!!! so must go down the steet. phone calls very expensive to canada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Easy to walk around Varadero from here"

Islazul Los Delfines
User Rating:  Islazul Los Delfines Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paula from Nova Scotia  on Oct 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
283 people found this review helpful

Arrival: October 2009
My husband and I stayed at Los Delfinos in early October. We wanted to try a resort in 'downtown Varadero'.

Rooms:
Rooms were very clean. A safe was included but no mini fridge. Two twin beds that we just pushed together.

Restaurants and Bars:
Only the Buffet and the lobby bar-which was in a great spot right on the beach. The food was ok, we didn't have any stomach issues. We got a good deal on the resort package so did eat out several nights which was a nice treat. We enjoyed Bodegon Grillo and Antiqudades (the spelling is no doubt wrong on both!) They ran out of wine in the bar which was disappointing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was really close to the rooms.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Easy to walk around Varadero from here. We visited Parc Jossone and rented a car and visited friends in Matanzas.

Other Comments:
I liked how close everything was at this resort and the price. It was a small resort so you tended to make friends with other guests. I would go again, because I enjoyed the freedom of being downtown. It was easy to meet up with our Cuban friends and visit bars and restaurants outside the resorts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach was excellent"

Islazul Los Delfines
User Rating:  Islazul Los Delfines Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy from Mississauga  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Apr, 2009
296 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 11-18, 09
We arrived around 10:00pm. A little slow but staff was friendly. We were on vacation so we relaxed and chatted with the other tourists who were in line with us.

Rooms:
Our room was fine. It was fairly big. Two twin beds, a couple of night stands, two chairs and a desk/table. We had ample room to move around. The sink and closet were in a little alcove with a separate bathroom bathroom with roomy shower. Both the air conditioner and room safe were in working order and looked fairly new. We had a little balcony which I liked as I'm a smoker and my husband is not. The room was very, very clean. The first day our maid, Biorkes, left behind a welcome note in English, a one litre bottle of water and a vase of dried flowers. Everyday I left her a little note in my broken Spanish with a peso or two and some treats. Starting the second day not only did she clean our room, she hung and folded our clothes, towels etc and organized our footwear. Even though bottled water apparently was not included, she left a fresh bottle of water every day. It was the best maid service we have received in 20 years of travelling. We felt like we had hired a personal maid. Most days we had hot water but some it was lukewarm bordering on cold. We had a few ants behind out bathroom door; I just sprayed the area with Off every second day; problem solved. This kind of stuff doesn't bother us. After all, we are in a developing country. If we expected to get what we have at home, we'd stay at home. And to be quite frank, I wish some of the whiny, complaining people we've met had done just that. Basically, go with the flow and chill out.

Restaurants and Bars:
This was our eight time to Cuba, our first to Varadero and compared to other places we've been in Cuba, especially Cienfuegos and Trinidad, we did not have a problem with the food or the service. My husband is a very good cook and is fussy. Typically, he loses weight when we travel down South. Well, this time he didn't. We found the flavour of the food was more European vs. Cuban. Don't get me wrong, it was not 5 star but there was definitely something available every meal we liked. I personally loved the eggs. I have never had eggs so fresh or flavourable. I had fried or boiled eggs for breakfast and any salad available with eggs for lunch and dinner. We didn't really eat at the pool bar so we can't say what it was like. For the most part we found the bartenders friendly and helpful. As my husband is a beer drinker and I only drank alcohol in the evenings, we had no problem. When on vacation I always tell the bartender to surprise me. Also all the bartenders we had spoke several languages - Spanish, Italian, French and English. We had no problem with communication.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Didn't use the pool. The beach was excellent. The water was glorious. One of the best we've been on. Even though it was public, nobody bothered us. We spent every waking hour during the day on the beach. Lots of chairs; no need to go down early in the morning and stake your claim like other resorts we've been on. No problem getting shade either; more than enough palapas to go around. Also, as the resort is small, everything was at hand.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:

Other than volleyball, didn't really notice if any other activities available as we spend all our time on the beach. Nightly entertainment wasn't the best but we met some lovely people and we made our own fun. A few of us did the Varadero double decker bus which is open on the top and stops at all the resorts and the market. You purchase a day pass and you can ride all day from 9:00am til 8:00pm. This was lovely and gave us a chance to see the "strip".

Other Comments:
Found that tips actually counted at this resort. We've been to many others where it didn't seem to matter whether you tipped or not. Here at least if you tipped, it appeared they went that extra mile for you. We found out from one the bartenders that for 16 years this resort was exclusive to tourists from Italy. I think the reason our tips counted was that one bartender told us he had made more tips from the Canadians in 4 months than 16 years with the Italians. He said they loved the Canadians.

We had a great time and without a doubt we will go back again next April. For this time two weeks. Believe me, if you have never travelled to what I call the "real" Cuba, Varadero is luxury & modern in comparison.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you come go for Parting ...that would be a cheap place to go"

Islazul Los Delfines
User Rating:  Islazul Los Delfines Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dania from Toronto  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
277 people found this review helpful

Arrival
My arrival was pretty good. It was my second time to Varadero so I knew to expect. I didn't like my room so I asked the front for exchange and they didn't have any problem in doing so.The reception will hold your passport overnight, for what ever reason.

Rooms
My first room was small, not pleasant and look just old. I was disappointed with the standards that I was promised and only few rooms that had bathtubs. Most rooms they have showers only. Most of the clients at Los Delfines are Italian and French. Very few Canadians. Most of them complained about no hot water which wasn't my case. I knew that some hotels turn off the hot water over night so the hot water starts at 7:30-8 am.The rooms were kept clean at times how ever the maid was bit pushy. At one point I told her to come back (since I was sleeping) she was knocking the door every 15 minutes.

Restaurants and Bars
The restaurants were horrible. I would give them 2 stars or less. Nothing special and the service was pretty bad even though you tip them. Lots of people didn't bother tipping after few times.The COFFEE was Horrible at the restaurant and not fresh and was only provided in the morning. If you wanted coffee you have to go to the bar where they make you a fresh one (which was great) ..The Bar had few good drinks but Mohitos were not alway available since the bartender had to provide his own mint.So sometimes there were Mohitos sometimes there were none, however they would do mix anything for you and they are generous with the alcohol amounts.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach was great.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
It was too cold for activities. Night entertainment was not that great.

Other Comments
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families or people who want to have a nice time. It is in the middle of the city and 2 min form Casa la Musica which is a great local club however if you want a relaxing vacation this is not resort for you. If you come go for Parting ...that would be a cheap place to go.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff was wonderful"

Islazul Los Delfines
User Rating:  Islazul Los Delfines Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeannette from Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
301 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 3/09 to Jan 10/09
Checked in late at night. About 16 of us checking in. It went quickly

Rooms:
There are 3 sections. The two section on either side of the pool are great. These are the newest. The other two sections, not so good.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food not bad for a 3*. They tried. The hotdogs, hamburgers, pizza and potato chips were decent at pool bar from 10 am to 5 pm.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was faboulous. For a small resort (100 rooms) it was beautiful. The staff was wonderful.

Other Comments:
If the banker is a man. Watch out. I would go to this resort again. The four of us (age 45 - 68) had a great time. The flea market is within walking distance. There were plenty of chairs/longes everywhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube