Verandah Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua and Barbuda Hotel Index > Verandah Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Antigua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Blue Waters

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 1, 2004

Galley Bay Resort

4.4 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 5, 2011

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental

3.4 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2013

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

2.7 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 15, 2012

Coconut Beach Resort

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 1, 2005

Verandah Resort & Spa  

Indiantown Road - St. John's

"Lovely Resort"
Posted by: Debbie and Pat  on Dec 2, 2013
see all reviews

Verandah Resort & Spa Reviews
Verandah Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua Antigua and Barbuda

#7
of 25 Hotels in Antigua

User rating 5.0

Based on 3 reviews

Verandah Resort & Spa Information


A 200 villa luxury family style resort is situated on 30 spectacular waterfront acres hidden away on the untouched north-east coast of Antigua.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Verandah Resort & Spa Reviews

Verandah Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  0
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 3 of 3

"Excellent Vacation!"

Verandah Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Verandah Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  GreatVacation  on Feb 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
223 people found this review helpful

Our family spent a week at the Verandah at the end of January 2012. The service was excellent, the food was spectacular, the grounds were beautiful and the rooms were very comfortable. It’s a relatively quiet resort, with no big parties or a disco, which was perfect for us (parents and two adult children). There really wasn’t much to find wrong with this vacation – we had a great time.

Arrival:
We were treated with rum punch immediately upon arrival and were shuttled to our room in a golf cart relatively quickly. The check in staff was friendly and working as quickly as they could. We had to wait a little while as another flight was delayed and was checking in at the same time as ours. It didn’t really matter, we were just happy to be there.

Rooms:
The rooms are large and very clean. The bathroom and tub are enormous and the verandah out back was lovely. The mattress was a little hard but when we mentioned it to the cleaning staff they brought some foam for the top of the mattress which made a big difference.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was great! The buffet has a different theme every night so you don’t get tired of the flavours. Nicole’s was spectacular – it really was fine dining and worth the extra cost. Buccaneer’s was also good – a step up from the buffet and nice to be seated at an a la carte restaurant for a change. We only went to the beach grill for lunches and had mixed experiences. The food was good and there was some variety (always had a fish of the day) although the service was slow. You have to place your order and then wait for it to be brought to you. If you go around 12:30 it may take a while to get your food, and seating will be limited.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There are two beaches on the resort which was nice. We spent most of our time on the water sports beach since it had a good amount of shade and activities. Neither are big enough to walk along. The fact that there are two beaches and two pools meant that there was always space to relax. No location ever felt crowded or rowdy. The grounds are gorgeous and easy to get around, with banana trees everwhere!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are plenty of sail boats and kayaks avaialble on the Sports beach (which was the nicer beach in my opinion). You could sign up in advance, and rarely have to wait longer than an hour to use something. There aren't a lot of 'scheduled' activities (i.e. yoga at 10) but I did see a schedule with some options. Staff were never walking around trying to rally people into doing things, which was refreshing.

Other Comments:
Service:

Everyone who works at the Verandah was very friendly and attentive. From the cleaning staff to the beach staff to the bar staff, everyone greets you with a smile and a hello. On Tuesday nights there’s the Manager’s Cocktail party where the managers from each department come around to ask how your stay is and if there’s anything they can address while you’re there. It was a really nice added touch.

Entertainment:

Entertainment at this resort means a different live band performing at the main bar each night (some are better than others). The best performers were the steel pan band who was there on Tuesday night. Some nights it was a dj, others a repetitive singer, but either way, it’s a nice place to gather for a drink after dinner.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent"

Verandah Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Verandah Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy  on Feb 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
245 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
302

Room Block:
across from the adult pool

Arrival:
Our arrival was around 9 pm or so. ( dosen't really matter.....we're there and it's warm. Life is good .) Check in was very quick and with rum punch in hand we were whisked off to our room to drop off our bags and then taken to the buffet where they were waiting to welcome us with a huge smile. Given the time of night we were pleased to see that the buffet was still full of options and everything very fresh . While eating we could hear the entertainment below us at the main pool bar. Finishing our eats and drinks we headed down and enjoyed the rest of the evening,and having a blast with the staff. After saying our goodnights and taking a drink for the road , we headed back to room anxious for morning so we could check out the resort in the daylight.

Rooms:
Large , clean, with a beautiful view overlooking one of the beaches and the ocean in the distance. Stocked mini fridge would be nice , but if you take a trip into town or shop at the resort gift shop you can always buy beer , wine , liquor to stock your own fridge. ( No big deal !! ) Our room was right across from the adult pool which was perfect. Shaded areas with internet and every day they bring a cooler filled with pop , ice and glasses for you to help your self and there is also washrooms there too. If your room is around this pool , stocking your own fridge is convient so you don't have to go all the way down to the bar for a drink.

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints about any thing !!! All was good . Chef Raj was one of the nicest people you could ever want to meet. He makes an effort to come out and meet guests , have a friendly chat and to make sure you are happy and enjoying all your meals. We have travelled a lot and only had one not so great holiday. The food holds it's own to almost anywhere else we've been.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were impeccable. Very clean with bananna trees every where. The mini golf course is awsome. The childrens play area was great. Quite an impressive jungle gym. With so many young families with small children, we didn't see or hear one unhappy child! Not one!! LOL . The gym was bright,and very well equipped. The spa (so I heard ) was incredible. The beaches were very clean and the water sports were great , with lots to do . Our only disappointment was that the beach wasn't long enough to go for those long romantic walks , but the views and the fantastic blues of the water make up for it. There is no fighting for a spot around the pools or on the beaches and you can always find a shady spot.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We were in Antigua last year at a different resort and just fell in love with the island and the people, so we went back again this year. We rented a car last year and had a great adventure finding our way around the island to all the attractions. If you are adventerous enough this is a much cheaper way to see the island rather than hiring a taxi. This year we rented a car for two days and had a blast. We found all kinds of secluded beaches , all with that fantastic turquoise blue water as far as the eye can see. We also took a helicopter tour over Montserrat. AWSOME AWSOME AWSOME experience. A must do. $240. US per person 45min. tour. It seems a lot longer than 45 min though. You can also walk to Devils Bridge from the resort. Very interesting to see. There is a couple of venders there to sell stuff but if you say no thanks they don't hound you. Shirley Heights in English Harbour is the highlight of sightseeing. You get that picture perfect postcard shot. St. Johns has great duty free shopping in it's port harbour.

Other Comments:
As we've said , we have travelled a lot and to date....... Antigua is our new favorite place. Yes we will be going back next year. The Verandah ......... TWO THUMBS UP FROM CANADA !!!!!!!!!!!


Jamie and Cathy Grove from Guelph Ontario

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely Resort"

Verandah Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Verandah Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie and Pat  on Dec 2, 2013  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
78 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
229

Arrival:
This was our first trip to Antigua, and Westjet Vacations had a great deal for this resort when we booked it in September.

The resort is located 30 minutes from the airport.

Rooms:
On arrival there was a little confusion about our room, apparently the travel agency did not pass on our room requests, so they had to change our room. We had asked for a room where we could get internet access, not all the rooms have it due to the resort being so spread out. But it all got sorted and we were taken to our room. Rooms are in single storey semi-detached bungalows. The room is very large, 700 square feet. Absolutely loved the room. Nice large tub, king-sized bed, sofabed, small kitchenette with fridge, sink, and microwave, and a gorgeous large covered verandah overlooking the water. The mattress is very hard, but we did get used to it and slept very well. You can ask for a mattress topper, apparently that makes it a little softer. We had a waterview room and were very happy with the view and glad we hadn’t upgraded to waterfront. All the rooms are the same whether they are hillside, waterview or waterfront, it’s just the view that’s different.
We did pay extra to have internet access in our room ($50 for the week), but they do have free access in the pool/bar area.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast is buffet style at the main restaurant. For lunch you can go to the buffet at the main restaurant or the beach restaurant. We tried both and preferred the main buffet. Food was excellent.

For dinner you can eat at the main buffet (no reservations required), or make a reservation at either the Beach restaurant or Buccaneer’s Restaurant. Make your reservation early in the day at Guest Services as the good times fill up quickly. We tried both the beach restaurant and Buccaneer’s Restaurant for dinner, both were good food, service in Buccaneer’s wasn’t too good – they seemed somewhat overwhelmed and we waited forever for our desert and tea, and finally just got up and left. Service in the other restaurants was very good.

There is also a 4th restaurant, Nicole’s, that you have to pay a supplement to eat at. It is $30 US each. We ate there one night and the food was excellent. I had the beef tenderloin, lobster was also available.

There is a dress code for the restaurants in the evening (except the buffet), men must wear a collared shirt, long pants, and proper shoes.

There are several bars – the main bar by the pool, the beach bar near the main beach, and the Rasta bar on Rasta Beach. They do not have drink menus, which would have been nice. Said they are working on one.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort is very spread out and very hilly. Maybe not a good choice for someone with mobility issues, although they do have golf carts that go around regularly to take you where you want to go. You can even phone from your room and request one. Beautiful vegetation and flowers everywhere. You will also see a lot of mongooses around (apparently they were brought to Antigua to get rid of the snakes, which they did, but now there is a large population of mongoose). Also a lot of different birds, that come and sit on the railing of your balcony and hummingbirds everywhere . Over the water you can see the pelicans diving for fish. At night you hear the tree frogs, reminded me of Bermuda.

There are two small beaches on the property, or you can go to Long Bay Beach, a couple minutes’ walk from the front entrance of the hotel. You have to go down 40 steps to the resort’s main beach (that’s the easy part). The beach bar is at the top of the stairs, so not too convenient. Would have been nice if they had bar service on the beach.

There is a large main pool, as well as several smaller ones throughout the property. The main pool is located by the bar and main building housing all the restaurants, guest services, spa, etc.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They do have entertainment in the evening – singers, DJ’s, band, that kind of thing. All entertainment is over at 11 p.m. Definitely not a party place. Most of the clientele was from England, along with Canadians and Americans. There were lots of families with young children there. There are some daily activities, you can read the daily activities at Guest Services. One thing we loved was that there was no loud music playing around the pool as is often the case. Very relaxing.

The spa was very nice. It was a little pricey, but I had a couple of massages and they were the best I’ve ever had!

Water at the resort is good to drink. Our tour company rep did say we should use bottled water in the room, as the tap water there was not as purified as in the rest of the resort. We did buy a large bottle, which we could get refilled at the bar. They do not have bottled water at the bars or restaurants. We did use the tap water in the room to make tea and coffee, as we were boiling it.

Weather was good. A little bit of rain a couple of days, but not enough to interfere with anything.

Devil’s Bridge is one of the island attractions and is actually adjacent to the hotel property. A staff member walks over with a group a couple times a week. There are also other tours you can book – swimming with stingrays, catamaran tour, etc. Shirley Heights is supposed to be a good trip, we didn’t go but another couple we talked to went and said they were ready to come back after 10 minutes. Depends what you like.

Other Comments:
Overall we thought the resort was great. However, we did get it for a good price, and had we paid full price, might have balked at having to pay extra for internet in our room and to eat at Nicole’s Restaurant. Also feel they should have bar service on the beach. The resort was built in 2007, but seems much older because of the style. It reminded me more of a resort in Northern Ontario than a Caribbean resort. The resort is actually on the Atlantic side of the island.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube