Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Samana Peninsula > Samana Peninsula Hotel Index > Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Samana Peninsula Hotels with Similar Ranking

Gran Bahia Príncipe El Portillo

4.3 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 17, 2017

Gran Bahía Príncipe Samaná

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 29, 2010

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado  

Isla Cayo Levantado - Samaná - Dominican Repúblic.

"it was a good stay"
Posted by: johnson on Nov 30, 2014
see all reviews

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Reviews
Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Pictures and Information
Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Samana Peninsula Dominican Republic

#3
of 56 Hotels in Samana Peninsula

User rating 4.5

Based on 15 reviews

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Information


Cayo Levantado, one of the most beautiful islands in the world, is the ideal place to enjoy a luxury holiday in an incomparable setting of nature and comfort.
This wonderful hotel, Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, offers all the features needed to make your holiday a dream trip.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Reviews

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 4.5 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  5
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (9)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
11 - 15 of 15

"Most Beautiful Resort ...What More Can I Say !!!"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Apr 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
1194 people found this review helpful

My Husband & I along with two other Couples spent a week at the Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. It is one of the most Beautiful Resorts we have been to. A 5* for sure. No complaints!! Great Food ..Great Service and a beautiful Island. I read all of the reviews before leaving and have no idea where some of the complaints came from . We couldn't have been treated better.Would love to return again soon

Your Arrival:
We arrived April 8th ..2010

Rooms:
Beautiful Rooms ....4 poster beds !!! Keep very clean !

Restaurants and Bars:
We only did the Don Pablo ...It was lovely !!...Loved the Buffets!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Best !!!

Other Comments:
Overall Very Satisfactory!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BEAUTIFUL ISLAND & BEACH ....ruined by cheap management"

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dan from AB  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
996 people found this review helpful

I dont wanna repeat what other reviews stated about how beautiful the place is,great staff,big hola to Dallila at customers realtions,Pablo at front desk,Calixto,Maximo the best bartender,roberto,jesus,& all the staff ,u make the hotel even nicer,Thanx all for great service.The biggest problem there is how the management is cutting corners in areas which for me makes the whole experience feel like i stayed at a 2 star hotel in cuba,from the lack of variety of food @ the buffet to the cheapest drinks ever available (i'm talking gasoline grade liquors ) i was talking to some guests while there,& it was the joke of the week,some of them said that all drinks are exactly the same (gin ,vodka,rum ,& all flavoured liquors are NORMANDY brand (cheapest liquor availabe anywhere) with different colours added to it,someone said that its the way the management is combating mosquitos,as the guests blood is all saturated with cheap alcohol,mosquitos wouldn't bite lol....seriously no mosquitos arround,i met a dominican guest there who mentioned that not a single dominiacn person would even touch any of those drinks...& these are the only drinks available all over the beach ,the pool,& even in their supposodly gourmet restaurant ,try to have a congac after dinner at DON PABLO restaunat & u'll br greeted by a NORMANDY BRANDY (only good to clear a stuffy nose if u smell it)not for human consumption !!!! one guest thought we change the name of the restaurant to DON POBRE (POOR) lol .....one tip when you go the front lobby thinking u can have a bloody mary with smirnoff (their premium drink)!!!!!!! be careful some of the bartenders will go to the back & mix it with the cheap stuff, as per managemant orders.request ur drinks to be mixed in front of u!!!all in all we enjoyed the island,but would never go back there unless some other chain takes over this beautiful resort & change it to a real 5 stars ---------------------

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent run resort. Never have seen so many workers per guest in my life."

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Larry & Luba from Stoney Creek Ontario  on Aug 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009
908 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Sept 2009

Larry and Luba Canada

About Us:We're a couple in our late fifties and this was our eighth visit to the DR. and our second time to Samana. We got a very good last minute deal. There is a photo link at the bottom of the review which might help also.

Flight: Flew Air Canada on an Airbus 319. Seating was three seats per side and each seat had a LCD screen in the back of it. Different movie and music options made for the most varied selection we've had so far on a flight south. I'm six feet tall and leg room was fine. It was an economy seat. Had to purchase food ,liked this option better than some of the surprises we've had in the past. Avoid the roast beef sandwich, has a very high amount of sodium. Go for the chicken sandwich. Arrival: Landed at Samana airport, found the bus and was on our way. Bus has no washroom on board. Trip took around one hour but the scenery can be quite beautiful. Dropped off people first at GBP Cayocao and then on to the mainland reception office. Here we got all the resort / room. info. Then took the ride over by boat and it was a 5-7 minute trip. They took care of the luggage the entire time, didn't see it again until we were in the room. Received our cards for the room door at the main desk at the resort. This is when we found out we’d been upgraded to a junior suite superior, which are located in villas. We had e mailed the resort four days before asking for a balcony, king bed and close to the ocean. We also said that this was our third time to a Bahia resort. Thought we'd be in the main building with a balcony, this was a surprise. Be aware that this resort is hilly, they have shuttles to move you around if you want.

Photos: http://www.worldisround.com/articles/355244/index.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort far exceeded our expectations."

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ken & Lisa from Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
890 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 23 - March 2
We arrived in Samana late morning after a smooth and uneventful flight out of Toronto. A comfortable coach bus ride lasting about 40 minutes first dropped off most of the passengers at the GBP Cayacoa and then the remaining 5 couples went on another 10 minutes to where the boat was waiting for us. Here in a separate, luxurious building we received our welcome envelopes with the room key cards, our identification bracelets, as well as a cold drink before boarding the boat. The island and hotel made a welcome and impressive sight as we approached. Once on the island, we were given cool towels to refresh, another welcome drink and and official welcome from the manager. In no time, we and our luggage were whisked away in a little buggy to our villa.

Rooms
Having booked the least expensive, standard grade room, and expecting a room in the main building, we were delighted to discover that we had been upgraded to a villa suite. The oceanview from our room was probably one of the best on the island. The room was gigantic and gorgeous, with a very comfortable king size canopy bed, separate sitting area, and a huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub. There was another sitting area with couch and chair and dinette out on the terrace. The room was stocked with beach towels, bathrobes, hair dryer, any toiletry item you could possibly need, free electronic safe, umbrella (we only had one little downpour one morning, that's all),bug spray (we never saw a single bug), coffee maker (which made excellent coffee), minibar with lots of bottled water, pop, beer, liquor, even Pringles chips! (restocked daily). The room was immaculate and kept that way. Every evening, the sheets were turned back and a little box of chocolates left on the bed. One night we came back to rose petals and a lit candle! The first morning we were suprised when a large fruit tray was delivered to our room. We truly felt pampered.

Restaurants and Bars
We only ate at the buffet restaurants. Breakfast had anything you could possibly want. There was a station where you could have omelettes and eggs made to order, lots of fresh fruit and fruit juices, etc,etc. Lunch we usually ate at the beach buffet which was good, but not as good as the main buffet. Theme dinners at the buffet were all very good, lots to choose from, especially for those who enjoy seafood. We thought that the bakery breads and desserts were especially good. Drinks and wine were very good as well. The service in the restaurants and bars was the best we have experienced. Drink orders were taken and delivered to you everywhere, even on the beach!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very friendly and quiet resort."

Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado
User Rating:  Gran Bahía Príncipe Cayo Levantado Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Laurica & Gord from Saskatchewan  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
879 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 7 to 21
A long taxi ride from Puerto Plata - approx 4 hours - kind of like a roller coaster ride!! A nice boat ride to the resort - 10 minutes.

Rooms:
WOW! Were in room 9103. Very large rooms and large balcony with hot tub. Very clean, supplies updated daily in bar fridge at no charge ie - small bottles of scotch, vodka,cans of soda and beer and lots of water. Coffee pot in room which was refreshed daily with coffee and tea.

Restaurants and Bars:
The al-a-carte resturants were nice, but the buffet had anything you could ask for - shrimp, lobster. There were daily themes at the buffet - Mexican, Italian, a lovely gala. Look for the following people - buffet - Wilmon, Ramon and Georgina. Sony at the lobby bar and Mickey at the ocean bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Gorgeous! No problems getting chairs at the pools or beach, however, be cautious at the public beach, as some people charge for the chairs. The jacuzzi pool is especially nice, particularily if you like to tan. Lots of towels and drinks available at all places.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was not a lot of activities - darts, volleyball. Lots of walking- there were little "cabs" that would take you wherre you wanted to go. Were not aware of any evening activities, as there is no information posted. We did not go on any tours - why leave paradise till you have to!

Other Comments:
This was a very friendly and quiet resort. We were happy to enjoy all they offered, I'm sure if we would have asked, we could have found more to do. This is a wonderful place to enjoy a laid back holiday. Would not really recommend this resort for children, as there is little for them (ocean is rough, no playground or children's activities, pools are deep...) Don't be shy - ask for what you want or need. There is Wi-Fi available in the hotel lobby - but the hotel has only 2 laptops for all the clients.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube