Riu Guanacaste Reviews

Home page > Costa Rica > Costa Rica Hotel Index > Riu Guanacaste reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Costa Rica Hotels with Similar Ranking

Paradisus Playa Conchal

3.9 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 14, 2011

Riu Guanacaste  

Playa Matapalo - Sardinal | Carrillo - Guanacaste, Santa Cruz, Costa Rica

"fantastic"
Posted by: J on Feb 11, 2014
see all reviews

Riu Guanacaste Reviews
Riu Guanacaste Pictures and Information
Riu Guanacaste Costa Rica Costa Rica

#1
of 28 Hotels in Costa Rica

User rating 3.5

Based on 18 reviews

Riu Guanacaste Information


This new 5-star resort is located on the seafront in the beautiful region of Guanacaste, on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica. As well as a superb range of leisure possibilities, the hotel offers five modern, fully-equipped conference rooms, and fine restaurants.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Riu Guanacaste Reviews

Riu Guanacaste Review: 3.5 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  3
Average
  0
Poor
  4
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (16)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
1 - 10 of 18

"fantastic"

Riu Guanacaste
User Rating:  Riu Guanacaste Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  J  on Feb 11, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
32 people found this review helpful

we had a blast. so much fun with the exception of the casino. we did not know that this was a deposit only casino, you can play the slots and win but you cannot take any cash with you, it's like a bank with deposits only... you can never take any cash out.

Room Number:
4113

Arrival:
The resort was every bit as beautiful as the pictures.

Rooms:
Very clean and spacious, with a balcony overlooking the beach.(side view)

Restaurants and Bars:
the staff are always very nice and constantly cleaning.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
fun, fun, fun. need I say more.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"a great clean place with great food and friendliness"

Riu Guanacaste
User Rating:  Riu Guanacaste Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  roger  on Nov 27, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
57 people found this review helpful

we just loved the isolation as it was very peaceful...the water taxi to coco beach is ok but items can be bought on the beach for around the same prices
We were not happy with the aqua tour being offered by the scuba company at the resort. They did not deliver what they promised. Ran out of rum and mix, ran out of bait so fishing sucked, then they kept the fish instead of us getting to eat it as they promised and the cave was just crack through the rock. When we complained to scuba(guys in blue tops) they were going to get us a discount on another excursion but it did not happen.
We talked to Roberto from Geckotico Tour and bought an ATV tour to the waterfall. This was an excellent tour. I spent a few hours talking to him about the history of Costa Rica. He was great and I would suggest that one would book tours with him. (the guys on the beach with green tops)
In all, this was one of the best trips we took in regards to food, accomodations, and staff.

Room Number:
4022

Arrival:
we got there on an air conditioned bus with the tour guide giving a lot of useful information,
check in was quick and simple and drinks were served while we were in line

Rooms:
rooms were clean and staff was friendly. we did have a problem with our toilet but maintenance arrived within 10 minutes and had it fixed

Restaurants and Bars:
we went to each restaurant and the buffet....the deserts were to die for and I put on 8 pounds.....sushi was some of the best I have ever eaten
there was a great variety of meals to choice from.....the only thing that I did not like was the beets.....tasted a bit like dirt.....the fruit was sweet and juicy and very fresh.....

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach was great.....to the right were some rocks which provide some good snorkling...we walked to the left to the white sand beach....we were the only ones there....the beach was great but you had to were shoes in the water because lots of coral forming on the bottom....snorkling was ok but you had to go out a far distance as it was shallow....less than two feet at low tide

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I again would highly recommend doing your activities with Geckotico Tours.
He made sure you were completely satisfied. he delivered on everything he promised. to the right side of the beach one could go past the gate and there was a road that went to the top of the mountain. make sure you bring water with you.....

Other Comments:
if you are buying stuff, stay away from the stores at the front....very expensive....they wanted 8 dollars for a bag of chips....bring sunscreen and afterburn.....sun is very hot and burns very quickly....I am dark skinned and I got a burn.....first time in several years

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful experience"

Riu Guanacaste
User Rating:  Riu Guanacaste Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leslie  on Oct 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
119 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love this resort. It was a beautifulf experience. The food was excellent. There were many choices in the buffet area. There is no need to go else where. mike at the reception is the best. The room facing the forest is awesome and very romantic. The tours are beautiful. Everything is clean and the best was that everyone from the airport to the tour guides were nice, pleasant and humble. I totally recommend this resort

Room Number:
5003

Arrival:
Very pleasant. Was greeted with a cocktail

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great hut did not stay there much. There is a lot to see.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The best was out of the resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible place to stay on a honeymoon!"

Riu Guanacaste
User Rating:  Riu Guanacaste Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kiley  on May 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
164 people found this review helpful

The buffets were covered in flies. There were multiple times my food had bugs in it. The beds are very low quality. Servers were very rude. The hotel smells like trash everywhere you go. It all takes away from the views. Also, people in coco were very rude and we were almost robbed by some people that said they were a travel business. Stay at royal corin in la fortuna by arenal volcano. We had a marvelous experience there!

Room Number:
3303

Arrival:
5/19-5/22

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"photograph your children without permission "

Riu Guanacaste
User Rating:  Riu Guanacaste Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  shauna  on May 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
157 people found this review helpful

photos of your kids without permission. Muriatic acid in the water makes you sick waaaaaay over priced.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you live getting there from the Airport shuttle bus"

Riu Guanacaste
User Rating:  Riu Guanacaste Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on May 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
184 people found this review helpful

Road condition is horrible. Shuttle bus drives way too fast up the cliffs. This is the last hotel on the stop, making your drive back to the airport grueling and horrifying. Be sure to make reservations to eat in the restaurants first thing in the morning or they are booked. I lost 10 lbs. from Diarrhea. The food at the main buffet was horrible. La cuca Rochas (Cock Roaches) were in our room and when we told the front desk, the manager tried to say we had to go buy spray. After an argument, he finally sent someone in to spray and they left the dead bugs all over the room. Donald Trump would have shut them down. Don't drink Mrs. Clark's cranberry juice, either, as it turned my tongue red like a cherry slurpy and I got violently ill frmo this. I'm guessing it was cherry juice and pomegranite mixture, as I cannot drink either without getting ill. The best meal was the Tacos poolside. Other than that, I wish I packed slimfast and ensure. The sand at the beach is more like dirt and the casino is as small as an arcade. A Joke!! This trip made me never want to leave the U.S. again.

Room Number:
1008

Arrival:
Arrived 4/21/12 -- Left 4/26/12

Rooms:
Cock Roaches.

Restaurants and Bars:
Nobody in the bar. They did have fruit in there; however -- the only thing worth eating.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is the best part of the trip.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't do any, as we would have had to go on the horror bus to get there.

Other Comments:
I was so sick and hungry we got two cheeseburgers and two small fries at the Liberia Aiport -- cost: $63.00. My cheeseburger smelled so bad, I could even eat it and it looked like it had a big vein running through it. I picked at the bread.

Also, you can bring lighters in to the country but when you get to customs leaving, they steal them from you and they dump out your belongings and pick on you like they are going to throw you in jail. They treat you like cattle waiting to be branded. Horrible trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful"

Riu Guanacaste
User Rating:  Riu Guanacaste Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Teresa  on Mar 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
201 people found this review helpful

We had a great time at Riu Guancaste in Costa Rica . When you check in get extra pillows right away! That truly was my only issue. Be ready - the beds are on the hard side it tolerable. We did have a room that had a musty smell it bothered me but not my husband, they were really nice and let us move .... No problem. Front desk was excellent. Everyone that worked at the hotel was very nice. Ok. On to food. We are extremely picky! Go with the buffet. It is excellent! Went to the steak house one night- not so great, but our party was large so maybe this had something to do with it! If you book any trips do it with the people in the lobby they are very informative and will give you all the Information you need. We stayed on the construction side and it never bothered us. Didn't even hear them working.....this hotel was very clean! If you hang out by the pool and want it to be on the quiet side go closer to the beach side. We also went into the town of coco- that was fun and had a nice meal. Picked a package at the front desk: zip lining , horse back riding, water slide , mud, and hot spring.- it was a great day ! I felt very safe in costa rica - enjoy your trip!

Room Number:
5117

Arrival:
March 8 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A fantastic week at Riu Guanacaste!"

Riu Guanacaste
User Rating:  Riu Guanacaste Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gabriella  on Feb 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
212 people found this review helpful

We have just come home from a fantastic week at Riu Guanacaste. I can't say enough good things about this resort and its staff. A few tips...

TOURS: If you want a more personalized experience (private tour), book with the local tour guides on the beach. Look for the guys in the GREEN shirts -- Geiner (pronounced "Hay-ner") and Roberto from Geckotico Tours -- VERY trustworthy and dependable and they have a wide range of tours available. We booked a river boat tour to Palo Verde with Geiner -- fantastic excursion. We learned so much about the local way of life, agriculture, flora/fauna...had lunch at a great local spot...saw tons of monkey, iguanas, birds, crocodiles, etc by the river. Loved every minute of it! Others who booked with them also had only good things to say.

MASSAGES: Forget the onsite spa...amazing outdoor massages available right on the beach...under beautiful white canopies. Everybody was raving about them!

ROOM: Most rooms face the main garden area, where you also get BEAUTIFUL ocean views. If you *really* want peace/quiet in the evenings, ask for a room facing the hillside -- that way you don't get any noise from the nightly entertainment, and you get to see monkeys swinging in the trees every day! Our room faced the main garden area -- we loved it. Nice size, spotless, gorgeous view, etc.

STAFF: Incredibly hard working, helpful and friendly. Here's an example: We lost our daughter's favourite beach towel (from home) the second to last day. We stopped one of the staff in the hall to see if there was a "lost and found" anywhere. He didn't speak English all that well, but understood that we had lost our towel. We described it to him...he wrote our room number down on his hand...and three hours later, when we returned to the room, our towel had been found and was sitting there waiting for us -- washed and folded. :-)

Be friendly and polite and the staff will go out of their way to help you with anything.

LOCATION: The resort is isolated -- the nearest town (Coco Beach...a very touristy beach town)is about 20 min away by shuttle or taxi boat -- so if you are loooking for a resort where you're surrounded by other hotels, restaurants, shops, etc. this is probably NOT the place for you. BUT if you're looking for utter relaxation, beautiful weather (31-33 degrees, not a drop of rain), fun excursions, fun nightly shows, then this is a fantastic spot. We definitely plan to return.

Room Number:
4043

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best time of my life"

Riu Guanacaste
User Rating:  Riu Guanacaste Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kristina  on Jan 21, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Wedding | With Group
194 people found this review helpful

Riu Guanacaste was amazing best time of my life. Everyone was so nice the entertainment was endless. Rooms were pretty good you don't spend that much time in them so that wasn't a huge deal to me. The food was great and the coffee was excellent. We spent a lot of our time at one bar at night by the main stage and the bartenders there were so amazing and we will have friends for life! Big shout out to Roque and Gerald best bartenders ever!!!! We will be coming back for sure!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Staff & Beautiful View"

Riu Guanacaste
User Rating:  Riu Guanacaste Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gene  on Jan 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
206 people found this review helpful

Booked with American Airlines. Will never do that again! Trip booked non-stop, but they changed return via Miami (a Very Long Day). We were delayed
leaving Dallas because they overbooked. American had to unload & reload the plane.
We booked the trip months ahead with adjoing seats, but they put us in different rows. Thanks to another passenger, we sat together.
Before we left, we found that AA didn't book our RT van, and we had to pay extra!
When we got to our room, I found my suit-case zipper was destroyed. How was I
going to get back w/o a suit case? The nearest town is miles away & cab fare
is well over $100. From Sat. to Mon. I fretted, until the Manager Ricardo, and
his Assistant Rosa rescued us. Rosa gave us an old suit case of hers!
Only because of them, am I writing my 1st review.
As for American, avoid them! They were once a great arline.

Arrival:
Was quick & easy.

Rooms:
Everything was as expected. Good. The bacony view of the hills & ocean was
fantastic! I think all rooms were ocean-view.
You have to take pictures of the sun set (only a few minute window).

Restaurants and Bars:
Mixed. Some food was good, some so-so. My wife didn't like the Japanese.
But she said the Sushi & the Peiking duck was very good. I loved the duck.
Only one place open for lunch & it was packed. The lunch salad was not good,
and I had to mask it with salsa.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Sand is dark (but not coarce), thus no turcoise ocean. I prefer Punta Cana,DR
beaches. The water was nice & warm, and easy to get into.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
My wife was a happy camper, because of the kayaks.
There's zip-lining only minutes away.
The nite show sounded above average, but we couldn't find a table. It was
Costa Rica's National holiday,so it was crowded.

Other Comments:
Many guests were rude, or oblivous.
The Costa Rican guest were fine.
We were there during the rainy season. Mornings were clear to about 1 pm.
Rain come between 1 & 5 pm. Some time, only 15 min to several hours.
Suprised how comfortable the weather was, given how close we were to the
equator we were.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube