Captain Don's Habitat Reviews

Home page > Bonaire > Bonaire Hotel Index > Captain Don's Habitat reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bonaire Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Calexico

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 3, 2010

Bonaire Lagoen Hill Bungalows

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 28, 2011

Bonaire Exclusive

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 11, 2010

Kontiki Beach Club and Lac Bay Apartments

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2004

Eden Beach Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2010

Captain Don's Habitat  

103 Kaya Gobernador Debrot, Bonaire

"This is a divers resort but even non divers will love it"
Posted by: Carter  on Jan 16, 2010
see all reviews

Captain Don's Habitat Reviews
Captain Don's Habitat Pictures and Information
Captain Don's Habitat Bonaire Bonaire

#2
of 42 Hotels in Bonaire

User rating 4.0

Based on 2 reviews

Captain Don's Habitat Information


Walking through the resort, one can truly appreciate a broad spectrum of the flora and fauna of Bonaire. Iguanas, lizards, over 50 species of birds, and a wide variety of indigenous and imported species of plants and trees, create the perfect balance between world class accommodations and nature.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Captain Don's Habitat Reviews

Captain Don's Habitat Review: 4.0 of 5 2 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (2)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 2 of 2

"This is a divers resort but even non divers will love it"

Captain Don's Habitat
User Rating:  Captain Don's Habitat Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carter  on Jan 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) SWEDEN
Visited on: Jul, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
324 people found this review helpful

Don's Habitat was started by the legendary Captain Don Steward. The captain not only started the hotel but is responsible for making Bonaire a diver's island and convincing the authorities to declare all the waters a national park. The Captain still frequents the hotel on Mondays. You'll find him at the outdoor bar. The outdoor bar is also where you can listen to Moogies island music and watch the slide show. You will probably end up as part of the slide show since the DMs and others seem to love taking pictures. The motto of the hotel is "diving freedom". Diving is indeed available 24hrs. The dive pier is large with two staircases and a rope leading to depth to make night diving a breeze. Truck rental(car) is on the property making shore diving easily accessible. If you tire of shore diving and house reef diving, Don's has three dive boats going out daily. The DMs are among the best. Likewise, dive education including photo courses, are of very high quality and are located in new buildings, as is the dive shop and spa. Even if you are not a diver it is still a great resort. This is not a luxurious hotel but it has everything you need and it is clean and well managed. There is no real luxury resort on Bonaire although Harbour Village tries to fit into this category. Don's Habitat IMHO is a little less luxurious than HV but still I prefer Donís for other reasons. There are many great dive resorts on Bonaire. Some of these resorts are too large for my taste, like the Plaza and likewise some are too small for my taste. Carib Inn is one of the smaller resorts and it is an excellent dive hotel but it lacks some of the activities and facilities that Donís has. Don's has everything I want in a resort but is still small enough to allow me to become friends with everyone.

Your Arrival:
Try to do your paperwork at home. Dive liability release forms etc can all be downloaded beforehand

Rooms:
There is a wide variety of rooms with new rooms being build 2010. We always stay at the Oasis Cottages. They have two bedooms/bathrooms and are very spacious. A/C throughout. Unfortunately they do not have any ocean views. The cottages vary since they are owned by different people. One of the Oasis cottages is quite luxurious, most are not. The staff does a great job keeping this area clean and well maintained.

Restaurants and Bars:
Rum Runners IMHO can easily compete with the best restaurants on the island. That said the food quality does vary. This is however, even true of some of the well known restaurants. We have for example eaten at Will's and thought the food was worth a Michelin star but than the last time we were there we were very disappointed. OK I'll admit I never thought Rum Runners was worthy of a Michelin star but still the food is usually of high quality. It is delicious. You wonít go wrong ordering the daily special or whatever fish is fresh. The breakfasts are great too! The restaurant by the way is at the water's edge so you will be able to look down and see the fish, but do watch out for the iguanas who are waiting to hop up and steal your food if you let them (same thing for the gulls).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach; what beach?
Pool; Clean, very well maintained and a good enough size in my opinion. Grounds- Very good. Many of the plantings were the result of the Cap't landscaping skills

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I think I mentioned most but not all

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely view, great snorkeling"

Captain Don's Habitat
User Rating:  Captain Don's Habitat Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Annies  on Jan 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Jan, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
339 people found this review helpful

Bonaire itself is such a cute unspoiled island. I wish I could live there, sun, nice temperature, great dining options, far away from the rushed western life

Your Arrival:
Arrival went smooth, customs at Flamingo airport is like the rest of Bonaire kinda cute.

Rooms:
We had a nice complete seaview room with a big terrace looking at the deep blue-turqoise sea. Room was spacious with two queen size beds, minibar, big bathroom and all very clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Captain Don's Habitat rent its restaurant to Rum Runners, a very nice open air restaurant with a big variaty to choose from. They offer from delecious pizzas to filet mignon, a nice wine menu and all for a good price. Besides dinner they also offer breakfast and lunch. At night the bar is open to have a drink before you go to sleep after a long and tiresome diving/snorkeling day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is kind of small, but who needs a pool with such a beautiful giant sea in front? :)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Bonaire is famous because of the best snorkeling and diving opportunities in the Caribbean. We rented two scooters and drove the whole island, visted the donkey sanctuary, Sorobon Beach, Slagbaai with its flamingos, took a boat to klein Bonaire to see where the turtles lay their eggs, had delicious lunches and dinners ... what ese do you need on vacation?

Other Comments:
Again Bonaire is lovely and unspoiled. You do not need a huge resort with lots of amenities because Bonaire IS a resort itself.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube