Samsara Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Negril > Negril Hotel Index > Samsara reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Negril Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sunset at the Palms

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 9, 2014

The Caves Hotel

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 10, 2012

Rondel Village Negril

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2011

Beaches Negril

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2010

Riu Negril

3.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 23, 2012

Catch a Falling Star

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2008

Samsara  

West End Road, Negril, Jamaica

"Chill on the cliffs"
Posted by: Maryanne  on May 19, 2014
see all reviews

Samsara Reviews
Samsara Pictures and Information
Samsara Negril Jamaica

#9
of 50 Hotels in Negril

User rating 2.5

Based on 2 reviews

Samsara Information


Samsara Hotel on the west end cliffs of Negril is famous for panoramic sea views, tranquility, and stunning beauty. Negril cliff hotels are known for exciting snorkeling, swimming, and scuba in clear Caribbean coves.


* from hotel website

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Samsara Reviews

Samsara Review: 2.5 of 5 2 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (2)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 2 of 2

"Profiled, Threat of Personal Safety, Treated Like Criminals"

Samsara
User Rating:  Samsara Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angela  on Aug 1, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
93 people found this review helpful

My partner and I were booked 10 nights at Samsara. My partner is originally from Jamaica and we were re-connecting with family and friends.
On our first evening my partner was told to leave because visitors had to leave the premises by 11pm. It was not asked but assumed he was a local. Even after advising that he was a registered guest, the staff repeatedly asked him to leave. I had validate that we were travelling together and we were registered guests.
During our stay, we opted to purchase the breakfast plan. My partner was not with me at the time of purchase and was asked to pick up the arm band at the lobby. When he went to do so, I was called to 'vouch' for him.
Days later, as my partner was chatting with a female guest that we had met,the resort owner angrily approach them and told my partner to leave. When asked why, the owner accused my partner of picking up the female guest and behaving inappropriately. My partner re-affirmed that he was a guest, explained that they were having a conversation but the owner told my partner to go to his room-that he wasn't supposed to be talking to other guests. Mitigating further escalation, my partner began walking to our room. The owner followed him and began cursing at him. He then became physical-pushing my partner. He then forced him to the front lobby and told him he was evicted effective immediately.
I was in our room showering when someone began violently knocking on the door. I heard the door being unlocked and an unidentified man came barging into my room! I slammed the bathroom door shut, locked it and asked him to identify himself repeatedly. He would not. I told him to leave the room immediately. He would not. The housekeeper had to take him out of the room.
Once able to speak with him, he identified himself as the owner of the resort. He told me that my partner could no longer stay at the resort. I asked him to validate that it was my partner. His simple description was that he was a black man with black hair. He then told me that my partner was trying to pick up the female guests. When I asked him how he identified this behaviour vs simply having a conversation, he could not provide specific details. I asked if the female guest lodged a complaint-no she had not. Frustrated with my line of questioning, he threatened to call the police. I agreed so that all sides of the story could be told - including the illegal entry of my room while I was alone in a vulnerable position, his refusal to identify himself or leave when asked posing a threat to my personal safety.
I then met with the General Manager-wife of the owner. She listened to our version of events as well as my exchange with her husband in the hotel room. Again I asked what prompted her husband to approach my partner in the first place, she said it was instinct from 35 years of experience.
I was then presented with a letter requesting to vacate and was told that a police

Arrival:
June 23, 2013

Other Comments:
When I asked for the police file number, Mrs. Absera could not find it. I continued to contact her for several days after but she could never locate it and then simply stopped taking my calls.

I especially am a seasoned traveller and have never, ever experienced/been witness to anything of this kind. If I can have fellow travellers pause before supporting an operation such as this, to stand up for fair and equal treatment of guests and staff alike, then that's a start. It boggles my mind why someone would do business in a country for 35 years and yet treat the countrymen as lesser people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Chill on the cliffs"

Samsara
User Rating:  Samsara Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maryanne  on May 19, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
40 people found this review helpful

Stayed for 5 nights June 30-July 5 with the non-AI package. We had an ocean front room (nice patio but couldn't really see the ocean) but the upgrade was free as we wanted a pillar and they were not available. Room was very basic but clean. Property is older and could use some updating but was a really good price and I found it had great value. The cliffs are spectacular, and the food we ate there and across the street at Ciao Jamaica was very good. They have a happy hour with 2 for 1 drinks late afternoons. We liked the property and were treated well. Felt very safe. Good bang for the buck

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube