Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Mayan Riviera > Mayan Riviera Hotel Index > Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Mayan Riviera Hotels with Similar Ranking

Grand Palladium Royal Suites Yucatan

5.0 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2011

Excellence Riviera Cancun

5.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 5, 2014

Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 25, 2011

Azul Sensatori

4.9 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

4.5 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

Iberostar Paraiso Maya

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 30, 2014

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach  

Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, 77710, Mexico

"Drugging at swim up bars "
Posted by: Ellen  on Mar 20, 2014
see all reviews

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Reviews
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Pictures and Information
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Mayan Riviera Mexico

#10
of 74 Hotels in Mayan Riviera

User rating 3.7

Based on 11 reviews

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Information


The Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach is one of the first two properties built on the site, which is now a four hotel complex, situated on the Mayan Rivera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen and only 1 hour from Cancun International Airport. The property includes several Mayan Ruins, huge “cenotes”, 2 natural wonders and 5 virgin beaches, stretching out for over 3.000 ft. This makes the Grand Sirenis one of the best locations on the entire Mayan Riviera.



Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Reviews

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Review: 3.7 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  4
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 11

"Drugging at swim up bars "

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
User Rating:  Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ellen  on Mar 20, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
33 people found this review helpful

Very dangerous stuff is happening at this resort ...
We arrived late evening Feb 3 2014. This happened around 2:00 pm. Feb 4/2014 ... we decided to go and wait in the sun at the " Xaac" wet bar R on the map, one of the gentleman in the golf carts drove us there to wait until our room was ready which wouldn't be for an hour or two... as we were changing rooms that day ... we went in the water and went to the pool bar to get a drink, then went to sit on the ceramic loungers in the middle of the pool and we started talking to another couple ...
I spilled half my first drink while we were sitting and talking so my friend went and got us another drink all within a 30 minutes maximum time frame .. we both blacked out at the same time,, our memories end at the same time .. everything started to fade away and my last memories are coming out of the pool and .. . and all I have is a flash of looking down at my friend out cold at the side of the pool and some other people around her ... and then we have no memory of anything from that point on until 12 hours later ... it was a trip from hell without going into more detail. This has effected us emotionally and mentally.
To anyone that experienced something unusual like this ... please report this ... keep your family safe.. something evil is going on over there. I finally finished being embarrassed and feeling humiliated by what happened to us , that I am passed it now and I am very, very angry and I want to warn everyone that this can happen to you too ...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Go Here"

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
User Rating:  Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Isabella  on Apr 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
180 people found this review helpful

I went there with my brother, sister and parents. WE had an amazing time. All the staff were really nice, and greeted us when walking around. The only problems were to do with the 'mirage' package, where you get a free bottle of tequila and some other things. We never got our cold towel when we got there, and didnt recieve our tequila until we asked the front desk. We had asked our concierge about 6 times.

Room Number:
2935

Room Block:
2900

Arrival:
We got checked in really fast, but did not get our cold towel that are included in the mirage package. We asked to move and they immediatly changed our room. We didnt get our room until 3 oclock due to cleaning so that is good.

Rooms:
The jacuzzi in our room filled incredibly slow, and our shower went really hot then really cold, until we asked for it to be fixed. It was immediatly. The jacuzzi, it was just to way it worked. On the 4th day there, a dehumdifier was brought to our room, and we didnt ask.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was amazing and bar service was fast. I cant believe that the remembered all those drinks!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was fun, lots of fun games that we played. I liked the music that played 24/7. The beach was really fun! We got up early to get loungers, but that is expected since there were many people there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
N/A

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Fabulous Resort"

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
User Rating:  Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nicole  on Apr 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
165 people found this review helpful

Resort Overview: located approx. 1 hour 20 minutes from Cancun airport. Large resort arranged in a circle, rooms to left and right of central lobby area. There are two lobbies, the Mayan Beach side and the Mayan Riviera side. Guests may access and use both lobbies. Resort offers elevators, wheelchair ramps and shuttle service for guests with limited mobility. Buildings are three story low rise done in style of Mayan architecture.

Service/Staff: This is what makes this resort really shine. The staff here are amazing. Always smiling, always friendly and ready to do whatever is necessary to make your vacation special.

Excursions: did not do any this trip.

Arrival:
Check In: We checked in very late(approx. 1am). Staff went out of their way to get us checked in and to our rooms quickly. Luggage was delivered within minutes. Staff was friendly despite the late hour.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food/Restaurants: We never had a bad meal the whole week we were there. There is lots of variety at the buffet. Try the mexican dishes offered, they are delicious. We ate at the Bayou, Italian and Mexican a la cartes and I would recommend them all. Have the Catfish at the Bayou, it was wonderful. The pool is a great place to have breakfast starting around 9am, if you need to eat earlier recommend the buffet. The beach bar serves awesome tacos and fajitas, also great nachos. And the kids will never stop going to La Tortuga, the resort ice cream shop.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools: two, one quiet pool and one where all the action is. A kids club and kids pool with overhead water spray. Pools are beautiful, cleaned every day, well maintained, get a chair/palapa early in the a.m. as the pool is very popular. There is also a lazy river which the kids loved.


Beach: lovely, sand is white but a bit coarser than you find in other places such as Cuba due to the reef off shore there are a lot of fine rocks and crushed coral. Water is shallow and clear and you can snorkel right off the beach and see many fish. Bring water shoes as there are rocks and sand rays close to the beach. Lots of palapas and chairs, never an issue getting one. Nice breeze comes off the water.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Kids club which seemed to be a lot of fun, para sailing, snorkeling, excursion to Coco Bongo nightclub which I heard was amazing, pool aerobics, water polo, tequila volleyball, poolside games, beach games and activities, mini disco for the kids before the nightly shows, evening shows, live performances in the lobbies every night, theme nights, spa services, night club on property.

Other Comments:
Service/Staff: This is what makes this resort really shine. The staff here are amazing. Always smiling, always friendly and ready to do whatever is necessary to make your vacation special.

Excursions: did not do any this trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One word ... pleasant."

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
User Rating:  Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Colleen  on Jan 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
188 people found this review helpful

The arrival lobby lacked any sense of welcoming/warmth. Poor organization on the part of the travel companies. Staff were all terrific. Rooms were very large and very well maintained. Pools were amazing and the entertainment coordinators did a wonderful job. Food was lacking ... meat too well cooked. Only "additional restaurant" that was any good was the Japanese .. food was fantastic.... our only "hot" meal of the week! Enjoyed our week or relaxation but we would not return to that resort.

Room Number:
2810

Room Block:
Makal

Arrival:
January 12th

Rooms:
Large and well maintained

Restaurants and Bars:
Only good restaurant was the Japanese.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very beautiful and well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very good.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No customer service from managment."

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
User Rating:  Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michele  on Jan 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
175 people found this review helpful

I emailed the resort and asked for a quiet building 3rd floor. We arrived to our room which was 2nd floor, right beside the very loud activity pool. Ok whatever, we'll just deal. I didn't want to go back to reception cause the guy seemed like he was in a bad mood.

I went to open and shut the sliding door and the handle broke right off. With no handle comes no air conditioning sound to block out all the noice from people walking down the halls.
I phone reception, someone will come to fix it. ......................not.
Our tub took 3 - 4 hrs to fill due to leaking plug, we put a face clothe there to help it. Toilet sometimes worked.

Our 11 yr old daughter drank some tap water because she read on their brochure that it was ok because of osmosis. Couple days later, puking ETC. So she just wanted to lay in bed and sleep all day. Could she sleep though? no Activity pool had a guy with a microphone AND there was jackhammering in our building. IN our building.
So I phoned the front dest and asked if we could at least move across the hall so we don't hear the activity pool. They said that is called ocean view so you have to PAY more for that. No exceptions. I said I don't give a s**t about the damn view, we just need quiet so my daughter can sleep this off. NOPE. We can move you tomorrow only and we will make sure you don't get an ocean view. I said I don't care, just move us to somewhere Quiet!!!
So the next day, the room was ready at 2:00 and we moved to room 2608. Wow what a way better room! Didn't have black mold, tub worked, toilet much better. Air condition would either be on cranked to freezing or nothing. We just kept it off cause it would get too cold. A repair man said something in it was broken. Oh well, at least it was quietISH. It was the ground floor and a bit louder when people would walk by yelling and screaming. But no jackhammering in that building and no microphone near by.Much better.
No airconditioning in the cardio room, but every where else has it. Go to the washroom and between the men's and ladies is a door, go in it after your workout. There is a nice little mineral pool with cold salted water. Look yourself in, and dip! Show there for after. So cool, it's all black and little star lights on the ceiling. Just float. I never got caught. I don't know what they would charge you, but no one seems to use it. After dying of heat - it's so relieving!
Tip - If you need something, don't call reception, just walk out and look for people who work there, ask for your blanket or whatever, go with them and they get it.The problem is poor management, the staff are really great helpful people but there is only 1 building manager for all the buildings. So the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.
A la cartes - Run well. They have a manager (capitan) for EACH resturant.Take note owners of resort!
Lazy River - S

Room Number:
2943

Room Block:
Naab

Arrival:
Jan.2, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"this place is not a 5 star to large not enough varity of restarants"

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
User Rating:  Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  maurice  on Jan 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
304 people found this review helpful

First off arrival was good,3rd floor room was great,elevator did not work all the time,3days in, real large spider runs agross the floor, about the size of your wifes fist,it runs up behind the head board, 10 minutes later we kill it,they sprayed the room next day,

Room Number:
2041

Arrival:
good

Rooms:
great

Restaurants and Bars:
the food was never hot, just worm at the fancy rest, buffet was the best at all times,bars did not carry up scale spirits all the time, had to ask to many times

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach needs to be cleaned up from to many rocks,pool water was cool all the time,about 70 degrees

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Happy, but a little dissappointed"

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
User Rating:  Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  George  on Dec 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
287 people found this review helpful

We were fortunate to book our trip before the busy season. My wife said that she would have wanted more people to talk to, but I was perfectly happy not waiting in line for anything. The service was excellent and there were no complaints when it came to the food. I didn't mind walking around as it gave us a bit of exercise. The room, however, was lacking. I didn't appreciate sheets and bed spreads that looked more at home in a cottage. They were worn and it was obvious that they were well used. My balcony door wouldn't lock, the drapes were broken and it took me about a half hour to figure out the hot tub because the tap handle kept falling off. The Hotel on a whole looked a bit worn. You could tell when this hotel was first built it was meant to be a 5 star. There was a lot of maintenance going on but this did not bother me. I figure the hotel was trying to get up to that 5 star level again. The beach was wonderful, lot's of fish to look at, we even fed them with pieces of bread. My daughter enjoyed the "Kid's Club" 3 out of the 6 days we were there, and the entertainment was passable. I was never much for show tunes, or musicals.

Room Block:
29

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Resort"

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
User Rating:  Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeff  on Dec 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
303 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Arrival at Cancun airport and getting through Customs and to our bus was smooth. Bus ride was approximately 2 hours to the resort (worst part) but once at the resort, check in was fast, efficient and we were in our room with our luggage within 20 minutes of arriving.

Rooms:
Large clean room with king-sized bed, couch, and chair. Also included tv, safe, and stocked fridge. Large bathrooms with two person jet tub and stand alone shower. Only weird thing was the open hole in wall between bathroom and main room. There was a seperate "room" with the toilet but it was still strange.

Restaurants and Bars:
Ate at 5 of the a la carte restaurants (we were allowed 3 but as resort wasn't completely full were able to swindle 2 more). Japanese was by far the best, food wise and entertainment (they cook right in front of you), Steakhouse, Brazilian, Italian, and Mediterranean were all good with a good variety on their menus. Buffet was always well stocked and good variety and taste. Lobby bars had good service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They have an activity pool and quiet pool which both have lots of loungers and shade. The beach is large with 2 different coves. Lots of loungers and shade there also. Water was warmer than the pools and lots of fish for the snorkellers. The lazy river is a cool novelty to float around on and we enjoyed it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't do much for activities. We tend to relax and read the whole vacation but they seemed to have lots going on during the days (dance lessons, cooking lessons, band playing, etc.) and at night they had the shows which we went to a couple of and were very good.

The spa is very nice and we enjoyed a moonlight, beach side, couples massage that was outstanding (25 min massage for both of us - total cost 1,040 pesos)

Other Comments:
This is our 4 trip to this area and first to this resort. It did not dissapoint and had everything we desire. You will do lots of walking but it is nicely laid out and once you find all of the shortcuts, it helps out. We would have rated this a 5 but one day they had a water problem which basically made all of the bathrooms by the pools, beach, and lobbies unuseable. I don't know if it was a one time thing or a regular occurence but it was the only bad part for the week.

We will recommend this resort to friends and would go back again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"we LOVED the Grand Sirenis"

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
User Rating:  Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melanie  on Apr 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
348 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We were late departing because the airport traffic was heavier than usual in Cancun (said the pilot). Upon arrival that was evident as the customs line up at the Cancun airport was RIDICULOUSLY long – I’ve travelled a bit so I expected this, but this by far was the worst airport experience. Bus was easily located outside of airport (and thankfully still waiting) and beer/water was available for purchase ($3/beer if I remember correctly.) There was no washroom on board so we did not partake.

Rooms:
One week prior to departure I emailed the resort as suggested and requested by priority, building 27, ocean view, 3rd floor – we received building 23, garden view, and 1st floor. So pretty much the complete opposite of everything we were hoping for. We were asked to stay in the room for the night and if we weren’t happy we could try to move the next day, and so on but with the resort at capacity there wasn’t much of a chance. Of course we didn’t bother doing this, but much regretted it as the days went on for 2 reasons: 1) it is the furthest building from the lobby (and pretty much everything) so we had quite the hike to breakfast every morning, and 2) our room was located right at the end of the path that led to the disco so we had to deal with obnoxious, drunkies walking by our room each night. My mother has some minor mobility issues and the shuttle was not available to hop on/off as mentioned. Every time we tried to flag it down they would not stop – the concierge suggested that we call ahead to arrange pick up but even when we did they asked why we needed it, blah, blah, blah...it was too much of a hassle so instead mom took her meds & we walked ; ) which in the end, likely saved us 5lbs of extra weight so really it all worked out for the best

Restaurants and Bars:
All I can say is that if anyone has a problem with the food at this hotel, I’d love to know where you have travelled before because the buffets were well stocked and I couldn’t imagine someone not finding something they could eat. We always tried to sit in either Alejandro, or Miguel’s section (on the Mayan Beach side) because right from the first day we were talking with them and they always wanted to know where we had been/what we had done/if we like our trip, and so on. They really went out of their way to greet us at every meal and it was nice to see them. I also noted quite often that the temperature of the food on the buffet was being monitored and taken on a very regular basis – which btw, I don’t think I’ve ever seen previously at a resort so it’s good to know that they are taking these measures. For a la cartes, we ate at the Japanese where Victor served up the most amazing fried rice, and yes the fried ice cream is good too. We also ate at the Mexican restaurant where Benjamin was our server. At the end of the meal he came around with some tequila poppers (shots) for us and put sombreros on us while we drank them, hilariously pics from that dinner!! Lastly we ate at the Brazilian, where Angel served up the most amazing meat EVER. Yes, like everyone says this restaurant is a lot of meat. They bring around 7 different skewers of meat, white & red sausage, chicken, pork, beef tenderloin, beef ribs, and NY steak. We weren’t too fond of the beef, but surprisingly were HUGE fans of the sausage, and the pork was to die for. At the end of the meal they even grilled whole pineapple brushed with some sort of cinnamon/sugar concoction that I’m dying to try myself on our BBQ this summer. My mom & husband thought the Japanese was their fav (I think just because of the novelty) but I feel the food at the Brazilian was WAY better – YUM – just pace yourself through the skewers – that’s the key

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I previously read in many reviews that there were many beach palapas/chairs available at this resort, and I’m afraid that was not my experience. Both at the beach and at the pool if you were not out first thing in the a.m. all of the chairs were gone. People definitely were reserving them with the GS towels and some were left for hours at a time. This may be as a result that the hotel was at full capacity when we were there, (and we were always up early) but the few times that we wanted to go to the beach in the afternoon we just never bothered because it was too much of a hassle getting chairs altogether. When we were at the beach, even though crowded, again the service was great! We really liked the ‘design’ of the beach I thought it was very aesthetic, but not the type of sprawling white sand that you can walk for miles though - just VERY picturesque. Pools were great too, very large and refreshing, not cold, but not warm.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did quite a lot while on our vacation - Xel-Ha, we booked online though their website before we left and paid $71US/person. We also went to Tulum for ½ day (entrance at Tulum was $5US/person if I remember correctly.) We went to Playa Del Carmen to shop and have dinner. Our AT rep recommended the restaurant Ajua, on 4th between 5th & 10th and we had one of the best meals there!! There was a live band playing, and they made our entire meal tableside with made to order Caesar salad, flambéed chicken & snapper. From there we went over to the Blue Parrot beach club and caught the fire show/drinks/dancing. We enjoyed PDC so much that we took a second trip there the next day. Everywhere we went, we took the collectivos and the most we paid was to go into PDC and even then I think it was only $3US/person. Of course the night we were out a bit late, we took a taxi back to the resort and it was only $20US. On a side note, we heard that Wal-Mart was the place to go for cheaper booze purchases but really I found the duty free in the Mexico airport quite reasonable as well.

Other Comments:
Overall and by far, the very best service I have received on any a.i. vacation – on & off the resort. From the staff in the restaurant to the activities staff to the bartenders to the grounds keepers...all very efficient, and extremely friendly. You didn’t pass one that didn’t have a smile and a ‘hola’ for you, and they always asked you if they could “do anything to make your stay more enjoyable” and I believed it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel ok but issues with maintenance of rooms and service definitely not more than 3 stars"

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
User Rating:  Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kay  on Mar 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
331 people found this review helpful

Beautiful Resort
Lots to do with Kids... crafts, swimming, games etc
Great nightly entertainment
Rooms needs attention and maintenace - tv not working, locks in the rooms, concierge outside the room not too helpful more worried about timeshare sales
Staff need more english training
Beach very disspaointing too many rocks in the ocean and seaweed
Front Desk not too responsive
Overall i would rate this resort good but not great

Your Arrival:
Too Slow at the Front Desk... cannot understand English, very slow to respond,Service is satisfactory but not great!

Rooms:
Tv not working, Beds really hard, Great Housekeeping, Staff not very helpful and cannot understand.. they nod but do have a clue of what you are saying.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food choices excellent and fresh everyday. Service is great, lots of variety of foods! Buffet restaurant excellent choices and hot food!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Rocks make it hard to swim...Pools very nice and clean, great choices for pools for kids especially lazy river.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of choices for activities, but very disspointed in the beach compared to Cuba

Other Comments:
I am not sure i would return back... very disspointed at Service, and ofcource the beach with rocks.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube