Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Samana Peninsula > Samana Peninsula Hotel Index > Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Samana Peninsula Hotels with Similar Ranking

Gran Bahia Príncipe El Portillo

4.3 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 9, 2014

Gran Bahía Príncipe Samaná

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 29, 2010

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado  

Isla Cayo Levantado - Samaná - Dominican Repúblic.

"La Isla Bonita!!!!!"
Posted by: Dayel  on Aug 8, 2013
see all reviews

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Reviews
Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Pictures and Information
Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Samana Peninsula Dominican Republic

#3
of 54 Hotels in Samana Peninsula

User rating 4.6

Based on 14 reviews

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Information


Cayo Levantado, one of the most beautiful islands in the world, is the ideal place to enjoy a luxury holiday in an incomparable setting of nature and comfort.
This wonderful hotel, Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, offers all the features needed to make your holiday a dream trip.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Reviews

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 4.6 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  4
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (8)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
1 - 10 of 14

"La Isla Bonita!!!!!"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dayel  on Aug 8, 2013  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
227 people found this review helpful

Dayel and Natalie – July 20-Aug 3rd 2013

Soooooooooo sexy! Leave the kids at home and recharge the romance! This resort is fantastic for the libido. Hold hands, kiss, hug and reconnect…the setup at Cayo Levantado is perfect for lovers!

Room Number:
14103

Room Block:
14

Arrival:
Flew to Samana on WestJet from Toronto with no issues at all. The transfer from Airport to the boat that takes you to Cayo Levantado was interesting and enjoyable. The return flight by WestJet was also fine but do expect some backlog at the airport as they take their time and you must make your way through a series of 4 security checks before embarking. The WestJet rep (Herman) at the resort is a bit of a PITA. He demands that all WestJetters attend the orientation the day after arrival to ensure they get the departure document needed to leave the country. In the end all he wants is to push tours on you so he can get his “cut” from the tour operators. You can get the departure document at the airport on arrival or when you leave. They are everywhere.


Check-in – The check in was done at the port before getting to the island. Tagged our luggage with room number, filled out a form and away we went. Our luggage met us in our room unscathed. Very efficient.

Rooms:
SEXY!!!! An excellent room with King Size bed, Jet tub, great shower and separate water closet. Robes, slippers, sitting area and great balcony make this room a great place to unwind after a hard day at the beach. Room power is 120V North American, with hairdryer and all toiletries provided and replaced daily. We were in the 1400 block (14103) and absolutely loved the location…private and quiet with a great view of the ocean and associated greenery on the island. Bed is extra firm and pillow is solid. If you wish for softer pillows bring your own.

Restaurants and Bars:
All 3 al a cartes are excellent. Don’t miss a chance to try them out. The Buffet has great variety and is excellent for vegetarians like myself. Lots to choose from. We loved the Dominican night on Fridays. Most others loved the Thursday Gala night.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:

Beaches – WOW! 3 beaches to choose from. The wavy/windy beach. We loved this spot as the constant sea breeze kept you cool during the day. Playing in the large waves was great fun and also kept you moving! The quiet beach. More Caribbean in nature, calm waters, very warm and relaxing. The Public Beach. By far the best beach and for great stretches of the day you will have this place almost to yourself. Best snorkeling, best sand, and best water on the island.

Pools – 2 Pools. The Upper quiet pool was great for a quick dip after the beach to relax and wash some of that salt water off your body. Water is VERY warm and the ambience is fantastic! The lower Beach pool is also beautiful and very warm, but we didn’t spend any time there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Tours – Didn’t take any tours, but kept hearing about the zip line tour…many people loved this tour and said it was one of the best they had done. Don’t let your tour operator sway you from taking a tour offered at the beach. Many use them for snorkel and diving tours with no issue at all.

Nightly entertainment – Fairly mundane. This is not party central and all activities are kept low key. Great place to just talk and get to know other people. The Michael Jackson night was pretty good and well done.

Other Comments:
This is the first resort we have gone to where we have decided to go back again. It is simply splendid, do not miss a chance to go to Cayo Levantado!

Many more comments over in the forum..
http://www.tripadvisor.ca/ShowTopic-g147294-i1628-k6622250-Re_Luxury_Bahia_Principe_Cayo_Levantado-Samana_Province_Dominican_Republic.html

Photos: http://s1284.photobucket.com/user/dbpeterson1956/library/?sort=2&page=1

Videos: http://s1366.photobucket.com/user/dayel1956/library/?sort=2&page=1

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A wonderful and relaxing vacation...just some things to note"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Samira  on Jul 10, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
244 people found this review helpful

My husband and I were at the Cayo Levantado for one week from June 29-July 6, 2013. We booked with Westjet vacations via a travel agent (no difference in cost when booking online or through a travel agent) and had no complaints. Hermin, our Westjet vacation rep was excellent! We had a very nice and relaxing vacation but for the amount of money I paid, I was expecting a little bit more in terms of service. We have traveled a lot (Mexico, Bahamas, Punta Cana, Jamaica, etc.) so my review here is based on our comparison of other resorts we have stayed at. We booked this resort as it was recommended to us from a work colleague and also the fact that it recently became an all adults resort in May 2013.

By reading this review, please don’t get me wrong, overall my husband and I enjoyed ourselves very much. This is a beautiful resort and not very commercialized so in that aspect it is a great place. We met some wonderful people whom we hung out with at night so that was great. If you like a quiet resort and just want to relax where there are not a lot of people then you should visit this place at least once. There is free Wifi on the resort and in your room which was a bonus for us as we could stay in touch with our kids at home throughout the day. My review here is to emphasize the little things that I would improve to make this place an even more wonderful experience for a 5star all adults resort.

Room Number:
10101

Room Block:
Villa 10

Rooms:
We booked a deluxe villa and it was wonderful. The room was large and gorgeous. Just a couple of things to note: one that we found the bed to be very uncomfortable and the pillows were not the greatest. But we had a pillow service included in our room so I had to call in for some better pillows. The second thing was that the water pressure in the shower was very low so I did not really enjoy my showers too much and it would take a long time for the water in the shower to turn hot so I had to keep it running a bit before taking a shower. All in all, it was fine.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is very good. They have one main buffet restaurant (open from 7-10am, 1-3pm and 7-10pm), one buffet outdoor restaurant at the main pool and beach (open from 10am-noon and then from 1-3pm) and three a la carte restaurants (open only during the evenings from 7-10pm). Reservations were required at the a la carte restaurants and there were no restrictions on the number of times you could visit them. Now if you missed lunch during the lunch interval then you had to wait until 7pm to get something to eat unless you went to your room to order room-service (available 24hrs but the room service menu is not the greatest but sufficient). My preference would have been to have at least one restaurant open during all hours as we have experienced in other resorts. The buffet has a variety of selections to choose from and a different theme every night. My husband did not particularly enjoy the a la carte as the portion serving for him (especially at the Don Pablo) was not very large. He ended up visiting the buffet after eating here. At the Italian restaurant (Portofino), my husband wanted to order a selection from “Meat and Fish” section and also one selection from the “Pasta and Pizza” section but the waiter said we couldn’t do that and that we could only order one main dish. I questioned the waiter on this so eventually he let us place the order we wanted. I have to say that I have never experienced this anywhere at any resorts and was a bit annoyed. In the end it all turned out fine. If I was to rate the food at these a la carte, I would place them in order of Don Pablo, Mediterranean and then Italian (best to least). Also, I love Lobster but I found the lobster at both the buffet and Mediterranean restaurant to be overcooked. We also found it annoying that the main bar in the lobby closed at 11pm and if you wanted drinks after this time, you had to go to the public beach (which was private to the people staying at the resort from 11pm-2am). This is a bit ridiculous to us as the bar should be open in the lobby where most people are sitting after dinner to enjoy drinks until late hours.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are not too many activities at this resort. Also they do not give out a daily activities sheet (which I have seen at other resorts so you know what is happening and at what time). They did have beach volleyball, exercise class at the beach, and some nights a show but you did not know what time any of these were or what show was happening at which night. You had to go to the main beach pool where they had a board up for the activities happening but there was no time posted so you had to ask someone what time these were at. My suggestion would be to distribute a daily activities sheet to everyone.

We did not do any tours off the resort.

Pools:
There are three pools, one main large pool near the beach, another large pool near the main building and then a small pool with three Jacuzzis hidden in the midst of the villas. The pools are very nice and well-maintained. We could always find a hut and chairs even if we showed up late which was excellent. For a 5-star I was expecting someone to continuously come and take drink orders but this did not happen too much. This was fine with me as I did not mind getting up to go to the bar. We stayed at the larger pool near the main building most of the time and I may have seen a staff member once in the morning to come by and ask if we wanted something to drink and that was it. Plus the towels would run out by 2pm and we would have a hard time getting new ones.

Beaches:
There are two beaches, one is a private beach and one is a public beach. My husband and I did not visit the public beach as we heard that the locals approach you a lot to force you to buy things so we preferred to stay at the private beach. The private beach is nice and small, it is not the best beach I have ever been to, the water is very rough, there is seaweed and the sand is not very smooth so if you are a beach person, then maybe this is not the best place for you. For us, we stayed mainly at the pools which was fine.

Service:
I found the service to be on and off. At some places in the resort it was great and at other places not so much. The staff hardly speak English which I found for the first time to be quite difficult. I have found that at other resorts, the staff to be very friendly and will go out of their way to assist you even if they did not speak the greatest English. Mind you, the reception staff were wonderful and always addressed any concerns we had which was wonderful. I found this more of an issue around the pools and a la carte restaurants where it would have been nice to see the waiter smiling a bit more, rather than just coming by and saying what would you like to order. I also found that if you spoke Spanish, they definitely treated you better and you also got treated well if you tipped a lot. I am fine with tipping but I do not think I should be forced to tip to get better service. I mean this is a 5star resort and people have paid enough money to come here for excellent service. One time, my husband was at the lobby bar and found that no one was taking his drink order. The bar tender served the person that came after my husband who spoke Spanish first until my husband had to say something to get drinks.

Summary:
Overall I would definitely recommend this place. It is a beautiful resort and very clean. The rooms are excellent and food is very good. We did enjoy ourselves a lot as we were looking for a quiet and relaxing week which we got. Most likely we would not come back, not because of any of the things I mentioned but because we prefer to visit different resorts and places. The things I have listed above are minor things which most of us can overlook but I thought it would be helpful for others to read and also for the resort to note to continue improving on their service and quality people are expecting from a 5-star all-inclusive adult resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous hotel ....but the scenery is outstanding"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Jul 4, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
246 people found this review helpful

I can only support what so many others have said, this hotel is the bees knees!! and I won't repeat too much detail !!
We had a 1st floor room in villa 4 with a full seaview - I suspect that you would be able to see the whales direct from the balcony in the early months of the year - the room was quiet,enormous,well equipped & was kept spotless,the towels were changed twice a day if needed - only one small eccentricity - the time that the maid would come to do the turn down service was variable to say the least. One night she came at 6:20pm when we were just showering,another night she wasn't doing her rounds until 9:45pm!!!
Service in all the bars and restaurants was first class - no need to wave greenbacks to get a drink!!
Also our favorite waitress at the main bar ,Karen(?) - always smiling and (nearly)always remembered my Jamesons!!
Food was generally very good - we only ate at one of the a la cartes,Don Pablos, -food was excellent albeit small portions!!
Buffet varied from satisfactory to excellent -Oriental,Gala and Mexican themed nights were outstanding.
Beaches and pools were beautiful -always somewhere to lie down and plenty of beach towels available.
Finally the SCENERY !! -The island surroundings are outstanding - the grounds are stunning and well looked after - quite simply the best hotel environment we have ever stayed in.
Would we go again? Extremely likely altho' we wouldn't look forward to repeating the transfers to and from Puerto Plata in a hurry after a 10 hour flight from the UK!!

Room Number:
4202

Room Block:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"perfect place"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  lesley  on Jul 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Wedding | Family and Kids
263 people found this review helpful

there isn't much else to say about this resort except fabulous I have just got home from my 4th time there this time I was there for my wedding everything was so perfect thanks to samona wedding coordinator it was a perfect wedding I would recommend this hotel to anyone there is some people who deserve a big hello, first of is walkie who works at the lobby bar who recognised us straight away it was just like going home the welcome we got from him then there is micky and Eduardo who would bring our drinks to us at night while we were just sitting out side and there was 19 people all together and they would all ways get the drinks correct I was in villa 7 and would like to thank are cleaner who always had a smile on his face and kept our room so clean the only thing really was they would run out of white wine and most of us woman drank only wine so some night we couldn't get a drink and the men would run out of there drinks like jack daniels and other shorts that they drank so if the hotel could order more than they think they need then this problem wouldn't happen but apart from this it really is my dream vacation and we will be back next June 2014 hope to still see Alexi there he is a very nice man who was even at the boat to wave us all off so to all my family at cayo levantado see you soon.

Room Block:
villa 7

Rooms:
perfect rooms

Restaurants and Bars:
fabulous food through out the resort

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
perfect

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect location for stylish relaxation"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynn  on Jun 26, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
259 people found this review helpful

This is the third time that we have visited this hotel and we have been to several other locations in the Domincan Republic - however Samana is our favourite destination in this country so far.

The hotel has everything that we want in a holiday good service, lovely surroundings, safe environment with staff who really do want you to have a great holiday with them.

It is located on a small island off the mainland and a short boat trip will bring you to the mainland where you can access lots of trips and excursions and really get to see this wonderful part of the world.

The hotel ticks all of the boxes for us, we are not party people and this hotel, now Adult Only has a low key entertainment programme with a quality and variety of food and drink that we appreciate.

We have met many people at this hotel who are repeat guests and I think that says a lot.

We hope to return again soon.

Room Number:
5104

Room Block:
Villa 5

Arrival:
Check in completed on the bus - very efficient - luggage was handled from the plane to our room - first class

Rooms:
Very spacious and fully equipped house keeping 9/10 and all the facilities you would expect from a five star hotel

Restaurants and Bars:
All the food sampled was of a good quality and the variety good. Gala night in the bufffet included lobster and the three a la carte restaurants served good quality food and drink in a more formal atmosphere. Top shelf spirits served in the lobby bar and cava on tap in all the bars should you want it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds immaculate and beach and pools clean and uncrowded with plenty of sunbeds and shade

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Plenty to chose from if you are active or not.

Other Comments:
Would return to this hotel in a hearbeat, however it is not suitable for single sex groups as there is no late night casino/night club activities

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"PARADISE ISLAND!!!!"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judy  on Jun 25, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2013 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
275 people found this review helpful

Well, we just returned from a week away to this resort and I must say, WOW! This was our 5th time at a Bahia Principe resort in the Dominican and I must say the grounds were absolutely beautiful. Staff was kind, friendly and genuine. We have not one complaint. We were first located in suite 206 in the main building over the main restaurant terrace. The room/balcony and view was great but we were directly up from the tables and there seemed to be a lot of cigarette smokers so we decide to see if there was a better location. So a shout out to Ramone who took care of us and got us a room in building 11 for a small cost to upgrade, it was well worth it!!!! Very quiet and the view was awesome! Our Air Canada rep Joel was one of the best we have had in 20 years. He was very educated about the area and we had all we needed to know on the bus ride to the resort. There was no need to have an orientation at the resort. All staff were great, can not complain one bit. The guys behind the grill work hard in that heat so a shout out to them as well! And Alexis was everywhere. That guy does not sleep. Extremely friendly, spoke to everyone to make sure you were happy.

One of the best holidays we had in the 25 years of travelling!!!!!

Room Number:
11102

Room Block:
Villa 11

Photos: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g147294-d150844-r162906302-Luxury_Bahia_Principe_Cayo_Levantado_Don_Pablo_Collection-Samana_Province_Dominic.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dominican Republic All Inclusive Resort"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eric  on Aug 21, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
338 people found this review helpful

The best Dominican Republic All Inclusive Resort!

I went to the Gran bahia principe cayo levantado, mid-June 2012.
I loved it so much that I wanted to write a review about it.

Room Number:
4th floor

Room Block:
Main Lobby Building

Arrival:
Boy, it was ever hot. I am not too sure if June is a bad choice.(I think it is still fine to go there in June since the price is cheaper!) As soon as landed on the ground, we can feel the heat. If you are a first time visitor, please be careful of a strange man grabbing your luggages. They don't steal your bags but they want tips. In fact, the air port is so small that you don't want to give him a tip. your bus should be right there approximately, 50m ahead and I think you can push your carrier for 20 feet. Your bus ride might not be the greatest, but you can take a nap or something or listening to the music, the time will go so fast!

Rooms:
Luckily, we've got a ocean view standard room. It is nice and clean. The size is huge. the king size bed is nice and hard(I love hard bed, some people don't like it though) In my opinion, you don't need to upgrade more than standard room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Don Pablo, an Italian restaurants. this one is one of the best restaurants if you are tired of buffet food although every night, the buffet menu changes. But if you want a romantic dinner with your love, you must go there, order lobster and stake called "prince and princess". It is so good. I will never forget.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Gran bahia principe cayo levantado, Dominican Republic All Inclusive Resort has a private beach as well as a public beach. You don't know how amazing to have a private beach, There is a lunch buffet(BBQ), you can drink ice cold beverage. It is so good. Oh, did I mention it is so quite and peaceful to have a private beach. Trust me. It is worth to pay.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Zipline, highly recommended. even though it is a bit expensive in my opinion, hey, you paid thousands of dollars to get here and you want to save $100? I think you should still do it.

Other Comments:
I have tried snorkelling. It was very fun experience. I have bought, snorkelling gears, water shoes. We didn't go deeper. But you see many kinds of fish as well as star fish. you can feed them with a bread from buffet or banana. the fish will come near you and you can pet them like a dog and a cat.

Photos: http://dominicanrepublicallinclusiveresort.com

Videos: http://dominicanrepublicallinclusiveresort.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"You've got to experience this remote island once in your life"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alysia & Mike  on Sep 3, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
806 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Gran Bahia Cayo Levantado from June 12 to 19, 2010. We went with another couple and their 19 month old son. This was a resort that my husband has always wanted to go to but the price was never right. We thought we were getting a good deal until we found out that we had only paid for a superior room with WestJet Vacations.

Let me point out that WestJet’s taxes a lot lower than other tour operators and their staff are the most friendly bunch you will ever encounter. The flight was good and going through customs and getting our luggage was quick. We met with our Hola Sun representative and to our surprise, our names were not on the list but our friend’s names were. The rep just told us to go ahead on the bus. After an hour and 20 minute bus ride with no A/C, we arrive at the mainland reception.

Arrival:
At the mainland building, we filled out the paperwork, got our keycard and bracelet and then, it was off to the ferry. The transfer time is only about 5 minutes. Once we got to the resort, we were greeted by management and a cocktail. He told us where we can find everything and how to book a la carte dinner reservations. He then directed us to our rooms and told us that we could grab a snack by the pool. I was very impressed how quickly the check in process went.

Rooms:
We got to our room (#217), it’s on the second floor in the main building. We were quite disappointed to open our curtains and find out that we were facing the maintenance building where a lot of employees hang out. The room is a very standard room – closet with electronic safe, hangers, iron and ironing board, bathrobe and slippers; a king bed, tv, desk, sofa, chair and a very large bathroom with a Jacuzzi and separate shower. I have to admit that it’s very dark in the bathroom and room, even with all the lights on but it didn’t bother us. Prior to our arrival, I did email the resort and request villas 2-11 with a king size bed on the top floor, also with an ocean view. I did receive a reply informing me that they could not accommodate my request because it wasn’t the room category we purchased and they also included a price list for upgrades. This is when we realized that we had booked a superior room. Please be careful of this if you plan to go to this resort. After settling into our room and exploring the resort, we came back to the room to find a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and crispies (It’s their version of rice krispies with white chocolate). There was a letter from the person I was exchanging emails with. They had been upgraded us to a junior superior suite and they had also made reservations for us that night at the Don Pablo restaurant. Totally unexpected and very thoughtful. Our friends were staying in room #215. They had a superior room. There is not much of a difference except we had a larger window opening from the washroom and bedroom and we had a separate shower and they had a shower head coming out of the wall above their jacuzzi tub. There was no glass or wall anywhere so when they showered, water sprayed everywhere. A few days after our arrival, a glass wall was installed (and they didn’t even file a complaint). The room was cleaned daily and little chocolates were only left once on our pillows. We received towel art every day and the maid lined up all our shoes and fold our clothes into piles that we left on the sofa.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet is located in the main building. It serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. It has a terrace which we never ate on because it was just too hot outside. I found that they had a good selection to items to choose from. We fell in love with these mashed carrots and potatoes one evening and never saw them again. They had different themed nights (they are listed at the reservation desk in the lobby) such as Mexican, Spanish, Gala, Oriental, Italian, Barbeque & Dominican. At breakfast, they had the typical spread - made to order omelettes, french toast, pancakes, bacon, sausages, pastries and delicious donuts covered in sugar (they are my favorite). What I liked was they had a separate section that had fried eggs (this is what I usually order from the omelette guy), poached and hard boiled eggs. There was also a variety of fresh juices, yogurt, cereals and fruits. Lunch and dinner was your typical fare - you can select your meat to be grilled and a pasta station. There is a vegetarian corner and lots of breads. Each night, they put out a display of appetizers according to what the themed night is. The wait staff is very attentive, always refilling your glass, whether it's wine or water. One night, a guy with a cart of turkey would come around and carve off a slice for you and pour gravy all over. It was delicious and the best turkey I have ever had in my life.

You can make your reservations at the desk or on the 24 hour computer in the lobby.

Don Pablo (Gourmet)
Instead of choosing what to eat off the menu, we decided on the five course set dinner. We started off with crackers with some type of jelly on it, then pumpkin and asparagus cold soup, a tomato topped with deep fried cheese, our main entree was beef tenderloin & lobster on a skewer and for dessert, chocolate fantasy and an apple tartin.

Both these restaurants are located by the pool by the beach. You need to take the elevator to get to them. It's quite a far walk and very dark:

Portofino (Italian)
Some of the dishes we ordered were caprese inssalata caprese, trio of bruschetta, mushroom soup, mushroom & lobster penne (a must for this restaurant, so flavourful and filling) beef medallions (didn't look very appetizing) and shrimp pizza and for dessert, tiramisu.

Mediterraneo (Mediterranean)
The house appetizer is a potato and tuna dish. Very tasty considering I don't like tuna. Some of the dishes we ordered were the greek salad, shrimp cocktail appetizer, the lobster entrée (a must if you are going to eat here), chicken entrée, cheesecake and chocolate mousse.

There are four bars in the resort, Daiquiri (lobby), Flamboyan (quiet pool), Hibyscus (pool by the beach) and a bar by the jacuzzi. The quiet pool bar makes a very refreshing non-alcohol drink called Very Well. Also, by this pool, they come around very 20 minutes to see if you want a drink. The lobby bar serves a delicious cappuccino. We didn't try any of the cocktails, we drank beer (El Presidente) for most of the trip.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach on Cayo Levantado are broken up into 2 beaches. There is the calm side and the wavy side. Both have its pros and cons. I'll start with the calm side. The water here is very swimmable and the scenery is AMAZING! You can watch a flock of Pelicans fish all day. The only problem we had with the beach was that it was really narrow. Most of the beach is filled up with trees and you can't really get "personal" space due to the size of the beach. You're pretty much side by side with strangers. Since it is also filled up with trees, which amount to an abundance of bugs, leaves and dead fruit falling on you. Getting a good spot to catch some sun is nearly impossible unless you decide to hang out on the ends of the beach. The wavy beach is the perfect beach! The water is fun to play in and there is plenty of space for you to get comfortable in. It is wide and there is a perfect sun/shade ratio. The problem with this beach is that it is REALLY WINDY. If this doesn't bother you, it is the perfect place, as it was for my husband. For me however, it was difficult to get comfortable with the wind howling in your ear. Now if we had to pick the perfect spot on the beach, it would be on the right side of the calm beach near the water sports center. There is also a public beach which is huge but we never wandered over there since you have to pay for chairs to lounge in. It is after all an island so you can't really be that picky with the wideness and length of the beach.

There are two pools, a quiet pool that is close to the main building and the main pool by the beach. Both pool close at 7 pm and have plenty of loungers and palapas around them. The quiet pool has beds with draping over them which provide some shade. At each pool, there is an activities hut where you can pick up some towels, books or board games. At the beginning of our trip, after eating lunch, we would come back to the pool or beach only to find nowhere to sit, because every chair had a towel on it. Later in the week we realized that you didn't have to keep your towels or exchange it at the end of the day. You can just leave it there and it will be picked up later in the evening. You can also pick up new towels whenever you would like a fresh one and you can even get more than one. I am not sure if this is a great system but I must say, there was never a shortage of towels, the huts were always being replenished throughout the day. There wasn't too many pool activites in the main pool, most of the activities took place beside the pool but on the beach. I would highly suggest staying by the quieter pool. If you want to chill out, stay close to the gym as they have some speakers hidden in the grass that plays very relaxing, spa-type music.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
This is the one thing I have to complain about. There is a little poster board on top of the piano outside of the main buffet, it lists all the activities throughout the day. I wanted to try participating in the painting or arts & crafts but it did not say where it was taking place. We all wanted to go to the Sunday ice cream party but again, we didn't know where it was happening. In the evening, the animation team and manager go around the terrace and lobby to tell guests that the nightly entertainment would be happening at the public beach. We never went to see one show. On our last night, we received a letter saying there was going to be a "white party" by the quiet pool at 8:30 pm. Around 9:00 pm, we went to check it out but only saw it all set up but no guests or staff there.

Other Comments:



Check out:
We were given an option for express checkout the night before our departure date but we checked out at 9:30 am and waited for our 10 am boat. When we arrived to the mainland, we had to wait another hour for our bus to arrive. The bus arrived half an hour early but two people were missing when the rep did his count so we had to wait half an hour before leaving, luckily this bus had A/C. We got to the airport and we were the only ones at the airport. The check in counter still issues manual boarding passes and luggage tags so it took some time to for them to write everything down. It was quite annoying but it made for less waiting time at the gate. There is a huge duty free shop and one restaurant that charges $20 for a hamburger and fries. Make sure you eat at the resort before you leave.

Overall:
This is a beautiful resort but I feel like we didn't fully take advantage of what the resort has to offer because our room was in the main building. The entire resort is well-maintained and runs perfectly. I don't think that we would go back but if we did, we would make sure that we were staying in a villa instead of the main building. In my opinion, the transfer time is too long for me - the 90 minute bus ride and then the boat ride plus all the time in between handling the luggage. It was an experience being on a remote island but since we were not too impressed with the narrow beach, we are crossing this resort off of our to-go list and will probably stick to our favorite, Punta Cana, instead.

Photos: http://travel.webshots.com/album/578512076mHBuRy?vhost=travel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Best of the Best"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Aug 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
821 people found this review helpful

Have you ever imagined floating away to your own private island...Than it's time to introduce yourself to the wonders of Cayo Levantado. This resort sits on it own 1 sq. KM island about a 1/2 mile off the beautiful coast of the Samana peninsula. The main building houses about 96 standard rooms and a number of suites. The rest of the suites are spread out around the island in beautiful villa buildings. NONE of the rooms face the island's interior. They all face the caribbean. The suites feature wonderfully appointed rooms with a bathroom to die for. As my girlfriend and I said from the minute we got there, we're not going home!!!

This is the best resort in the DR. But don't be afraid. As is the case in the DR, this is not an expensive vacation.

Arrival:
Arrival is quick and easy with the resort check-in on the mainland. A quick boatride and you're at your dream vacation.

Rooms:
Awesome!!! Please tip your room staff, They work hard, get paid very little, and they will reward you with beautiful towel scultures to welcome you home everday.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are three gourmet restaurants; Don Pablo's is open every night and features a great surf & turf dinner, wonderful lamb, and a dessert they call a Mug of Hot Chocolate which is actually a mug of Chocolate Mousse topped with their version of whipped Cream. The Portifino and the Mediterrian Restaurants are beachside and alternate nights. At the Mediterranian you can have a Caribbean Lobster, or two, any night. The Portofino has some very nice Italian dishes. Thge main building features the buffet which is good everynight with a lot of variety. The extra special thing at the restaurants is how beautifully the plates are presented. Every night they feauture a special pre-appetizer and a special Dominican drink. You have your choice of all the well drinks as well as Red, White, Rosa, and Champagne. The service is incredible. All the staff try very hard to understand Inglais. Just try to use a little espanola and they will be very happy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They have 2 pools and a jaquzzi. All are very tranquil and there is not any of that lounger squating that goes on down in Punta Cana, not even from the Euros. The pools aren't deep, .4 to 1.4 meters. So, you can walk or swim. People hung out at the pools until sunset.

There are three beaches on the island. The resort utilizes all three even though one is technically a public beach. The public beach is the best. There are plenty of lounges there(no charge), a bar with cheap drinks, some wonderfully filling up a carved out pineapple or coconut. There is also a small trinket shopping area which feauters the most low key sellers in the DR.

The 2 beaches on the hotel property are beautiful but small. One side has a pretty stiff wave set, not for the feint of heart, the other side is calm and tranquil as it is protected by a reef.

Just magnificant

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Wonderful Animation Team. Just loved the antics of Angel, David, and Natasha. Again, these guys are "no pressure" but offer a lot of fun.

If are are adventurous, head back to the mainland and go to Limon Falls and Playa Rincon. The falls are beautiful. Rincon is rated the 4th most beautiful beach in the world...no arguments here. For both excusions there are horseback rides in. At Rincon you are treated to a caribbean style Lobster lunch under a thatched roof.

Other Comments:
As this is my sixth trip to the DR, I can say unequivically that these are some of the nicest people in the world. I have been to Puerto Plata and Punta Cana, but I can honestly say I will be returning to Cayo Levantado as this is the best resort in the DR.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most Beautiful Resort ...What More Can I Say !!!"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Apr 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
749 people found this review helpful

My Husband & I along with two other Couples spent a week at the Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. It is one of the most Beautiful Resorts we have been to. A 5* for sure. No complaints!! Great Food ..Great Service and a beautiful Island. I read all of the reviews before leaving and have no idea where some of the complaints came from . We couldn't have been treated better.Would love to return again soon

Your Arrival:
We arrived April 8th ..2010

Rooms:
Beautiful Rooms ....4 poster beds !!! Keep very clean !

Restaurants and Bars:
We only did the Don Pablo ...It was lovely !!...Loved the Buffets!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Best !!!

Other Comments:
Overall Very Satisfactory!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube