Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Parque Central

4.7 based on 75 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 8, 2012

Parque Central Torre

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 28, 2014

Saratoga

4.5 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 25, 2012

Santa Isabel

4.0 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 7, 2012

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal  

Calle de los Oficios No. 152 esquina a Mercaderes

"Excellent location "
Posted by: Barbara on Jun 30, 2013
see all reviews

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Reviews
Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Pictures and Information
Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Old Havana Cuba

#16
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 4.3

Based on 12 reviews

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Information


History and modernity blend together in this building that once belonged to don Sebastián de Peñalver at the end of the 18th century, and at the beginning of the following century, to the successors of the fourth Marquis of San Felipe and Santiago. They say that the Marquis of Montjoie and mathematician François Nobion stayed at this home.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Reviews

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Review: 4.3 of 5 12 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  4
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (7)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 10 of 12

"Excellent location "

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
User Rating:  Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barbara  on Jun 30, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
87 people found this review helpful

Stayed for three night, The outside of the hotel old cuban style hides a hidden gem within we were more than pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean staff were always polite helpful and friendly. The food was of a very good standard. A Good location easy access ( short walk) to the tour bus stop and park central (if you go to park central go to the hotel telegrafo side of the street and walk towards the sea about 60 yards down is the local registry office get them to show you round there is the most fabulous hall I assume for concerts on the second floor the ceiling freezes and artwork are amazing we found this by chance} I will use this hotel again on our next visit as we most definitely intend to return

Room Number:
403

Arrival:
13th June 2013

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Schoenes Hotel / leider keine Dienstleistungen"

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
User Rating:  Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Claudia  on Apr 6, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) AUSTRIA
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
78 people found this review helpful

Ja, das Hotel ist wirklich ausgesprochen schoen, die Zimmer sind sauber und geschmackvoll renoviert!Das nuetzt leider alles nichts, wenn man geneppt wird. Und das ist der Fall, wenn ein Zimmer, das man nach Ankunft fuer ein Wochenende gemietet hat, 10 Tage spaeter vor Abflug ein Dritel mehr kostet, weil man an der Rezeption (!) reserviert hat... ohne dass die Saisonkategorie geweechselt wurde.
Also, wenn ueberhaupt: unbedingt ueber die Agentur reservieren, da ansonsten der Zimmerpreis sprunghaft ansteigt und trotz Nachfrage kein Discount erhaeltlich ist. Das wirft ein schlechtes Licht auf das gesamte Hotel! Schade, das naechste Mal in Kuba werden wir uns ein anderes Hotel suchen - es gibt in Havanna mehrere davon!

Room Number:
105, 106

Arrival:
25.3.2013
6.4.2013

Rooms:
105
106

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderfully restored historic building, superb location, excellent restaurant"

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
User Rating:  Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marinus Kerstens  on Apr 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
182 people found this review helpful

You can't get a much better location than the one for the San Felipe (I'll skip the rest of the name...). Located on a beautiful square, next to the old Stock Exchange, in the heart of Habana Vieja (Havana's Old Town). We were pleasantly surprised with the quality and creativity of the hotel's design. Service was friendly, although sometimes a little slow. An extensive a la carte breakfast is included in the room rate. The restaurant/bar area is in a courtyard-like setting, nicely designed. There's a small lunch/dinner restaurant as well, where we had two excellent meals. The room was fine - I would have preferred a queen bed plus extra bed instead of the three small single beds we had though. A downside of the hotel's design is that when there is an event at the bar/restaurant, the noise from the open courtyard area can carry through into the rooms. Overall, a very good experience, and I would gladly recommend the San Felipe.

Room Number:
302

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent location, maximum luxury and comfort."

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
User Rating:  Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mahendra de Alwis  on Nov 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) NEW ZEALAND
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Business | Solo
205 people found this review helpful

This was my 6th visit to Havana, and the San Felipe was the best hotel I have stayed in. The room was most comfortable, the AC worked superbly, and the staff were very friendly and accomodating.

The location is great, with a constant buzz around the place, as well as great choices for restaurants.

The Internet was slow, but that appears to be the case all over Havana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous"

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
User Rating:  Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alyson Rumbelow  on Jul 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
289 people found this review helpful

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - It is absolutely first class. Set on a lovely quiet square 2 mins walk from Plaza Viejo, this very modern, extremely high standard hotel is a must. The food is excellent, the staff are attentive, the rooms are beautifully clean and modern. This was by far the best hotel we stayed at in Cuba and a great start or end to your holiday if you are planning on travelling around.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great building and location"

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
User Rating:  Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel Giacoletto  on May 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) MONACO
Visited on: May, 2011 | Business | Solo
288 people found this review helpful

Palace is splendid, right in the middle of Old Habana. Hotel is very clean, confort is decent, staff is corteous. My room in the first floor was a little dark, a shame those steel bars on the window; look like you are in jail.
Breakfast is hyper sophisticated. Far too much choice, but excellent. Good quality for money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very friendly and helpful staff; rooms on lower floors can be noisy"

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
User Rating:  Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  fj  on Apr 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
288 people found this review helpful

The San Felipe is one of Havana's newest and smartest hotels. The 17th century exterior of the building has been restored beautifully; its location on the very picturesque San Francisco Square is very central for walking around old Havana. The rooms were of a very good standard and very roomy. I initially was given a room on the 1st floor but asked to be moved as the room smelt mouldy and the aircon wasn't working properly and rattled. The hotel was full but the reception staff were very helpful and found me another room for my remaining 2 nights. Be sure to ask for a room on one of the higher floors (i.e. 3rd or 4th) as, like many of Havana's old hotels, the atrium is open to the sky and the bedrooms are arranged around the central atrium where the restaurant and bar are located. My initial room on the 1st floor was very noisy, you could hear guests talking down below as well as noise from the bar - not ideal when you want to sleep after a 12 hour long haul flight!

Breakfast was a bit hit and miss but this seems to be standard everywhere in Cuba. Really surprised by the lack of fresh fruit anywhere in hotels. Most served tinned fruit and bottled juices. Menu descriptions don't necessarily translate so be prepared for surprises! The French toast was the best from an eclectic breakfast selection.

The San Felipe was quite expensive but if you want western standards and don't want to worry about dodgy plumbing, unreliable electrics and unwlecome critters in your room it is worth paying the extra!

Arrival:
18 April 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Hotel!"

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
User Rating:  Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shaowei Wang  on Mar 25, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) CHINA
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
308 people found this review helpful

It's a wonderful hotel in the heart of the old town! Close to the historic sites and right next to the coastline. Morning or night person you are, you can always have some enjoyment around the hotel within walking distance. The hotel is also a block away from Hotel Raquel, which hosts a great duet bar performance every night. The soprano has a stunningly beautiful voice (when I accidentally passed Hotel Raquel, she's singing "Time To Say Goodbye" which attracted me to unconsciously walk into the bar). Be sure to check it out if you occasionally get tired of traditional Cuba music.

The hotel's clean and comfortable. My room was newly decorated and furnitured. Everything was way much newer and cleaner than most of the so-called "5-star" hotels in Havana, and cleanness is always my great concern when it comes to hotel choosing.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and they spoke fluent English. One girl even brought a USB cable for me from her home, as I lost mine.

Breakfast offered a wide range of choices, and it's by menu instead of buffet. Food was delicious. My only complaint is that the servants were sort of laid back (well, universally true everywhere in Cuba), so be prepared to spend at least an hour on breakfast. It's nice if you're on vacation for relax though; grab a book or have a nice morning talk with family or friends. However, if you're an individual traveler who stays in Cuba only for a couple of days and thus is more concerned with the economy of time, it can be annoying.

Internet services were pricey: 6 cuc/hr for cable Ethernet, and 8 cuc/hr for WIFI. They sold out their WIFI passes on the day that I checked in, which was upsetting.

Overall, great hotel and great experience staying there! Love it and will definitely return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"(Cheaply) modernized building, good staff"

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
User Rating:  Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  adrianus van der kroft  on Mar 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
337 people found this review helpful

For a visit of Havana the hotel is well situated. Unfortunately in the modernization has spoilt all character of the building. This refurbishment is done quite cheaply and the rooms are of a european 3 star quality (the prizes also). The hotel is as well inside as outside very, very noisy so sleeping is not easy.
The staff makes an excellent effort to make the best of it. Kitchen was found to be excellent as well for the breakfast buffet as for the use of the restaurant

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Oasis in Cuba"

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
User Rating:  Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. David Broadhurst  on Dec 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Dec, 2010
491 people found this review helpful

Stayed 2 nights in November 2010. An amazing quality hotel in the centre of the city. Far cry from Colon where we spent the fist 2 nights and much better than the 5* all inclusive of Varadeo Loved it

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube